Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for The First Years The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

The First Years The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

Transport your baby around in sleek and sophisticated comfort when you use The First Years Red and Black Stroller. This carrier contains sturdy construction and sits on eight durable wheels. This ensures that it can move easy even on harder terrains. The First Years Jet Stroller folds with one hand and gives you a quick and simple storage solution. Simply put it out of the way until you are ready to use it once again. A multi-position reclining seat gives your little one a comfortable snoozing position, and the five-point harness secures your baby. The five-point harness stroller has a fully adjustable and removable canopy to protect your child and provide shade while you're out. For added convenience, this baby accessory has lower and upper storage bins for holding your little one's needs. With a multi-position reclining seat, eight 6" wheels and rear wheel brakes, you can take advantage of the device's numerous safety and comfort features.
Average Customer Rating:
4.451 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%77 out of 82reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 67 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

Worth the price!

05/02/2012
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy it! You won't regret it. I was trying to decide to get this one or the Mcclaren and I am glad I decided on this one because it is way more affordable and it gets the job done with some added perks.
We love the height of the stroller. My husband is 6foot and he does not hunch over when pushing it. We also love the small storage underneath. We usually only stuff it with some blankets and other odd and ends. We can't fit our backpack in it..but that is okay with us.
At first I didn't like the shade hood because everytime I closed up the stroller it would bend the shade hood and it gave it a kink that was awful. However, I just recently realized (duh) that I put the shade hood too high on the stroller. We moved it down (like the picture shows) and it's perfect! No more kink in the shade hood.
For the price, you have nothing to lose. IF you hate it, then get the mcclaren. We've been using our for a year now mostly and disney and around the mall and it gets the job done.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

Decent sturdy affordable umbrella type stroller

01/03/2012
By ,
Valparaiso, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this stroller (in a different color) in my store this past summer. For under $40 it has held up well. My son at the time of purchase was 2 1/2 and normal size range. He did not fit in any other of the lightweight folding strollers offered in the store. This one is great. Has a little storage area under the seat, enough for a small bag or water bottle. The upper parent fabric consol is very nice. It holds at least three drinks or sippy cups and what looks like a tissue holder area to hid keys or phone. The sun shade is fixed and only works so well, but many expensive stroller brands have the same design. When my son is in it because of the 5 point harness he has a hard time leaning out of it unlike the cheaper 3 point waist belt style strollers. I still carry my son quite a bit but for when we go shopping or for a walk this stroller fits the bill as a nice option. If he is sitting in it I can easily put my purse or bags over the handles (or even under the consol part! it just unsnaps!) and it does not tip backward. The "recline" is so so but he can sleep comfortably in it. No reason to have him in full out recline. And because of the 5 pt harness he does not hunch over in his sleep. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it does not steer smoothly. I usually end up going backward though normal door because if I stop mid door opening I end up tripping on the stroller because the wheels don't swivel as easily as I think they could. But for a great keep in the car or lightweight affordable option it is hard to beat. ***Bought a munchkin add on cup holder for my son since there was no place for him to put his drink if he was holding it. Recommending the one below because it looks like it would stay on better than mine and attaches with velcro. I might try to find this one in a store.***
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

Wonderful!!!

03/20/2014
By ,
Trinidad
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little stroller, I bought it for my 5 year old ( we were in a parade ). and she sat in it most of the day, its very strong and sturdy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

not as expected

10/19/2014
By ,
Miami, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I own the Ignite stroller from the first years and I thought this one would be almost same quality but I was wrong. It even arrived with a loose wheel, it didn't snap on so we had to improvise something else. I bought this for a trip to Disney but I am not happy with it, although very light (lighter than the ignite) the quality is not the same and the back is extremely short, my 3.5 year old does not fit comfortable in it. I would say spend 10 dollars more and buy another type.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

description says stroller reclines

10/22/2014
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Stroller reclines at the most 4". It does not recline so baby can lay down to sleep. Ad very misleading. It is lightweight and very easy to open. If it truly reclined it would deserve 5 stars and no doubt be a best seller.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

Extra stroller

10/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keep in car light and easy to set up
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

Great Light weight stroller

03/27/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The stroller is nice. First I got one of those cheap 15 dollar strollers because I had the big heavy bulky jogger strollers and he grew out of the first stroller that attaches a car seat. I needed something light weight but I I hated the cheap 15 dollar stroller because my son looked huge in it and did not look comfortable. I call them toy strollers. This one I really like because it is light weight just like the other stroller BUT it has back adjustment so he can be more comfortable and underneath I can put his a diaper bag or my purse or whatever instead of holding it all the time and it has cup holders for me so it makes it easier. It maneuvers easy but wish it had a little cup holder for him on the side. I am pretty happy with this affordable stroller
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

Great portable stroller!

07/05/2012
By ,
High Point, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this stroller for our trip to the OBX...since we did not have enough room in the mini-van for the bulky travel system stroller. This is a great stroller for the price and is very well made!!! The cheaper umbrella strollers you can buy in the stores can't even touch this one. It is comfortable for even my husband to push (no hunching over) and you don't catch your feet on the bottom. It is very small and light and folds up very compactly. It also opens very quickly and easily. The 5 point harness is great and keeps my curious 15 month old in the stroller. The organizer pouch at the top is awesome...when we go out shopping I put my keys, sunglasses, phone, and usually a drink in it and then what I need is right there at my fingertips...which keeps little excursions with my little one and my twins...simple and quick! This has been a great buy!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

Fabulous lightweight stroller

04/06/2012
By ,
nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we purchased 2 strollers and had them delivered near disney for our vacation. arrived on time and the strollers were great. we intended on leaving them in fl but ended up taking them home. my son is well over 40 lbs and the stroller had no issue handling him across the many miles walked at disney. great buy and excellent price
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

Thanks

10/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanks for this product
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

Value for the money

09/13/2014
By ,
Brunswick, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as basic upgrade from a simple umbrella stroller and it is just what I had in mind. Taller handles, 5 point harness and sturdier but didn't cost $100. Under storage is a bit difficult to use but not a big deal. Nice and light weight and compact and folds easily with one foot.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

So far so good!

08/11/2014
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this stroller for 2 weeks so I can't comment on its longevity. However, I had the Kolcraft cloud umbrella stroller and had to return it. When I walked my feet kept hitting the wheels, I'm 5'7". Otherwise, it was also a very nice stroller.
Anyway, I got this one in its place and I'm happy to say I'm not having that problem. My son is 19 months and doesn't cry when I sit him in it, he looks happy and comfortable.
It rides smoothly, easy to turn, easy to fold open or closed, and is pretty lightweight. I think it's only 11 lbs.
It does have a recline feature but it reclines all of one inch, so I hardly count that as reclining.
The sun canopy isn't huge but it shades my son from the waist up. It has a wider seat than the Kolcraft that I returned so I'm thinking it will give him more room to grow with.
It has decent storage underneath for an umbrella stroller.
I absolutely love the upper storage compartment. I can hold 2-3 water bottles, snacks, my phone, wipes and more!!!
It also doesn't tip backward if I hang my purse on the handle.
For the price of this umbrella stroller it offers a whole lot.
I also own the city mini which is in a completely different price range but this umbrella stroller is just as good for short quick trips.
I purchased it in red and am very pleased!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black
01/13/2012
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This stroller is a decent well built stroller, however we purchased this stroller under the assumption that it had a multi position reclining seat. In actuallity it really only has two positions as it doesn't recline much at all, your baby or child will still be pretty near straight up. This stroller is only good for quick trips to the mall or grocery store.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

Good lightweight stroller

05/06/2013
By ,
TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a lightweight stroller that was easy to open and fold up that didn't take up much room in my car's trunk. I didn't want just a basic umbrella stroller and this one has extra stuff like a canopy, though it's a little small, and some storage room at the top and a small storage area at the bottom. It also has a 5 point harness, which I reallly like. My toddler seems comfortable in it and likes the foot rest. This stroller is lightweight, easy to open and close, and takes up a lot less room than our big bulky stroller that came in a travel system. I'm giving it 4 stars because my husband accidentally kept kicking the back wheels while pushing it and the placement of the handles is a little short for him but I haven't had any issues with it. I didn't like that the all black version was $10 more and that I had to order it online instead of getting it at the store. I would definitely recommend this stroller. It's a good value for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

a little better than a cheap umbrella strol

02/07/2014
By ,
SLC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was very excited to get this because it seemed like it added the ease and small space of an umbrella stroller with space solutions of a bigger stroller. First the good, the wheels are great, very big rolls easy, and the storage space is ok and has a taller handle. Now for the bad, the recline feature is only about 2 inches and my stroller parent console came messed up. So I called the co. had to send photos of it to verify it was really broken, then waited about 4 bus. days for reply, they told me they would send me a new one "as a one time courtesy." I didn't think it should have been a "courtesy" seeing as it came messed up but whatever there sending me a new one. I got the new one in about 10 days, it was nicer than the one that came with the stroller... but my stroller is red and they sent me a brown console. I'm taking advantage of walmarts return policy and just taking it back. Not worth the extra $$$.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

All in all, the product is good for the price

08/02/2012
By ,
Richmond Va.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you like travelling and walking around, this serve the purpose. Its sturdy, the width is good and the size, like it too that it doesnt tip back even if I put the baby bag along the handle. the price is also good. If your purpose though is to use it to walk while your child is sleeping, it does not recline as much and its hard to get your stuff under.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

Bent Wheel

12/29/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The second time I used this stroller I hit a curb and bent the wheel. It wobbels. The sun shade wont straighten out and the handle cover slips when the weather is warm. I would pay a little more for better quality.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

Good Stroller

07/26/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this stroller because we were going to Fl on vacation and didn't have room for the full sized stroller. I like it because it is so lightweight and folds up like an umbrella stroller. The parent pouch at the top is nice. I like that it has the basket underneath, however, the support bars in the back cross right in front of the main access area for the basket. Because of this, it is really hard to get items in there. Other than that I really like this stroller!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

Great stroller for the price!

08/02/2012
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have 3.5 y/o twins so we've mostly used double strollers, but we just flew with them for the first time recently and wanted to bring two umbrella strollers for getting quickly through the airport. We had a cheap Kolcraft one from a consignment sale and decided to spring for this one for our second. I liked that it's a step above most umbrella strollers with the parent tray, higher weight limit, and storage basket. We were very happy with it! Our boys are 37.5" and 38" and each about 33 lbs and they fit comfortably in it. The seat back does end below the tops of their heads so if you're looking for a stroller that a taller kid can nap in, this is not the one for you. Our boys aren't stroller-nappers anyway so it really wasn't an issue for us. For a cheap stroller, it handles pretty well (except on the gravel and sand trails at a nature preserve we went to ;)). My 9-month-old nephew was in it for a bit and napped comfortably in it. Love the parent organizer; there is actually room for two water bottles/drinks on each side plus the Velcro compartment in the middle. The shade isn't big but not bad. It tends to pop off when you fold the stroller so we took it off before gate-checking. Overall, very happy with this stroller.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The First Years - The First Years Stroller, Red and Black

Better than cheap umbrella stroller

06/18/2014
By ,
Richmond, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son likes this stroller and can fall asleep in it and/or stay asleep if we take him out the car. The only thing I dislike is that the suncover is detachable and very small...honestly it doesn't block much sun....but it is a good buy for the price and quality of this item. Also, my husband is 6 ft and he is able to utilize it without hunching over.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next