Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Philips Norelco Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

The Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40) features GyroFlex 2D and is designed to provide a close, comfortable shave. GyroFlex has two-dimensional-contouring, pivots around and tilts inward to adjust to facial curves, helping to minimize pressure and irritation. A special skin-glide system with a smooth flat surface and rounded edges helps to get extra close to the skin. The Aquatec seal on this Philips Norelco electric shaver allows use with or without shaving cream. The device is equipped with an integrated rechargeable battery that lasts for up to 40 minutes or approximately 14 shaves. It comes with an elegant electric shaver charging stand, protective cap, power cord and cleaning brush. A soft pouch for travel and storage are also included with this electric shaver for men set.
Average Customer Rating:
4.043 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(1430 Reviews) 1362
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
695
4 stars
402
3 stars
135
2 stars
95
1 star
103
Customer Recommendation81%1,143 out of 1,408reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 134 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
695
4 stars
402
3 stars
135
2 stars
95
1 star
103
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Don't Waste Your Money

05/06/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Useless - bought this thinking it would be great to use when you needed a quick shave. By no means did I expect it to be anywhere near as good as a razor, but I did not expect the shave to be as bad as it is. It honestly took me twice as long to shave using the Norelco SensoTouch 2D as using a traditional razor and the shave was awful. The SensoTouch struggles to perform the basic function of shaving - forget all the bells and whistles it boasts. I think they need to go back to the drawing board - do not waste your money! They also denied my $30 rebate for no good reason - avoid!
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

TOO MANY PARTS!

01/06/2014
By ,
Oklahoma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had two (2) Norelo Electric razors in the past. They were neither one the "most" expensive models. In fact they were the mid-range razors. I liked both of my previous razors very much and used them for ~ 3 -5 years until one of the "On-Off" switch boards totally wore out on the inside and the other outer screen wore out. I couldn't buy replacement parts for either for much less than a new razor so I “retired” them both. This Norelco 1150x is a great feeling and shaving razor! It seems to do a fantastic shaving job! I do have one (1) problem with this 1150X razor. I can't see taking the "Shaving" head off and putting on the "Trimming" head every time I want to trim my fu-man-chu. I cut & trim it about 2 times per week & don't like having to pull off & pop on the different heads. I use my old razor w/ the flip trimmer to cut & trim my fu-man-chu. With my old razor all I have to do is grab it and flip the trimmer out to get to work . . . no hunting parts & "pulling" & "popping" before getting started.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Not Really Impressed

12/11/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I change to a new razor every couple of years instead of buying replacement heads. I always buy Norelco 70$-100$ model. Usually when i start i new razor i immediately notice how much better the new one is compare to the old dull one. This razor did NOT cut any better than my older model. In fact i found myself going over areas several times to try to get a clean shave. The idea of making the mustache trimmer a second removable head is a complete failure. Now every time i need to use the trimmer i have to remove the regular head and put it on. I'm no expert on this but I'm guessing that it will lead to wear after several hundred changes in a year, not to mention the amount of wasted time it takes to do. Had i seen this before i ordered i would not have gotten this model. The bragging items on this model are touch sensitive on/off button and water proofing that would let you shave in the shower. Neither of these are important to me since i shave in front of mirror at sink. This product wasn't for me. Hope my observations help.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Sorry, not recommended

09/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm older and so have a good deal of shaving experience. I've always wanted to try a Philips rotary shaver, so got this one. However, I am disappointed and will return it. Comparing it to a usual straight-foil shaver the rotary has a larger metal and plastic area touching the skin and so it adheres and pulls the skin, not good. The shape of the cutting area is obviously odd, so you must keep turning the shaver this way and that to get everything. The rotary motor (the RPM) sounds rather slow. I don't think it shaves as closely as my old Panasonic straight-foil shaver. The shaver hurts: it seemed to shave some skin as well as bristles around the lips, leaving the area sore for a couple days. Simple cleaning is easy: just hold it under the tap. Deeper cleaning is ridiculously tedious: Remove just the heads (not the whole unit), then remove a retaining band before you can even get a brush in. If it shaved very well then much could be forgiven... but I'm returning the thing and will get another Panasonic straight-foil.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

More than satisfied!

09/01/2011
By ,
SW Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using electric razors for over 40 years. I was due for a replacement and chose the Norelco 1150X because it seemed to meet all of the requirements I was looking at a price within my range, $105 dollars. My wife found it on sale for $50. Of course I placed my order and waited.
I have been using my razor for about two weeks now and the 1150X has given me the closest, smoothest, lightest touch shave I have ever had with an electric razor. The design does make a difference. 2D performance lives up to the statement of flexibility, close and smooth shaving.
I found that using a pre electric shave lubricant enhances the shaving experience and relieves any burning sensation you may encounter with a new razor and one that delivers a close shave as the 1150X does.
I am more that satisfied with my 1150X and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a close and comfortable shave "right out of the box".
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Great razor

07/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Norelco over 30 years and this is my 4th one. Product long Gevity is great. this razor shaves as close or closer than the blade razor and no cuts. WOW. You will not be disappointed with a purchase of this razor.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

very nice

05/16/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm 44 and have used electric razors since I could shave. Tried all makes and models over the years and this is by far the best. I know there are the next generation 3-D models out there, but they are over my price range.
This model is so nice it seems to just float on your face. I always have trouble around my neck and curves but this hugs your face and gives a quicker and cleaner and softer shave.
trimmer is a separate head but I find it to be a superior trimmer than others that flip out of the base. It is wider and seems more powerful than others I've had.
charging cord plugs into base unit, not shaver. not a big deal but you need to take the base if you travel. also, no travel case included.
Overall, great deal and a great shaver.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+100points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Maryland
maybe it's just me
Posted 06/19/2013
it seems like this product is getting nothing but positive reviews which makes me wonder if maybe it's just me but... I'm not as satisfied with the performance of this product as others seem to be. I don't think my beard is thicker or tougher than the average beard but I honestly think it would take at least one hour for me to get a smooth shave using this Norelco. I go over the same spot again and again and can still feel and see stubble - I always end-up using a razor blade to finish the job. It works best when using water and gel but no matter what approach I use the results are the same. I had purchased a remington and wasn't happy with it so decided to try the Norelco. As a side note, I'm also bothered by the sound of this product - it's sounds slow and anemic but doesn't stall and maintains a charge for a very long time. I also inadvertently hit the on/off switch with my thumb while shaving - again maybe it just me but the on/off switch seems to be where I just naturally rest my thumb. Other than those points, it's a great shaver.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/20/2011
I have been trying to buy this razor and i can't figure out how to order i want to talk to some one about it.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Excellent electric shaver - cost is too high

01/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my son was first beginning to shave he had very sensitive skin. Ordinary electric shavers raised red bumps on his skin that were painful and looked like a bad acne break out. I bought him this shaver and it did not do that to him. My husband borrowed it one day and he really liked it, said it didn't pull at all and did a better job than his. So I bought another one for him. Eventually, one was misplaced and hasn't been found for awhile, so I bought a 3rd one for them. My only complaint is that these shavers never seem to go on sale with a decent mark-down. Luckily I found an "instant off" off coupon that was online only to make the cost reasonable for it. I'd been watching the store and online prices for awhile and the coupon made it the best deal
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Great razor

11/05/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 4th Norelco razor. Used all the others till the re-chargable batteries died. Love the floating head on the model I purchased and its waterproof so you can use it with shaving cream or in the shower. The best Norelco I have owned so far.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Nice Close Shave

06/11/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace a model that was 6 years old that was starting to have issues holding a charge. This model cost me less than half of what I paid for the other and it gives just as close a shave. It holds a charge and when needed charges up quickly. I also like the sideburn trimmer, it does a clean job. Well worth the cost!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)
08/24/2011
By ,
Mooresville, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Norelco 1150x Electric Razor
I've been a Norelco user for over 50 years and during this time have enjoyed the comfort, convenience and economy of rotary electric shaving. When I compare the comfort and quality of shave of this razor and the economy model triple headers I've been using, I don't feel like the price differentials that Norelco charges are justified. Unless I were into shaving in the shower (I'm not) or while scuba diving (I'm not) I'd go for the lesser priced models. Not having a travel case, having to carry the stand to charge when traveling and having a separate detachable trimmer are all inconvenience items that are avoided with some of the lesser priced models.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Great razor

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It gives a close shave and quickly. I have had the razor for about a month. I have not used it with water yet. I apply Lectric shave before shaving and the razor glides over skin nicely. I recharged it once after 2+ weeks of shaving, just because I was going on a trip and wanted to make sure it was fully charged. I really like the razor, the only question left is....How long will the razor last?
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Don't waste your money on this item

06/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A waste of $105.00 dollars, shaves poorly, irritates skin and battery runs down fast.. Tried it both ways, with lather and without..will be returned...durring tryout period..
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Too cumbersome

06/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There are two pieces one has to keep track off (side-burn trimmer and shaver) besides the charger. Too noisy. I had to return item.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Great Shaver

12/21/2010
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My last Norelco shaver died about a month ago. I pulled out my prior Norelco (which I used as a backup just in case) and started using it. Boy what a difference. Started getting razor burn. So I sped up my research on the various new models to choose from and decided to spend a bit more than I usually do and buy a more expensive shaver this time. Most of the shavers I've purchased over the years were on the lower end of the product line. Of course in the past there weren't reviews on the internet from customers about various shavers. Still I read good reviews from happy customers even for the less expensive models. Now, the shaver that died lasted quite a number of years and provided me with a decent shave with very little razor burn. I wasn't sure if I really would get a noticeable improvement with this new more expensive unit so I was happy to find out that I did. The unit was very quiet. My previous one was OK in terms of noise (the backup was really noisy... I had forgotten the difference over the years). This new one is so quiet one may wonder if its working. But more importantly was the nice shave I got with almost absolutely no burn at all. After the first few days, my skin was use to the shave and no burn at all. With my previous unit (the one that died) I only would get razor burn if I tried to get a really really close shave under my neck by shaving over and over again and again.... but with this new one I could get as close as the other shaver and not feel any burn at all. Now I haven't yet tried a wet shave with the unit yet (which wasn't possible with my previous unit).
When I was looking at various models I saw the "3D" units which are even more expensive than this one. In fact since I got this one on sale at Walmart the 3D ran more than double this one. (I got this one for $75 at Walmart which was a great price.) My older shavers were more like $40-50. Not sure how much better the 3D versions work but I'm quite happy with the SensoTouch 2D model 1150X. this one was more expensive than what I'm used to spending on a shaver but in my mind from the results it was worth the extra $$.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+250points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

norelco 6100

06/12/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It take's a little bit to get use to but works fairly well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Great Shaver!

06/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works as described. Holds charge for extended period without recharging.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Had preferred a blade

11/11/2013
By ,
Duluth, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had preferred a blade, but with the ability to wet shave with shave cream, I get a better shave. In the past the one thing that held me back from a Norelco was the fact I had a beard that needed precise trimming on the sides. They solved thatelima with the snap-on trimmer. Meanwhile, the charging stand is so compact that you can easily take it with you for extended-stay trips. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Good value, works well, seems to be good quality

09/28/2012
By ,
Lake Arrowhead, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using Norelco electric razors for more than 40 years and have been pleased with their performance and durability. I used my last rechargeable for almost 20 years, but finally got fed-up with the hassles of replacing the NiCad cells every few years and decided to buy new.
I bought this model as it came with the charging stand and has Li-ion batteries which may hold up better than the NiCads. It charges very quickly, shaves well (but so did the old one) and seems to hold charge for a long time. Only real negative about this model is that the trimmer is not a pop-out like the older models, instead you need to pull the whole head off and replace it with the trimmer. Also I am not so enamored with the funky blue styling and the fiddly charging stand, I actually preferred to old model in many ways.
Summarizing, yes it is a good electric razor; but it is a little bit like the new version of MS Office, they just changed stuff to make it different, not better.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

No better than lesser expensive shavers

11/11/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was expecting a much closer shave. Am going to give it the full three weeks time period recommended before I make a firm decision on whether or not to keep it. So far I would say it is definitely not worth the cost.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 478 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next