Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Acer Computers Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Acer Computers Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

The Acer Espresso Black 10.1-Inch AOD270-1824 Netbook PC is the ultimate fun and ultra-portable companion bringing you efficient performance, sensational style and convenient connectivity anywhere you go. With the powerful processing performance, effortless entertainment and seamless connectivity of this Intel Atom dual-core processor netbook, there's no limit to what you can do. Check your social networks, browse the Internet, read and send email, share photos, chat over the webcam and enjoy a variety of media wherever you are.
Average Customer Rating:
3.766 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
15
3 stars
12
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation75%47 out of 63reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
15
3 stars
12
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Great product

05/08/2012
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Acer Espresso Netbook PC was a great buy for the price. Can do just about anything...facebook,, browse internet, play games, etc. I would recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+18points
Review 2 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Christmas let down

05/17/2012
By ,
Tri-Cities, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
got this net book to replace my other NetBook that crashed after it got a virus. thought it had everything i needed. mostly i got it because with an ad match the price was less then half. i should have spent more and got better. first off i was annoyed because with windows starter you can't change your background picture, but figured it was no big deal, then i noticed how slow this NetBook runs! the battery life is a joke if you're actually trying to do something, i get two hours if I'm lucky, and the dang thing freezes randomly and the only way to get it to do anything is to remove the battery! no matter how many times i try to press ctrl, alt, del, it does nothing, and you can't power down. i bought this NetBook December 16 2011, and have had nothing but trouble from the beginning, glad i have a great smart phone or I'd never get anything done. giving it to my 7 and 3 year old for a toy I'm tired of its messing up. get something else!!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 3 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Acer Netbook D270-1824

04/27/2012
By ,
Tampa, Fl.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little netbook. Walmart had the best price by far. I already upgraded it to Win7 Home Premium, Office 2010, plus various other apps. Speed was a little slower than I expected so I bought a 2 G memory upgrade from Crucial ($15) and that solved the problem. It wouldn't have cost Acer more than a couple of $ to equip it with 2G to start. Doing the memory upgrade is not for the faint-hearted. Not as easy as a full size laptop. You must dismantle practically the whole unit to get at the chip site. Instructions can be found on the Internet. WIFI works perfectly. 3 USB ports give it great flexability. Good size HD. Touch pad is a little too sensitive for my taste even after adjusting it. All in all a great machine for the price.
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+87points
Review 4 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Great compact computer

05/10/2012
By ,
Saluda, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product as a backup and on-the-go computer. In my opinion this computer works great. You might consider the speed somewhat on the slower side, however this hasn't been a major issue for me. I would still certainly recommend this product as a secondary portable use computer.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Review 5 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Performance for price is excellent!

04/08/2012
By ,
Alameda
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third purchase of the Acer netbook model Aspire One and they have all delivered good service. One was taken to a Southeast Asia three week holiday and worked well when the phone lines were unavailable. One is used heavily as a general home computer, especially in the kitchen for downloading meal time recipes wirelessly. Lastly, my mobile netbook is my right hand for work, school, and play. They are just fine!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+168points
Review 6 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Not Bad at all with two GB of Ram..

04/26/2012
By ,
fort worth, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I Got this and it was SLOW, It only had one GB.. of Ram that was the only bad thang so i just installed Two GB.. Ram and now this thang is fast like it should be.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+81points
Review 7 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Acer does not honor its warranty. Avoid them.

08/15/2012
By ,
Dallas, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Best Buy is actually aware of this. Local BB manager wishes they didn't carry it, but customers ask for it. I had to immediately upgrade to 2GB of RAM to make it usable. "As is" is "no good."
I loved this netbook UNTIL it died 4 months after purchase. I used it about 20 times, and it was kept in a padded case in a drawer. The screen "cracked," and Acer immediately calls this "abuse." My unit was not mishandled. The screen just died.
I did the online "support" waste-of-time with a barely English literate "support" rep. After sending a picture of the screen I was told it would be $99 minimum to send back, plus about $200 for a new screen. More than I paid for this new. The rep insisted I had damaged it. I hadn't even taken off the protective screen cover.
Avoid this company and make them go away.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 8 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Good if using as a second computer

06/04/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just bought this laptop over the weekend and it works well for it's price. The speed is somewhat slow but sufficient if one is checking e-mails, getting on facebook or doing general web browsing. I use this laptop as a secondary computer on the go. I would recommend it for students who need to write papers or to take notes in class. It's small size makes it very portable.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 9 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Good product

04/13/2012
By ,
Saint Paul, Mn
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No performance problems with this Netbook as of yet. Great size, fits quite nicely in my bag. Very stylish. Has meet my expectations. It is a good product for the price.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+55points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Huntsville Alabama
This will take 4gb of ram :-) :-)...
Posted 07/23/2012
I know the specs say 2gb... that's because windows starter limits it to 2 gb.. I got 4gb ddr3 stick from best buy for 23 dollars today. It works!!! If you don't want to buy home premium or you don't already have a copy of it or a license lying around then just download ubuntu 64 bit. Just google "wubi". It will load up ubuntu (linux) if you're a linux OS fan and you don't want to use Windows. This is a 64 bit cpu folks (unlike the first netbook). Honestly.. i'm not that shocked that it works with 4gb even though acer tells you it doesn't.... the whole point of a 64 bit CPU is to take you beyond the 4gb ram barrier of the 32 bit OS. If anyone wants to try a 8 gb stick go for it. Just return it to best buy if it doesn't work :-) . I know for a fact that the 4gb works... if you go beyond 4gb and you want to try that then make sure you load up 64 bit windows home premium or higher or use linux ubuntu 64 bit.
Best of luck.. What a deal! 228 bucks plus 23 bucks for a 4gb laptop. Dual core PLUS hyper-threading (virtual quad core basically).. for under 300 dollars. Rock on! If you want a cheap desktop just use the HDMI port and hook it to your HDTV for a bigger monitor :-)
I'm a software performance engineer.... good enough for me :-)
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Pretty much useless...

09/03/2012
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have never had a slower computer in all the years (15+) I have owned one. I know it's a netbook and can't perform like a regular laptop, but this thing can't keep up at 20 WPM, no joke. It is very annoying to be typing and then all of a sudden it stops, and I have to wait on it to catch up or see if it's going to type it at all. If the latter then I must retype, and then sometimes in the middle of re-typing it will try to play catch up with what I typed the first time and mess everything up. VERY frustrating! I bought this for the portability with my new job, perfect size. I do not expect to do gaming on it, just surf the web, facebook, read, download a few songs to transfer to my MP3 player and maybe create a few job related files, so I considered my use of it to be between light to medium. I gave it a one star rating because it can't even keep up with my slower than slow typing and I have no files on it yet nor have I added anything to it. I can't imagine what it would be like then. I honestly don't see how it would even run...so I am running back to the store to return it and go back to a regular size notebook....:(. Very disappointed....
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 11 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Nice laptop; no CD or DVD capabilities

08/21/2012
By ,
St. Augustine, Fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The laptop is nice compact, convenient and fast. I purchased it for my college student. However, I did not know to look to see if it had a cd/dvd drive. I just automatically assumed that all laptops had one. Because of its lack of a cd or dvd drive, we are unable to connect to printer that came with the bundle. How is this going to work?
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WPB, FL
Using a netbook having no CD ROM
Posted 11/22/2012
If you set up the netbook in a network (which you probably already have done) then all you have to do is "map a drive" to one of the other computer's CD ROM and use that one like it's installed in the netbook. This is a common practice.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Nice First Computer

10/25/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Acer computer for my son's 14th birthday. He is thrilled with his present! This little netbook is small but mighty. It runs very fast and the screen while small is clear and bright. It is solid and lightweight. This came in a bundle which included a nice case and a USB flash drive. I'm pleased with the quality and value.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 13 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

best computer ever

05/22/2012
By ,
donalsonville ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got this net book for christmas and i love it. it has a great camera and it is small enough to carry anyweres. it has great service . i would recommend this to anyone who is lookin for a small simple laptop.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 14 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

TERRIBLE

10/23/2012
By ,
Eaton, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product not only was the slowest computer I have ever dealt with, it froze constantly, and the programs didn't work like they were supposed to. I ended up returning this computer and forfeited the service plan as it was non-refundable.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Not enough memory

09/02/2012
By ,
new york
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
to double the memory would have cost Acer $10, it is very hard to get to the memory to upgrade, would cost $100 in labor & $10 for the extra gig. Otherwise it's great. just too slow. Also would have liked to have option to buy with xp, some of my old programs won't run and the xp mode for win 7 won't work with less than 2 gig of ram. Double bad on the memory.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 16 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Works well

10/28/2012
By ,
Southeast GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew this netbook would not be as powerful as my Toshiba laptop, but I have been pleased with it's performance. I am going to upgrade the RAM to help it be more efficient. Overall I am pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 17 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

This is a great computer

07/25/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is as good as you can get for the money llight fast small easy to carry yet fully functional
If you would rather carry sd cards than cds this is the computer for you
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

mini laptop

07/16/2012
By ,
warwick
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this item for my grandson. Although it runs pretty good, it does have a microphone problem which will be repaired.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 19 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter
10/12/2012
By ,
North Adams, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As fast as most other netbooks which isn't very fast but it is manageable. Netbooks' strengths are in their value and portability not in their speed anyway.
Has a neat swivel AC adapter. The AC adapter "brick" actually plugs directly into the wall instead of having a second cord leading off of it.
Thin and light and has a neat textured design on the lid.
Webcam works better than others I have seen.
Sound is a little on the quiet side as in most netbooks.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Acer Espresso Black 10.1" AOD270-1824 Netbook PC with Intel Atom Dual-Core N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Great little Netbook!

09/19/2012
By ,
Marcy, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to my local WalMart looking to purchase a netbook. On the in-stock netbooks they had on hand, I happened to see this little beauty all by itself on the shelf. And the price? $200. Now I don't know why it was marked this low, but I wasn't going to ask questions, lol! I have owned Acer products in the past, and had no doubt this little netbook would prove to be a great buy. I wasn't disappointed. Runs fast, compact design, no issues whatsoever. Love it.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next