Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

South Shore South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Handsome and sturdy, the South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed in Blueberry is an ideal choice to meet the extra storage needs of your child. It fits a standard twin mattress. Wood panels of this Summer Breeze bed are made from recovered and recycled material. Your kid can organize his or her things neatly in these drawers that come with child-friendly latches. Constructed using the Smart Glide technology, the drawers open and close with ease. The South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed in a deep Blueberry stain finish seamlessly blends into any decor, while the laminated engineered wood avoids warps or cracks. About South Shore Furniture: A recognized leader in North American furniture manufacture, South Shore Industries was established in 1940 and has been making furniture for three generations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.041 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(558 Reviews) 494
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
260
4 stars
179
3 stars
48
2 stars
24
1 star
47
Customer Recommendation85%474 out of 558reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 103 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
260
4 stars
179
3 stars
48
2 stars
24
1 star
47
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Great Purchase For The Price

09/21/2010
By ,
Bethesda, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bed for my 7 year old son. Overall, I love the bed and the storage feature. My only dislike is that it only fits a mattress and not a box spring/mattress set. I purchased a twin mattress set (it was on sale and cheaper than just purchasing a mattress at the time) but the mattress slides. Maybe if I use the bed properly it wouldn't be an issue I suppose. LoL
I also love this bed all around. I am a single mother with a 1 bedroom apartment and I needed to get my son out of my bed and this bed fit perfectly.
Setup: It took me two hours to put up the bed by myself but that's with a 7 year old asking 101 questions and me watching Lifetime. Assembly wasn't hard at all; I looked at the pictures to complete assembly as the reading material that they called “instructions,” were not very helpful.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Darien, Georgia
Putting this bed together right now...
Posted 09/22/2014
Everything seems in order and great condition, all the parts seem to be accounted for. I'm going at this with the instruction book step by step and I can tell I'm going to be at this for a while. I hope my daughter loves this bed once I'm done putting it together for her.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Don't wast your time with it.

08/01/2014
By ,
mountain view
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fixed it on the day it got shipped and total disappointment.
A. The Fixing design is so cheep its not able to hold the bed together.
B. After fixing it keeps falling apart and because of that the draws dont close completely.
C. The draw's are very small not even 1/4 of the bed size , and also just held by a play board below.
D. Since the sides don't sit properly the draw's don't close completely.
See the pictures attached.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Great for the Price!

10/01/2007
By ,
Havelock, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really good buy if you are looking for something inexpensive that still has the look and feel of something a that costs a lot more! I ordered the headboard and the bed together, and am just thrilled with the results. My only gripe is that the bed arrived well packaged from the manufacturer, and all the parts were there- but no assembly instructions - though it was fairly simple to figure out which parts went together, and what hardware to use. I put both peices together by myself in just under an hour! All in all I am pleased and my son loves it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

GReat Buy

04/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would definately recommend. Very sturdy, easy to put together and great for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry
04/29/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for my 3 year old. We needed the space underneath because he and his sister share a room for now. This is a perfect bed for their room and he is proud to sleep in his big boy bed. I actually put it together myself and didn't have any trouble. Took a couple hours but was worth it. Great bed worth the cost and he can grow with it at least until adolescence.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Good product overall

06/30/2009
By ,
Phoenix, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the 4 piece bedroom set seperately, as we wanted the 6 drawer dresser not the 5 drawer dresser which was included in the set online-this was a good choice as the 6 drawer is really nice. We had read another review that the 5 drawer dresser was top heavy and could fall over if not strapped to wall, not good for our 3 year old. Each piece went together quickly and easily. Instructions were clear and there were no missing pieces-extra actaully. My recommendation is to be somewhat handy & have a large bottle of Gorilla Wood Glue and a several hours to put together a full set. Dresser had the most pieces, and it took well over 3 hours to put together. I am particular and glued all the edges of each drawer, so they won't fall apart after my son opens and closes them repeatedly. I also glued every dowel and edge of most pieces when assembling-made a big difference in final feel of product. The material is partical board MDF with a thin blue laminate top glued to it. Not real wood surface, but looks really nice with the blue finish. Be prepared that the boxes are very heavy. I was satisified with the construction and solid feel of the pieces when completed. The top to the dressser came with a large ding and the crown piece on the headboard was also damaged upon unpacking. Contacted South Shore and they shipped replacements right out. Walmart does not carry the mirror to the 6 drawer, but South Shore Direct does and it shipped for free. The bed frame is a little larger than the twin matress, and there are edges exposed which could cut or rub a child if they slid out of bed. A comforter cover would prevent this. Overall would recommend this furniture, great price and good quality.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Cheap price, but cheap quality too

08/10/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this bed in November of 2008 and was very pleased of how easy it was to put together, the way it looked and for the price. However, it didn't take long (7 months) for the drawers to fall apart! I have already repaired 2 of the 3 drawers, but one I repaired so many times that nothing can help it. Be aware the drawers are made of pressboard, so if your child "pulls" too hard on the drawers or has too many clothes in his/her drawers they will fall apart. The bed/mattress is awesome, but the quality of the drawers are not. I am now in search of yet another bed for him and I will not put a cheap price in front of the quality. If you want a sturdy bed with good pull out drawers to last a long time. Do not buy this bed! I am only glad I didnt invest in the dresser or the night stand.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

We love this furniture for kids

01/25/2014
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handsome blue! Sturdy, easy setup. We wish there were more furniture options in this line and color. This is the second child's room we have bought South Shore for. Handsome furniture made w kids in mind for an appropriate price. I wanted to stay on the lower end of cost so I wouldn't get too upset when they do what kids do. Wonderful experience with customer service. One drawer had a paint scratch about 2 inches long. It was a hassle free phone call to get a new one shipped out. We will be looking to buy more from South Shore soon!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Sturdy bed, beautiful color

03/15/2014
By ,
SLC, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this bed for my 3 year-old. The box is pretty heavy when it arrives, so you may need a second person to carry it up any stairs. One adult could put this together by themselves however - the individual pieces are not too heavy and no strange balancing is required during assembly. This is definitely a complicated project - my husband and I have assembled A LOT of furniture and it still took us about 2 hours. However, the instructions are pretty clear and everything fits together perfectly. You'll only need a couple of screwdrivers and a hammer, no power tools.
Once assembled, the bed was sturdy enough for me to lay on with my toddler during story time, and the three drawers should be able to hold clothes and some toys without trouble. The blue color is beautiful, as is the still visible wood grain.
I didn't bother with the headboard, just the bed frame, and it looks nice either way.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Very sturdy and stylish

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these beds for our twin boys. We did site to store and found out when we went to pick them up that the box was very heavy! It took two of us to move a box. Putting together was no problem. The color is nice. It has a distressed paint style. Love the convience of the drawers. The smell at first is very powerful, the smell of wood. Didn't even realize it comes with a 5 year warranty! Once it was put together it was heavy to even slide around in the room to arrange. It took me a couple of hours to assemble, but I also had "little hands" help which may have slowed the process a bit. Bottom line, I'm happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Much better then expected

03/06/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought two beds, one for my 8-yr-old and the other for my 16-yr-old. I was a little worried how they would hold up to two rough and tumble boys but they've been awesome! The drawers are roomier then I thought they'd be too! I liked being able to track the shipping so closely and they arrived faster then expected. A great experience all around, would definitely buy again!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

just got my bed.

02/26/2014
By ,
worland
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
well reviews were right about install it took 4 hrs to put one bed together.
i wasnt impressed on how cheap they were made but i guess for a kid will be ok.
i bought two and new beds the measurements walmart give were way off at least by
4inch long and width my mattress i bought is small so we had to put boards just to
fill so bed dont move.
so i think a twin/full mattress prolly would be smarter for this frame.
the drawers are not going to last i can tell by putting them together the holes were not cut right,
pressed board was cracking so that will be the first thing to go on it.
we have yet not to put the other together .. im sure going to have same problem as the first.
i guess if you want a cheap bed this is what you get. overall i love the color. and look of it just wish they make them to last
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Item was dameged

06/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When my purchase arrived at my home,and I was getting my pieces out,I had noticed there was a whole about the size of my fist in the main board that goes to the bed. There were also some screws that were missing that I had to go to a hardware store to pick those up. The set up was difficult as well took 2 and a half hours to put together.
Would not recommend purchase to be sent to your home,have extra screws handy and have a professional put the item together for you.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Great Beds

09/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was happy and surprised how much I like the finish on these beds. We bought 2 for our children and my husband put them together in a few hours. They look like the designer versions but with a much better price.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Excellent value and style

09/03/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hesitant about buying furniture but I am in love with this! The storage is wonderful and it was super easy to assemble. My sister bought a similar MUCH higher priced item from an upscale retailer and we have been hard pressed to find any differences. I definitely recommend this for those who want style, quality, and practical.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Nice size for a small bedroom.

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bed is sturdy and I like the color. My only complaint is that the drawers are small. They only go half way across the bed, thus leaving lots of empty space. The space can be accessed by taking off the mattress and the boards forming the top of the bed. This will allow access to this space for longer term storage but it is not that easy to get to.
This bed is perfect for a teen's room. It's simple design compliments her smaller room.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Beautiful & Sturdy!!

03/25/2010
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Did not want to spend a fortune on a bed for my 8yr old son (who can be very rough w/his things), but I didn't want to buy just because it was cheap either, this had to last. I was concerned about the quality of the materials, but it's actually very well put together & solid. One of the drawers was a little scuffed near the edge but I sanded it smooth. We glued all edges before putting together for added strength-esp the drawers. My son definitely is getting a better nite's sleep in this platform-type bed, no more tossing & turning. He even commented on the difference(compared to his metal frame bed). I'm pleasantly surprised the finish & the drawers are still in tact- he keeps all of his favorite little gadgets/toys/books in there, making the room clutter-free in a snap! The blue color is a nice accent color in the room,you can use any other wood-toned pieces with it & do nautical theme,sports,red/white/blue, etc.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

JUNK!!!

03/04/2013
By ,
Providence, RI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Caved in under my daughters weight. She weighs 140!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Easy to put together.

09/08/2014
By ,
Clovis, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We put this bed together in a couple of hours. The directions were very clear and everything lined up perfectly. Lots of extra storage space in the drawers. The perfect guest bed for my 3 year old grandson.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Read Closely upon purchase

05/21/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It would have been great if the picture here was what was advertised when making my selection. Unfortunately for me the headboard was in the picture and I thought I was getting the entire thing for $139.00. When only one box arrived at my house and I looked back at the order I realized that the headboard was not coming. I went back online to look at the listing and saw that although they were advertised as a set, a selection had to be made adding on the headboard. I wanted to order the headboard at the discounted price that was listed and now I can not get it at that price although I already purchased the bed at the discounted price. I don't remember there being a selection to make upon my original purchase. In addition, the receipt even said set and not "bed" as listed here.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 495 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next