Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Philips Norelco Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Receive a Bonus Replacement Shaving Head Offer valid through 1/7/2015. View and print form here . This Philips Norelco electric razor combines 2-dimensional GyroFlex for a close, comfortable shave. GyroFlex 2D has two-dimensional-contouring, pivots around, and tilts inward to adjusting to facial curves, minimizing pressure and irritation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.069 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(1366 Reviews) 1298
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
668
4 stars
389
3 stars
130
2 stars
93
1 star
86
Customer Recommendation82%1,098 out of 1,345reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 127 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
668
4 stars
389
3 stars
130
2 stars
93
1 star
86
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Don't Waste Your Money

05/06/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Useless - bought this thinking it would be great to use when you needed a quick shave. By no means did I expect it to be anywhere near as good as a razor, but I did not expect the shave to be as bad as it is. It honestly took me twice as long to shave using the Norelco SensoTouch 2D as using a traditional razor and the shave was awful. The SensoTouch struggles to perform the basic function of shaving - forget all the bells and whistles it boasts. I think they need to go back to the drawing board - do not waste your money! They also denied my $30 rebate for no good reason - avoid!
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

TOO MANY PARTS!

01/06/2014
By ,
Oklahoma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had two (2) Norelo Electric razors in the past. They were neither one the "most" expensive models. In fact they were the mid-range razors. I liked both of my previous razors very much and used them for ~ 3 -5 years until one of the "On-Off" switch boards totally wore out on the inside and the other outer screen wore out. I couldn't buy replacement parts for either for much less than a new razor so I “retired” them both. This Norelco 1150x is a great feeling and shaving razor! It seems to do a fantastic shaving job! I do have one (1) problem with this 1150X razor. I can't see taking the "Shaving" head off and putting on the "Trimming" head every time I want to trim my fu-man-chu. I cut & trim it about 2 times per week & don't like having to pull off & pop on the different heads. I use my old razor w/ the flip trimmer to cut & trim my fu-man-chu. With my old razor all I have to do is grab it and flip the trimmer out to get to work . . . no hunting parts & "pulling" & "popping" before getting started.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Not Really Impressed

12/11/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I change to a new razor every couple of years instead of buying replacement heads. I always buy Norelco 70$-100$ model. Usually when i start i new razor i immediately notice how much better the new one is compare to the old dull one. This razor did NOT cut any better than my older model. In fact i found myself going over areas several times to try to get a clean shave. The idea of making the mustache trimmer a second removable head is a complete failure. Now every time i need to use the trimmer i have to remove the regular head and put it on. I'm no expert on this but I'm guessing that it will lead to wear after several hundred changes in a year, not to mention the amount of wasted time it takes to do. Had i seen this before i ordered i would not have gotten this model. The bragging items on this model are touch sensitive on/off button and water proofing that would let you shave in the shower. Neither of these are important to me since i shave in front of mirror at sink. This product wasn't for me. Hope my observations help.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Sorry, not recommended

09/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm older and so have a good deal of shaving experience. I've always wanted to try a Philips rotary shaver, so got this one. However, I am disappointed and will return it. Comparing it to a usual straight-foil shaver the rotary has a larger metal and plastic area touching the skin and so it adheres and pulls the skin, not good. The shape of the cutting area is obviously odd, so you must keep turning the shaver this way and that to get everything. The rotary motor (the RPM) sounds rather slow. I don't think it shaves as closely as my old Panasonic straight-foil shaver. The shaver hurts: it seemed to shave some skin as well as bristles around the lips, leaving the area sore for a couple days. Simple cleaning is easy: just hold it under the tap. Deeper cleaning is ridiculously tedious: Remove just the heads (not the whole unit), then remove a retaining band before you can even get a brush in. If it shaved very well then much could be forgiven... but I'm returning the thing and will get another Panasonic straight-foil.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

NOT FOR ME

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First off I must say I am 71 years old and have used blades for most of my life. I thought this shaver would be great for me because I could use shaving cream or shaving gel with it. Well after using it for over three weeks without a close shave and a lot of razor burns on my neck I decided it was not for me and returned it for a refund. I was hoping it would be great for me because of the price of blades but it was not to be.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Now that was a close shave

11/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After finally needing to replace my old Norelco after almost 10 years of use, I decided to go with the 6100 series. The only problem with my old one was the batter was no longer holding a charge for very long. I was lucky to get 3 shaves. So far, love the 6100. The one hour charging time is awesome! I've had it for a little over a week, but I still don't know how many shaves I can get from one charge. I generally only shave every other day, so I've gotten 5 or 6 shaves so far and still going strong. I also like how the shaving head is raised away from the shaver. Makes shaving easier
The only negatives I have so far is I really expected it to be quieter. I think it's actually a little more noisy than my old one, but still not that bad. The only other thing I'm not crazy about is having to change the shaving head to use the trimmer attachment instead of the easy pop up trimmer on my old one. But, I'd call that a wash to have the easier raised shaving head.
Again, haven't had it long enough, but I'm looking forward to being able to rinse it out to clean it. Overall, highly recommend this shaver.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Takes a little work but gives a good shave

01/26/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this shaver to replace a Norelco I've had for years. The old one was beginning to need charging more and more often. Someone (not mentioning my wife) has knocked it off the shelf in my shower a few too many times. I needed a new cutter head after it was mysteriously damaged again (not me!) but find they're no longer available.
It wasn't apparent from the description but this shaver is larger and clunkier. Also where the old cutter heads had an open back this one does not. I have to pop the head off and back flush it a couple of times in one shave for it to work properly. When I do this it works fine.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Good as a razors gets

01/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Electric razors are all about convenience not about the best shave. It is nice on cold mornings to not mess with the mess of a safety razor and to pick it up and shave whenever the mood strikes me (I am recently retired and this was my gift to myself to make sure I shaved every day.) No electric razor can equal a safety razor shave but they are adequate. This one is as adequate as they get. Easy operation, good ergonomic design, convenient charging stand and includes a trimmer attachment. I have to be very attentive with hard to shave areas and I have found myself using a light under my chin and neck to see if there are any fine hairs I may have missed - and I have a very light beard that should be easy to mow. The more expensive models don't offer a better shave just more "features" and stuff in the box. The decision is whether to get a rotary or a straight foil system. I bought the rotary because I thought it would get in the tight areas better. Not so sure it does and it is more difficult to make sure you are hitting all of the areas. I find I tend to focus on using one of the rotary heads at a time - develop your own technique. Good for what it does and none of them do everything the advertising department claims.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Norelco 6100 (Model# 1150x/40)

01/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I owned a Norelco for over twenty years and loved it. It served me well. If this razor lasts half as long I will be more than satisfied. I love the easy cleaning feature as well as the quiet motor. It shaves very comfortably and the trimmer works great. The charger is easy to use.
All in all I am very satisfied and would have no reservations about recommending the Norelco to my friends.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

very nice

05/16/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm 44 and have used electric razors since I could shave. Tried all makes and models over the years and this is by far the best. I know there are the next generation 3-D models out there, but they are over my price range.
This model is so nice it seems to just float on your face. I always have trouble around my neck and curves but this hugs your face and gives a quicker and cleaner and softer shave.
trimmer is a separate head but I find it to be a superior trimmer than others that flip out of the base. It is wider and seems more powerful than others I've had.
charging cord plugs into base unit, not shaver. not a big deal but you need to take the base if you travel. also, no travel case included.
Overall, great deal and a great shaver.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Maryland
maybe it's just me
Posted 06/19/2013
it seems like this product is getting nothing but positive reviews which makes me wonder if maybe it's just me but... I'm not as satisfied with the performance of this product as others seem to be. I don't think my beard is thicker or tougher than the average beard but I honestly think it would take at least one hour for me to get a smooth shave using this Norelco. I go over the same spot again and again and can still feel and see stubble - I always end-up using a razor blade to finish the job. It works best when using water and gel but no matter what approach I use the results are the same. I had purchased a remington and wasn't happy with it so decided to try the Norelco. As a side note, I'm also bothered by the sound of this product - it's sounds slow and anemic but doesn't stall and maintains a charge for a very long time. I also inadvertently hit the on/off switch with my thumb while shaving - again maybe it just me but the on/off switch seems to be where I just naturally rest my thumb. Other than those points, it's a great shaver.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/20/2011
I have been trying to buy this razor and i can't figure out how to order i want to talk to some one about it.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Good for light jobs...

01/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you have a normal /to heavy beard, don't plan to use this razor as your primary source. It's only good to use in the evening, if you've already shaved (conventionally) that morning. This razor would be okay for someone with a light beard, otherwise...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Small shaving area

01/20/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not too happy with my new shaver. I had an old Remington and for 5 years it gave me a nice close shave which took about 5 min. This norelco has much smaller blades with smaller holes so it now takes about 10 min to get the same result. The plastic border around blades is also too wide so its harder to know where the actual blade is when you are trying to cut out a bierd or a goatee. Overall not too bad, but I expected a better thought out product.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

More than satisfied!

09/01/2011
By ,
SW Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using electric razors for over 40 years. I was due for a replacement and chose the Norelco 1150X because it seemed to meet all of the requirements I was looking at a price within my range, $105 dollars. My wife found it on sale for $50. Of course I placed my order and waited.
I have been using my razor for about two weeks now and the 1150X has given me the closest, smoothest, lightest touch shave I have ever had with an electric razor. The design does make a difference. 2D performance lives up to the statement of flexibility, close and smooth shaving.
I found that using a pre electric shave lubricant enhances the shaving experience and relieves any burning sensation you may encounter with a new razor and one that delivers a close shave as the 1150X does.
I am more that satisfied with my 1150X and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a close and comfortable shave "right out of the box".
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Fast and smooth

01/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my new shaver. As I said it is fast and smooth results. From someone who used to use razors because of a heavy dark beard I am enjoying shaving!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

The chin loves it

01/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does the job, make sure U read the manual before using .
For the price I would recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Took it back

01/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My 20 year old Norelco shaver out performed this new one. I sent it back.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Shaver

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great shaver dry or wet , very good
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Good razor, not good groomer

01/20/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the razor but I am very disappointed in the grooming attachment. When compared with my old Norelco razor with a pop up groomer, it is a huge step backwards. I am not sure who designed this attachment, but it is a joke.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Progress!

01/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good, overall shaving performance. Excellent recharging, and cleaning procedure. I still have some stubble under the sides of the chin - but I'm working on it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

needs improvement

01/21/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The electric razor does a satisfactory job, bt still wasn't what I expected from Norelco.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 433 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next