Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Backyard Grill Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Backyard Grill Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

This simple, portable charcoal grill is ideal for a quick set-up in the backyard or a weekend camping trip. With 156 square inches of cooking area, it can hold up to eight burgers.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation79%30 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Terrible Grill even for $9

05/07/2012
By ,
Quincy,IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible,Terrible,Terrible
All the paint melted off the first time I used it. Went everywhere, even on food. DO NOT BUY!!. Otherthan that is was easy to put together and yes, it will cook 8 burgers if you want a fire. The vents on the sides of the bottom part of grill are there but NOT punched out so NO VENTS.
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Good Grill!

07/06/2013
By ,
Hughesville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a 17 inch version of this product for $17 in my local Walmart yesterday. I am a college student looking to do some grilling at school and this will sit on the back of my truck's tailgate easily enough. Assembly was no problem and before long you have yourself a solid little grill.
Now I read through all of the reviews saying something about the charcoal burning through the bottom or chipping paint while in use. Well I just cooked some burgers on it and had no problem, the grill works good, no chipping, melting, or flaking to speak of. Just be sure to put the littler rack on the bottom so there is airflow underneath the coal. Definitely recommend this!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

great for two

03/14/2014
By ,
phill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good for two, w fixed steaks on it. still had a little room left over , so the steaks cooked . we are saving money from not using so much charcoal, in our big grill. I am happy we got it price was right. can take with you if you needed ...only thing I would say I did not like a bout it Is don't have a venting let air in. but it works good for what we need and wanted
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Good little portable grill

02/05/2014
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to carry in my camper. The legs fold up and lock the top in place for transport, they lock in the down position for grilling. I've drilled several holes in the bottom for air flow as the charcoal would not keep burning with the lid on. I don't expect it to last too long but for $10 I'll buy another when this one craps out. Great little lightweight portable grill.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Good, cheap grill

04/16/2014
By ,
tampa, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well for cooking chicken, steaks, pork chops, etc. Assembly was quick and easy. Great value for only $10. Only problem I have is that its somewhat flimsy and I had some paint chip after my first use. Just try to get as little lighter fluid on the bottom of the grill as possible, and it'll work fine, though.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

good product

04/13/2014
By ,
orlando, florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great old fashion grill
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill
07/03/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about buying this, but needed something cheap and fast. This has been a great little grill for the money. I have had it for about 5 months and use it a few times a month. It was easy to assemble. I had read the reviews about paint loss on the bottom, so I lined the inside bottom with foil and have not had a problem with it peeling. It is a challenge sometimes to keep the coals hot, but I find if I Leave the lid off while cooking it helps, but I have resorted to fanning a little if I have a lot of stuff on it. But usually when I'm just doing enough for the two of us it works great. I have certainly got MORE then my $10 worth out of this grill. I did 6 large burgers tonight and it did great. It's a good little grill for just 2 people.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Just the size needed for picnics

02/22/2014
By ,
Miami Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent size and durability will have to order another for Son.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

VERY EASY TO USE

04/22/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this because I did not want to haul a huge grill to tailgate. This grill did the job, very easy to put together. I also use this at my dorm it doesn't take too much space and it great to cook up to 8 burgers. I highly recommend this grill!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill
05/09/2012
By ,
East Troy, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not sure it would meet my expectations....but it did! I love this little grill! I have been using it almost every day since I recieved it! I have a large grill as well, but I tend to use this little guy because it works better!! I have been telling all my friends to get one and some have already. You can't beat the price either!!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Great Product

03/20/2014
By ,
Plainsboro
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth for the price
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

PERFECT FOR CAMPING OR SMALL FAMILY

03/17/2014
By ,
CLEVELAND, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS ITEM! PERFECT FOR CAMPING, ROAD TRIPS, OR JUST SMALL FAMILIES.
VERY EASY TO ASSEMBLE. LOVE THAT THE LEGS ALSO FOLD UP TO KEEP YOUR LID ON DURING TRAVEL!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Good barbecue

02/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Barbecue was delicious. Iron was well-treated and aged to perfection. Paint was not the best flavor, however. Best when hickory-smoked.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

perfect for RV trips

02/23/2014
By ,
Elk Grove, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this grill as a present for my husband because we don't have any space to waste in our RV and he loves to grill. He loves this little gem. It folds up compactly, has a nice carry handle and grills inside, plus the legs are very helpful to keep it up off surfaces. Overall, it seems well made. We can't wait to use it on a trip soon.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

SERIOUS FLAW! Paint melted off into flakes

06/10/2012
By ,
Reseda, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would give less than 1 star if that were an option.
I like the idea of a portable grill. I was pretty psyched to get one for $10. Even more when I saw that most reviews were pretty good. My son (10 yrs old) could not wait to "fire up the grill". Helping me assemble it was easy and a fun project for him. I got the coals lit and came back to check on it. My son says "uhh mom...what's that?" There were little black flakes covering the table under the grill. I look underneath it and there is this big oval of paint just dropping off in flakes :^( That was the first "no". Then the coals wouldn't stay lit, that may just be the brand of coals though. All we did were hot dogs, so it was ok that it didn't fully bbq them, the heat from the coals was enough. Needless to say I am waiting for it to cool down right now so I can return it and get my money back to save for a REAL bbq that I can make burgers and steaks on!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill
05/13/2013
By ,
Detroit, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for someone who don't want to use a large grill.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Great for small gatherings!

02/25/2014
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used this for a Mardi Gras Parade to keep "munchies" warm. And cooked some tamales as well. GREAT LITTLE GRILL!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Grill

05/28/2012
By ,
Ocean Township, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Small and easy to assemble. I am a newbie when it comes to grilling, that's why i purchased this. Nevertheless, it worked perfectly fine. It gets the job done. Easy to clean and store after use. Good for 2-3 people. I definitely would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill
05/21/2013
By ,
Bennington , ks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yes it is a perfect fit for the camper but it doesn't have enough airflow to make the charcoals stay hit or lit.. We tried 3 different times and it still doesn't keep the charcoals going even with the expensive charcoals .. Plus when you use it it leaves black stuff from in side the lid all over your food.. Gross
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Good for a small backyard, and a very small family

02/02/2014
By ,
Nogales, Az
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Is a very small grill, is nice, but you'll have to wait for a long to finish with 3 pounds o' meat or chicken or whatever you'll do.
my both hands are covering the all surface of the grill.
but is good for a couple or a family of 3 : )
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next