Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861

This Sanyo 42" LCD TV with integrated digital /analog tuner lets you access the Internet with wireless (802.11 b,g,n) reception using a USB adapter (included). When connected to a high speed ISP, this Sanyo 42" LCD TV is able to download and display movies from Netflix and Vudu. The digital tuner is also Digital Clear QAM capable of receiving unscrambled digital cable and over-the-air digital broadcasts. In a high-gloss black finish, the Sanyo 42" television blends into the background when the lights are dimmed for movies, sports and favorite programs in your den or living room.A full array of HDMI, HD component audio/video, composite audio/video and RF inputs on the Sanyo 42" LCD TV provide plenty of options for DVD, cable, satellite and external antenna hookups.
Average Customer Rating:
3.45 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation58%11 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861

NOT WHAT I EXCPECTED

05/04/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
THE TV IS GREAT BUT IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A TV TO SURF THE WEB OR LOOK AT WEBSITES OF YOUR CHOOSING THIS TV IS NOT FOR YOU. THE ONLY WEBSITES THAT YOU CAN GET ON ARE THE ONES THAT HAVE A SANYO APP ALREADY ON THE TV.. IVE TRIED TO GET ANSWERS FROM SANYO CUSTOMER SERVICE BUT THEY DONT ANSWER ANY OF MY EMAILS BACK.
+10points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
State College Pa
VGA port HELLO
Posted 08/11/2012
You can hook up a computer to the VGA port on the side of the TV and browse the web . Actually if You pick up a refurbished IBM Computer with Windows 7 and a wireless dongle from Walmart.com You can be surfing in no time . :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861
11/28/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture is sharp and clear. I have mine setup as TV only with the wireless internet. I do not use it for gaming or as a computer monitor (yet). Once it got past the channel scanning, I went to the web based portion and logged into Netflix. The first movie I tried to watch, came up with sound for about 5 seconds, but no picture. After looking through the manual, and not finding anything about updating the TV, I started to get frustrated. When I closed the manual to look for the customer service number, there was the fix on the front cover. Just turn the the TV off for 5 minutes and allow it to update over the internet. That solved it!
Great deal for $449.00.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+82points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
madison
Sanyo 42''
Posted 12/10/2011
This TV is great when it works, but mine shuts off randomly and makes loud weird noises. I had this tv for a month and its done this several times. Get A warrenty
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861
11/28/2011
By ,
Milford Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv was supposed to be our Christmas present but we couldnt wait. The picture is so clear on the HD channels I dont even have to have my glasses on. Fits on almost any TV stand since its on a pedestal. Just the right size not too large or too small of a picture. The price was amazing too.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+54points
Review 4 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861

Great picture, but slow

08/21/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV has a really good picture. The blacks are deep and colors sharp. The anti-reflective screen really cuts down on glare in bright rooms. The sound is actually pretty good, but I am starting to notice some vibration when turned up to higher volume. The wireless internet connection works well. I was able to easily connect and stream video. My only problem with this TV is that it takes so long to get a picture after you turn it on. The light comes on but the screen stays blank for ten seconds, I timed it. My laptop starts up faster than that! The menus are also slow to respond, but manageable. It's a good TV for the price with an internet connection. If you don't mind the wait time after turning it on I would recommend it. Most of the time it's bearable. If it were any slower it would take it back.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 5 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861

Fantastic Value!

12/12/2011
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are so pleased with this TV! Once we got the HD cable box hooked up, the picture quality was excellent... and there were no problems with sound. There was absolutely nothing to setting this up. So easy! - - I was looking for a good quality tv under $500, but wasn't sure what I would be able to find. I was sure pleasantly surprised with this set. - - I have only had it up and running for a few days, but so far so good. I would highly recommned this television.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 6 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861

The price and the features sells this unit.

01/02/2012
By ,
Meadville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price & the features make this set great. I wall mounted it and the picture is as good or better than more expensive units. I will be hooking up the surround sound system to make my t.v. viewing even more enjoyable/!!!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 7 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861

Typical but nice TV

04/11/2012
By ,
Ericville, Eric
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Me and my husband purchased this TV a few months ago. So far it works great; the picture quality is really nice on HD channels and with the HDMI cable all the movies look high definition. A week after we purchased it the TV did something odd where the picture was all jumbled together and blurry; however I am not for sure if it was the cable box. We unplugged both and plugged back in and have not had the problem since. TV works great. I would recommend to someone.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861
04/08/2012
By ,
Prattville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always wanted a larger TV since I'm older and had a hard time seeing the old 27" TV. I ordered the Sanyo 42" because of all the reviews I read from previous owners. It was a great buy for the money and the picture is so fantastic that I ordered HD from my cable company so I could really enjoy the full effect of my new TV. I love it!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 9 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861

Nice T.V for Bedroom

03/26/2012
By ,
Denver, Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This T.V is really nice for the price, I got it for my bedroom it has a great picture the price was very exceptional. love that its internet ready love the 1080p also wireless capable.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861

Problem with all 3 TV's.

09/24/2012
By ,
Jersey City, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is my 3rd tv that I am returning. The first one, all 3 HDMI inputs were not working, the second and third tv's I kept getting a green screen after only a week. Definitely a defect in Sanyo's TV's. I am getting a refund and looking into getting another brand of tv. Hopefully no one else has these problems. Very disappointed because the picture and sound were good. I hope that Walmart straightens this out with Sanyo for they were no help.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861

DO NOT BUY!!!

10/08/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this television for the cheap price....and got what I paid for. Within a few months of ownership the sound just quit working. I called customer service and was told to take it to a repair shop. Great, as if it wasn't a huge hassle to get it up to my third floor apartment in a box, now I've got to figure out how to get it into my car and to the repair shop across town. Even better, the shop's hours are so poor I'll need to take some time off of work to make this all happen. I wish I had read other people's reviews before buying this piece of junk. Do not buy a Sanyo!.....their products are complete junk....and their customer service is worthless.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861
04/20/2012
By ,
wynnewood, ok
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i have some dark patches show up on the screen after about a year. you can see it mostly when its a bright picture. i'm looking to buy a bigger tv and although the price of a 55" sanyo is tempting, i think i'll go with another brand.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861
09/24/2012
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
absolutely would not recommend, less than a year has been fixed 3 times,
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 14 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861
09/12/2012
By ,
tallahassee Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price had all the features I wanted no problems setting up.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861
11/07/2012
By ,
Porterville CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, Would recommend it to anyone. The Internet part of the tv could use some work. Very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861

mistake

03/16/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
picture ok wifi does not work, techs have no clue how to trouble a tv. they told me I would have to wait for another tech to call me in 48 hours. I told them in 48 hours I would be at work and not home they told me that is the way it goes and if I was not able to talk to them at that time there is nothing that they can do. so now a couple weeks later I am boxing the tv back up to take back to walmart for a refund. yes it was a mistake for me to buy a sanyo and I hope this review will help someone else from making the same mistake.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 17 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861
04/20/2012
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tv has the worst color ever and no amount of tweeking fixes it. DO NOT BUY!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861

nice tv

05/01/2012
By ,
michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got shipped for store pick up. Great tv, nice picture, has apps. Easy to set up. Works with game consoles. Love the netflix,too.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 19 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861
03/27/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wished the internet options would extend to more browsing possibilities.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP42861

Terrible internet connection

11/28/2012
By ,
Evergreen, Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After 3 frustrating days of dealing with support, we returned the tv. The internet connection simply will not work properly. We have multiple wireless N devices that work flawlessly in our home, but this tv's wireless doggle is junk and the tv won't accept an upgraded one. Don't buy this tv until you're sure that this issue has been resolved by Sanyo. At this point in time there is no fix. We did buy a different brand that works well and you should also.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points