Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for South Shore Furniture South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

South Shore Furniture South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

The South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest is a country-styled chest that will add both warmth and style to your toddler's room and at the same time helps you keep your baby's things organized. This baby dresser manufactured by South Shore Furniture is easy to assemble and the drawers are neither too big nor too small. It can be put up in the nursery or any other room to store various things including clothes and everyday essentials. The height of this 4 drawer chest is perfect for toddlers – they can reach to the top easily. The drawers slide gently making minimal noise. Also, this baby dresser can be secured to the wall, which makes it a safe choice for a baby's room. Made of quality material, this storage furniture ensures durability. The rich color of the dresser gives an elegant touch to the room's décor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.748 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(282 Reviews) 256
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
94
3 stars
41
2 stars
19
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation77%215 out of 280reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 79 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
94
3 stars
41
2 stars
19
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

hard to put together

05/05/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice product but very hard to put together
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Time consuming, but worth it

01/29/2011
By ,
Hamburg, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dresser is the perfect size for a nursery and matches well with other white furniture in the nursery. However, it does come with a lot of parts and takes awhile to put together. The directions are very clear and easy to understand, but if you do not like to put things together I would not recommend this dresser. But, for the price and the outcome it is worth the time!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

great product for budget conscious consumer

01/16/2012
By ,
wilkes barre, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews and I was afraid my package was going to have broken or missing pieces but I assembled this dresser with none of those impediments. Site to store really saved me some money. There is one gripe I have with this product. I don't like how screw 111 is not long enough to make the drawers sturdy. I had to use a longer screw. And nail 106 is too thick to hammer into the wood. It will split the wood. I had to find nails similar to nail 90 which is thin enough to not split the wood. So be prepared to pay a visit to lowes or home depot to improvise. Once I was able to make the dresser sturdy enough I was VERY SATISFIED WITH MY PURCHASE.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Great value for the money!

05/03/2011
By ,
Moses Lake, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble, very nice for the price. The drawers seem shallow, but it is perfect for my 4 year old's room, not to tall so she can see in the top drawer. Very nice looking with the decorative bottom. We painted the knobs to match her room. We were very pleased and would recommend this dresser to a friend.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Worth it!

03/26/2009
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put the dresser together by myself in an hr with 2 toddlers getting in the way. the drawers slide in and out perfectly. It looks great in the baby room. It is a good deal if u wanna use it for a lil kid or your own clothes. I would recommend the dresser to anyone who is having a baby or to someone who already has kids. I would probably only used the dresser for a childs room seeing that their clothes arent very heavy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Okay For The Price

09/02/2009
By ,
Boston, Ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to put together with 2 people, But one of the front drawers doesn't close completely on mine. Not all that noticable. Overall I'm pretty happy with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Great dresser for the price

03/10/2009
By ,
Rancho Cordova
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little dresser. We purchased it for my newborn daughters bedroom and it's perfect. I shopped around for a decently priced white dresser and this was the cheapest (a few other websites had the same dresser, but more expensive) and with free site to store shipping, we couldn't ask for a better deal. I've read a few reviews that people had trouble putting it together, but my husband had it together in no time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Great!!!

02/17/2009
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put it together and it was easy. It is really Beautiful and strong. I am vary happy with it. I will be getting one more.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

The perfect dresser @ Perfect price.

10/10/2007
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this dresser not expecting much just somewhere to put my babies oensies and socks and such, but it holds all her clothes, and boy has she accumulated alot of it over these 3 little months, I was very impressed with the stability of this dresser and how well it looks in her room. I am going to purchase another one to put along side of this one for my older kids clothes.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Flimsy waste of a hundred dollars

01/18/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By the time I had realized I was making a mistake by purchasing this the item was on its way to me. I should have read all the repeating negative reviews before buying. I usually do that when ordering any furniture from Walmart as I've had issues before. First off this thing is flimsy, small and a waste of money. The drawers aren't deep to put much clothing and its almost impossible to keep this for more than a year. Its flimsy and loose. My husband put it together. The holes didn't line up properly. He needed extra tools to assemble it. Luckily he's a diesel technician and has plenty of tools because the square head tool that you need for this isn't included in the package. You also will have tools that you wont even need by the time the dresser is complete. I would have spent the extra money and got a more sturdier dresser. The last dresser I had prior to replacing it with this one was much stronger and lasted for 6 years. I'm disappointed with this purchase.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

4 drawer dresser

05/26/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a very poorly made dresser.
I put a few baby clothes in the first drawer and the clothes fell all the way to the bottom drawer!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Avoid if possible!

05/15/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Absolute pain to assemble! Once assembled, it's a decent product.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Good buy

02/22/2008
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband put this dresser together for our little girls room and it turned out fine. It's sturdy and solid. And you can't go wrong with white, especially since everything in our little one's room is pink and purple. The white stands out. My one concern was how short it was, but works out perfect for us now since we'll be using the top of the dresser as a changing table. The dimensions worked out perfectly for a changing pad. And everything we've purchased online at Wal-Mart has been through the site-to-store. Excellent feature, and a lifesaver on shipping charges.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

very nice!!

09/17/2007
By ,
Locust Grove, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice piece of furniture for such a great price!! I couldn't believe that it ended up being so nice considering how good of a deal it was!! It looks great in my little girls nusery!! I would definitely recommend this to everyone!!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Should meet your needs

09/08/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This drawer took a while to put together, and is comprised of particle board and wood.
It is not a chest of drawers that you are going to be able to use throughout your baby's childhood. The drawers are a little shallow so they work for baby clothes, but I think over time this bureau is going to break down. Overall, for use with baby clothing, it is a good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Good Dresser, but a pain to assemble

02/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After spending 3 hours one day and 2 hours the next day building this dresser, it looked great! It is pretty sturdy and the paint looks awesome. It IS a white piece of furniture, so make sure your surfaces and hands are clean. I used a cotton ball with a bit of baby oil to remove any scuffs. Just make sure to follow ALL instructions to the T and it should come out great. If you feel that the drawers are a bit stiff to open/close, use a rubber mallet to bang the rails all the way in. You'll see what I'm talking about if you run into that problem! The dresser wasn't difficult or confusing to assemble, BUT it was extremely tedious. If you don't have patience, this probably wouldn't be a good dresser to buy or you can have a very handy person do it for you.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Ok Dresser

12/06/2007
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The dresser itself is nice. Lots of parts, but fairly easy to put together. Not real wood, and the brackets for the drawers are plastic, but you expect that for the price. Advice: if you purchase this dresser for a child's room, make sure that there is a stud on the wall you want to place it at, the drawers are a little siff. You will want to mount it onto the wall for security, the wall mount comes with the dresser. The size of the drawers are fine for a child, but if this is for an adult or teenager, keep in mind that the drawers might not be able to hold heavy clothing. I put a contour changing pad on top, and it fits perfect, and I'm using the first drawer for diapering items. If you an spear a few extra dollars, get a different one, but if it fits your budget, you'll be pleased. Note: I did have to order two brackets, customer service is nice, no questions asked, but understand that you might have to wait 5 - 10 days for the replacement part.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Not bad, but not quite what was expected

02/07/2013
By ,
Clinton, MS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First off, let me say that the assembly time is too long for a very pregnant woman - it took me right at 5 hours to put together. And the directions are not quite up to par - the screws & such should be labeled, not just jumbled together.
Most of the holes on the drawers (R) do not line up so when trying to screw the brackets for pieces S & S1 it's very difficult. Also it's a pain trying to get the screws in piece T w/ the plastic things in there - no pre-drilled hole - just have to use brute force.
The plastic sliders on the drawers are questionable - not sure how well they'll hold up. There are large gabs between the drawers and the sides - not pretty.
It's shorter than expected, and I'm disappointed with the flimsy drawer bottoms. The drawers also don't slide easily.
This was bought as a gift for my daughter's nursery. We'll see how it holds up. I'm hoping to get at least a good year out of it, but don't expect much longer than that.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

U get what U pay for

12/27/2007
By ,
Revere, Ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unfortunatley we dont have alot of money to spend on baby furniture but I figured $110.00 would get something decent. This took my husband hours to put together, the directions were good it was just alot of them and when he was finished, the drawers dont seem to line up right and they are extremely hard to pull in and out, we put WD-40 on it and still was to hard to open the drawers. That was alot of work to bring it back to the store, so we got stuck with it
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore - Heavenly 4 Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

South Shore 4 Drawer Chest

12/31/2009
By ,
Redding, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought the dresser was made of wood, or at least more wood than it has. It is mostly particle board. It works right now for our toddler, but eventually we'll have to get a different dresser.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 257 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next