Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Meade Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

Meade Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

The Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack (formerly Deluxe 2-Bike Carrier) makes it easy to take your bike along on trips. This Cantilever 200 Bike Rack holds two bikes for adults or kids, with an individual cradle for each bike's frame. This deluxe bike rack fits a variety of vehicles and is easy to attach, so you can be on the road in minutes, heading toward your biking adventure. The Cantilever 200 Rack also folds quickly for easy storage when you don't want it attached to your auto. The powder-coated steel frame of the Cantilever 200 Bike is durable and built to last.
Average Customer Rating:
3.975 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(200 Reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
71
3 stars
16
2 stars
14
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation83%165 out of 199reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
105 Questions | 55 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
71
3 stars
16
2 stars
14
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

good choice

05/06/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product. Easily attached and the padding was more than adequate to protect the car.
Definitely would recommend for carrying two bikes.
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

Could be better

05/30/2013
By ,
Pomona, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this bike rack after purchasing two bikes from Wal-Mart and had no way of transporting them. I saw the price and some pretty good reviews so I decided to get it and give it a try. It was pretty simple due to the fact that it's ready to go right out of the box. The only problem I really have with it is that it isn't very secure. I put the mountain bike on the rack so I could take it to the shop to get tuned and by the end of my 5 mile journey the bottom straps had come unhooked from my trunk. I noticed that the bike was swaying side to side but didn't think anything of it until I got to the shop and noticed that it was unhooked. I was a little scared/relieved that it didn't come completely off while driving. The next time I used the rack I made sure to tighten everything up after loading up both bikes and had the same problem again. I need something more secure so I'll be taking it back tomorrow. Hope this helps someone.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

Bell could do better

07/15/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros:
1) Best price in the market.
2) Metal construction is very good.
3) the reflectors are a nice touch.
Cons:
1) Lacks side straps/clips. Only upper/lower straps are provided. Definitely good for local trip with in 10 to 25 miles. Don't think it's good for longer trips. I've used it once on a 80 miles trip. It held up fine. But I would prefer to have side straps to be confident to drive at higher speeds. I was little concerned and had to watch the bike and my speed.
2) the straps loop through plastic buckles. Though the design is better with saw tooth, it could have been better if they were metal buckles.
3) to hold the bike to the rack, Velcro straps are provided. For smaller diameter frame tubes the Velcro doesn't stick well. The thickness of the tube has to be really big to get the Velcro stick well. It could have been designed little better to accommodate different frame thickness either with a different kind of tightening system or buttons.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

Scratched and dented my car

08/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not only was this bike rack difficult to put on, but it also put dents and scratches in my trunk. In addition, my bike (Diamondback Hybrid) did not fit well on it. I was worried it was going to fall off and didn't trust going more than a couple of blocks. This rack is definitely going back.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

Easy to install and load, bikes attach securely.

08/30/2013
By ,
Boxborough, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my third bike carrier, and easily the best. I had to struggle, slightly, initially to wrestle it into the proper configuration for my car, a Corolla. Once I had that, it attaches easily and securely, the bikes attach easily. If the instructions were clearer, I would probably not have had to struggle quite so much. Lost a star there.
The bikes don't sway when you drive, the carrier does not bounce away from the car. The rubber cradles and Velcro straps on the bike support rail keep the bikes secure and snugly attached. By the way, the carrier stores easily in my basement.
One issue is stowing the extra length of straps when in use. I used rubber bands (elastics in New England) to keep them from flapping in the breeze as I drove. Not a big deal, just a tip.
If I had it to do over I might get a three bike unit, instead of the the two bike unit.
Did I mention, I really like this product? The instructions, not as much.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

Good value for the price

06/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The rack is good for someone looking for a general bike rack to get one or two bikes around in the general area. Very easy to attach to the car. Quality of the frame seems to be very durable. Not sure if I would want to travel very long distances with the rack, but it is very reliable for riding within your region or city.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

A+

08/11/2014
By ,
salem, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product just make sure when you open your trunk and the bikes aren't on that you make sure the straps holding it on to your car stay tight or the whole thing will fall off when you put the trunk lid back down.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

very satisfied

03/24/2014
By ,
tampa, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This model fits both our vehicles, car & suv. Have looked at other products and it works great. First use was a trip on highway. Was impressed at how sturdy it was with two bikes on it thru construction zone.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

Good rack for the money.

08/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a basic bike carrier. No bells and whistles. Easy to install. I did take extra precaution to wrap the trunk clips with swatches of old towels to avoid scratches or scuff marks. The rack doesn't have side-to-side secure straps, but if you're just taking your bike to the park, you should be fine. There is some "play" with the bike swinging on the rack which can be eliminated by the way you secure the excess strapping around it. Again, for the money, this is a good product.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

Great product

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this product in a 12 hour drive to the midwest. Didn't give me any issues! Amazing quality for this reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

Good product for the price.

06/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great deal for your money. Would have been excellent if it had straps to hold it from side to side.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

Poor directions

08/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not work on my car has 3 paded bars but only showes 2 on all diagrams
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack
09/20/2007
By ,
Barberton, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just bought this bike rack today. Very easy to install (however, I have a rear spoiler, but seems to be working great), It secured my bike safely to the car. I tested it out by going over bumps and making tight turns (with my bike attached) to see if it would shift. Didn't move at all. The real test is when I take it on one of my trips out of state. So far, it seems to be doing what it was made for. I hope this review helps others make their decision when thinking about buying a bike rack for themselves.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+191points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

Best price

08/15/2014
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best price I could find, plus brand name. Works on car or suv. Added some bungees for extra support. Better price online than in store.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

Easy to install

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the easiest bike rack that I could have put on my car. It is very intuitive and works well.
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

great for single bike, difficult with 2

10/21/2008
By ,
Hunt County TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I highly recommend you tie a loop behind the buckles with the straps, after installation and tightening. This is good practice with all cycle tie downs, but necessary here because the buckles are low quality. There are only 4 straps, not six like on bike-shop models. You must check for strap tightness to be safe. You must also use bungee cords or rope to secure the wheels from spinning or turning (they will wear bearings out or scuff the car by the tires.
This product works, but take note. A higher quality 2 bike carrier will likely cost $59-150.
If you have bikes with unusual configurations (no normal top tube), they may not work well or at all on this bike. If your bike is worth $500, you use it frequently with 2 bikes or you can not tolerate scuffs on your trunk, do not use this product, buy a hitch rack or roof rack (100-1000$)
I used this product last weekend to carry a full suspension race bike and a girls frame mountain bike. It took some work and was inconvenient, but the product was satisfactory. For a single bike this product is very satisfactory for the price.
You can add a 3/8 screw with eye hole to your trunk somewhere for a place to lock bikes/rack to, if you don't mind drilling a permanent hole.
I am replacing the factory straps with ratchet tie-down straps around the entire deck lid, because my car is old and I don't think it will scuff the edges of deck lid any more than the factory hooks.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

Could be better

08/13/2014
By ,
Evansville, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is no joke, you do get what you pay for. I bought this aside from the mostly low scores on the quality factor because it is inexpensive. I am glad that my local store carries this one is stock, so I could easily return it if there were any problems. The most vague installation instructions I have ever held in my hands Don't let the ready to go out of the box fool you. It may already be assembled and ready to be put on your car, but it is awkward to hold while you're having to press the large red buttons in on the sides while trying to figure out which swinging bar goes where. The pictures in the booklet are so tiny, and completely pointless. There is not one picture showing you what the completed install should look like, and which way the arms go. Quick note: the bike rack I have must be a newer version of this one because in the picture the grooves for bike tube are red, mine are black, and mine has a third bar which is suppose to have a purpose, but I haven't figured that out yet. In the booklet it states it is an additional padded support for trunk lid. The hooks are vinyl coated, but still very untrustworthy. I have read a review someone stated using electrical tape as a added benefit. Do make sure the arms have all locked in place before placing on your trunk lid. I made the mistake of not doing so and I have scratches on edge of trunk lid from the metal plates sticking out around the large red button you have to press in to release the arms. Instead of grooves being formed into the bar which will be holding your bike, there are rubber sleeves with Velcro straps used to secure bike. I have a 26" cruiser bike, I used the grooves farthest away from car, otherwise it wouldn't fit, the rubber sleeves gradually slide back towards the car trunk lid. I do understand why the company made in that way #to adjust for different size bikes#, but maybe making the bar a rough texture so the bike sleeves wont slide back. That could possibly cause damage to bike and/or car.
Now I do like how secure the rack is once mounted and straps are tight. The well padded bars that make contact with your cars trunk lid is a plus. The rack actually makes its very easy to work on your bike too. If you do not have a stand, or hate bending over to repair tires just secure your bike on the rack and it is at perfect height. Made it simple to change kick stand.
Everybody has different opinions and experiences, and that is exactly what this is. If you are at all interested try it out, and go from there. From reading the other reviews some people have had great use out of them.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

Looks great

08/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only thing I don't like so far is the excess strap. What am I supposed to do with it? I tied it up but it comes undone and flaps. Anxious to try our bikes on it and see how it does.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

Great little rack

12/01/2007
By ,
Lake City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me forever to figure it out the first time but after that, I can put it on in a minute. Fast, secure, attractive, great product for great price. I'm very happy with my purchase. Just remember that the frame must be in the LOCK position on your trunk or it will scratch your car.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bell Cantilever 200 Bike Rack

Great buy

08/05/2014
By ,
Ozone Park, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great I used it this weekend easy to mount
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 172 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next