Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Backyard Grill Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Backyard Grill Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Enjoy a delicious open flame cooked burger this weekend with this Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill. It features a cooking surface of 156 square inches that can accommodate up to eight burgers simultaneously. This camping charcoal grill includes a black porcelain coated top lid, a wire rack, a zinc plated charcoal grate and steel constructed foldable legs. The grill features a quick setup ideal for backyard, camping or tailgate barbecuing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.159 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(151 Reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
41
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation85%128 out of 150reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 49 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
41
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Terrible Grill even for $9

05/07/2012
By ,
Quincy,IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible,Terrible,Terrible
All the paint melted off the first time I used it. Went everywhere, even on food. DO NOT BUY!!. Otherthan that is was easy to put together and yes, it will cook 8 burgers if you want a fire. The vents on the sides of the bottom part of grill are there but NOT punched out so NO VENTS.
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

All you need now is the grill master

07/22/2014
By ,
United States
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very portable, decent size for a small family.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Exactly what you pay for, in a good way

06/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this grill on a whim when a check wouldn't cash in time for us to buy a real grill for Memorial Day. It served it's purpose very well, and now I have a portable grill to bring with me whenever I think I'll have to! Some reviewers mentioned the ventilation issues. The first time we used it, we had this problem as well, so we drilled a few holes in the sides and it's not an issue now. As others said, the paint started to flake off on the outside, but who cares. If you're looking for something cheap, simple, and portable but still gets the job done, I totally recommend buying this.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Good Grill!

07/06/2013
By ,
Hughesville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a 17 inch version of this product for $17 in my local Walmart yesterday. I am a college student looking to do some grilling at school and this will sit on the back of my truck's tailgate easily enough. Assembly was no problem and before long you have yourself a solid little grill.
Now I read through all of the reviews saying something about the charcoal burning through the bottom or chipping paint while in use. Well I just cooked some burgers on it and had no problem, the grill works good, no chipping, melting, or flaking to speak of. Just be sure to put the littler rack on the bottom so there is airflow underneath the coal. Definitely recommend this!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Good little grill

06/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this grill for camping. We decided to try it out last night, as to not have any surprises later. It goes together easy enough. The vent lid and name plate were missing, so I called the company (Blue Rhyno) and they sent them off no questions asked. I did find it interesting they sent screws and bolts that were much smaller than the ones in the box. They worked, where the ones that were in the box did not. ANYWAY! Shortly after putting on the lid, the coals became smothered. We use lump charcoal instead of briquets...we suspect that had something to do with it. We believe briquets would work better. We are going to drill some holes for ventilation, since we refuse to use briquets (binders). When we took off the lid...it worked just fine for us. It cools down quick enough. We didn't have any paint blistering issues like others have stated. We got our meal done in two stages. 4 ears of corn and then 5 veggie (vegan) hotdogs. Worked like a charm.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

I love this grill!

06/08/2014
By ,
Streetsboro, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a single older woman on a disability income I was looking for a small, inexpensive grill. When I saw this one I figured that for the price I couldn't go wrong. Even if it only lasted for 2 or 3 uses, I wouldn't be out much. When it arrived I was impressed at the quality. Assembly was easy. The instructions said assembly takes about 20 minutes. I checked my watch, and it took me exactly 20 minutes, with my arthritic fingers and having to keep my cat from running off with the hardware. The legs fold up and are secured on the lid's handle so I can easily pick it up and store it until next time. The first time I used it my boyfriend came over and we cooked 4 big hamburger patties and 4 hot dogs on it. There was plenty of room for them. I think the rectangular shape helps in that area. In short, I love it!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

A small grill for a small boy.

05/24/2014
By ,
Chesapeake, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this little cooker for my 10 year old grandson. For Christmas, Santa Claus brought him a bag of charcoal that he had asked for. When asked why he wanted charcoal, he said that someday he wanted to cook out for his mom and me, so, what better gift than his own cooker? His first cook-out was of hotdogs. He and the grill both worked great!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Great grill for limited space or for 1 - 2 people

04/23/2014
By ,
Cuyahoga Falls, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this grill to use on a small apartment patio and it is perfect for this. It was very easy to put together. It seems pretty sturdy, I know it won't last a lifetime but for the price it is perfect. I would definitely recommend this grill.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

DOA - Dead On Arrival: Bad shipping package

12/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The box still need to be protected from the damages. The grill came damaged. The porcelain was off. The steel material is very thin, cannot hold the shipment stress.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

VERY EASY TO USE

04/22/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this because I did not want to haul a huge grill to tailgate. This grill did the job, very easy to put together. I also use this at my dorm it doesn't take too much space and it great to cook up to 8 burgers. I highly recommend this grill!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill
07/03/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about buying this, but needed something cheap and fast. This has been a great little grill for the money. I have had it for about 5 months and use it a few times a month. It was easy to assemble. I had read the reviews about paint loss on the bottom, so I lined the inside bottom with foil and have not had a problem with it peeling. It is a challenge sometimes to keep the coals hot, but I find if I Leave the lid off while cooking it helps, but I have resorted to fanning a little if I have a lot of stuff on it. But usually when I'm just doing enough for the two of us it works great. I have certainly got MORE then my $10 worth out of this grill. I did 6 large burgers tonight and it did great. It's a good little grill for just 2 people.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill
05/09/2012
By ,
East Troy, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not sure it would meet my expectations....but it did! I love this little grill! I have been using it almost every day since I recieved it! I have a large grill as well, but I tend to use this little guy because it works better!! I have been telling all my friends to get one and some have already. You can't beat the price either!!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

practical and usefully

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very practical for a small apartment or for.a day at the park... those the job but when it heats up the paint peels from the bottom.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Portable grill

11/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a perfect little grill for a just because I feel like it grilling. Put a few dogs and burgers on and you are good to go. No hassle no big clean up. It's just the right size. Just make sure to double line the bottom of the grill and then put the coals in.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Good little portable grill

02/05/2014
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to carry in my camper. The legs fold up and lock the top in place for transport, they lock in the down position for grilling. I've drilled several holes in the bottom for air flow as the charcoal would not keep burning with the lid on. I don't expect it to last too long but for $10 I'll buy another when this one craps out. Great little lightweight portable grill.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Milwaukee
PLEASE RESPOND
Posted 05/24/2014
I AM HAVING DIFFICULTY WITH THE "collapsible" LEGS. I CAN'T SEEM TO GET THEM TO COLLASPE. WHAT AM I DOING WRONG????
Milwaukee,
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

get little bbq works well

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
folds up great works like a charm for the price you can not bet it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Great portable outdoor grill

09/04/2014
By ,
Landover, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, the reason I bought this is because I needed a grill that can cook just enough food for 4 people. I have another Backyard Grill that I use when I have a party but is way too big to use for a family of four. I saw this portable grill at walmart.com and saw the price....$10.00! Without thinking twice, I ordered it online. Set-up was a breeze. It is a very simple outdoor grill. I used it for the first time and grilled lunch on Labor Day. I had a nicely done barbecue chicken and packing it away was a snap! Close the lid, fold the legs and off you go!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

great for two

03/14/2014
By ,
phill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good for two, w fixed steaks on it. still had a little room left over , so the steaks cooked . we are saving money from not using so much charcoal, in our big grill. I am happy we got it price was right. can take with you if you needed ...only thing I would say I did not like a bout it Is don't have a venting let air in. but it works good for what we need and wanted
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Grill

05/28/2012
By ,
Ocean Township, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Small and easy to assemble. I am a newbie when it comes to grilling, that's why i purchased this. Nevertheless, it worked perfectly fine. It gets the job done. Easy to clean and store after use. Good for 2-3 people. I definitely would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

pretty good

05/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just wish it had handles on the side. This way I don't have to wait until it cools off to dump the charcoal ashes.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 147 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next