Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40

Philips Norelco Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%34 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40

The Balder

05/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Balder makes shaving your head and being bald a pleasure. Terrific product, very comfortable to use and the charge on the cordless battery seems to last forever.
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40

Awesome for Bald Men

06/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband (he's bald). I just wanted him to try something different than the typical razor blades (hopefully we'll save some $ with NOT buying the replacement blades). HE LOVES IT. And I have to admit it's just as smooth as a regular razor. Every bald man needs this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40

Nice set, lots of features, maybe fragile.

07/12/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the size and the no-wire capacities.
Balder is very efficient in my opinion, really close to real blade, although i find it not very precise if one wants to cut a neat mowawk. A bit uneasy to shave around the ears too.
Clipper is okay, has the tendency to shift height while in use i found.
I find it not as efficient as traditional electric hair clipper.
All in all i like this product, nicely tucked in a pouch with mirror and brush.
I had it for less than a month, not sure how it will withstand time yet.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40

What a steal!

11/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product at a great price. Takes a little while to learn but once you get the hang of it, you can only get better. I am extremely picky about my haircuts and this helps me take care of that.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40

Better than expected.

10/14/2012
By ,
U.S.A.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly suprised after the first time I used this trimmer/balder. Upon receiving it I had to charge it for 1 hour before first use which is usually normal with most cordless product's. I really liked the fact it wasn't 24 hr's. instead as I really needed a trim.
I am 80% bald so I will probably never use the main large trimming attachment & seldom use the smaller attachment. A shame because it is a good self leveling type of attachment (large one). I keep the hair I have left either as low as I can get it or shaved. It has excellent power and charges in only an hour for 60 min.'s of use. I think the best part about this trimmer is the balder attachment which is basically an electric razor for your head. It beats having to use my Gillete Pro Fusion Power balde to get to bald, less mess, less time and definitely more convenient plus I'll save on purchasing razor blade's.
My expected arrival date was between 9/26/12 & 10/1/12 when ordering on 9/23/12 I was very suprised to get it in only 2 day's!
The only 2 thing's I don't like about it are the sticker's they put on it that shows you the length settings. They have little tab's on the sticker's that upon first look I was under the impression I was to use them to remove the sticker's. I don't think they will last very long and think the "sticker guides" should have been stamped into the product instead. The next is the flimsy bag I feel it should have been made like more of a rigid type bag to give you better control of the contents while holding and using the contents. They tell you not to drop it in the instructions (mainly to keep from damaging the blades if attached) so I feel the flimsy bag contradicts this point.
Other than this I am really glad I chose this particular product. I have had it less than a month and hope I am not jumping the gun on reviewing it but it does have a 2 year warranty so not to worried.
HINT: Register it online and they give you an extra 6 month's warranty for a total of 2 1/2 year's and a coupon on your next purchase at their website. Also the registartion card you mail in the box offers a $20 off next purchase deal. I mailed it in as well but have not yet received the $20 offer back yet. May get it may not.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40

Great Clipper - Great Transaction with Walmart

10/17/2011
By ,
Guelph, ON
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clipper i fantastic and an unbelievable good value. Dual voltage, washable, simple.
Walmart.com was flawless. I could not be more pleased
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40

Good for short hair

10/19/2011
By ,
Boston MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like to cut my hair "number one all over," and these clippers let me do that.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40

Nice and smooth!

08/11/2012
By ,
Danbury, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this product to do everything it claims. When it arrived I didn't even read the directions, I just took it out of the box and started shaving my head. I had been using a regular razor but it was a chore and it didn't shave that well. The Balder really mows the stubble down making my head nice and smooth. One note, the instructions say to cut with the grain pattern. This is fine for the first pass but if you come up in the same place going against the grain it reallys gets the stubble shorter. Glad I found this product on line, I didn't even knew it excisted. It should be advertised more and I'm sure it would be a hit.
Tony N, Danbury CT
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40
12/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product.It cuts perfect bald,easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40

Excellent

09/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall good quality.
No scratches anymore.
Practically razor level.
Thank you Walmart!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40
11/05/2011
By ,
Morgantown,WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has every thing you need for a perfect shaving.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40

Simply the best

05/20/2012
By ,
Nashville,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Philips did an excellent job on this shaver. You can shave your entire head by yourself and not even get one little stratch . Walmart is missing out on In-store sales for not stocking it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40
12/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a quality product in comparison to the Remington Shortcut I have been using.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40

Defective

10/27/2012
By ,
NC foothills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Defective" noticed by end of first use, after talking with norelco willing to give a new one a shot .. But really inexcusable fundamental issuses with trimmed to motor ratio // idiosyncrasies
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40
04/28/2012
By ,
Sandy Lake, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blades clog up easily. Have to clean them 2-3 times during each use.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40
09/10/2012
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. When done just like using a razor.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40

well built

06/24/2012
By ,
Charleston,WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
love it ..use it every day
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Philips Norelco Balder, QC5550/40
Based on the average of (19) ratings-only reviews
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5