Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

South Shore South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Handsome and sturdy, the South Shore Twin Platform Bed is an ideal choice to meet the extra storage needs of your child. This summer breeze bed fits a standard twin mattress. Wood panels of this storage platform bed are made from recovered and recycled material. Your kid can organize his or her things neatly in these drawers that come with child-friendly latches. Constructed using the Smart Glide technology, the drawers open and close with ease. This bed's deep blueberry stain finish seamlessly blends into any dcor, while the laminated engineered wood avoids warp or crack. About South Shore Furniture: A recognized leader in North American furniture manufacture, South Shore Industries was established in 1940 and has been making furniture for three generations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.05 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(521 Reviews) 457
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
241
4 stars
171
3 stars
45
2 stars
22
1 star
42
Customer Recommendation85%445 out of 521reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 95 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
241
4 stars
171
3 stars
45
2 stars
22
1 star
42
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Great Purchase For The Price

09/21/2010
By ,
Bethesda, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bed for my 7 year old son. Overall, I love the bed and the storage feature. My only dislike is that it only fits a mattress and not a box spring/mattress set. I purchased a twin mattress set (it was on sale and cheaper than just purchasing a mattress at the time) but the mattress slides. Maybe if I use the bed properly it wouldn't be an issue I suppose. LoL
I also love this bed all around. I am a single mother with a 1 bedroom apartment and I needed to get my son out of my bed and this bed fit perfectly.
Setup: It took me two hours to put up the bed by myself but that's with a 7 year old asking 101 questions and me watching Lifetime. Assembly wasn't hard at all; I looked at the pictures to complete assembly as the reading material that they called “instructions,” were not very helpful.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Great for the Price!

10/01/2007
By ,
Havelock, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really good buy if you are looking for something inexpensive that still has the look and feel of something a that costs a lot more! I ordered the headboard and the bed together, and am just thrilled with the results. My only gripe is that the bed arrived well packaged from the manufacturer, and all the parts were there- but no assembly instructions - though it was fairly simple to figure out which parts went together, and what hardware to use. I put both peices together by myself in just under an hour! All in all I am pleased and my son loves it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry
04/29/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for my 3 year old. We needed the space underneath because he and his sister share a room for now. This is a perfect bed for their room and he is proud to sleep in his big boy bed. I actually put it together myself and didn't have any trouble. Took a couple hours but was worth it. Great bed worth the cost and he can grow with it at least until adolescence.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

GReat Buy

04/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would definately recommend. Very sturdy, easy to put together and great for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Sturdy bed, beautiful color

03/15/2014
By ,
SLC, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this bed for my 3 year-old. The box is pretty heavy when it arrives, so you may need a second person to carry it up any stairs. One adult could put this together by themselves however - the individual pieces are not too heavy and no strange balancing is required during assembly. This is definitely a complicated project - my husband and I have assembled A LOT of furniture and it still took us about 2 hours. However, the instructions are pretty clear and everything fits together perfectly. You'll only need a couple of screwdrivers and a hammer, no power tools.
Once assembled, the bed was sturdy enough for me to lay on with my toddler during story time, and the three drawers should be able to hold clothes and some toys without trouble. The blue color is beautiful, as is the still visible wood grain.
I didn't bother with the headboard, just the bed frame, and it looks nice either way.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

just got my bed.

02/26/2014
By ,
worland
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
well reviews were right about install it took 4 hrs to put one bed together.
i wasnt impressed on how cheap they were made but i guess for a kid will be ok.
i bought two and new beds the measurements walmart give were way off at least by
4inch long and width my mattress i bought is small so we had to put boards just to
fill so bed dont move.
so i think a twin/full mattress prolly would be smarter for this frame.
the drawers are not going to last i can tell by putting them together the holes were not cut right,
pressed board was cracking so that will be the first thing to go on it.
we have yet not to put the other together .. im sure going to have same problem as the first.
i guess if you want a cheap bed this is what you get. overall i love the color. and look of it just wish they make them to last
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

We love this furniture for kids

01/25/2014
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handsome blue! Sturdy, easy setup. We wish there were more furniture options in this line and color. This is the second child's room we have bought South Shore for. Handsome furniture made w kids in mind for an appropriate price. I wanted to stay on the lower end of cost so I wouldn't get too upset when they do what kids do. Wonderful experience with customer service. One drawer had a paint scratch about 2 inches long. It was a hassle free phone call to get a new one shipped out. We will be looking to buy more from South Shore soon!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

great value

03/03/2014
By ,
RICHMOND, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bed is beautiful and wonderful to have the extra storage. No box spring needed! The only thing that kept me from giving 5 stars is the assembly instructions. The piece you're supposed to put on top of the piece that makes the drawer slide doesn't seem to be needed. I could be wrong but the instructions could be clearer. All in all happy I purchased. Best value around
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Love the extra storage space

04/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We were very satisfied with the product. The color is unique and is a great accent to our sons bedroom. The extra storage space is very helpful since our sons share a bedroom.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Good product overall

06/30/2009
By ,
Phoenix, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the 4 piece bedroom set seperately, as we wanted the 6 drawer dresser not the 5 drawer dresser which was included in the set online-this was a good choice as the 6 drawer is really nice. We had read another review that the 5 drawer dresser was top heavy and could fall over if not strapped to wall, not good for our 3 year old. Each piece went together quickly and easily. Instructions were clear and there were no missing pieces-extra actaully. My recommendation is to be somewhat handy & have a large bottle of Gorilla Wood Glue and a several hours to put together a full set. Dresser had the most pieces, and it took well over 3 hours to put together. I am particular and glued all the edges of each drawer, so they won't fall apart after my son opens and closes them repeatedly. I also glued every dowel and edge of most pieces when assembling-made a big difference in final feel of product. The material is partical board MDF with a thin blue laminate top glued to it. Not real wood surface, but looks really nice with the blue finish. Be prepared that the boxes are very heavy. I was satisified with the construction and solid feel of the pieces when completed. The top to the dressser came with a large ding and the crown piece on the headboard was also damaged upon unpacking. Contacted South Shore and they shipped replacements right out. Walmart does not carry the mirror to the 6 drawer, but South Shore Direct does and it shipped for free. The bed frame is a little larger than the twin matress, and there are edges exposed which could cut or rub a child if they slid out of bed. A comforter cover would prevent this. Overall would recommend this furniture, great price and good quality.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Cheap price, but cheap quality too

08/10/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this bed in November of 2008 and was very pleased of how easy it was to put together, the way it looked and for the price. However, it didn't take long (7 months) for the drawers to fall apart! I have already repaired 2 of the 3 drawers, but one I repaired so many times that nothing can help it. Be aware the drawers are made of pressboard, so if your child "pulls" too hard on the drawers or has too many clothes in his/her drawers they will fall apart. The bed/mattress is awesome, but the quality of the drawers are not. I am now in search of yet another bed for him and I will not put a cheap price in front of the quality. If you want a sturdy bed with good pull out drawers to last a long time. Do not buy this bed! I am only glad I didnt invest in the dresser or the night stand.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

MUST BUY!!!

03/17/2014
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the headboard, twin bed & night stand for my 3 yr old sons first big boy bed set. I found it on South Shore.com, then found it on Cymax.com for about $75 cheaper! Then the day before purchasing online, I found it on Walmart.com for over $100 cheaper than South Shore site!
It was SO easy to set up and the color is absolutely beautiful. With the other expensive furniture, curtains & rug we have in his room, it definitely looks like I spent MORE than I did! I will be purchasing the rest of the bed set as he grows.
This is a must buy set, it looks great and is SO affordable!
Thanks walmart!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Great set!!

01/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with the product. We got the bed, headboard & high dresser. Love the blue color. Impressed with sturdiness.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

durability

03/27/2014
By ,
Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not very sturdy at all. Sauder brand was better and cost less.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Very great for the price!

03/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love the color! Very fast shipping. I would suggest shopping around because we found the same bed priced many different ways just on Walmart.com alone. If I would have bought the first one I saw it would have cost me overall for the whole suite about $300 more. I am very happy with the quality!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Love the color!

03/23/2014
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bed arrived as pictured. Assembly was fairly easy. Perfect for a small child. Great value.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Looks nice, good value.

02/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Takes a bit to put together but it is very sturdy and looks nice.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Much better then expected

03/06/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought two beds, one for my 8-yr-old and the other for my 16-yr-old. I was a little worried how they would hold up to two rough and tumble boys but they've been awesome! The drawers are roomier then I thought they'd be too! I liked being able to track the shipping so closely and they arrived faster then expected. A great experience all around, would definitely buy again!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

not satisfied

03/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The purchase that I had made was a 4pieces bundle and I haven't received all the item's with the bundle so I'm not satisfied with this
Product Attributes:
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Mates Bed, Blueberry

Broken drawer

03/04/2014
By ,
Albuquerque NM
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For what I paid it isn't horrible and will serve its purpose. One of the drawer fronts was broken, and was told we'd have to return the entire box just to get a drawer. So to save ourselves that stress my husband fixed it. It's for our toddler so hoping it survives the next few years to get our moneys worth
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 458 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  23 Next