Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Weed Eater Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

Weed Eater Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

Help your lawn and garden look their best with the Poulan Electric Weed Trimmer (966047801). It features 3.6 amps of power and a handy adjustable assist ergonomic handle for ease of use. This weed eater/trimmer has an 11-inch cutting path and a Quick Snap 10 second spool replacement for added convenience. The extension cord retainer on this 3.6 amp electric weed eater will keep your power cords safely out of your way.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation94%33 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 20 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

Blech...

05/02/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this at the local Wal-Mart on sale for $29. Thought that since I have a decent size yard, and I just rent, that I really don't need to spend through the nose for a usable weed eater. Well that was a waste of my time. The automatic line feeder never worked. I had to press the little yellow button by the line spool to manually feed the line. I had this weedeater for 15 minutes. Didn't even finish by back yard with it and I had to manually adjust it 5 times and lost the line within the spool 3 more times. Pretty much the definition of a bad weed eater. Went back, paid $20 more to get the Black and Decker GrassHog that was highly rated here on walmart.com and have loved it. So in short, if you are looking for something that will make you really appreciate the next weed eater you buy (because you will have to buy another one), by all means, purchase this lemon.
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Auto feed ??
Posted 08/31/2014
From what I read in the Item Description this is a Tap Feed not Auto feed unit, are you sure your talking about the right model?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

Small Job Weed Eater

05/28/2012
By ,
Lawton, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not a commercial weed eater and is not designed to run more than 15-30 minutes off & on at a time. And does take all the grass out to the dirt! It does have a 2 year warranty which I promptly filled out at the website. For $30 w/tax it was cost efficient. I just need it for my garden area ( I hate pulling weeds) it actually has paid for itself already, not having to buy weed killers and applying. It is something a older woman can handle and put together in a snap. I was hesitant after reading the other reviews. But happy I went ahead a purchased!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Altus, OK
Great!
Posted 06/22/2012
I have had this for 2.5 years and it works just like it needs to do. I have told people who ask is it good. I tell them it works great.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

This little thing packs a mighty punch

08/02/2014
By ,
Norfolk, Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This weed eater was most impressive. Don't be fooled by the low price that it won't work well because of the price. I have bought in the past several other brands that were bigger and stronger amps and they can not compete with this model. When I put this thing together and pressed the trigger, it let out a roar stronger than my previous more expensive electric weed eaters. It cut through all of my weeds and did not miss a beat until I let go of the trigger. This model is light weight and did not cause pressure on my arms or back. This thing is absolutely amazing. Take a chance, you won't be disappointed. I am actually waiting for the weeds to sprout up again so I can get to work with this thing.LOL
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

Excellent for my purposes!

05/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As an older person, I needed something lightweight for grass and weeds around my yard and house. I also needed a 'bump' feed because there really isn't that much in one place at any one time, and I tried and returned an 'auto-feed' because it 'auto-fed' the lines within about 20 seconds of operation until the lines were two feet long and got tangled up with each other. I have not used this one very much yet - but so far it is just perfect for me. The biggest 'test' I have put it through is cutting down a very thick patch of bluebells and their 'leaves', making that section now look like a nicely mowed patch of grass.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

this weed eater surpasses my expectations.

04/09/2014
By ,
richmond, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased this weed eater realizing its affordability may result in it not performing very well.
to my surprise, it is turning out to be better than the 100-dollar trimmer it is replacing.
i would definitely recommend the poulan 3.6 amp electric weed eater to my friends & family.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

Perfect for light duty.

10/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although I have a man that mows and weed eats my yard, there are spots that he does not get to. I needed a light weight weed eater to get in these small areas and to use between his mowing times. This is perfect for me (I'm in my 60's) to use with little effort. Easy to put together, light weight, and manageable. I wouldn't recommend it for large areas at one time.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

Very Satisfied

04/13/2014
By ,
Redmond
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never had any problems with it. This Weed Eater lasted a lil over 6 years for me.
Used it several times a year for about an hour at a time and was always stored outside.
Never overheated like some say it will. Very satisfied due to the fact it lasted that long for only $30.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

Just what I was looking for

05/09/2014
By ,
channelview
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together, and very light weight. And a one stringer. Does the job for me.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

Caution When Assembling

09/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very lightweight and smaller cutting area, makes this weed eater great for small, up close, hard to reach spots. Not sure how long it will last through heavy usage. Easy to assemble - or so I thought. I pushed the two halves of the pole together and slid the sleeve down over it then turned till it locked into place. Then I screwed it in, locking it further into place. When I went to pick it up by the handle, the poles came apart. Once that sleeve is locked into place it is meant to stay there. There is no removing it and trying it again. I literally screwed myself over when I screwed that sleeve into place. So you ask yourselves, 'how does she know how well it works if the pole has come apart?' DUCT TAPE! I am not totally dissatisfied, but I am not a very happy camper either.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

I love the Weed Eater

03/03/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light weight and perfect for the woman gardener.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

Wonderful !!!!! :)

11/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good morning walmart, this instructment is wonderful
it works so smooth and i do not have to work hard, it cuts the grass wonderfyl
its not heavy, thank you for your products, i love shopping walmart on line.
it was delivered to my home and i put it together myself, it was easy
thank you, i will keep buying online walmart, i love it
Have a wonderful day
Barbara/ Best regardes:
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

great so far

08/04/2014
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first off I have only been using for a little over one week.It has been working great.I use it to weedeat around the okra plants in my garden.It was VERY easy to assemble and I started using within 10 minutes of opening the box.Dont know if it is long lasting yet but so far so good.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

Great item for the price

05/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well, does everything it's supposed. Easy to use. Product came very promptly.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

Line is not strong enough.

08/01/2014
By ,
Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a fair little weedeater to use just around the house but to do more work further away you need to add more cords and that get's a little old after awhile. The spool which you wind the line to is suppose to have a small hole in which you first thread the line to hold in place while you wind and add more line around it. My spool did not have this so I had to drill a smole hole to fix Poulan's mistake. Not a big deal but it was a little frustrating trying to figure out and find this elusive hole that was suppose to be there from the factory. I also changed to a stronger .80 line and it does better for me.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

do not buy

04/07/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this weed eater to cut a small area and for the price and size lawn it seemed like a great deal. To make a long story short this product did not last me 3 months. DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

Great weed eater!

10/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great weed eater for the price! Works great and got the job done in my yard. I had really thick weeds on my fence line and it cut through the weeds easily with no issues. Its electric, so saves on gas! Love this weed eater!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

Works great!

07/29/2014
By ,
Tell City, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for a friend and she says it works great! She said it is very lightweight and is easy to use.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

Great weed eater for price and size,

06/06/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great purchase. Reasonable price, easy to assemble, lightweight. I was very pleased with how this weed eater handled and did the job I needed it to do.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

Great Electric Trimmer

09/09/2014
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trimmer is very light and powerful. Very easy for a woman to use.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Poulan Weed Eater 966047801 3.6 Amp Electric Trimmer

What I wanted.

02/01/2014
By ,
33917
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't want to invest in a good gas trimmer, so I opted for this electric as I had plenty of outdoor cord. Did not cost much, does the job around our house just fine. Poulan name helped persuade me.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next