Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mongoose Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike

Just like the pros' bikes, the Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike with four freestyle pegs can handle any terrain from dirt to the street. This bike is fully loaded with a new freestyle frame for more obstacle clearance, so you can ride with comfort. The 4-bolt stem clamps handlebar provides firm grip while riding. This 20-Inch BMX bike is equipped with front caliper and rear U-brakes for added safety. The frames are made from sturdy, high-quality materials to ensure extended service life. The solid tires offer optimal handling on both dry and wet road surfaces. This stylish Mongoose Hoop D bike comes in a matte lime color. The handlebar and the wheel spokes are made of alloy for added durability. This Mongoose bike is easy to assemble, requiring minimal tools.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%14 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike

Great bike great price!

05/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bike....our son loves it! This was his first bike with hand breaks and he picked it right up, no problem. Only slight negative is that the bike is rather heavy.....no problem for riding, but a little heavy to lift.
-1point
Review 2 for Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike

Great Bike - Difficult Assembly

04/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 10 year old loves this bike. The green is a bit darker than pictured (not neon). He loves the pegs, brakes and handle bars that spin. Good value. My only criticism is that it is not easy to put together - granted, we are not experts - but we ended up needing to bring it to a local bike shop to complete the assembly of the brakes.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+55points
Review 3 for Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike

Excellent bike for the buck!

12/23/2011
By ,
Phoenix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two sons. Bought this bike and a bike from a different store for about the same price today. Got them both home and couldn't believe how much better the quality was with the Mongoose Hoop D! I love my boys equally so.....I had to return the other bike and order a second Hoop D!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 4 for Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike

Very good quality, great value.

04/30/2012
By ,
Toledo, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this bike for my 7 year old son. Picked it up at store through Walmart.com; was surprised and very glad that bike was already put together. Quality of bike is very good; frame is heavier than expected and very sturdy. Bike is plenty big enough for kids ages 12+, but after making a few adjustments (rotated angle of handlebars backwards, found good combination of seat angle and height), bike is very comfortable for my 7 year old. He loves it. One important recommendation: make sure you check hand brakes and adjust as needed - they were not set up properly when assembled.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 5 for Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike

Great bike

07/15/2012
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike for my 10 yr old. It is very sturdy and rides great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 6 for Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike
07/11/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the bike was better then expected and shipped super fast , well worth the money
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Phoenix
Excellent bike for the buck!
Posted 12/23/2011
Picked up the Mongoose Hoop D from Walmart and a different bike from another store for about the same price for my two boys, got them home and couldn't believe how much better quality the Hoop D was! Just ordered a second one and took back the other!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike
04/10/2012
By ,
Brunswick, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You won't find a mongoose of this quality at such a low price anywhere except walmart. Bought for my son's 6th birthday and he thinks it's awesome. He's 47 inches and rides it great, but could probably use another inch or so to touch the ground.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike

Great quality/great price

04/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son absolutely loves this bike!!! Thanks
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-8points
Review 9 for Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike

Great bike!

07/25/2012
By ,
Wheatfield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter wanted a green bike and she just loves this one. She really enjoys riding it and it meets all her expectations. Great quality and overall a great bike for a boy or a girl!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike

Great bike

04/26/2012
By ,
Canton ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike built strong, was 30 dollars cheapier online than in store!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike
03/15/2012
By ,
Plymouth, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this mongoose bike online because it was only $79.99. In the store it was $109.99. Of course the better deal was online but, I was also able to pick it up right away at the store instead of having to wait for it to be shipped to the store. I'm not sure why it is on clearence online and not in the store. My son loves the bike. It rides nicely and looks pretty good too. It even has the four pegs that he wanted on his bike to do tricks. This is a overall great bike and good deal to. If your looking for a mongoose this is good one to bye.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike

great bike!!

02/29/2012
By ,
Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
got this for my grandson's 10th birthday,it is a nice bike. he will enjoy it when weather gets warmer and he can get out and ride.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 13 for Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike

my son love this bike

05/10/2012
By ,
hanover park
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 14 for Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike

Ummm...there must be a mistake somewhere.

09/11/2012
By ,
Parker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read the reviews on this bike and really wanted to get in for my son's 8th b-day. Went to local Walmart and bike was marked down to $70.97 from $109. Great. Got to register and it cost $.01. Yes, one cent. Spoke with 4 associates and Customer Service, still one cent. Hmmm, think I will buy a lottery ticket today! Great bike by the way! Color is cool and very sturdy without being too heavy.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 15 for Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike
10/08/2012
By ,
Clinton, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bike came with a cut in the seat. An email to the company brought no response, even though I only asked for another seat to be sent to me. With such awful service and disregard for the defect, I will make no more purchases from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 16 for Mongoose 20" Hoop D Boys' BMX Bike
04/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 of these bikes for our 9 year old twin boys. We were able to get them on clearance for $79 a piece. They are sturdy and the boys love the bright green color.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points