Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

The Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella provides necessary shade while you enjoy the outdoors on a sunny day. You can add shade to your patio, backyard, or deckwith this rectangular patio umbrella. Made of 100 percent polyester fabric, it offers reliable performance for years. This patio table umbrella features a UV-resistant canopy that protects the color from fading even after remaining for long hours in the sun. In addition, it comes with a rust resistant, powder-coated steel frame that provides optimum support to this polyester fabric umbrella and keeps it stable. Use a mild soap-water solution to clean this outdoor market umbrella and allow it to air dry.
Average Customer Rating:
3.632 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation65%24 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

looks and fits great with the Mainstays Sand Dune

05/06/2012
By ,
Cedarburg, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love this umbrella... we purchased the Mainstays Sand Dune 7 piece patio set and it fits great in the table and looks perfect as a set!
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Review 2 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

I like it.

05/04/2011
By ,
P.A.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Though I was heart broken when at first trying to put the umbrella in the whole of the table I couldn't get it to go and it looked like i may not and have to send it back. With a little WD-40 and patients I pushed and turned in the rain for about 25 min. it finally went down, event under the table. If the WD didn't work I would have tried Wax. Over all now that its up I was more then happy with it all. It looks great. Though I would like to know whats with all the Velcro around it???
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

it TILTS!!

03/31/2010
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Umbrella turned out better than I thought.....it goes perfect with the table set
THE UMBRELLA DOES TILT!!
If you like the table but not the umbrella do not try to buy a different one it will not fit through the hole on the table.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Review 4 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella
07/01/2010
By ,
Ripon, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a rectangular umbrella, so it works well with the longer 6-seat tables. Matched our Paxton Place set great.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 5 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

Broke within 5 minutes

06/10/2011
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted a rectangular umbrella and unless I wanted to pay $600+ for one this was my only option. It is really nice canvus and has a really nice appearance, but it broke within 5 minutes. We took it out of the box and opened up the umbrella and it looked really nice. Then we went to close it with the crank so that we could set up the base that we bought. When we went to open it back up the screws that hold the rods together that open up the top part of the umbrella (the ones that actually anchor the canvus up in position) just snapped and broke. They are extremely cheap in comparison to the rest of the umbrella. It's really sad actually, that such a nice umbrella over all, had such cheap parts holding it together. My husband and I simply drilled slightly bigger holds in the metal rods and just put in our own heavier, better screws to hold the rod pieces together so we didn't have to return it. Now it's a nice umbrella. Unfortunately if they hadn't snapped the first time we opened it they would've snapped the first time we had any kind of wind. You might want to check your umbrellas if you purchase this one and just put in your own screws to make sure it doesn't collapse on you when you're using it. I would only recommend it if you put in your own screws. The other issue is the crank. There is nothing to provent it from uncranking once you have the umbrella open. You need to attach some type of string to it so that the handle doesn't move, otherwise the crank unwinds and the umbrella slams shut on you.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 6 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

Great Umbrella

05/23/2010
By ,
saddle brook nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This umbrella is great, easy to assamble, durable and gives alot of shade.
Even the rain does not go torugh!
Great product and great value!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 7 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

Nice Product, bad description

04/20/2010
By ,
Fayetteville,NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the umbrella, it looks great and i think it is a great value for that price. My only problem: it is shown on the picture with a stand but you only get the umbrella! i think if it is shown on the picture with a stand, it should at least be mentioned in the description that you have to by the stand seperate.
other than that: great product! (at least it did fit with no problems into the stand i got).
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hurricane, WV
stand not included
Posted 04/26/2013
If you read the item description, bullet number seven states, "Stand not included".
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

doesn't fit the sand dune table

04/07/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this umbrella for the sand dune table and it does not fit in the hole!?!?!?! Why are they both named Sand Dune if they don't go together?
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Review 9 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

Perfect

05/17/2010
By ,
Lake George, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The umbrella matches the conversation set I purchased last year and helps bring my deck furniture together (my dining set is older and lighter in color).
The crank was super easy and it's the perfect size over a rectangular table for six. It covers the those sitting around the table too.
It has velcro tabs on the edges that I am going to try to attach some netting to as a bug guard. Overall this was a great buy!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/03/2012
how do you keep the umbrella closed? i don't see ties. Are we supposed to use the velcro tabs somehow?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

Great value!

04/29/2010
By ,
Springfield, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Impressed with the overall look of this product. It does tilt which is a great bonus feature. Very easy to crank and when open very nice area of shade. I think it looks nicer than most of the more expensive umbrellas I researched. It doesn't have a strap to keep it closed when not in use. However, I used a ribbon as suggested by another review and it works great and adds a splash of color. Used the site-to-store free shipping and will go this route in the future.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 11 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

Fantastic. Just what we needed

05/17/2010
By ,
Dingmans Ferry, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't understand other peoples ratings when they say it didn't fit. This umbrella was a perfect fit in our table 's hole of the same name and the color was a perfect match, the dimensions when open is larger then the table which it should be for complete coverage. I'm so satisfied with this product that I'm ordering a base to match. PS I am so in love with Mary Beth for letting me do this.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

Great on time shipping from Walmart

06/08/2012
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not purchase this umbrella. It lasted one day here in Indiana. The construction is terrible and cheaply made. One good wind gust broke 2 of the support ribs. I returned it the very next day
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 13 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

LOVE IT

04/08/2010
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I can say is WOW! this product meet all my expectations, just put it up to see if there was any problems with it ,in case I have to returned it before summer time and I was not disappointed thank you! can't wait to use it in summer time, it is just what my husband and I wanted for our patio the color is more perfect, features are top notch again LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

Functional

06/11/2011
By ,
Winfield, Ks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a nice sized umbrella and I like the color. I was disappointed in the quality of the material, it is thinner than what I expected and will not withstand the weather well as it is not very sturdy. The pole is fairly sturdy but the ribs are not. The ribs tangle when folded if not careful and will hang up. It does not come with any tie to secure the folded umbrella. When it is folded the top piece, though attached, is loose and looks very unattractive if not careful in folding. It is, however, functional and we got it at a good discount and it will suffice and looks well fully expanded.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

Total waste of money.

09/06/2012
By ,
michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purcashed this after reading several reviews and thought what the heck I'll give it a try. Turned out to be a total waste of money. After one day one of the armatures broke off. Tried fixing it to only have it break again. Do not purchase this, you will be throwing money down the drain.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

it matched

04/20/2010
By ,
delaware, oh
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The umbrella is a keeper because it matched the chairs already purchased. I didn't recognize in the photo that it is rectangular (I'd prefer round) and the mechanism for raising, lowering, and tilting is not that good (it sticks and to tilt it I have to climb upon a chair).
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
phoenixville, pa
Nice umbrella, but light weight and bulky to tilt
Posted 06/04/2011
I purchased this umbrella to match our patio set from home depot, and it matches perfectly, however i cannot have it open on a windy day, the whole set will blow over. Its lightweight aluminum material makes it like a kite if the wind is blowing at all. I also have to stand up on my table to get it to tilt. A little impractical.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

WOW ... Finally, the ideal shape for a balcony!!!

06/28/2011
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yipee !! ... This is gorgeous! There should be more of these rectangular umbrellas out there - after all, how often do any of us come across a patio or balcony that is any other shape?
And, it tilts too! Thanks
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

Replacement

03/04/2013
By ,
Caryville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this umbrella before but it broke so I had to order another one. Hope I have better luck this time around!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

Patio umbrella

06/22/2011
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We like the umbrella. The only issues I have are sometimes wont crank open when you try , and I think fabric is on the thin side could be better even for what we paid.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Mainstays Sand Dune 9' Rectangular Market Umbrella

Great Umbrella

06/01/2010
By ,
Washington, DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This umbrella is great! It's very large and covers very well. Held up against some winds on the day I used it.
I plan on getting another one to have a matching set.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next