Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schumacher Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Schumacher Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Recharge your batteries safely using the Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger. Controlled by a fully automatic microprocessor that can monitor and adjust charge rates, the unit is ideal for marine, RV and farm equipment. This automotive battery charger has a built-in digital meter that displays battery status and test results. This presents the accurate details of the performance. The charge rate is easily adjusted according to status, avoiding damage and overcharge to the battery. Ideal for everyday charging needs, this automatic battery charger includes 75-amp clamps able to charge both top and side mounted battery posts. Compatible with a variety of lead-acid battery types used in tractors, motorcycles and boats the automotive battery charger adds versatility to its function. The Schumacher marine battery charger also has a retractable handle for easy storage and portability, so it's there when you need it.
Average Customer Rating:
3.296 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation58%15 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 47 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

didnt last very long

06/01/2012
By ,
melbourne fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Started acting up within the first month.
clamps rotted out within three
cant find receipt or proof of purchase to return it.
Would NOT buy another one unless on shore power only. maybe if you had a inverter type generator. but a regular one will kill it quick. but then i took it and batteries to house and left plugged in for a week and it died a week later.
VERDICT: not for regular use. Occasional use for small (12v group 24) Battery only. not for use on golf cart type batts like most sailboats have.
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Not what was shown.

08/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was buying this item to replace my old one that I accidentally broke. My old one was just like the picture they have listed, where you are able to push a button to switch between voltage and percentage and the amount of amps you want to use during the charge. The one they sent me however wasn't able to do that. They need to update their picture and show what you actually are buying.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Does the job of charging batteries and good cost

12/04/2013
By ,
Raleigh NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought mine from guy on craigslist for $25. He got it to recharge jet ski battery and lost recipt so not able to return.
I put it on battery that had been sitting in van for 6+ months and was dead. The battery did have some voltage but not sure exact number as i had tried to use jumper cables to get some juice back in battery prior.
Checked and added distilled water to cells as needed. Put charger on and let run for some 12 hrs. When i got home i stopped charger and voltage was at 12.4 V. Let it sit for 15 min and put back in van and started up.
These types of battery charger may not be able to work with no or very low voltage batteries but as i was reading in prior review with at least 8 volts it get to charging.
Good product for what is intended to do.. charge batteries of all types.. It has setting for regular lead, AGM- Absorbed grass mat, and Gel type batteries.. plus will work on 6 or 12 v's
you have to remember a true high end battery charger runs 500 dollars not 50..
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Fair

12/06/2009
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The electronic control of the unit will not allow you to apply a slow charge rate for long periods of time required to bring a extremely low battery back to life and full charge. I have experienced this multiple times, the charger will shut down showing a bad battery message. This is not the case, I connect my older manual Schumacher charger to the battery and place on a mauual 2 amp. rate and allow the charger to continue to charge for extended periods of time, the batteries are not bad and still in service long after the charge with no problems. Electronic chargers are great for simple applications but I do not reccomend them for very low battery conditions as it will indicate a bad battery when this is not the case.
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Simple to use, very good for a novice

09/22/2014
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great charger, it has options but is fully automatic, just attach to your battery and it does it all for you.
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Good with minor nit

09/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this unit to replace the 10a Schumacher charger I'd purchase earlier. The charger works fine and as expected, as far as I can tell.
For those unfamiliar, there are two versions of this charger: one with three buttons, one with only two. The pictured unit has all three buttons, including user-selectable voltage/SOC%; the unit I received had only two.
Thinking about returning it to Walmart, but it appears that Schumacher has simply changed their product, and the one pictured is NLA.
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Great Charger

01/20/2010
By ,
Anchorage, AK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked one of these up at a local walmart yesterday and have charged my wifes car battery (dead because the kids left the door open all night ). It had no trouble bringing the battery up to a full charge from 8.0v. Also charged my portable power pack much faster than the wall wart that came with it. It is currently refreshing one of my ATV batteries. It has a function that is supposed to recondition the battery, we shall see, but in any case it sure seems to be getting the job done. the price was fantastic and the value is there. I've read other favorable reviews and agree with a reviewer from another site that an Amp meter reading would be nice. That's all this charger is missing. Two thumbs up!
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Great All-Purpose Automatic Battery Charger

01/06/2012
By ,
Northeast, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this charger several times a month. I charge/maintain my daughter's 4 wheeler battery (no charging system) and my deep cycle john boat battery pretty often. It works perfect for my lawn mower battery as well since I charge it fully twice a year. I've had this charger now for nearly 3 years and it has worked flawlessly. It has a desulfation mode for batteries that have begun to sulfate due to lack of use or charging. It is also automatic in that when the battery is fully charged, the charger automatically switches to a trickle charge and will not overcharge.
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Not happy

05/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
says you can pick 3 charge rates but it picks them. Deep cycle batteries are not able to handle a 15 amp charge rate. Lost many batteries charging at this rate and contacted a delco tech. He said 10 amp is the best.
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Front Royal Va.
Hmmm.
Posted 06/01/2014
Look at what the product description says. You can choose 15amp charge, then the charger moves the amp setting down to 10 then two to trickle charge and maintain.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Wont charge a fully dead battery

01/06/2013
By ,
Roy, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought one of these several years ago and if the battery is flat dead, it will not start charging. You have to hook up jumper cables or a manual battery charger until it gets a few volts, then it will take over. It definitely needs a dead battery mode or button.
If the battery is just run down but to low start start the car(like 8 or 10 volts) it works great.
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

outstanding battery charger

04/26/2010
By ,
pinal county, az.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is w/o a doubt the very best charger i have ever owned.... it has all the bells and whistles (by far more then most) at a great price.... buy it, u won't be dissatisfied in the least....
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Not what it is advertised as

05/15/2014
By ,
Louisiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is advertised as a 3 amp, 8 amp and 15 amp charger. It isnt. It is only 3 amp and 15 amp. I did not get what I thought I was getting.
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Front Royal Va.
What
Posted 06/01/2014
I dont see where its advertised on what you said...It says 15amp 10amp and 2amp.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

handy tool to have.

05/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use...dummy proof. Can't go wrong
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

JUNK! Don't waste your money!

05/02/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am about to receive my thrid charger in the less than 2 years (a different model this time)! The fan starts making noise then dies and the charger over heats and dies shortly thereafter. Charging a deep cycle trolling mottor battery....nothing special! On a bright note, the Schumacher customer service department is easy to deal with once you get to them (10-15 min wait on hold everytime).
I had a different Schumacher charger that lasted over 15 years...this one is pure junk. Don't waste your time or money!
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Very good product.

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I charged two marine batteries that had been sitting all winter. Worked great.
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Poor Instruction Manual

03/25/2011
By ,
Old Bridge, NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought I had found a good charger and it might very well be, however, the manual has no mention of what the selections mean for the size button. The manual doesn't even mention the size button. I was planning on using the charger to charge very expensive agm deep cycle batteries and I would rather not guess on what to do. So, I will be returning this charger.
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

tossed this one away

12/16/2009
By ,
Wash. St.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I didn't like this charger from the very beginning. It does a poor job of low amp charging. There is a little fan on the side that makes way to much noise and will fail one day and that's the end of the charger.
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Never
-16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Worth the money

04/28/2011
By ,
LaCygne, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used it a few times, but it did exactly what I needed it for, to top off and boil my RV batteries. The only thing I am uncomfortable with is that there is not an on and off button. I have to hook it up, plug it in ,then adjust the settings. I am happy with it so far. I've had it for a couple of weeks.
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chi Town
BATTERY CHARGER
Posted 02/06/2012
Hello, Just wanted to let you know that when you first plug this unit in there is no power to the battery leads. It does not begin charge until after you select the battery type, and then the amperage you need. Then you will hear the click of the charge circuit relay a few seconds after selecting, and only then will it have power to leads. Even if you disconnect one of the leads the charge circuit shuts off instantly, so it is safe to plug charger in first and then hook up to battery. I have this same unit and have been using it for a few years. Great product!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

Failed in 6months No warrentry coverage

12/09/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After failure called the listed phone number: Does not answer
Went to web site listed: They had not paid their bill, the site is up for sale
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 15-Amp Marine Battery Charger

It works

05/16/2011
By ,
North Little Rock, Ar.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The fan is loud and runs all the time that it is plug in.But I like it. Got it for my Marine Battery needed the three cycle. I would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Rating for 'Value':
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rating for 'Meets Expectations':
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next