Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports AST100 Bicycle Trailer

Allen Sports Allen Sports AST100 Bicycle Trailer

The Allen Sports AST100 Bicycle Trailer is a premium steel bicycle trailer for safely transporting up to two children. Your kids will love the excitement of riding along with you in the comfort of the AST100 Bicycle Trailer. It features a large front and side windows to allow your children enjoy the ride. The safety harness offers complete protection to your kids while on the ride. It provides ample space for foot rest, plus the foot bed insert protects your passengers feet from the bump in the road. This lightweight steel trailer features a removable bug and rain shield to protect your children from extreme weather conditions. This bicycle trailer can be assembled easily. It also comes with parking brake and wheel guard for additional safety. The quick release wheels of this lightweight steel trailer offers easy and smooth transportation of this bicycle trailer. Its foldable design makes it compact and offers easy storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%11 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports AST100 Bicycle Trailer

The perfect trailer!

05/08/2012
By ,
Panama City, Panama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent hours researching & reading reviews for bike trailers. I made the best decision with this trailer and couldn't be happier. It is a fairly new model & I didn't find a lot of reviews about it but after speaking with their customer service dept., I decided to go with it. I wanted a good trailer for the money but didn't want to break the bank. I read about the top of the line trailers and to tell you the truth, I'm not sure why this one doesn't cost more. It seems to have everything I wanted in a trailer. I originally wanted the Croozer 525 but am so glad I didn't spend the extra $. My 2 sons fit in it fine. (4 yrs. old - 43" 40 lbs. & 2 yr old - 31" 30 lbs.) I've read negative review on other trailers that when the children wear their helmets, their heads bob forward. This isn't the case with this model. There is netting area at the head area that is at the top of the seat so there is "give" for the helmets. Great design! There are two little pouches on each side for cups, snacks, small toys, etc., plenty of head room, large compartment behind the seats for storage of groceries, etc., screen behind the seats that allow for plenty of airflow, comes with stroller attachment that works great, bottom of trailer is made of sturdy hard plastic, seat is sturdy - the kids are not falling into each other in the middle. If they ever do, there are 2 straps under the seat which can be tightened to prevent this. I found these straps while examining the trailer. The weather cover has a screen and a plastic cover that attach easily. The plastic rain guard rolls up in the front & back. There are reflection strips built into the canvas cover that reflect very well at night. The best part is my confidence in their service and standing behind their product. My trailer came with a minor flaw and when I called the manufacturer, they provided quick, friendly service! They have been very helpful from the beginning. I honestly can't find one negative thing to write about it. I love it!
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports AST100 Bicycle Trailer

Great quality, small size

07/05/2011
By ,
Southern Pines, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bike trailer hoping it would be comfortable for my 4 and 2 year old. It wasn't. At first I thought they had sent me a pet trailer by mistake. I realized you had to extend the frame out and put attached locking pins to hold it in place. The entire trailer is held together by these locking pins that are attached to the fabric of the trailer. The interior is so small and even though the seat length is 20 inches long my kids were still not able to sit back without fighting for shoulder space. The height is low and I do not see how a child with a bike helmet would fit. My children are about 80 percent in their height and 30 percent in weight (tall and skinny). The canopy is a little small and when I velcro it on the back of the trailer it would come off the front. Maybe it just needed to streach out with time. It would, however, be perfect for one child. The quality is superb. I loved the rubber type mat that goes where the feet would be and the drink holders. Seems really sturdy and is nice looking. There is plenty of leg room and the storage behind the seat is a nice size. Another good thing is the Allen website is great and the customer service is very helpful. (I called and asked about the size of the one that converts to a stroller). Overall this is a good quality trailer for one small child. For me the small size was a deal breaker and I have returned it.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports AST100 Bicycle Trailer

Amazing Quality!

03/09/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to bring my kids along when I went out riding. I had heard from friends to watch out for inexpensive trailers, due to concerns with quality.
That is not the case with the Allen model. I am really impressed with quality and construction of this model. It has a beefy steel frame, with heavy duty cloth, and nice big windows. Most important, my kids are having a blast!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports AST100 Bicycle Trailer

Great Quality and Value!!

09/15/2011
By ,
Amelia, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to put together and my girls love it! They are 3 and 1. Easy to use and ride with. I highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Not sure what bikes these fit
Posted 11/29/2011
will the allen sports bike trailer and the bell cocoon child carrier fit on either one of the next power climber men or womens 26" mountain bikes
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Allen Sports AST100 Bicycle Trailer
10/20/2011
By ,
Eugene, Or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome for the price and is built to last and easy to put together
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports AST100 Bicycle Trailer

Great Value!

02/08/2013
By ,
Oak Island, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 dogs (both under 25 pounds). One is 13 years old and has congestive heart disease. I wanted a trailer because he cannot walk for long periods. The pet trailers I looked at seemed more expensive. I was leery of this one because of the price but read the reviews, which were quite positive. I couldn't be happier! The product is of good quality for the money spent. The dogs fit fine and really enjoy it. Any dog larger than 25 pounds may not fit right, but it is great for smaller dogs. Extremely easy to set up and store. A well thought out product for a fair price.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports AST100 Bicycle Trailer
05/18/2012
By ,
bath mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my grandson loves it,plays in it even when it's not hooked to the bike.very easy to put together and use,price is great.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports AST100 Bicycle Trailer

Great trailer but small

03/17/2013
By ,
AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for twins who are 30 lbs each. Specifications state for 2 passengers up to 50lbs each. Our grandsons are a bit snug and are still 20 lbs from maximum "towing" weight. Great for 2 kids, one big and one little. Great product just small
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports AST100 Bicycle Trailer

Nice trailer

02/17/2013
By ,
Del Rio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not all bikes have the rear lug nut to attach the trailer to the wheel. Most of the newer bikes have an axle type bar which makes it a little harder to attach the trailer to the wheel.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports AST100 Bicycle Trailer

Too small for two.

04/07/2013
By ,
Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Trailer was easy to assemble and sturdy construction. However was just too small (21"W X 21"H) for us. Would be perfect for only 1 child but cramped for two.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports AST100 Bicycle Trailer

Great value item

01/04/2013
By ,
PR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid construction, great material mesh and plastic rain covers. Not too roomy as expected but i can fit my two kids: 4 years and 2 years old.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports AST100 Bicycle Trailer
05/14/2012
By ,
dallas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it's really good for the price.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.