Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Garmin Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Garmin Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

A pioneer in its category, the Garmin nuvi 1100 GPS Navigation System features pedestrian navigation capability with the optional CityXplorer maps. You can select any tourist destination from anywhere within lower 48 states, Hawaii and Puerto Rico (no Alaska or Canada detail). Also, you can download updated maps to your Nuvi up to four times a year. You can expand the memory using the SD card and store additional maps. Further, the Garmin GPS lifetime maps feature user-friendly interface with enhanced graphics and single touch menu functions. At the heart of the touchscreen navigation system lies the 3.5-inch TFT display that allows for effortless viewing even in darkness. Elaborate turn-by-turn instructions help you reach your destination with ease. Other thoughtful additions to the Garmin Nuvi include an anti-theft system, a travel kit and a versatile trip computer that mileage, speed and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.241 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(411 Reviews) 302
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
222
4 stars
124
3 stars
30
2 stars
12
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation89%357 out of 402reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
222
4 stars
124
3 stars
30
2 stars
12
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Outstanding value

05/05/2012
By ,
Aurora, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding value for an entry level GPS! We'd had several Nuvi 200's in the past and looking forward to years of great service!
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Review 2 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

No Lifetime Maps

03/26/2012
By ,
Arlington, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this on sale for $65 within the last 2 weeks. Got a box that said nuvi1100 with a sticker slapped on it that said nuvi1100LM. Downloaded the map updater from Garmin which identified the device as a plain 1100 and said that it did not qualify for map updates. Contacted Garmin support who told me the serial number was not valid.
Returned the product to WalMart. Hope I get a refund. If not, it's the last thing I will buy from WalMart.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+4points
Review 3 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
05/12/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is advertised and sold with a Lifetime Maps however this is not the case. It's a regular 1100 with a "bundle" sticker slapped on it. The serial number on the box and product match however when I went to register my product with Garmin to get the maps a different number came up. It a plug-in-play feature with the website to verify your device. The product and what is advertised here by Wal-mart is FALSE!!! I have noticed that some comments state that theirs came with the feature. I don't know but I got a "dud" product. Thankfully Garmin offers a one time free maps update and offers a purchasable map update for a reasonable price since this product is so cheap. So I do use it and it works wonderfully! I love the product itself! However Wal-mart should make sure that the product they are advertising is the product they are selling to their value customers!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+1point
Review 4 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
01/10/2012
By ,
Belle Chasse, LA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was one of the best gefs, that I gave this year. and it was on time..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Does Not Speak Street Names

07/22/2011
By ,
Springfield, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A couple of years ago we purchased a Garmin GPS for our daughter who was going away to college. When she is home and we travel with her, we have used her Garmin multiple times and have absolutely loved it. As she is away at school again we decided to purchase our own Garmin so we wouldn't need to rely on hers. We were very excited to see the Garmin Nuvi 1100 included lifetime maps and cost just under $90. It arrived yesterday and we took it out for a test run. To our dismay, this Garmin does not speak out the street names. It will say things like turn left in 3 1/2 miles and as you get closer to the intersection it will say turn left in .1 miles. The street name is printed on the screen, but there are times, especially in busy traffic, one doesn't have the ability to view the screen. I guess if we had never used one before, this would not be a deal breaker for us, but we have had exposure to an earlier version with the audio street name readouts and cannot live without it. We will be returning this model and purchasing one that will meet our expectations.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+102points
Review 6 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Compact and Convenient

07/11/2011
By ,
Boise, ID
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was able to mount very easily to the dashboard of my chevy work van down by my radio, (didn't want to advertise by leaving an obvious mount on my windshield, I travel to some big cities) using the included mounting disk with sticky back. The suction cup grip is reliable yet releases easily when I want it to so I can put it in another vehicle in a pinch. The screen is small but very easily visible in pretty much any light. Excellent not just for directions but as a travel tool with constantly updating ETAs, average MPH, elevation readings, compass and other features to play with. The map update took a really long time but it came with fun upgrades to the vehicle icons. Also some issues with entering street addresses, (constantly autofills which can be maddening) I think a phone call to Garmin will probably clear up the issue as the device otherwise fuctions really well.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 7 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

price vs value can't be beat

08/05/2011
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had the unit about a month and have used it several times. It works great. Hasn't missed a turn and has consistently taken me directly to every destination. I know that some people prefer the larger units, however, for a basic unit which I was interested in, this gps is perfect and for the price, including lifetime maps, I don't know how you can go wrong. I'm a novice, so I didn't understand the difference between voice to speech and voice directions and I'm still not 100% sure, however, this unit does provide voice directions. Also, I had read other reviews about downloading maps that took a long period of time. I have Comcast internet and my download only took about 20 minutes. Also, charging the unit didn't take hardly any time at all. I'm not really sure why others have had the problems that they've stated. Once again, for a basic unit, for the price, this is perfect.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 8 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Good basic device, Lifetime map update

06/19/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are not looking for a fancy GPS with all the gadgets and you just want a basic direction guidance with lifetime map update to keep it current. This is it. I have this nuvi 1100LM for almost a month now. Overall once you bought the device, you got to do an updates both on maps and softwares. This will take a good 6 to 7 hours. When it is completed, the GPS is ready for use and it is very easy to set up. The routing is good and quick. Please to uderstand, the automotive use GPS is not designed to be dead on the address, especially for a govenmental address. This is done for a reason, so don't blame it to mis guide you to the next door neighbor. All GPSs are like that regardless how much you spend. When you suppose to be guided on a freeway but you decide to stay on the frontage road, this GPS sometimes will get it confused and that is why I deduct a star. The more expensive GPS will use the speed and traffic condition to make a correction but this one simply just project the position based on the GPS signal. Use a little common sense, and you will not get shocked when you are "ordered" to get off a freeway but you are not on it. For a foreign person, Garmin has all the languages built in even on this inexpensive model. This is very useful for the people who speak other languages. Overall, I think Nuvi 1100LM is a must have in a car for a needed time.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+186points
Review 9 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
05/26/2011
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This GPS is awesome! It is small enough to prevent a blind spot but screen is big enough to see easily while driving. It's easy to register this unit on my.garmin.com and the download/installation of the map updates takes about 3-6 hrs depending on your internet speed. (May seem like alot of time but a map update runs $40-$60 for a ONE time update. you get 4/yr with this GPS) All the accessories come with the GPS and the battery life is very long. It also offers an ecoroute, a way to conserve MPG. I highly recommend this unit!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+450points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Utah
40-60 bucks for a one time update?!!!
Posted 07/08/2011
Do you mean I will buy it and then as soon as I start the updates i will have to pay anthor 40 or 60 bucks?
-2points
Customer Avatar
Pennsylvania
Posted 06/21/2011
I belive she means you get four map updates per year... If that is how I am reading the advertisement and if I am interpreting her review correctly.
+3points
Customer Avatar
Texas
Lifetime maps
Posted 06/20/2011
The advertisement says lifetime map updates.
The following was copied from a user.
Is it lifetime or 4 years?
map update runs $40-$60 for a ONE time update. you get 4/yr with this GPS)
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 10 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Good but not great

06/19/2011
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I saw this GPS had lifetime map updates, one might think it meant for the lifetime of the product. According to GARMIN, it is as long as they deem the product viable (rough guess is about 1 to 2 years or PRODUCT LIFETIME, NOT UNTIL THE PRODUCT ACTUALLY FAILS/DIES.) If you want a feature rich GPS, consider a TomTom - they have alot more features and can actually use the GPS from a desktop computer. The only option with this GPS is that you can update maps from the Internet Connection and that's all. It does not allow one to submit map corrections (as TomTom does.) The map updates come about 4x per year (or quarterly).
To sum it up, this is a feature limited GPS - if you have tried TomTom - you should stay with it as this makes the TomTom look like a luxury edition.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+89points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NorthPole
Always go with Garmin!
Posted 12/12/2011
Garmin GPS units work faster than any Tom Tom I've ever had. Tom Toms are loaded with junk and stink compared to any Garmin.
+2points
Customer Avatar
jemsj4
Map Updates
Posted 06/26/2011
About the map updates, I have an I5 that is over 6 years old & can still get the map updates. I also have a Nuvi 200 that is 3-4 years old & also get map updates. The only thing is, as time goes by, the maps get bigger. So eventually, you may have to use an SD card. No big deal. I like Garmin enough that I bought Garmins with lifetime updates for all my family members.
+13points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Great GPS - Affordable & Functional

01/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this GPS for my husband after spending weeks reading reviews on all kinds of GPS. There are so many brands, prices, options to consider. My husband is not very tech savvy and needed something to enter addresses on a daily basis for service calls for work. I was hesitant to purchase this one because the price was so much lower then many of the others I looked at. However, when I compare the features he needed to that of other ones this was the cheapest one. It also included lifetime map updates which many did not. He does not need a lot of fancy features beyond getting to point A to point B and have it be easy to use. He is very happy with it and has found the suction cup and clip to work great in his car without falling etc. There are other features he found useful, for example the searching for a point of interest. this was great when he is looking for a Home Depot in the area. For the $69 + shipping it is a great deal. I can't complain and would highly recommend it to others.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

1st GPS

06/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my gps so I could feel comfortable driving on the highway, when I recieved my gps I didn't know what to expect. I had heard that some gps need to come with a video for instructions, but the garmin 1100 was so easy that a 7 yr old could understand. I really love my gps took the gps for a beach trip this week and its awesome. I will never leave home without it on a long distant trip---well worth the price!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+102points
Review 13 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Great choice.

07/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK, we researched and researched and finally decided that what we wanted and needed was a good gps that is update-able and could also do geocaching at least a little. I took a chance and ordered a reconditioned one because the price was fantastic and I figured I could always return it if it did not work. We received the nuvi within a week. It looks brand new, box and all. We have used the gps portion twice; once in a metropolitan city and there was not a single blip. We used it in our little tiny suburb, where the streets are under 2 years old and there has been no problems. We have tried to geocache with it twice and got to within 10 feet of the marker. We are super happy with this choice, Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates, so far. Will add more in about 6 months, but so far, so good. We also bought the 1 year warranty, it was cheap.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 14 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Basic GPS with flaws

08/29/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This GPS unit is fairly easy to use, but has a several shortcomings. It is near impossible to customize a route ahead of time. I tried several times including downloading a route I made online, but the unit kept on selecting it's preferred route. It also does not tell you street names for exits - I had a situation where there were two right exits and it told me to take the "right exit". I chose the wrong exit and and had to turn around during rush hour. This GPS unit also sent me to the wrong address of a business (Walmart). I also had trouble updating the maps right after purchasing the unit - it seemed to be working and then after a long time it told me the update failed, but wouldn't let me retry even several days later. Finally the manual is very basic - including the online troubleshooting guide etc. I've since returned the unit and recommend spending the money for a better GPS.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 15 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Beware

08/01/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just returned this product to Walmart today. Owned this device for only a few weeks and just took a road trip where it worked for only a short while before it rebooted and locked up. The message I get everytime now is that it can't unlock maps and therefore cannot show any directions. Not the easy to use GPS I was looking for.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Review 16 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
10/08/2011
By ,
reva, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
boutht this for my husband to help him locate addresses of customers because he is a plumber. he is neither computer or electronically literate, so i had concerns about his being able to operate it. thank you Garmin for making this unit so simple to use. within a week he had it down pat. this weekend our daughter is using it to get to a new work location as she has to travel to different locations for her job also. we also plan to use it when we go out of state for the first time next summer.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 17 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Searching for Satellite a few times

08/13/2011
By ,
MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sometimes when you are on the road following the gps directions, all of a sudden out of no where it will say "searching for satellites". You are in the middle of the road and you might miss the exit that you are supposed to take and right at that moment you have that issue. Imagine you being in traffic and that happens. You have to stop your vehicle on the shoulder of the road until it tries to get back to normal(having satellite access back again). It has happened to me, want to make everyone aware of it prior to buying it.
Thanks.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 18 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Very Limited GPS

10/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed in this product. I had purchased it to replace an older Garmin Nuvi Model 265L on which the charger port had quit working. The 1100LM was unfortunately a lot less sophisticated than my old 265T, it did not give street names when navigating, it did not show the speed limit, and it did not have the Blue Tooth Option. These were options I had learned to appreciate in my old 265T, so I ended up returning the 1100LM, an ordered another 265T. I thought that the newer model would be an upgrade, but in this case it was definitely a downgrade.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Garmin Refurbished Nuvi 265T 3.5" GPS
4.2 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
+11points
Review 19 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Don't trust Garmin

03/31/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Walmart has good customer service. Garmin doesn't. I bought a model with lifetime maps, and they wouldn't fulfill that promise. First they denied I had purchased a model with lifetime maps. Then they claimed the error was Walmart's. Walmart, they said had put the wrong information outside and *inside* the sealed package. Ridiculous. I wish I had just returned it and not even tried to get Garmin to stand behind their product. If you buy a Garmin, check out everything right away, and be prepared to return it. Don't depend on the manufacturer for support.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Review 20 for Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Returning after 1 road trip

11/27/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been looking for an inexpensive GPS for a while, but I live in Las Vegas which has lots of streets being added all the time, so OI wanted one with lifetime map updates. This Nuvi 1100 with lifetime maps for $75 seemed like a great deal.
I set it up, updated the maps and was happy and all set to use it for a road trip to Omaha for Thanksgiving. That's when the issues started coming up.
1. My wife was annoyed that this model doesn't speak the street names as you approach the turn. I thought all car oriented GPSs do that. I could live with it if that was the only issue.
2. It's not possible to have the keyboard in QWERTY mode, only in alphabetical order. I'm a programmer and spend all my time in front of a qwerty keyboard, an alphabetical keyboard is SOOOO annoying and slows me down incredibly. Another thing that I could live with if it was the only issue.
3. The sensor or calculator or whatever it is that switches the display from daytime (bright with a light background) to night (black background that doesn't ruin your night vision) was messed up. Driving from Denver to Las Vegas took me about 12 hours (twin 3-year-olds in the car mean lots of stops). In November, that means about 1/3 of the day's driving was in the dark. During the time it SHOULD have been in night mode, it kept flipping between day & night modes. It would also flip between a relief map and a basic street map display randomly, not just at night either. If it hadn't done night mode at all, that would have been less annoying than the constant flipping back and forth. If this issue was the only one, it is something that would have had me contacting Garmin for a different unit of the same model.
4. The killer. The unit kept rebooting for no reason. It was plugged into the car's power and never had a low charge. I'd be driving along the interstate in the middle of nowhere (I70 in Utah might not be the MIDDLE of nowhere, but you can see it from there) and it would reboot up to 10 or more times in an hour. It did it in cities (driving through Omaha, Denver, Mesquite, Las Vegas) and on the interstates in between.
I think in the 1300 miles on the trip home from Omaha to Las Vegas, it must have rebooted 50 or 60 times at least. Sometimes within a couple of minutes, but I think the longest stretch without one was about 20 minutes.
And so I'm returning it and looking for another inexpensive GPS with lifetime maps.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
1-20 of 303 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next