Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Backyard Grill Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Backyard Grill Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Enjoy a delicious open flame cooked burger this weekend with this Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill. It features a cooking surface of 156 square inches that can accommodate up to eight burgers simultaneously. This camping charcoal grill includes a black porcelain coated top lid, a wire rack, a zinc plated charcoal grate and steel constructed foldable legs. The grill features a quick setup ideal for backyard, camping or tailgate barbecuing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.164 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(134 Reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
35
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation85%113 out of 133reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 42 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
35
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Terrible Grill even for $9

05/07/2012
By ,
Quincy,IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible,Terrible,Terrible
All the paint melted off the first time I used it. Went everywhere, even on food. DO NOT BUY!!. Otherthan that is was easy to put together and yes, it will cook 8 burgers if you want a fire. The vents on the sides of the bottom part of grill are there but NOT punched out so NO VENTS.
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

All you need now is the grill master

07/22/2014
By ,
United States
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very portable, decent size for a small family.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Exactly what you pay for, in a good way

06/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this grill on a whim when a check wouldn't cash in time for us to buy a real grill for Memorial Day. It served it's purpose very well, and now I have a portable grill to bring with me whenever I think I'll have to! Some reviewers mentioned the ventilation issues. The first time we used it, we had this problem as well, so we drilled a few holes in the sides and it's not an issue now. As others said, the paint started to flake off on the outside, but who cares. If you're looking for something cheap, simple, and portable but still gets the job done, I totally recommend buying this.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Good Grill!

07/06/2013
By ,
Hughesville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a 17 inch version of this product for $17 in my local Walmart yesterday. I am a college student looking to do some grilling at school and this will sit on the back of my truck's tailgate easily enough. Assembly was no problem and before long you have yourself a solid little grill.
Now I read through all of the reviews saying something about the charcoal burning through the bottom or chipping paint while in use. Well I just cooked some burgers on it and had no problem, the grill works good, no chipping, melting, or flaking to speak of. Just be sure to put the littler rack on the bottom so there is airflow underneath the coal. Definitely recommend this!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

I love this grill!

06/08/2014
By ,
Streetsboro, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a single older woman on a disability income I was looking for a small, inexpensive grill. When I saw this one I figured that for the price I couldn't go wrong. Even if it only lasted for 2 or 3 uses, I wouldn't be out much. When it arrived I was impressed at the quality. Assembly was easy. The instructions said assembly takes about 20 minutes. I checked my watch, and it took me exactly 20 minutes, with my arthritic fingers and having to keep my cat from running off with the hardware. The legs fold up and are secured on the lid's handle so I can easily pick it up and store it until next time. The first time I used it my boyfriend came over and we cooked 4 big hamburger patties and 4 hot dogs on it. There was plenty of room for them. I think the rectangular shape helps in that area. In short, I love it!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

A small grill for a small boy.

05/24/2014
By ,
Chesapeake, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this little cooker for my 10 year old grandson. For Christmas, Santa Claus brought him a bag of charcoal that he had asked for. When asked why he wanted charcoal, he said that someday he wanted to cook out for his mom and me, so, what better gift than his own cooker? His first cook-out was of hotdogs. He and the grill both worked great!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Good little grill

06/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this grill for camping. We decided to try it out last night, as to not have any surprises later. It goes together easy enough. The vent lid and name plate were missing, so I called the company (Blue Rhyno) and they sent them off no questions asked. I did find it interesting they sent screws and bolts that were much smaller than the ones in the box. They worked, where the ones that were in the box did not. ANYWAY! Shortly after putting on the lid, the coals became smothered. We use lump charcoal instead of briquets...we suspect that had something to do with it. We believe briquets would work better. We are going to drill some holes for ventilation, since we refuse to use briquets (binders). When we took off the lid...it worked just fine for us. It cools down quick enough. We didn't have any paint blistering issues like others have stated. We got our meal done in two stages. 4 ears of corn and then 5 veggie (vegan) hotdogs. Worked like a charm.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Great grill for limited space or for 1 - 2 people

04/23/2014
By ,
Cuyahoga Falls, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this grill to use on a small apartment patio and it is perfect for this. It was very easy to put together. It seems pretty sturdy, I know it won't last a lifetime but for the price it is perfect. I would definitely recommend this grill.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Great BBQ for two people or even more

05/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Me and my roommate like the portability of this grill. It's a little small but it's shape is practical. If you spread the coals evenly the entire grill is useable cooking space. We've cooked a entire halved chicken on it, or 5-6 burgers at a time. It's small enough to clean it after and put it away inside. Perfect if you don't have a huge outside space to have a normal sized BBQ grill. We even had friends over and fed 6 people from the grill. Awesome for the price.
My only caveat, it wasn't made in America. We can make this. Why is it being shipped here from Asia.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

UNABLE TO ASSEMBLE & USE PRODUCT...

07/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
...because I received it with only THREE of the ELEVEN required parts. The box literally contained: The base of the grill, the top to the grill, and the lower grate to which you sit the charcoal on top of. NO handle, NO legs, NO actual "grill", and NO hardware to secure everything together.
THUS FAR, I am very unhappy, and after calling the maker (who could not send out more than "30%" of the total missing parts), I returned this to the store on the same day.
I reordered the grill, and will check for ALL of the parts prior to leaving the store. I am SURE once it is properly assembled, I will be pleased with it's use. I have the standard size grills and wanted something sturdy and small for our impromptu weekday bbq's.
I hope to amend this review once the replacement is received. Here's hoping.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

pretty good

05/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just wish it had handles on the side. This way I don't have to wait until it cools off to dump the charcoal ashes.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Awsome buy

06/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little grill did an amazing job I was able to cook 16 pieces of chicken steak and vegetable for 6 people great buy it comes in handy i also use it to make myself grilled chicken cutless saved my house from getting smoky using my in door grill pan I highly recommend it
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Cheap

07/28/2014
By ,
Jacksonville Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a beginners grill it is very cheap and not durable at all I am afraid to use it. But it may prove me wrong. I have not tried it yet but soon I will use it. But for the price I guess I shouldn't complain.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Good little portable grill

02/05/2014
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to carry in my camper. The legs fold up and lock the top in place for transport, they lock in the down position for grilling. I've drilled several holes in the bottom for air flow as the charcoal would not keep burning with the lid on. I don't expect it to last too long but for $10 I'll buy another when this one craps out. Great little lightweight portable grill.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Milwaukee
PLEASE RESPOND
Posted 05/24/2014
I AM HAVING DIFFICULTY WITH THE "collapsible" LEGS. I CAN'T SEEM TO GET THEM TO COLLASPE. WHAT AM I DOING WRONG????
Milwaukee,
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

perfect!

07/27/2014
By ,
Ogden, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the grill. Its perfect to take for our lil family when we go to the river
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Easy, portable, and works great.

05/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Just got back from camping trip and used the grill four times. Made some great meals with it. It's cool how the arms fold over the top for transport. The paint on the bottom burned off but I don't think that will impact the functionality of the grill. Definitely a good buy for the money.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Conveint

07/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This grill is easy to transport great for parks and outings away from home when you want to grill and not lug around a large grill this will get the job done for the family's mini or medium size barbecues
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

I'm COMPLETELY satisfied with my purchased!!!

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a very satisfied customer with my purchased. I ordered it online & picked up in store & sometimes when you get your item, it looks completely different & you say this doesn't look the same as what I ordered. Well this is not the case, it looked even better! The size, the height, the weight, the color & more importantly, the price! So, so so very pleased with my item. It's easy to clean, it's easy to store, all you do is whip it out & commence to barbecuing. So convenient! I put it on my back porch. I can use it even if it rains. I would also like to add that I use it ever 3-4 days.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

great for two

03/14/2014
By ,
phill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good for two, w fixed steaks on it. still had a little room left over , so the steaks cooked . we are saving money from not using so much charcoal, in our big grill. I am happy we got it price was right. can take with you if you needed ...only thing I would say I did not like a bout it Is don't have a venting let air in. but it works good for what we need and wanted
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Backyard Grill 156-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Delivered very fast less than a week!

07/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I USED IT ABOUT FIVE TIMES SINCE I PURCHASED IT 2weeks ago! Works great I Took it
to the beach and it worked perfectly! NO COMPLAINTS!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next