Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

Create a cozy home away from home with the roomy Ozark Trail Dome Tent. It features a shock-corded frame system and pre-attached guy ropes for stability and easy set-up. Plus, the three windows and mesh roof keep the air inside the tent circulating for fresh, clean ventilation. Plus, the Ozark Trail 8-Person Tent has a welded tub floor and detachable mud mat to keep you dry during rainy, damp weather. And a power pocket offers easy cord access to the inside of the tent. The Ozark Trail Dome Tent comes with a 6-month replacement parts warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.317 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation85%35 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 61 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

Great for my needs

09/04/2014
By ,
E. Taunton, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tent itself is huge (see pictures). Directions are sparse, but the largest pole is used to the fly entrance, the shortest go at each end and two next largest in the middle. There are 6 windows; one each end, one in the back, one in the door and one on either side of the door for a total of 6. Without the fly you can sleep under the stars with a mesh top to keep out insects. I sealed the fly completely and since the 'tub' is heat sealed I don't see how water can get in with the fly on properly. After setting it up I will use a tarp underneath. I think the floor might be the weak point ?.
I think it is a great value for me. I will only use it occasionally and with only a couple of other people. It is well designed and I expect if you are a regular camper and plan on camping in extreme conditions and using it a lot, this might not suit your needs. For someone who plans on using it once or twice a season it seems ideal. I probably could have gone smaller, but this is great buy and isn't very big to store.
I was very pleased with the design, appearance and quality. No negatives from me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

Worth every penny of $109.96!!!

05/26/2012
By ,
Clovis, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I start the revue there is only one thing you must keep in your mind...$109.96. Is this the best tent ever? No. Is it the easiest to setup? No. I love the tent and to beat a dead horse, it is worth every penny.
The picture Walmart provides does not do the tent justice. It shows the rain fly completely unzipped and open. When it is closed up this thing is a fort. It is 85% of a full rain fly. It covers all but just over a foot from the ground all the way around. It comes with good quality cord for the tie downs. I did buy two packs (10-12 stakes) of strong tent stakes from Harbor Freight Tools at a total of $5.00. When this thing is staked down and tied, it is going nowhere. It is solid. The first time we used the tent it stormed. We did not seal the seems. We put it up right out of the box. It is a fort. A dry fort. We had the rain fly in the propped up position, as the picture shows of the entrance. no rain came in. If you wanted to collapse the front of the rain fly, it will cover the front of the tent just below the door. It has a zipper so you can come and go with ease. As for the size of the tent? We are a family of six. We have two queen sized mattresses for my wife, myself, our six-year-old and four-year-old. We also put up a port-a-crib for our 1 1/2 year-old, a large rug at the entrance to warm feet on and enough room for our stuff. A good size reference would be, it will hold three queen sized mattresses. Its footprint is large enough to hold a good amount but not so large that it is hard to find a good spot to put it up on level ground at a camp site. If you take off the rain fly, it is the ultimate star gazer tent that will keep the bugs away.
In a nut shell, the pros are:
The rain fly is AWESOME. Great tie downs. Sturdy tent. Lots of room. Great air movement. Warm at night with no dew issues in the morning. Color coded setup. Awning is fantastic. Strong ceiling to hold lights or fans easily. Power port. Worth every penny.
The Cons:
There are some. My biggest dislike is the center of the tent is netting and it droops a bit. I am 6'4" so it hits the top of my head. If you are under 6'0" this will not be an issue. It is not a big enough issue to loose a star on. There are no windows to open from the inside of the tent. The window openings are built into the rain fly. The goods about this are they do not leak at all. Takes 10-15 minutes to put up. Our last tent was an insta-tent that took 1 minute to put up and take down. I hate tent poles but this is ok. You trade size for convenience. As I said, it is worth $109.96.
For the money you can't beat it. Ozark Trails did a good job improving flaws with their last years tents. Personally, I don't think anyone else makes a $109.96 tent that can even compare to this big boy. The tent is AWESOME!!! I added some photos of the tent in the yard after we cleaned it up after camping.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+193points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CT.
This is 'FINALLY' thee tent!
Posted 05/02/2014
Thanks to gphebus from Clovis, Ca. I have been searching all over the net, comparing tent after tent. After reading, probably the best feedback I have ever read, all the questions I was needing answers to, and some I did not think of, but you did! I am ordering this tent today! Really want to say Thank you soooo much, I can not wait to use this tent. Rainproof, easy setup, can see the stars out the top, lots of room, and so much more!
+4points
Customer Avatar
Middletown, Ohio
Very spacious! Why pay for more!!!
Posted 07/01/2012
I love this tent. I just went on a five day camping tent at HoustonWoods, and I purchased this tent two weeks before I left. It was definitely worth every penny. It was very spacious on the inside! I had so much room in the tent! After doing extensive research when searching for a tent; I have found that this is absolutely one of the best. We had a real bad rain storm on two days. On the first day the wind was blowing so hard that it was knocking down trees and limbs, but the tent did not move at all. I had a friend that did not stake her tent down like she should have, and her tent blew across the woods. But this ozark tent remained stable. It rained very hard for two days with thunder...and I mean severe rain, and not once did water leak in. I didn't even spray the seams because I wanted to see if this tent could hold thru a rain storm. This Ozark Trail tent did a fantastic job. I stayed dried as a Sahara Desert! This tent will stay completely dry, and you will not have a problem.
+10points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

Great tent for use in Spring, Summer and Fall.

10/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to put up and take down. I suggest to read the instructions entirely before putting it together. I would have saved myself a lot of time if I would have done it first. lol Very roomy and I like the covering/awning over the doorway for when it is raining. I would recommend this for price, quality, room, and ventilation.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

love this tent

05/12/2013
By ,
new jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price this tent is great.held up good in heavy rain but to be safe its best to buy a tarp,
Its was easy to set up, not so difficult
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

Don't know if this helps

01/28/2014
By ,
flagstaff, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read other reviews on this out of curiosity and read where one person had a problem with the tent so let me say that all tents must have some type of water sealant for them. Use a spray or Bees wax work great where a leak is. Now my friend & I were up in North Dakota & found are selves with no place to stay & there wasn't anyone renting. So he went to Walmart & found this tent that he got on sale for like $70 & I've never seen it that cheap since, I looked. But this tent was so impressive for the money it's worth 3 times the price. I've gone camping my whole life & I'm in my mid 50's now. Always bring a tarp with you to put over a tent when you go camping in case it rains!!! But this tent work great in below freezing weather. With a small heater & tarp below the tent which is what you use for tents. Best buy on a tent I've ever seen & it still works great 3 years later.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

Pleasantly Surprised

08/01/2014
By ,
Central Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my new tent arrived, it was a little larger than I expected. I had a previous model that was around the same size, but folded down much smaller. However, I am very pleased with this tent. Having camped in tents since I was very young, the ease of set up on this is a huge plus. It's marked for a two person set up, but if pressed, one person could easily accomplish this alone, and in very little time. The design allows for a lot of privacy, but still allows for nice air flow. I do recommend setting up the tent before actual use, and sealing the seams of the rain fly with a camp sealant. I always do this with all of my tents, just in make sure it stays dry inside. All in all, great value for the price.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

AWESOME huge tent, very low price!!

06/02/2014
By ,
Zimmerman, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't really give a good opinion as to the ease of set up as we arrived at midnight and had to do it in the dark, but, we got it done in about a half hour first time. It is huge and I would say you could even fit more than 8 people. My husband has a bad back and needed something that would allow him to stand, this tent is 6'2", end to end! Great buy! I would highly recommend this tent to anyone needing a lot of room!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

Nice tent, but...

10/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a very spacious tent and fairly easy to set up. This tent in my opinion is only good for camping in perfect weather conditions. It is completely open and cannot be closed up.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

great for dry weather

08/21/2014
By ,
Sweetwater, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tent is of good size for the money.
Would be great for dry weather camping,
but it rained and we got soaked. I have
tent camped since 1988 and never been
soaked inside a tent before.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

more room than I expected

10/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this tent to replace damaged one to use primarily for cub scout campouts. It was pretty easy to get together, and had more room than I expected. We bought it on rollback, so it was a very good deal for us!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

fair

10/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Returned tent. After setting it up we found that the window zippers were on the outside. Poor design.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

BIG tent!!

09/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just used this tent over Labor day. It was fantastic. The tent is HUGE... we have a four person family and slept in sleeping bags, with plenty of room left over. The tent can easily fit two queen mattresses with additional room to spare. The tent has plenty of windows. At night the breeze would gush through the tent. I was concerned, but the tent held up. The large windows are also great for stargazing. I could sit inside the tent away from the bugs and look into the nights sky. Originally I bought the 8 person Coleman from Walmart, and it broke on the first use. I like this tent better because my husband and I could stand up in the majority of the tent. I'm 5'7 and he's 6'0 and we had no problems standing all over this tent. The picture on the web site doesn't do this tent justice, It's a large family tent with good features.
The ONE problem I did see, was the condensation collected at the top of the rainfly, and dripped inside the tent first thing in the morning. Once the sun came out it dried up that condensation from the night before. It wasn't a huge problem, but I'm not sure if this would happen every time. It rained a little before we arrived, so we didn't get to test it in the rain.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

Great Tent, best price!

07/07/2014
By ,
Overland Park KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far only used twice but its VALUE FOR MONEY!! I bought it for $79 and its much more worth it.
I use two queen air beds and still planty of room left for other stuff you want to keep inside the tent. Rainfly is the biggest plus when it rains it covers well enough area beyond the tent boundaries so no possibility of getting water inside the tent. I am very happy with it. Stands good in bad weather as well.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

Pretty good tent

08/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used this tent once and it was for only one night. That being said, it rained like crazy all night long and we stayed dry inside. It was very roomy and I was completely satisfied. It also was fairly easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

Huge for the price.

10/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing is big. Doesn't look it. I know it's an 8 person but usually they over estimate. We could have 3 double mattresses in there easy, if we wanted. Not bad for the price and free shipping. We didn't seal the seams or anything. First night we used it, it poured, all night long. Dry as a bone. We left the window vents open and the rain fly did it's job.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

Absolutely pleased!

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was excited about buying this tent because it's actually the first one I've owned. Very shortly after it arrived at my house, a very eager 5 year old just had to sleep in it that night. Now keeping in mind, I've never owned a tent, I've never actually set up a tent of this size before, and all I had to help me was a 13 yr old and of course the very eager 5 year old.
It didn't take us long to put the tent up, and it wasn't very complicated. Took maybe 25 min. for a bunch of novice first timers.
The size was perfect, plenty of space and I was very impressed with the dome and the provided space for an average grown size adult male to not have to hunch over.
The tents durability is spot on, it stayed up in my back yard for about a week with no shortage of wind, and it's just as it was coming out of the box.
The only thing I can complain about is having to pack that beast back up. Probably completely circumstantial and individually environmental, it was a pain. Note to yourself though, I only had a 5 year old to help. Got everything back in the bag in about a half hour, and that's being very tedious with the pegs and ties. Believe me, it probably didn't look pretty, but mission accomplished.
I can't wait until we can use it somewhere other than the yard, because I'm sure I'll be just as pleased.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

Best tent for price

06/15/2014
By ,
Prattsburgh NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent was easy to set up and for a family of four was huge area inside of tent to sleep and for all our supplies for our six day vacation.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

Lots of room, keeps the rain out

08/01/2012
By ,
Elmira, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this tent and took it for a week of camping. We are a family of 3, and there was lots of room for us and our gear. I think it would be tight to sleep 8 (as it states) but I could see 6 people fitting.
We had strong winds and rain a few days of our trip and the tent held up beautifully. While we were packing up there was a down pour. No rain came in the tent, it stayed nice and dry.
We are very pleased with this tent!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

GREAT TENT, GREAT PRICE

09/01/2014
By ,
South Bend, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best tent I have owned. We just used it for the 1st time for 3 nights.
I was kinda skeptical because we had chance of rain all weekend. We got lucky
we didnt get much rain. We did get some, but NONE got in the tent...NOT A DROP.
This tent is very spacious as you can fit 3 queen air mattresses. We only used one,
but had plenty of storage space. And tall enough to walk around it. I got it on sale
for $79 and so glad I got it. If your looking for a spacious tent that does good in the
rain, Get this one. You will not regret it. It does not have room dividers, but well
worth it.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent with Extended Porch RainFly

won't last

03/12/2014
By ,
Queen Creek, Az
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It would be the perfect size but would probably only last a few camping trips. The fabric is thin. There is no windows on ends just mesh and rain flap to go over them. We set it up to check it out. The fold were you put the rods was thin and attached to mesh. It felt like it was going to ripe just trying to set it up. The rods were the same way. The bottom is thin. You would definitely need a tarp under it if you want it to last more than 1 trip. It does take at least 2 people to set it up because the rods just go across like a tunnel. I think stacking it down is what really holds the whole thing up. We had to take it back. We go camping at 2-3 times a year, with 3 kids all 8 yrs and older. This tent would probably last a couple if trips before you have to start repairing if your lucky. You get what you pay for.....
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next