Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Create a cozy home away from home with the roomy Ozark Trail Dome Tent. It features a shock-corded frame system and pre-attached guy ropes for stability and easy set-up. Plus, the three windows and mesh roof keep the air inside the tent circulating for fresh, clean ventilation. Plus, the Ozark Trail 8-Person Tent has a welded tub floor and detachable mud mat to keep you dry during rainy, damp weather. And a power pocket offers easy cord access to the inside of the tent. The Ozark Trail Dome Tent comes with a 6-month replacement parts warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation77%10 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 41 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Worth every penny of $109.96!!!

05/26/2012
By ,
Clovis, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I start the revue there is only one thing you must keep in your mind...$109.96. Is this the best tent ever? No. Is it the easiest to setup? No. I love the tent and to beat a dead horse, it is worth every penny.
The picture Walmart provides does not do the tent justice. It shows the rain fly completely unzipped and open. When it is closed up this thing is a fort. It is 85% of a full rain fly. It covers all but just over a foot from the ground all the way around. It comes with good quality cord for the tie downs. I did buy two packs (10-12 stakes) of strong tent stakes from Harbor Freight Tools at a total of $5.00. When this thing is staked down and tied, it is going nowhere. It is solid. The first time we used the tent it stormed. We did not seal the seems. We put it up right out of the box. It is a fort. A dry fort. We had the rain fly in the propped up position, as the picture shows of the entrance. no rain came in. If you wanted to collapse the front of the rain fly, it will cover the front of the tent just below the door. It has a zipper so you can come and go with ease. As for the size of the tent? We are a family of six. We have two queen sized mattresses for my wife, myself, our six-year-old and four-year-old. We also put up a port-a-crib for our 1 1/2 year-old, a large rug at the entrance to warm feet on and enough room for our stuff. A good size reference would be, it will hold three queen sized mattresses. Its footprint is large enough to hold a good amount but not so large that it is hard to find a good spot to put it up on level ground at a camp site. If you take off the rain fly, it is the ultimate star gazer tent that will keep the bugs away.
In a nut shell, the pros are:
The rain fly is AWESOME. Great tie downs. Sturdy tent. Lots of room. Great air movement. Warm at night with no dew issues in the morning. Color coded setup. Awning is fantastic. Strong ceiling to hold lights or fans easily. Power port. Worth every penny.
The Cons:
There are some. My biggest dislike is the center of the tent is netting and it droops a bit. I am 6'4" so it hits the top of my head. If you are under 6'0" this will not be an issue. It is not a big enough issue to loose a star on. There are no windows to open from the inside of the tent. The window openings are built into the rain fly. The goods about this are they do not leak at all. Takes 10-15 minutes to put up. Our last tent was an insta-tent that took 1 minute to put up and take down. I hate tent poles but this is ok. You trade size for convenience. As I said, it is worth $109.96.
For the money you can't beat it. Ozark Trails did a good job improving flaws with their last years tents. Personally, I don't think anyone else makes a $109.96 tent that can even compare to this big boy. The tent is AWESOME!!! I added some photos of the tent in the yard after we cleaned it up after camping.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+99points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Middletown, Ohio
Very spacious! Why pay for more!!!
Posted 07/01/2012
I love this tent. I just went on a five day camping tent at HoustonWoods, and I purchased this tent two weeks before I left. It was definitely worth every penny. It was very spacious on the inside! I had so much room in the tent! After doing extensive research when searching for a tent; I have found that this is absolutely one of the best. We had a real bad rain storm on two days. On the first day the wind was blowing so hard that it was knocking down trees and limbs, but the tent did not move at all. I had a friend that did not stake her tent down like she should have, and her tent blew across the woods. But this ozark tent remained stable. It rained very hard for two days with thunder...and I mean severe rain, and not once did water leak in. I didn't even spray the seams because I wanted to see if this tent could hold thru a rain storm. This Ozark Trail tent did a fantastic job. I stayed dried as a Sahara Desert! This tent will stay completely dry, and you will not have a problem.
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

love this tent

05/12/2013
By ,
new jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price this tent is great.held up good in heavy rain but to be safe its best to buy a tarp,
Its was easy to set up, not so difficult
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Don't know if this helps

01/28/2014
By ,
flagstaff, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read other reviews on this out of curiosity and read where one person had a problem with the tent so let me say that all tents must have some type of water sealant for them. Use a spray or Bees wax work great where a leak is. Now my friend & I were up in North Dakota & found are selves with no place to stay & there wasn't anyone renting. So he went to Walmart & found this tent that he got on sale for like $70 & I've never seen it that cheap since, I looked. But this tent was so impressive for the money it's worth 3 times the price. I've gone camping my whole life & I'm in my mid 50's now. Always bring a tarp with you to put over a tent when you go camping in case it rains!!! But this tent work great in below freezing weather. With a small heater & tarp below the tent which is what you use for tents. Best buy on a tent I've ever seen & it still works great 3 years later.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

won't last

03/12/2014
By ,
Queen Creek, Az
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It would be the perfect size but would probably only last a few camping trips. The fabric is thin. There is no windows on ends just mesh and rain flap to go over them. We set it up to check it out. The fold were you put the rods was thin and attached to mesh. It felt like it was going to ripe just trying to set it up. The rods were the same way. The bottom is thin. You would definitely need a tarp under it if you want it to last more than 1 trip. It does take at least 2 people to set it up because the rods just go across like a tunnel. I think stacking it down is what really holds the whole thing up. We had to take it back. We go camping at 2-3 times a year, with 3 kids all 8 yrs and older. This tent would probably last a couple if trips before you have to start repairing if your lucky. You get what you pay for.....
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Lots of room, keeps the rain out

08/01/2012
By ,
Elmira, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this tent and took it for a week of camping. We are a family of 3, and there was lots of room for us and our gear. I think it would be tight to sleep 8 (as it states) but I could see 6 people fitting.
We had strong winds and rain a few days of our trip and the tent held up beautifully. While we were packing up there was a down pour. No rain came in the tent, it stayed nice and dry.
We are very pleased with this tent!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Very Roomy Sturdy Tent

07/29/2012
By ,
Greeley, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me start by saying I am an ultra newbie to camping, as in I have never done it. I haven't even so much camped out in my back yard! So when you read this review keep all this in mind; if you are an experienced camper I doubt my review will be of much help. I purchased this tent to potentially sleep up to five adults on no less than three queen size air beds for a three day rock concert camping festival up in northern Minnesota. I was told the weather in the day time was hot and muggy and at night cool and a bit damp. I had never been up that way so I was relying upon the expertise and knowledge of others to guide me. I read the reviews on this and many other tents and I didn't have a big budget so this tent seemed to fit all of my needs. Lots of space and quite decent reviews.
I did as I was told and the week before going practiced setting it up. This is the only reason I gave it four stars instead of five. The tent is a bit laborious to set up especially if you know nothing about doing so. If you're a true beginner like me, three to four people is most definitely recommended for set up. Two or three experienced people could probably set it up and now after having used it successfully I would agree. Bare minimum for sure is two people. Still, the setup wasn't too bad and I was surprised when we were able to get all the parts back into the bag successfully as well. Fast forward to the trip itself and my actual usage and subsequent reviews.
The tent truly is enormous! When it says it can fit three queen size air beds they aren't kidding. It fit the three beds plus some nominal room to throw our stuff in. If you have a lot of gear then I recommend only two queen air beds and a smaller bed as the queen air beds laid side by side take up 95% of the floor space. You can indeed stand up inside if you are six feet tall or shorter (it was all girls in the tent who met this criteria, if you're taller it's not too bad to bend down a couple inches). This was very very handy to be able to change clothes in as we were camping with guys as well and the restroom facilities were close but not close enough to be able to just jog out and change. With the rain fly and door zipped you have total privacy, with it open you have wonderful ventilation. I am one that easily overheats and I was thoroughly impressed with how well ventilated the tent was when all vents were opened.
I did purchase a heavy duty tarp to lay under neath the tent as it does not include a footprint with this model, and I would definitely recommend this so as not to tear up the bottom of the tent. The stakes provided with the tent were adequate for the most part but I would recommend having a set of back up more sturdy stakes available. The tent held up beautifully when it got a little windy out. We never had rain so I cannot attest to how well this tent would perform in those conditions but my guess is it would be fabulous. I had tent seam sealer on hand per more recommendations but did not use it during the trip. I did not notice any glaring holes in the seams and as I said we never experienced inclement weather so I cannot attest to the performance of this tent in those conditions.
As a total beginner to camping I was and am extremely happy with this tent. It was every bit worth the cost, which may not be much to the average camper but was a big chunk of change for a newbie. I'd happily recommend this tent to anyone and everyone; it is very well suited for families. The tent comfortably sleeps six, could squeeze eight in sleeping bags only. I'd say stick with the six for comfort purposes, eight would be a stretch. I loved that there were power cord openings as well as little pockets on the walls to put small valuables in. It is a tent that can keep you both warm and cool when needed all via adjusting the ventilation. I highly recommend getting a tent light of some sort; I purchased a cheap $8 overhead LED one that worked beautifully to light the entire tent as well as a couple flashlights for spot lighting as needed. The one and only con is the setup, but I can live with that and with practice it no doubt becomes much easier. Great tent!!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Nice tent for price

10/26/2012
By ,
Van Buren, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big tent will hold 3 queen air mattresses. After you set it up once real easy next time. Plenty of space to stand up and move around. Not sure how it is in the rain but can't be too bad the rain fly covers almost 80% of the tent. Did well in wind gusts of 35mph. Good tent for the price. I have owned a lot of tents and this one ranks in the top 3.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Loved it

06/01/2013
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was our 1st time camping every. We bought 2 tents for mothers day. One was bought directy at Walmart the OZARK 14X8 for my mother and her dog. The other one was bought online ( the 10 person tent , 3 room XL listed for 139) my mothers day present. On the same mothers day 2013 we decided to assemble my moms Ozark 8 person 14X8 , this thing was huge.It occupied all my living room " I live in a condo". I said oh honey we are going to have to change our XL 3 room tent.
So as soon as we got our 3 room XL tent if was not for us. I was looking something more the style of the 14X8 because it was so cozzy. So I found the 17X8. I love evrything about it. The colors, the space, you can walk in and change your clothes standing up without having to crawl or bump your head. I put a queen bed, a twin bed, a 3 folding gym mattress and in the middle a plastic 3 drawer stand with all our clothes for 3 days plus a box with all the cleaning stuff and another box with all the none perishable food. We were 4 inside ( mom, dad , 13 year old daughter and 6 year old. It was so spacious we had space to sit in the middle and play cards. The beds were in the corners. There is no way 8 people can sleep in it comfortable unless one on top of each other or on sleeping bags on a straight line. But I would say 5 maybe 6 would fit. It also rained and no problems at all. Someone said the pics of Walmart do not do justice and I agree. It is much more bigger and prettier than what it looks and totally agree when he talks about the rainfly. It goes all the way to the bottom almost touching the floor ground. This is a great buy, $109 is unbeatable. It looks firm and steady and after seeing several tents this has an awesome rainfly covering almost every corner.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

GREAT TENT FOR THE PRICE!!!

08/14/2013
By ,
grove city, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very spacious, easy to set up, doesn't get damp overnight due to the great airflow this tent has. If camping during the fall or winter just bundle up a little, or buy some nice sleeping bags. ENJOY
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Not good in lots of rain

09/02/2012
By ,
Columbus, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In good weather we loved this tent, it fit our family of 4 great with one queen and one king air bed. Set up is pretty easy, my 11 year old daughter helps me put it up. We have used it everal times in sunny and light rain and it was fine, this weekend was our first using it in steady rain and storms, it was not great. The canopy leaked at all of the zippered flaps, we had to put the front down because of the rain and the seams at the door and tub floor leaked where the canopy drained on them. We also had issues with some flooding under the tent and the tub floor started leaking at each point where the pole rings are sewn. After reading the other reviews we are wondering if we got a lemon of a tent, we will be contacting the manufacturer and looking for something that will keep us dry.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Impressive for the money !!

07/10/2012
By ,
Syracuse, New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I set this up today with my 12 year old son and it took us about 15 minutes which included the normal initial set up mishaps. Once it was set up, I was extremely impressed with the size, ease of installation and sharp design. I did put 2 coats of waterproofing spray on the fly just in case. We haven't been out with it yet, which is the reason for only 4 starts and not 5, and the ONLY reason. We are a family of 5, and one being a teenager and we have plenty of room for us and all of our stuff. Great buy !!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent
06/03/2013
By ,
Memphis area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy for two people to set up. Roomy inside.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Dome Tent

Bad tent

02/28/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tent was easy to set up. But...if there is wind or rain this tent
will not stand up. The whole top and sides are screen only and you
must rely on the fly to protect you from the elements. If you live
where the wind don't blow and it don't rain then this is for you.
Otherwise forget it!
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nevada
Usage: Never
Posted 08/19/2013
In the side panel to the right, it states that you have never used this tent. Why on earth would you write such a bad review on a product you have never used. That certainly doesn't make your review a very credible one.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)