Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

Hoover Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

The Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Upright Vacuum is a super-lightweight, bagless upright that's the perfect cleaning solution for small living spaces. Its modern, sleek design allows you to move around furniture and tight spaces with ease, while the cyclonic filtration and innovative features gets the job done right. Perfect for apartment and dorm living, the Hoover Nano Cyclonic weighs less than 12 pounds and stores easily.
Average Customer Rating:
4.337 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(502 Reviews) 461
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
339
4 stars
87
3 stars
21
2 stars
16
1 star
39
Customer Recommendation87%434 out of 500reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 214 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
339
4 stars
87
3 stars
21
2 stars
16
1 star
39
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

Great Little Vacuum!!!

05/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this vacuum!!! It really gets every little crumb out of the carpets, very powerful suction. Great price!!
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

pleased beyond explanation.

09/12/2012
By ,
holiday, florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a few days ago, my boyfriend and i adopted a kitten from a nearby neighbor. we had noticed a day into the adoption that the kitten was subjected to fleas at his previous home.
being the fact that we have carpet all throughout the house and attempting to eliminate fleas from the kitten only wouldn't work, i knew i had to de-flea the entire house taking maximum precaution for his and our comfort. i had been using my mothers vacuum (a bissell powerglide platnium-bagged) since i had moved into my apartment a few months ago. i knew it was time to buy a new vacuum, one of my own, so i could both return my mothers and tackle these fleas head-on. after doing some research, i decided i would pick this vacuum up today (decision made last night). before i went to buy a new one(today), and so that the house would be clean when i gave our little buddy a flea bath and applied flea medicine(yesterday), i thought i'd give my mothers vacuum one more spin before i finally returned it. today, i came home with my new hoover and revacuumed, excited about my new toy, of course. shocked, i emptied the well-filled dirt cup. it had sucked up glitter i had spilled weeks ago, left over carpet febreze powder from probably our whole living length here, and hair that i hadn't known was there in the first place. this vacuum is awesome!
when we went to pick it up in the store today, we were informed that because it was marked down to $50, it means they're going to send out a new, remodel or an updated version, so get it at the price while it lasts. great deal. good quality at a great price!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

Excellent Basic (ie inexpensive) Vacuum

05/01/2012
By ,
Candyland, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great vacuum for anyone who doesn't have a huge amount of carpeting. Only our upstairs is carpeted, so this vacuum is plenty for us. Assembly was a breeze (there really isn't any, you just pop the handle into place). This vacuum has great suction, and the pull out handle for the crevace tool is pretty cool and easy to use. Also this vacuum does have the switch to turn off the brush underneath (so that it can be used on hard floors), which is a great and unexpected feature in this price bracket. It makes it easy to go right from a bedroom and into the bathroom (with tile floors). Emptying the bin is simple and easy as well, and cleaner than prior vacuums we've had. Before we had a bagless that had a paper filter in the bin, and it got all nasty and had to be cleaned every time. Not with this one! If your whole house is carpeted you may want a nice Dyson or something, but this vacuum is a great bargain with great features and performance...the best out there in this price range!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

mini vac for mini homes

08/27/2013
By ,
Gilbert, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in a 970 sq ft condo and this thing is perfect! I bought it a little over a month ago and have used it at least once a week since. The cord is not an auto rewind but instead just has hooks on the back. The handle comes out and serves as the crevice tool and extender, however the crevice tool is affixed permanently so you can't use it as just a wand. It does include a brush, but the angle on it makes it just about useless.
I have 2 cats and the vacuum is full weekly just from all the fur. The canister is too small if you are looking to clean anything over 1k sq feet but if you just need something for apartments or small chores this will do the job. The cord is short enough that you will likely have to change outlets to go to a different room. The beater bar path is narrow and the left side is significantly set in due to the belt.
all in all, this vacuum is cheap enough to afford for any budget but I would not recommend it for larger living spaces.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

Not sure how there are so many good reviews...

02/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I rarely ever leave a bad review...but this vacuum was a complete waste of money. The only carpet in my home is a large area rug in the living room and this vacuum held up about a week before causing issues. Not only is the suction poor (if you have bits of cereal or pet hair, you'll need to go over the area a couple of times). But, the 'hose' is absolutely HORRIBLE! The 'extender' is the actual handle of the vacuum, and has a VERY small opening (you won't be able to pick up even a piece of cereal with it). If you don't attach the extender, it's really awkward to use and short. The hose clogs really easily due to the weird, bending placement of it at the bottom of the vacuum. Now...onto bare floors. It is terrible! There is no setting to lower the vacuum closer to the ground, so it sets high. Due to the really crummy suction of this vacuum, it will not pick up anything more than loose dirt. If any food particles drop..forget it, you're better off sweeping.
I would never recommend this to anyone and will not be purchasing a low-end Hoover again.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
From HooverUSA02/26/2014
Hi MommyofTwo13, I'm so sorry to read that your Nano is clogging so excessively. Would you mind sending me a email at Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com? I have a few quick questions for you. Thanks!

-Ian
Hoover Customer CareHoover
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

Nice so far

10/05/2013
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just got this today. Pretty impressed with it's performance and handling. There is one thing I'm kind of leery about though. The bagless canister intake and exhaust ports hook up to the vac just by flat contact. You see this when you take off the canister to empty it and put it back on. Makes me wonder why they did it that way instead of having some kind of a sleeve that the ports could slide into. Looks kind of shoddy to me and makes me wonder how those flat contacts are going to keep their seal when the vac has some age on it and parts start to get loose. Time will tell I guess. For right now this vacuum does all I need it to do and is very light weight. I would have given it the 5th star if not for that questionable design. One other thing is there is no listing of the belt part number anywhere, not in the user manual, on the box, or on the machine itself. An oversight by Hoover. Had to go online and look it up to find it.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NASHVILLE, TN
Like my Hover Nano Cyclonic cleaning power . . but
Posted 01/05/2014
This little Hover Nano Cyclonic cleans great! It empties with ease, which is also great. HOWEVER . . it is a pain in the neck to replace the belt once it's taken apart to empty the dirt and rinse out the canister And if you don't put it back the right way (whatever that is?), when you turn it back on it blows dirt and dust all over the room. That belt is a nightmare and HOOVER SHOULD GET THAT FIXED OR TAKE THIS PRODUCT OFF OF THE SHELVES AT WALMART!!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

Unbelievable Product! A++ Worth EVERY Cent!

01/01/2011
By ,
Okc, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I dare any Dyson owner to try their vacuum against this one. I just went to my local Walmart after researching vacuums online. I had narrowed it down to 2. The 2 I wanted to buy were both there, but when I lifted them up they were both SO heavy! I turned around and saw this one, lifted it and was thrilled it was so light. I remembered it getting great reviews, but hey, I've got a 3,000SF house and I figured there was no way a vacuum this small could tackle my big house. But I went ahead and bought because I knew I could always return it if I didn't like it. Boy was I wrong; I LOVE it. It is amazing!
I came home and vacuumed a bedroom in our house (that I had just vacuumed with our old vacuum). It picked up SO much dirt and dust. I emptied the container, vacuumed again, and yes, it was full again! I can't believe how much dust and dirt has been in my house this whole time and I didn't even know it!! You will NOT be disappointed with this product. Save the extra $300 from buying a Dyson, and buy something fun! This product FANTASTIC!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+101points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

Surprising little bugger.

01/15/2014
By ,
Northwest Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After three years of moderate use, our Nano has begun to screech loudly and I feel its days are numbered. Nevertheless, it has performed beyond expectations and is a fine value scooping up the usual crud on carpet and floor without fuss. Both power and brush rotation are activated with foot switches. Carrying is a breeze with its light weight and canister-mounted handle making stair use a cinch. Suction is also very good and the canister is easy to remove and empties fully and easily. We've had other bagless vacs and they all required multiple procedures to empty...not so the Nano which rids the whole mess with a single flip-open base, and it's just as easy to remove the canister from the unit. The filter could not be simpler, just a foam disc which is easily accessible and cleans in soapy water. On-board attachments fit quickly to the detachable wand which serves as Nano's handle. Both the power cord and the hose are a bit short and the capacity of the canister is small. It has proven to be a high-performing product at a low-end price. Now, just fix those motor bearings.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

Good vacuum for the price

11/11/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a pretty good vacuum, though there are some things I wish were different. The cord is a bit shorter than my last couple vacuums. The handle turns into the hose for vacuuming behind furniture or on the stairs, so it doesn't have as much stretch or flexibility as it could have. I do think the design is pretty ingenious, though, having the handle turn into the hose. Seriously, best feature ever! Now my boys can't run off with vacuum pieces and use them as swords because they're always attached! It's also a very light vacuum, and picks up well. The canister is also well-designed and easy to take off, empty, and reattach. This vacuum may not be the biggest or the best, but I really like it, and think it's definitely worth the money I paid for it. It's also small enough and light enough that my 5-year-old can operate it on his own. All in all, I think it's a good purchase!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

Powerful and Compact

03/20/2011
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the Hoover Nano Cyclonic as a back up while my Dyson Animal DC17 was in for repairs. This is my second Hoover Nano, I also had the original one (not cyclonic) and that worked awesome. This vacuum is pretty powerful and has great suction. I cleaned the living room and 3 bedrooms and had to empty the canister twice. It was full of dirt and hair (I have 2 cats). Impressive cleaning for a $58 vacuum....my $500 Dyson doesn't clean that good!! The one thing that ANNOYS the heck out of me is the placing of the power cord...you have to hold it or you will constantly step on it, stopping you dead in your track from pushing this vacuum. One great feature to mention is that this cyclonic model is basically self propelled whereas the original model is not. So you basically have to pull this vacuum back to you because it wants to "run away from you" !! Good little machine. I recommend!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+167points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/17/2011
Ok I know you left this review a few months ago and you might have already figured this out,but there is a small hook under the big blue handle on the top of the vaccum that the cord fits in perfectly. I just purchased this and I found that it was a bit annoying having that cord where it was,so I'm very happy with it up and outta the way. Just thought I'd share :-()
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

Great little vacuum but,....

01/16/2014
By ,
ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This vacuum should NOT be used on shag or frieze carpeting of any kind!
the first one i had ripped my carpets apart and i did not realize it was the vacuum until it finally gave up and we took it apart. The brushes were completely stripped from it digging into the carpets all the time and finally the motor blew up, though it did last about 3 years. I had thought that the carpets i purchased were just cheaply made until i bought a Shaw shag area rug from lowes and the new one of this vacuum i had just purchased ripped it apart also. My husband said it is because the motor is the equivalent of a full sized vacuum and with no height adjustment it is just to powerful and digs into the shag fibers and pulls them out instead of just vacuuming them.
so if you do Not have shag carpeting i would highly recommend this vacuum. great price, lightweight, easy to use and clean, and obviously very powerful!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

Works Great!

04/02/2013
By ,
Honesdale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is inexpensive, lightweight, and it works great. The only drawbacks are the shortish cord and the small storage canister, but I have no complaints about the quality of the work it does. The suction is powerful, the carpets get clean. We have a dog that sheds a lot of long hair all the time, and it easily gets the hair out of the carpets and off the kitchen and bathroom floors. The hose is powerful, too, and does a great job getting the stairs and on top of things.
The vacuum is lightweight and thinner than some. The low price, the weight, and the size may make you think it's not very useful, but it really is. In fact, the lightweight part of it makes it excellent for cleaning staircases and for carrying upstairs to use up there.
I save a lot of money with this because I can use it all over the house instead of buying one or two expensive vacuums. You just have to use an extension cord and empty the canister more often than you might with another machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

Great Little Machine!

02/26/2011
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 565 sq foot apartment, and I needed a good little vacuum that didn't take up much room. I decided on this one because it does bare floors as well as carpets, I wasn't going to have to assemble it, the price was right, and they've been making Hoovers since I was a baby. I was VERY surprised at how much dirt it picked up, because I had just borrowed my sister's Oreck not a week ago. I had to empty the dirt cup 5 times, which is a lot of dirt for this tiny apartment. Even though the dirt cup is small, I figured I'd maybe empty it twice, so no wonder my allergies were kicking in so much! If you have a large home, this will not be for you, because of the fact the dirt cup is small, and you'll probably get frustrated at having to empty it, but it would be great to keep upstairs, or in a shop, or for a smaller home. I will say that it's VERY easy to empty, as it empties from the bottom, and you really don't have to touch anything. I also like that it's easy to clean the filter, and the cup, and that I won't have to buy filters for it. One other thing I'd like to say about this, is that I have a Pomeranian; a small, very furry dog, and this vacuum had no problems whatsoever getting up dog hair. I LOVE this thing, and I'm very happy I bought it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+263points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hudson
AD
Posted 11/30/2013
This isnt very clever writing hoover.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

I regret getting this vacuum.

05/13/2013
By ,
Tahlequah, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and I have 2 dogs and live a in very small house with little carpet. This vacuum had amazing reviews so we got it. The first one we got stopped working within 6 months so we replaced it with another one and now it has stopped working. We have cleaned it out really well and it just wont pick anything up. It spits everything it picks up right back out. Also it over heats and goes off for about 20 to 30 minutes. This vacuum makes cleaning a small room so frustrating and time consuming. It shouldn't take someone an hour to vacuum a room a little bigger then the size of a bathroom. I never leave reviews but I remembered how we where mislead from these reviews and thought I should let people know our experience with it. Maybe it's a great vacuum for single people that don't have a lot of people at there home but if you have pets or children I wouldn't look into getting this one. Hope this was helpful.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

Great buy!!!

02/02/2014
By ,
Middletown, Ct.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't expect too much considering the price, but needed a vacuum so I decided to get the Nano. Best thing I have ever done!!! I am glad I didn't have extra money because I don't think I could have gotten a much better vacuum then this one! It is fantastic. The suction is so powerful and the motorized brush makes it so easy to use. It fits nicely in my closet. It is light weight and easy to maneuver. It is also very easy to empty. I am disabled and this vacuum is easy enough for me to use. Love my Nano!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

Amazing Vac

04/05/2011
By ,
Gulf Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was all set to purchase the Shark Navigator after two weeks of research. At the last minute I decided on the Hoover Nano Cyclonic vacuum. My reasoning was that I would do research on it and can always return it if I did not like the reviews. It was important to me that my next vacuum have good suction (have a pet); good value/price; durability; and is compact/lightweight so I can easily use it for my stairs. It has exceeded my expectations so far! Great value for $59 vs. the $159 I was going to spend on the Shark Navigator. I have no idea what the life expectancy of my Nano will be; but my previous vacuum (also a Hoover) gave me 13 good years.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+138points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

No suction on bare floors

03/19/2014
By ,
Concord, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this vacuum for the price, the low weight and because it boasted to be a great vacuum for hardwood floor. Haa, and NO. My broom did a better job!!! I guess the saying is correct that you get what you paid for!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

Just right for my floors

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small enough my 5 year old can handle.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

Best little vacuum I ever bought!

08/18/2011
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Dyson that I paid over $400.00 on a special sale and loved it at first. but then it kept losing suction! The one thing it was not supposed to do. it is sitting out in my garage collecting dust---cause it can't collect dirt! I have owned no fewer than a dozen vacuums in my life. None of them lasted for very long since my old Sears canister vac got too old to use any more. However, I just got this little cleaning machine and I am impressed. I have a long haired cat and getting all the hair off the carpet or hardwoods is not an easy task. This little vac just ate it up! a few sweeps back across 1/3 of my living room carpet and the dust cup was full. What does that tell you about the Shark I was using? lightweight, easy to assemble and easy to read instructions. And it works! great little vac for someone with back problems and arthritis like myself. It is not self propelled but the motorized bar is the bomb. It literally pulls itself across the carpet, easing my back pain. Great deal for the money.
Pros: Suction, Ease of Use, Size & Weight, Design
Cons: Cord Length
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover Nano Cyclonic Compact Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH20020/W

Saved the Day

03/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a heavy high end vacuum cleaner. During a period last fall our two dogs both picked up fleas. It was a horrible experience that demanded constant cleaning and vacuuming. My girlfriend had booked a vacation with some friends, which left me to carry on with the chores. The high end vacuum broke a belt and the replacement part would take 10 days...I could not go without vacuuming for that long. I looked for an inexpensive vacuum cleaner with some decent features, this Hoover Nano fit the bill. I can honestly say...I LOVE THIS VACUUM CLEANER!!! I do more housework now having this machine than ever before. It's light, it cleans great and the attachments never get lost. This is now considered "my vacuum" and the girlfriend has the "boat anchor" high end model. Features: no bags, easy to empty and I can rinse out the 4 parts and reassemble after they air dry. This little machine is great, definitely worth the every penny. P.S. dogs are fine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 457 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  23 Next