Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Philips Norelco Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Receive a Bonus Replacement Shaving Head Offer valid through 1/7/2015. View and print form here . This Philips Norelco electric razor combines 2-dimensional GyroFlex for a close, comfortable shave. GyroFlex 2D has two-dimensional-contouring, pivots around, and tilts inward to adjusting to facial curves, minimizing pressure and irritation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.06 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(1280 Reviews) 1212
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
617
4 stars
372
3 stars
122
2 stars
89
1 star
80
Customer Recommendation81%1,026 out of 1,259reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 126 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
617
4 stars
372
3 stars
122
2 stars
89
1 star
80
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Don't Waste Your Money

05/06/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Useless - bought this thinking it would be great to use when you needed a quick shave. By no means did I expect it to be anywhere near as good as a razor, but I did not expect the shave to be as bad as it is. It honestly took me twice as long to shave using the Norelco SensoTouch 2D as using a traditional razor and the shave was awful. The SensoTouch struggles to perform the basic function of shaving - forget all the bells and whistles it boasts. I think they need to go back to the drawing board - do not waste your money! They also denied my $30 rebate for no good reason - avoid!
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

TOO MANY PARTS!

01/06/2014
By ,
Oklahoma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had two (2) Norelo Electric razors in the past. They were neither one the "most" expensive models. In fact they were the mid-range razors. I liked both of my previous razors very much and used them for ~ 3 -5 years until one of the "On-Off" switch boards totally wore out on the inside and the other outer screen wore out. I couldn't buy replacement parts for either for much less than a new razor so I “retired” them both. This Norelco 1150x is a great feeling and shaving razor! It seems to do a fantastic shaving job! I do have one (1) problem with this 1150X razor. I can't see taking the "Shaving" head off and putting on the "Trimming" head every time I want to trim my fu-man-chu. I cut & trim it about 2 times per week & don't like having to pull off & pop on the different heads. I use my old razor w/ the flip trimmer to cut & trim my fu-man-chu. With my old razor all I have to do is grab it and flip the trimmer out to get to work . . . no hunting parts & "pulling" & "popping" before getting started.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Not Really Impressed

12/11/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I change to a new razor every couple of years instead of buying replacement heads. I always buy Norelco 70$-100$ model. Usually when i start i new razor i immediately notice how much better the new one is compare to the old dull one. This razor did NOT cut any better than my older model. In fact i found myself going over areas several times to try to get a clean shave. The idea of making the mustache trimmer a second removable head is a complete failure. Now every time i need to use the trimmer i have to remove the regular head and put it on. I'm no expert on this but I'm guessing that it will lead to wear after several hundred changes in a year, not to mention the amount of wasted time it takes to do. Had i seen this before i ordered i would not have gotten this model. The bragging items on this model are touch sensitive on/off button and water proofing that would let you shave in the shower. Neither of these are important to me since i shave in front of mirror at sink. This product wasn't for me. Hope my observations help.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Now that was a close shave

11/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After finally needing to replace my old Norelco after almost 10 years of use, I decided to go with the 6100 series. The only problem with my old one was the batter was no longer holding a charge for very long. I was lucky to get 3 shaves. So far, love the 6100. The one hour charging time is awesome! I've had it for a little over a week, but I still don't know how many shaves I can get from one charge. I generally only shave every other day, so I've gotten 5 or 6 shaves so far and still going strong. I also like how the shaving head is raised away from the shaver. Makes shaving easier
The only negatives I have so far is I really expected it to be quieter. I think it's actually a little more noisy than my old one, but still not that bad. The only other thing I'm not crazy about is having to change the shaving head to use the trimmer attachment instead of the easy pop up trimmer on my old one. But, I'd call that a wash to have the easier raised shaving head.
Again, haven't had it long enough, but I'm looking forward to being able to rinse it out to clean it. Overall, highly recommend this shaver.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Sorry, not recommended

09/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm older and so have a good deal of shaving experience. I've always wanted to try a Philips rotary shaver, so got this one. However, I am disappointed and will return it. Comparing it to a usual straight-foil shaver the rotary has a larger metal and plastic area touching the skin and so it adheres and pulls the skin, not good. The shape of the cutting area is obviously odd, so you must keep turning the shaver this way and that to get everything. The rotary motor (the RPM) sounds rather slow. I don't think it shaves as closely as my old Panasonic straight-foil shaver. The shaver hurts: it seemed to shave some skin as well as bristles around the lips, leaving the area sore for a couple days. Simple cleaning is easy: just hold it under the tap. Deeper cleaning is ridiculously tedious: Remove just the heads (not the whole unit), then remove a retaining band before you can even get a brush in. If it shaved very well then much could be forgiven... but I'm returning the thing and will get another Panasonic straight-foil.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Nice Sturdy shaver

12/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this Shaver after returning a 4100 shaver. Got a 20$ discount which was sweet. I am pretty new to electric shavers but I am impressed with the level of shave. Although it burnt my skin for about a week or so, but thats mostly because my akin used to took time to adjust to electric shavers.
Pros: Can use in shower, aesthetically pleasing, real close shave, trimmer attachment is also good. Holder.
Cons: Does not have a separate hair catching compartment like 4100 and trimmer has to be attached after removing shaving heads. Its not a one pass shaver! Have to go over the same spot again and again to get the required closeness but I am fine with that.
Overall, its good, but give 4100 a try as well since that model is mostly the same except that its 30$ less!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

very nice

05/16/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm 44 and have used electric razors since I could shave. Tried all makes and models over the years and this is by far the best. I know there are the next generation 3-D models out there, but they are over my price range.
This model is so nice it seems to just float on your face. I always have trouble around my neck and curves but this hugs your face and gives a quicker and cleaner and softer shave.
trimmer is a separate head but I find it to be a superior trimmer than others that flip out of the base. It is wider and seems more powerful than others I've had.
charging cord plugs into base unit, not shaver. not a big deal but you need to take the base if you travel. also, no travel case included.
Overall, great deal and a great shaver.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Maryland
maybe it's just me
Posted 06/19/2013
it seems like this product is getting nothing but positive reviews which makes me wonder if maybe it's just me but... I'm not as satisfied with the performance of this product as others seem to be. I don't think my beard is thicker or tougher than the average beard but I honestly think it would take at least one hour for me to get a smooth shave using this Norelco. I go over the same spot again and again and can still feel and see stubble - I always end-up using a razor blade to finish the job. It works best when using water and gel but no matter what approach I use the results are the same. I had purchased a remington and wasn't happy with it so decided to try the Norelco. As a side note, I'm also bothered by the sound of this product - it's sounds slow and anemic but doesn't stall and maintains a charge for a very long time. I also inadvertently hit the on/off switch with my thumb while shaving - again maybe it just me but the on/off switch seems to be where I just naturally rest my thumb. Other than those points, it's a great shaver.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/20/2011
I have been trying to buy this razor and i can't figure out how to order i want to talk to some one about it.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

More than satisfied!

09/01/2011
By ,
SW Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using electric razors for over 40 years. I was due for a replacement and chose the Norelco 1150X because it seemed to meet all of the requirements I was looking at a price within my range, $105 dollars. My wife found it on sale for $50. Of course I placed my order and waited.
I have been using my razor for about two weeks now and the 1150X has given me the closest, smoothest, lightest touch shave I have ever had with an electric razor. The design does make a difference. 2D performance lives up to the statement of flexibility, close and smooth shaving.
I found that using a pre electric shave lubricant enhances the shaving experience and relieves any burning sensation you may encounter with a new razor and one that delivers a close shave as the 1150X does.
I am more that satisfied with my 1150X and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a close and comfortable shave "right out of the box".
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Great shaver for old beards

12/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband just got his new shaver and loves it. Really close shaves under his chin where he often missed getting a close cut. The shaver moves well over the contours of his face and catches those hard to reach places. He's often in a hurry and likes this shaver, it does a great job even if you're hurrying to shave.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Norelco Shaver 6100 Model 1150x/40

12/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit replaced a older Norelco shaver that I have had serveral years. The 1150x does a great job when shaving around the neck area which was a little hard for my old shaver. The charging stand is a little different and could have been made better. The only down side I can see in the future is the cost of replacement blades. I did do a little shopping on the internet to see if they could be bought a little cheaper and the anwser was YES. Over all I do like this shaver and would buy another one just like it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Up to the task

12/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using Norelco shavers for over 30 years and this 6100 model was a replacement for an identical model that I broke when I dropped it on the floor shaving head.down. The replacement works well, in fact, it shaves a bit closer that the old none - maybe because I had not replaced the shaving heads as often as suggested. I like the ability the clean the heads.by flushing them with hot water. My minor complaint is that the trimmer accessory can not reach effectively some of the areas I want to trim.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

close as a blade

12/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my old one recently died so i bought another replacement. after waiting a few months and shaving with a blade, wow, surprised how well, close and comfortable it was. highly recommend this shaver. power, comfort, and ultra smooth..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

norelco electric shaver

12/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it is about equal to every other electric shaver i have used. the negative is the side burn trimmer is a seperate attachment. not convenient.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

sleek look, not very functional

12/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the razor has a sleek look, but requires changing out heads to accomplish relatively simple tasks. You have to put the razor in a charger that turns off easily. It would have been much easier to plug in the charger directly to the razor.
A good shave, but a lot of work to get a good shave.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

LAZY MANS SHAVE

12/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WORKS GREAT BETTER THAN MY OTHER ELECTRIC SHAVER
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Great razor

11/05/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 4th Norelco razor. Used all the others till the re-chargable batteries died. Love the floating head on the model I purchased and its waterproof so you can use it with shaving cream or in the shower. The best Norelco I have owned so far.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Excellent electric shaver - cost is too high

01/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my son was first beginning to shave he had very sensitive skin. Ordinary electric shavers raised red bumps on his skin that were painful and looked like a bad acne break out. I bought him this shaver and it did not do that to him. My husband borrowed it one day and he really liked it, said it didn't pull at all and did a better job than his. So I bought another one for him. Eventually, one was misplaced and hasn't been found for awhile, so I bought a 3rd one for them. My only complaint is that these shavers never seem to go on sale with a decent mark-down. Luckily I found an "instant off" off coupon that was online only to make the cost reasonable for it. I'd been watching the store and online prices for awhile and the coupon made it the best deal
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Philips Norelco 6100 Review

12/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Philips 6100, model 1150-40, is definitely an improvement from the previous Norelco shavers. (These are the Norelco's with shaver cutting heads above the base.) The shaver heads glide over the skin with minimal pressure, cutting closer and smoother than previous Norelco shavers. Lithium rechargeable batteries are a plus. Walmart offers these at an excellent price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

good shaver

12/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lower priced basic wet dry shaver that does the job, tried others that just don't cut it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Kinda big

06/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my 2nd P-N electric razor and its great. As titled, it is rather big but I guess they had to fit the ion lithium battery in there somehow. I use it in the shower and haven't had any problems with it getting wet. It cuts as close as a razor but is way faster and safer. My only concern is being able to find reasonably priced replacement heads in the future. The old razor worked great but the head needed replacing and P-N had stopped making them so they were brutally expensive as in > $125. Almost like P-N figures they'll discontinue making the heads so you have to buy a whole new razor. So the ratings reflect average value based on the replacement head cost concern. Otherwise, its a great product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 348 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next