Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Remington Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

Remington Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

Fully adjustable, the Kennel-Aire Wire Vehicle Barrier is a heavy duty wire barrier that easily fits all SUV's, mini vans, crossovers and station wagons. Made with non-reflective black epoxy coating and includes Plastisol coating on top to protect headliner. Keeps pets and gear safely in the back of vehicle.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation71%27 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

It's ok

05/05/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This pet barrier has great coverage, but unfortunately we had to trim the bars so it would fit in my Toyota Prius V. Also it says it does not rattle. I have yet to be able to get it to stop rattling over large bumps. I have repositioned and tightened each clamp and also added zip ties in some spots. I would have given it a better rating if I could get it to stop rattling.
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

Well done, Remington!

04/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with this product. I couldn't find a barrier that would keep my (extremely) energetic dalmatian at bay in the car in any store. I had bought one of the sliding bar style barriers, and it failed miserably within minutes.
This barrier is extremely strong, well made, and was easy to assemble. My dog can't get around it, and hasn't been able to find any weaknesses (and believe me, if it had one, she would find it). I love that this is removable and adjustable so that we can use it in other vehicles as well. I was also thrilled with how quickly and inexpensively it arrived at my house--we had it much sooner than I had anticipated that we would.
My only complaint is a very small one and partially due to user error. The bolts that come with the barrier to assemble it with are a bit short, and do not fit all the way through the clamps on the screen when the clamps are oriented one way (I later discovered that they do fit when the clamps are oriented in the other direction). I went to the hardware store and purchased six longer bolts for $.66, and the problem was fixed.
Overall, this is a fabulous product, a tremendous value for the price (everything else I looked at, all less useful products, were in the $100.00 range), and I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

Good, but needed tweaking

06/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, this was for two cats and not for dogs so any type of gap between the barrier and the back seats of my Rav4 would allow them to slip through. I did have a considerable opening between the lower part of the gate and the seats in my car so if you have any small animal that you're trying to keep in the back, this might not work for you unless you rig up a cardboard barrier for the lower part of the gate like I did. The top part of the barrier molded pretty well against the roof of my car and there were no large gaps.
I don't find that the gate impairs my rear visibility to any considerable degree. There was quite a bit of rattling, however, that would get very annoying on a long car trip. After a little investigation I realized that it was the two *metal* tension rods rattling against the inside of their *metal* sleeves. So I wrapped a layer of duct tape down the length of the metal rod that went inside of the sleeve and the rattling completely stopped. So my gate, at least, needed a bit of jury-rigging, but the parts seem well-made and sturdy and the barrier was much less expensive than others I have seen, so I am satisfied with the end result.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

Perfect Solution

01/19/2011
By ,
Oregon Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our 9 month old heeler previously spent his travel time in our Jeep Grand Cherokee constantly trying to sit in our lap while driving. Now he is confined to the back cargo area! The barrier works great!! Very sturdy, fits snugly while not damaging the headliner whatsoever. It was a great purchase, and we would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier
05/04/2011
By ,
harrisburg pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two 100lb dogs and this works great in my wifes trailblazer keeps them in the back!! if you are looking to keep your dogs in the back of your car buy this you will be happy and ez to instaill
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

Ok but not great

04/29/2010
By ,
Springdale, UT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is probably better if you own a large SUV like a Tahoe, Expedition, Suburban, Etc. We use it in our Acura MDX and it is adjusted down to the smallest settings making it difficult to not have the extensions rattle against each other. The construction and quality of materials is very good just be aware if you are using it for a smaller SUV it may be difficult to keep it from being a little noisy.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

Well made product

12/05/2011
By ,
West Chester, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vehicle pet barrier is well made very easy to set up and install. It also appears from the labeling to be a USA made product,something I appreciate. I would reccommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

good product, price!

04/05/2012
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My English shorthair pointer has not yet found a way to get through this! So far so good! The price was very reasonable, as I have paid more for other barriers that my dog got through. It seems very well made and durable. Was rather easy to assemble and install in about 2o minutes.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

Remington pet safety barrier

06/03/2012
By ,
Western NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My initial use to put this together, did not make sense to me, so I used those nylon ties to hold it together. I had cats, so knew they could not break it apart. The nylon straps also kept the cage from making any noise. The best part of this barrier was being able to adjust it so that it fit closely to the side of the car preventing the cats from squeezing through. It worked great for my vacation!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier
11/12/2011
By ,
Blairsville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fairly easy to install, fit well in our 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. We have three med/lg dogs and this product seems sturdy enough to withstand all three of them. They ride fairly well anyhow, and are trained to stay in the back, but the Retriever likes to hang her front paws and chest over the seat and with a baby on the way, that wasn't going to work. As other people have mentioned, it does rattle a little when you are on a rough road, but this is remedied with zip ties and a tight installation. It is what we expected and we are happy with it.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

Noisy and not transparent

08/05/2010
By ,
Southern Calif
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I returned this product because it rattles a lot. In addition, it is very hard to see through. The tightness of the mess blocks out too much of the view when looking in the rear view mirror. If you want to rely only on your side mirrors it would be OK.
On the positive side it is very sturdy and works well as a pet barrier.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

Not so good....

12/19/2012
By ,
Dover, NH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The product I received was obviously not new, the box was ripped and retaped and the parts were loose in the box. All the parts where there at least, but after assembling found this DOES NOT fit in all wagons. I have a subaru impreza, and neither the height nor width fit. The dimensions should have worked, but the height is only adjustable down to a point. And the side wings would have been left out completely. I brought it back. Probably works fine for larger vehicles, but not a wagon!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

Not a great experience

10/27/2012
By ,
Mansfield, ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We received the pkg looking pretty beat up. It was obvious that it had previously been returned. It had tape all over it. After trying to figure out how to put it together I realized major parts were missing. I'm not talking about a few screws.
I ended up returning it to the store. And ordering a completely different one from petco.
It might have been a good product. Never got a chance to find out.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier
12/09/2012
By ,
ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
chose this product because of cost. cost should not have been why. when product came it was clearly a returned item. all parts were out of torn bags. one of the wing nuts threads was stripped.It is advertised as fitting all.It will- if u take out complete back seats and ridge it. (have a ford escape) It rattles and shakes. best of luck to u if u purchase this.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

Nothing done well

03/09/2013
By ,
Colorado, USA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Like many others, the box I received was trashed. The parts inside were poorly wrapped, and had (surprise) managed to scratch the barrier a fair amount. The "instruction sheet" (and I use the term loosely) was also torn to pieces, not that it mattered much since it was obviously written by someone who is not a native English speaker. Moderate level of difficulty to assemble. May fit a an American SUV, but not a great fit in my Lexus. Rattles like whellbarrow full of scrap metal. Not sure if I'm keeping it. May see if it fits my old Explorer.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

too complicated to install

02/16/2013
By ,
Hawaii
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You almost need two people to install it. You cannot pre-assemble it, because then you cannot get it in the car. Once it is inside, you have to hold two partitions, plus a screw, two plates, and a nut, to put it together. This needs to be repeated five times. It isn't very strong, and it looks like it could damage the roof, especially if the dogs lean against the barrier.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

It is very difficult to get it together

03/25/2013
By ,
Metro Detroit, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ours came already missing parts and broken, my husband had to run out to the hardware store in emergency mode so we could get it in the car and head on our trip! Walmart shouldn't sell broken things as new!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

This item works just fine

04/04/2013
By ,
North Aurora, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The barrier is easy enough to install and remove, and did not rattle at all. We took the advice of another reviewer and put some duct tape on the rods which may have helped.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

Need two people

03/21/2010
By ,
La Grande, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just installed this product in my Ford Escape and really struggled getting it together because I was alone. Two sets of hands would make this process very easy. The directions included were ok, but could be more clear for the novice who usually doesn't do much like this. Also, the barrier has to go flesh with the back of the seat otherwise your pet (well mine anyway) will be able to go under the barrier and squeeze through to where you don't want him.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Remington Wire Vehicle Pet Safety Barrier

Good for a permanent inexpensive option

11/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If your intentions are to have this installed 90% of the time it's a great inexpensive option. Otherwise it's far too involved & complicated to quickly install on a need be basis. Didn't care for the fit in my Acura mdx and couldn't stabilize it to keep it from falling over. I don't think it works well for SUVs that have three rows of seating. Didn't fit the sides due to the armrests & cup holders.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next