Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brinkmann Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Brinkmann Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

The Brinkmann Gourmet Electric SmokerGrill makes cooking fast and easy. It spreads even heat throughout to make perfectly grilled food every time. This grill can also be used as an electric grill. With two spacious steel grills, this charcoal smoker grill can accommodate up to 50lb of food. There is a separate base pan that makes setting up just easy. The base pan includes a heating element and lava rocks. This easy-to-use black electric smoker features stay cool wooden handles for safety.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation71%10 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 32 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Makes Life Easier

06/03/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I became disabled, and feared i could never cook outside on my porch again- too much tending.
But I had eaten food cooked on one of these similar smokers, and it gave me hope. The food was delicious, and people were loading the electric smoker, then walking away. No constant tending, just overseeing, and perfect results.
Mine arrived a little dented, but I just let the manufacturer know this, because it's too hard for me to return it. So I just started cooking on it. Wow! The food is delicious! This ain't your Grandma's smoker. It's not salt-infested cooking
It is a water smoker, and is quite healthy. And if what you want to cook is better on the grill, you can convert this to a grill, too..
Here's what I've learned, since I started using this product:
You don't have to use large amounts of food-smaller amounts can be put on both grates, and can be ready in two hours- great for couples and individuals.
No more gas tanks on my porch- it's electric! And you can use it like a grill, if needed.
The directions were clear, and assembly was minimal, but read the directions- it will help you understand the unit.
Using it will help you clean out your spice cabinet, but only use the ones which are appropriate with what you are cooking-a little flavor goes a long way!
The best pointers I got online:
Soak your wood sample 20 minutes, then wrap in foil, and make holes-keeps you from having to keep adding flavor wood, and minimizes ash. Line water pan with inexpensive foil... just to minimize cleanup. Follow the rules when curing the unit. Not difficult, but important. Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

excellent smoker

12/19/2013
By ,
south carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this smoker for my son, he loves it, it's the easiest way to smoke meat. and the clean up
is wonderful. love it, love it, love it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

great grill

04/01/2014
By ,
trinidad colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have not used it yet..have to season it and a little cold here yet..but out of the box it seemed to be very well made..a much heavier grade of steel than i expected..easy to put together..and everything fit well...the lid is a little loose but it is supposed to be ..to help with venting... all in all a great unit...look forward to years of use..easy to convert to a grill....do not think i will be using the propane grill at all this year...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Great Smoker

11/17/2009
By ,
Jackson, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great smoker. Keeps a constant temp. Just check the water pan every 3-4 hrs. Very easy to get the perfect smoked turkey. Awesome. The site to store delivery was also awesome. Arrived quickly and without damage. Would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

excellent smoker

08/30/2013
By ,
NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this smoker because I can put the wood in make sure it has enough liquid (water, wine, beer etc.) in the pan, put the meat or fish on the grates and plug it in. I let it go for the prescribed time, check the internal temperature and take it off. There is no worry about keeping it going with charcoal or if the temperature is consistent. I have done ribs, brisket, salmon and two whole turkeys with amazing success.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

still waiting on parts!

01/25/2014
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was pretty excited to receive my gourmet smoker 3 weeks back. When I unpackaged it I pulled out assembly instructions and proceeded to inspect and inventory. It looked pretty good except I was missing a critical lower bracket which suspends the water bowl and lower grate. The enamaled water bowl was damaged from either the factory or just poor quality materials. The enamel was just flakimg off. Contacted Brinkmann Customer Service, they were responsive and said they were sending a bracket and new water pan. Pan showed up still no bracket.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Excellent product

04/24/2012
By ,
CULLMAN , ALABAMA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wrap a few chips or several chunks of woodchips wrapped in tinfoil with a few small holes (soak it 1st in water ) and I've cooked or smoked hams to a golden brown, turkeys too and any other types of meat. Put it on and go watch Your ballgame...ROLL TIDE ROLL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Some Issues With The Brinkmann Smoker

06/01/2013
By ,
Sun City West, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Brinkmann Smoker does an average job with most meats, but it could be improved with some fixes:
1. The lid has to large of a gap and allows to much of the smoke to escape during the cooking process.
2. They is no heat control on this model Smoker.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

It was delivered in damaged condition

07/01/2011
By ,
Vermont
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used to own an older model. This newer one seemed to use thinner gauge steel. The water pan came with a sharp dent in it. The smoker came distorted and the lid did not fit well. A bar on the grill broke a weld. I like the improved rack clips. The older on held the water pan much closer to the element to provide much more steam/humidity.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Easy to use.

08/09/2012
By ,
MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just go by time and weight. Plug in and watch time!
In pan I use two cans cheap hot beer, fill beer cans up with apple juice and then water. I purchased a chip holder and filled with apple & oak chips and let it lie on burner. Add meat and plug in.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black
06/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its wonderful its a fathers day gift for my dad and he loves it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Works as advertised!

11/29/2012
By ,
Sacramento, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had to finally lay the 'old smoker', so I picked up this smoker prior to Thanksgiving. Great value, great product...looking forward to smoking some Prime Rib for Christmas!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

love it

07/24/2012
By ,
South Bend
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
electric is the way to go
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black
11/28/2012
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Extremely disappointed with product. Assembled smoker when the lid was placed on it did not
fit, fell in on the top shelf. The lid had a gap approx. 1/8" all the way around top. There is no
way it would contain heat to properly operate.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.