Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

GE GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

Stylish and powerful, the GE Profile JES2251SJ 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven is a great addition to your kitchen decor and is the perfect helping hand for large meals. From quick meals for the kids to reheating leftovers, this countertop microwave oven makes cooking easy. With sensor cooking controls, it controls automatically adjust the time and power and lets you cook delicious dishes. You can also defrost food items efficiently. With easy-to-use touch pad control panel, you can operate this child lock microwave oven easily. It features 4-foot long cord for convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.174 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(275 Reviews) 248
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
160
4 stars
66
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation83%226 out of 273reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
160
4 stars
66
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

Nice

05/06/2012
By ,
Central Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice product, just as described. Just had it for about 2 weeks now and there have been no issues.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Review 2 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

Less than 2 year life span

12/29/2010
By ,
Algonquin, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Had our unit less than 2 years. Will not heat and turns off after 29 seconds.
It was top rated by Consumer Reports back then. A few months after we bought ours, we bought one for my in-laws.
GE said the magnatron is the issue and that part has 5 year warranty (no labor coverage). They wanted me to pay service person $84.50 travel fee plus time to install it. I had GE just ship it to me. The part arrive 2 days later.
It was idiot simple to replace. But unit still did not work. Called GE back now they want to sell a $70 capacitor and possibly even a control panel. The guy claimed that the failing magnatron usually takes the capacitor out with it.
Not a chance. Giving another brand a shot now.
Just hope my mother-in-laws lasts longer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 3 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

Loved it...

08/18/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
until it broke. I purchased this microwave in September of 2007. I love the size, the features, everything about it. Unfortunately, it no longer heats up anything, making it a rather expensive timer and clock. I'm hoping GE will cover the repair. I suspect the problem is the magnetron. We'll see.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+56points
Review 4 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

Bad Choice

11/27/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this unit less than two years ago. It started to develop an RF leak and now it won't work. It starts and then 3 seconds latter it shuts down.
There were comments from various other sources that this unit's magnetron is the problem.
The warranty doesn't cover this problem. If you want it fixed be prepared to pay a lot of money.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+31points
Review 5 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

nice features, runs Well...but.....

11/29/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: Nice size, nice features, runs well and gets food hot fast
Cons: The door cracked in 2 places about a month after we purchased it. It doesn't impact the functionality but it does look awful. The tray inside also no longer rotates after having it less than a year. If you are only heating up on thing in the center of it then its not a problem but part of the reason we bought this was because its size would normally allow for heating up several side dishes or two full dinner plates at once.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+36points
Review 6 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

broke after 2 years

10/07/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
have owned it 2 years and it has stopped heating. reading other reviews i now see that it is a common problem wish these reviews were here 2 years ago! i would not havwe bought it
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+36points
Review 7 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

Lemon, Don't Buy It!!!

09/04/2009
By ,
San Marcos, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this in December 2006. On September 9, 2009 it totally went out. Since it is past the 1 year warranty, it is my tough luck. It is more economical to buy another microwave than to repair this one. I thought GE was supposed to be a good brand? After this experience, I will never buy another GE microwave. My previous microwave lasted 15 years - and it wasn't even a quality brand . I strongly advise against purchasing this microwave. I can't believe it went out so soon.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 8 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

Hoping it works longer

05/24/2008
By ,
Columbus,IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second purchase of this microwave oven. The first one was bought in Aug. of 2006. It quit working about a month ago and of course, was out of warranty.
The cost to repair was more than the cost of this new one, so I bought a new one. I liked the oven well engough to give it a second chance. I am hoping the first one was a lemon. Keeping my fingers crossed!!!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 9 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

bad news

05/24/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC area
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great for two years and then just died. GE may be able to fix it after you pay for a service charge and parts and labor. In other words, just go buy a new one and don't make it a GE!! Our old Sharp lasted 20 years and was still working when we gave it away!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 10 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven
07/27/2011
By ,
Mesquite, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third GE Profile that I have bought. My first was for myself, then one for my first daughter to go to college, and finally this last one for my youngest daughter who just graduated from nursing school and moved about 2 hours away. We have had no problems at all from these microwaves, and some of them have been moved around quite a bit. They are roomy and are super fast. I would not hesitate to buy this product again.
One word of caution, since they are so fast at cooking, the programmed popcorn time is really too long. I cut it short, or you will have burned popcorn.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

Great Microwave with many features !

08/13/2012
By ,
Winchester, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Microwave March 2008 and it went through 4 years of holiday cooking and everyday life cooking and is still the house main cooker!
It is very helpful if you read all of the features in the manual !!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 12 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

Unhappy

05/28/2009
By ,
Hermitage, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My husband and I received this microwave as a wedding gift. Six months later...it doesn't work! After about a 2 months we noticed that food wasn't getting as hot as it used to. 4 months it would take twice as long to heat something....6 months, it just shuts off when we try to run it. Since it was a gift (with no gift receipt) we are having trouble finding someone to fix it and honor the 1 year warrenty. I was very angry when I found out that GE doesn't cover my area! Needless to say...I am very unhappy.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 13 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

GE Profile 2.2 cu.ft. microwave oven

02/21/2011
By ,
Cleveland, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall an excellent product. Three gripes on controls: 1)the current "minute add on" is not as helpful as the former "30 seconds add on"; the "Start" key area is hard to find--need to relearn location & visually check; previous option for hitting the "1" through "6" keys and having the integer's value in minutes start rather than entering, e.g., "100" for 1 minute and no seconds, and then start is not as helpful. Finally while the shipper for Walmart badly damaged the first unit, Walmart did more than their share to get me another unit without added cost to me in either the return of the damaged unit or shipment of the new unit.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

do not buy!

11/04/2009
By ,
las vegas, nv
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
we purchased on Oct 19th '09. stopped working within days. on a daily basis trips the outlet & we are not even using the oven. & has never cooked a potato. turns off without warning, leaving food cold and/or not cooked. tried the inverter defrost, that worked. but as for everyday normal use its pretty useless! VERY DISAPPOINTED that this was on the very top of the consumer reports list. Im very unhappy with this product!!! bringing it back to walmart tomorrow!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 15 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

Cooking Good

08/07/2010
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Totally pleased with this purchase - both with the product and with Walmart. I bought this to replace a Panasonic Inverter microwave oven that I had for over a decade. This GE model is its twin in size, power, and features. Unit works well and has nice settings, too.
Price was unbelievably low to boot. So low that two local retailers refused to match the price, stating that it was less than their wholesale cost. Shipping was speedy, also. I received it much sooner than the web site predicted. Kudos to Walmart for great service.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

Great While It Lasted

02/07/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this microwave less than 3 years. It was used lightly and had some nice features. It stopped working with no warning. When turned on it clicks a couple times and then nothing. My last microwave lasted 12 years before it broke. I'm very disappointed with GE. They used to make some of the best products you could buy.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 17 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

Disappointed

04/23/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This appliance stopped working less than 6 months after I bought it. Repairs will cost more than it's worth. I expected better from a GE product, so I'm very disappointed and not likely to trust that brand again.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

Worked great for a year and a half

10/18/2011
By ,
Ridgecrest, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It doesn't have any memory settings. The auto defrost works nicely.
Shortly after my warrenty expired the turntable started making loud rumbling and popping noises. GE said unplug the unit for 30 minutes. I did and the noise went away.
However, within the last few days the loud, unacceptable noise came back. Unplugging it didn't do anything. GE says call a technician. I suspect the cost of a tech and repair would probably exceed the cost of a new microwave.
I read the manual. It says "dull thumps" are normal for the operation. But these "thumps" were very loud and annoying. Nowhere near "dull".
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ridgecrest, CA
Reduce the rumbling/growling noise
Posted 05/23/2012
It's been about 2 years now. It's still working. You MAY be able to reduce the turn table noise.
1.) Don't turn the table by hand. Guaranteed to make it growl.
2.) You can reduce or even stop the growling. Place your hand in the center of the table. Apply light to medium pressure and then twist the table back and forth by ONLY a little bit.. 2 or 3 degrees at most.
3. Use the oven for a couple of times.
4. If the noise continues, do #2 and #3 a couple more times.
It works for me. Hopefully it will work for you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

Arrived defective

12/13/2010
By ,
CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this product despite some varying reviews and pretty sorry about that. The very first time I used the inverter feature it had the same problem that many have reported and it shuts off after about 10 seconds.
How can they sell these things when they're so poorly made? GE should pull the product off the market pronto!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

Great size for larger meals-easy to use features.

10/27/2012
By ,
St. Cloud, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My previous microwave lasted 26 years. Hopefully this one will, too. I'm loving the "side dish" feature and experimenting with different ways to use it. The sensor feature really works and takes the guesswork out of timing the cooking of different foods.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next