Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Philips Norelco Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Receive a Bonus Replacement Shaving Head Offer valid through 1/7/2015. View and print form here . This Philips Norelco electric razor combines 2-dimensional GyroFlex for a close, comfortable shave. GyroFlex 2D has two-dimensional-contouring, pivots around, and tilts inward to adjusting to facial curves, minimizing pressure and irritation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.058 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(1401 Reviews) 1333
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
687
4 stars
393
3 stars
132
2 stars
94
1 star
95
Customer Recommendation82%1,125 out of 1,380reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 128 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
687
4 stars
393
3 stars
132
2 stars
94
1 star
95
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Don't Waste Your Money

05/06/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Useless - bought this thinking it would be great to use when you needed a quick shave. By no means did I expect it to be anywhere near as good as a razor, but I did not expect the shave to be as bad as it is. It honestly took me twice as long to shave using the Norelco SensoTouch 2D as using a traditional razor and the shave was awful. The SensoTouch struggles to perform the basic function of shaving - forget all the bells and whistles it boasts. I think they need to go back to the drawing board - do not waste your money! They also denied my $30 rebate for no good reason - avoid!
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

TOO MANY PARTS!

01/06/2014
By ,
Oklahoma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had two (2) Norelo Electric razors in the past. They were neither one the "most" expensive models. In fact they were the mid-range razors. I liked both of my previous razors very much and used them for ~ 3 -5 years until one of the "On-Off" switch boards totally wore out on the inside and the other outer screen wore out. I couldn't buy replacement parts for either for much less than a new razor so I “retired” them both. This Norelco 1150x is a great feeling and shaving razor! It seems to do a fantastic shaving job! I do have one (1) problem with this 1150X razor. I can't see taking the "Shaving" head off and putting on the "Trimming" head every time I want to trim my fu-man-chu. I cut & trim it about 2 times per week & don't like having to pull off & pop on the different heads. I use my old razor w/ the flip trimmer to cut & trim my fu-man-chu. With my old razor all I have to do is grab it and flip the trimmer out to get to work . . . no hunting parts & "pulling" & "popping" before getting started.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Not Really Impressed

12/11/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I change to a new razor every couple of years instead of buying replacement heads. I always buy Norelco 70$-100$ model. Usually when i start i new razor i immediately notice how much better the new one is compare to the old dull one. This razor did NOT cut any better than my older model. In fact i found myself going over areas several times to try to get a clean shave. The idea of making the mustache trimmer a second removable head is a complete failure. Now every time i need to use the trimmer i have to remove the regular head and put it on. I'm no expert on this but I'm guessing that it will lead to wear after several hundred changes in a year, not to mention the amount of wasted time it takes to do. Had i seen this before i ordered i would not have gotten this model. The bragging items on this model are touch sensitive on/off button and water proofing that would let you shave in the shower. Neither of these are important to me since i shave in front of mirror at sink. This product wasn't for me. Hope my observations help.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Sorry, not recommended

09/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm older and so have a good deal of shaving experience. I've always wanted to try a Philips rotary shaver, so got this one. However, I am disappointed and will return it. Comparing it to a usual straight-foil shaver the rotary has a larger metal and plastic area touching the skin and so it adheres and pulls the skin, not good. The shape of the cutting area is obviously odd, so you must keep turning the shaver this way and that to get everything. The rotary motor (the RPM) sounds rather slow. I don't think it shaves as closely as my old Panasonic straight-foil shaver. The shaver hurts: it seemed to shave some skin as well as bristles around the lips, leaving the area sore for a couple days. Simple cleaning is easy: just hold it under the tap. Deeper cleaning is ridiculously tedious: Remove just the heads (not the whole unit), then remove a retaining band before you can even get a brush in. If it shaved very well then much could be forgiven... but I'm returning the thing and will get another Panasonic straight-foil.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Bought this Philips Norelco for my husband

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband was in debate of this shaver and another Norelco made by Wal-Mart for a couple of weeks. Valentines was coming up and I didn't know what to get him as he's one like myself hard to buy for when he has everything he needs plus! I liked the description, the bright color as I do read reviews and saw some liked the older version better "like my husband was using". He had bought some heads for his older Norelco and they didn't fit about six months ago so I thought I'll go ahead and decide for him. I made the right decision as he loves it, the new heads also fit it as he will use in about a year. This Shaver he charged over night has lasted since Valentines Day and he shaves everyday but the weekends he's off, he's not had to recharge it yet so the battery life is great, it's easy to clean just run it under hot water, he's not taken the head apart to do a deep cleaning yet as it cleans up very well. He is sure this shaver will last him a long time it is a very good quality, The only reason he wanted to replace his old Norelco he couldn't buy and replace the heads anymore. Norelco stands to it's name and a great close shave. This shaver can be used with water or dry as can be used in the shower. My husband always uses it as a dry shave. Very clean shave.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

NOT FOR ME

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First off I must say I am 71 years old and have used blades for most of my life. I thought this shaver would be great for me because I could use shaving cream or shaving gel with it. Well after using it for over three weeks without a close shave and a lot of razor burns on my neck I decided it was not for me and returned it for a refund. I was hoping it would be great for me because of the price of blades but it was not to be.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Now that was a close shave

11/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After finally needing to replace my old Norelco after almost 10 years of use, I decided to go with the 6100 series. The only problem with my old one was the batter was no longer holding a charge for very long. I was lucky to get 3 shaves. So far, love the 6100. The one hour charging time is awesome! I've had it for a little over a week, but I still don't know how many shaves I can get from one charge. I generally only shave every other day, so I've gotten 5 or 6 shaves so far and still going strong. I also like how the shaving head is raised away from the shaver. Makes shaving easier
The only negatives I have so far is I really expected it to be quieter. I think it's actually a little more noisy than my old one, but still not that bad. The only other thing I'm not crazy about is having to change the shaving head to use the trimmer attachment instead of the easy pop up trimmer on my old one. But, I'd call that a wash to have the easier raised shaving head.
Again, haven't had it long enough, but I'm looking forward to being able to rinse it out to clean it. Overall, highly recommend this shaver.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Problems...........

02/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shaver works 'okay' however it was sold with mail-in rebate for 'Bonus Replacement Shaving Head (Harte Hanks) Bonus offer was driving point in making purchase. Two months later no bonus replacement shaving head and unable to get resolution.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

very nice

05/16/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm 44 and have used electric razors since I could shave. Tried all makes and models over the years and this is by far the best. I know there are the next generation 3-D models out there, but they are over my price range.
This model is so nice it seems to just float on your face. I always have trouble around my neck and curves but this hugs your face and gives a quicker and cleaner and softer shave.
trimmer is a separate head but I find it to be a superior trimmer than others that flip out of the base. It is wider and seems more powerful than others I've had.
charging cord plugs into base unit, not shaver. not a big deal but you need to take the base if you travel. also, no travel case included.
Overall, great deal and a great shaver.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Maryland
maybe it's just me
Posted 06/19/2013
it seems like this product is getting nothing but positive reviews which makes me wonder if maybe it's just me but... I'm not as satisfied with the performance of this product as others seem to be. I don't think my beard is thicker or tougher than the average beard but I honestly think it would take at least one hour for me to get a smooth shave using this Norelco. I go over the same spot again and again and can still feel and see stubble - I always end-up using a razor blade to finish the job. It works best when using water and gel but no matter what approach I use the results are the same. I had purchased a remington and wasn't happy with it so decided to try the Norelco. As a side note, I'm also bothered by the sound of this product - it's sounds slow and anemic but doesn't stall and maintains a charge for a very long time. I also inadvertently hit the on/off switch with my thumb while shaving - again maybe it just me but the on/off switch seems to be where I just naturally rest my thumb. Other than those points, it's a great shaver.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/20/2011
I have been trying to buy this razor and i can't figure out how to order i want to talk to some one about it.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Comfortable shave, quiet shaver

02/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shaver is comfortable on my face and in my hand. I only recently returned to an electric shaver after many years using blades. This is far better than the shavers I remember from the past. It fits comfortably in my hand. I like that I can use it wet or dry and rinse it with water. I highly recommend it. I bought mine with an online coupon while in the store. Ordered online on my smart phone while standing in the store, got the discount and within 20 minutes I picked it up at the counter. Great deal for a great shaver. I've only had it about a month so I can't speak to how well it will hold out over time. It holds a charge very well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

More than satisfied!

09/01/2011
By ,
SW Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using electric razors for over 40 years. I was due for a replacement and chose the Norelco 1150X because it seemed to meet all of the requirements I was looking at a price within my range, $105 dollars. My wife found it on sale for $50. Of course I placed my order and waited.
I have been using my razor for about two weeks now and the 1150X has given me the closest, smoothest, lightest touch shave I have ever had with an electric razor. The design does make a difference. 2D performance lives up to the statement of flexibility, close and smooth shaving.
I found that using a pre electric shave lubricant enhances the shaving experience and relieves any burning sensation you may encounter with a new razor and one that delivers a close shave as the 1150X does.
I am more that satisfied with my 1150X and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a close and comfortable shave "right out of the box".
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

No Razorburn on My Neck So Far

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always bought the cheapest name-brand electric shavers I could find. I keep a beard so I only use the shaver for my neck, and I finally got tired of having razor burn for two or three days after I shaved my neck, so this is the first non-entry level shaver I've gotten. I've only used it 3 or 4 times, but so far either no or very little razor burn.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Greatest Razor to shave your face.

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally, Norelco has outdone themselves on this one. I've used Norelco for over 40 years and this is the best one yet. Keep up the good work, Norelco.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Not Happy

02/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not a shaver for someone on the go...clipper is not attached-therefore not good for traveing to work like alot or guys...hard taking head off to empty shavings,,,
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

norelco shaver

02/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always liked Norelco shavers. I like this one just as well. I am well satisfied with the shaver, but before you buy be sure you read the ad very carefully. I thought I was getting an extra head with it but I went to apply for it I found out the offer had expired the month before. I think this was walmart's fault for not taking the promotion down when it expired.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Great razor

11/05/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 4th Norelco razor. Used all the others till the re-chargable batteries died. Love the floating head on the model I purchased and its waterproof so you can use it with shaving cream or in the shower. The best Norelco I have owned so far.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

It's okay for the money

02/15/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's about what you would expect for the price. Remember you get what you pay for.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

good

02/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good liked it delivery was quick
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

super smooter

02/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best shaver I ever had.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Excellent electric shaver - cost is too high

01/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my son was first beginning to shave he had very sensitive skin. Ordinary electric shavers raised red bumps on his skin that were painful and looked like a bad acne break out. I bought him this shaver and it did not do that to him. My husband borrowed it one day and he really liked it, said it didn't pull at all and did a better job than his. So I bought another one for him. Eventually, one was misplaced and hasn't been found for awhile, so I bought a 3rd one for them. My only complaint is that these shavers never seem to go on sale with a decent mark-down. Luckily I found an "instant off" off coupon that was online only to make the cost reasonable for it. I'd been watching the store and online prices for awhile and the coupon made it the best deal
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 466 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next