Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brinkmann Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Brinkmann Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

The Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black is an ideal choice for creating tasty meals. This system makes cooking fast and easy. It spreads heat evenly throughout to make deliciously grilled food every time. This smoker can also be used as an electric grill. With two spacious steel grills, this charcoal smoker grill can accommodate up to 50 lbs of food. It comes with a separate base pan that makes setting up easy. The base pan includes an electric heating element and lava rocks for superior temperature control. This easy-to-use black electric smoker features stay-cool wooden handles for safety. The Brinkmann electric smoker is constructed of heavy-gauge cold-rolled steel that keeps its shape even in intense heat. A hinged front door offers easy access to your food while you are smoking it. Use this electric smoker grill to throw fantastic barbeques and pool parties.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation79%19 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 39 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Makes Life Easier

06/03/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I became disabled, and feared i could never cook outside on my porch again- too much tending.
But I had eaten food cooked on one of these similar smokers, and it gave me hope. The food was delicious, and people were loading the electric smoker, then walking away. No constant tending, just overseeing, and perfect results.
Mine arrived a little dented, but I just let the manufacturer know this, because it's too hard for me to return it. So I just started cooking on it. Wow! The food is delicious! This ain't your Grandma's smoker. It's not salt-infested cooking
It is a water smoker, and is quite healthy. And if what you want to cook is better on the grill, you can convert this to a grill, too..
Here's what I've learned, since I started using this product:
You don't have to use large amounts of food-smaller amounts can be put on both grates, and can be ready in two hours- great for couples and individuals.
No more gas tanks on my porch- it's electric! And you can use it like a grill, if needed.
The directions were clear, and assembly was minimal, but read the directions- it will help you understand the unit.
Using it will help you clean out your spice cabinet, but only use the ones which are appropriate with what you are cooking-a little flavor goes a long way!
The best pointers I got online:
Soak your wood sample 20 minutes, then wrap in foil, and make holes-keeps you from having to keep adding flavor wood, and minimizes ash. Line water pan with inexpensive foil... just to minimize cleanup. Follow the rules when curing the unit. Not difficult, but important. Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

This is my second one.

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to assemble and works great. The only glitch was that the ash pan was for the charcoal burning type. I had to drill a hole to accommodate the electric heating element. It replaces one of another brand that was so underpowered that about all I could do was heat up hot dogs. This electric Brinkmann cooker gets up to 400 degrees in a short time when used as a grill, which is how I use it mostly. The first one I had rusted out after about 10 years, but that was due to my own negligence. I'm glad they still manufacture it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Many missing pieces

10/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We returned this because all of the hardware, handles and instructions were missing
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Very good easy to use

10/22/2014
By ,
Bentonville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent performance
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Unexpected

10/16/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had a hand me down of these last year and it was wonderful, but when I bought this one, it was a bit lacking on temp. We put a 2 LB roast in it for 5 hours and it wasn't done, the heat didn't get above 170*. I'm hoping I just got a dud, but will try it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

excellent smoker

08/30/2013
By ,
NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this smoker because I can put the wood in make sure it has enough liquid (water, wine, beer etc.) in the pan, put the meat or fish on the grates and plug it in. I let it go for the prescribed time, check the internal temperature and take it off. There is no worry about keeping it going with charcoal or if the temperature is consistent. I have done ribs, brisket, salmon and two whole turkeys with amazing success.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Great Smoker

11/17/2009
By ,
Jackson, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great smoker. Keeps a constant temp. Just check the water pan every 3-4 hrs. Very easy to get the perfect smoked turkey. Awesome. The site to store delivery was also awesome. Arrived quickly and without damage. Would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

This is pretty great

04/25/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a way to cook during the summer, here in San Antonio TX, without heating up my kitchen. This seemed like a logical solution. The delivery time was excellent. The box containing the smoker, was a little beat up, but, no harm done. My husband put it together in about an hour. I followed the directions on curing the smoker before use. It was fairly easy. I have two pecan trees in our backyard, so, I used the wood from them. Just be sure to soak over night. I marinated, a tough chicken hen overnight. Then fired up the smoker, added the water, plus the pecan chips. Placed the bird on the smoker, and let it smoke for six hours. Wow! Tasty, succulent chicken, was the result. I am happy with my purchase. Just remember to cure the smoker before use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

excellent smoker

12/19/2013
By ,
south carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this smoker for my son, he loves it, it's the easiest way to smoke meat. and the clean up
is wonderful. love it, love it, love it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Good product for the money

06/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did have a problem with the screw holes for the handles. All of them were off by one inch. I had to get out my drill and drill holes. As for the gap around the top, easy enough fix with a ring of scrunched aluminum foil. All in all, works great. I had had the same model years ago, so I pretty much knew what I was getting.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Excellent product

04/24/2012
By ,
CULLMAN , ALABAMA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wrap a few chips or several chunks of woodchips wrapped in tinfoil with a few small holes (soak it 1st in water ) and I've cooked or smoked hams to a golden brown, turkeys too and any other types of meat. Put it on and go watch Your ballgame...ROLL TIDE ROLL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Some Issues With The Brinkmann Smoker

06/01/2013
By ,
Sun City West, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Brinkmann Smoker does an average job with most meats, but it could be improved with some fixes:
1. The lid has to large of a gap and allows to much of the smoke to escape during the cooking process.
2. They is no heat control on this model Smoker.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Easy to use.

08/09/2012
By ,
MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just go by time and weight. Plug in and watch time!
In pan I use two cans cheap hot beer, fill beer cans up with apple juice and then water. I purchased a chip holder and filled with apple & oak chips and let it lie on burner. Add meat and plug in.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

It was delivered in damaged condition

07/01/2011
By ,
Vermont
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used to own an older model. This newer one seemed to use thinner gauge steel. The water pan came with a sharp dent in it. The smoker came distorted and the lid did not fit well. A bar on the grill broke a weld. I like the improved rack clips. The older on held the water pan much closer to the element to provide much more steam/humidity.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Better instructions

07/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For first timers using the smoke chips and when and how much to add water is confusing. I smoked a brisket and it could have used an additional hour of cooking. Overall it does what it's suppose to do; personally I would purchase a gas smoker verses electric (this was a birthday gift) that way you can put it future away from guests and structures without purchasing and using a "specific and expensive" electrical cord.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Smoker

05/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product, a No Brainer for anyone wanting to smoke meats
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Good product

05/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife loves this Brinkman electric smoker
Walmart on line buy and ship to store is a great service.
This is the second purchase I have made this way and I couldn't be happier.
123DL, Livingston, Texas
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black
06/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its wonderful its a fathers day gift for my dad and he loves it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

Nice smoker Poor shipping and handeling by Walmart

04/18/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paid extra for upgraded shipping still arrived three days later than it was supposed to be delivered with no explanation. Box open when finely delivered but smoker parts were all there. Would highly recommend the Brinkmann Electric smoker but not through Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker, Black

great grill

04/01/2014
By ,
trinidad colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have not used it yet..have to season it and a little cold here yet..but out of the box it seemed to be very well made..a much heavier grade of steel than i expected..easy to put together..and everything fit well...the lid is a little loose but it is supposed to be ..to help with venting... all in all a great unit...look forward to years of use..easy to convert to a grill....do not think i will be using the propane grill at all this year...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next