Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schumacher Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

Schumacher Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

The Schumacher DC to AC Power Converter, 6-Amp converts 120-volts AC household power to 12-volts DC power. It has a rugged frame and is very portable and lightweight. This 12 volt power converter extends the convenience of having your automotive accessories wherever you need them. Use it for anything that plugs into a cigarette lighter or DC power outlet. This device is a handy tool for air pumps, food warmers - you could even use your GPS in the house. Imagine traveling with your plug-in cooler and being able to use it as an extra refrigerator when you arrive. You can rely on Schumacher because of its commitment to quality and exceptional customer service. The Schumacher power converter is 6 amps, so it can handle just about anything you need it for.
Average Customer Rating:
4.554 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%68 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 34 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp
01/22/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I needed, it works great. Just make sure you check how many amps the thing you want to power with this converter. I am using it on a little 5 amp pump, and this convert is rated for 6 amps so it work great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

Not a tight fit

09/07/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product does what it says it's supposed to do. My only issue is it doesn't have a very snug fit so if the cord gets bumped even slightly it disconnects.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LA
Might be an easy fix for you
Posted 09/17/2014
Hello, I don't yet have this product but I did have a problem like yours with usage of the cooler in the car. The plug that goes into the socket has two spring clip retainers on it and if they get worn or loose they don't hold it tightly in the socket. If you bend them out slightly at the point where they already have a bent point or where they reenter the plug housing at the top of the clip you will find that they become snug and secure once again.
Hope it helps.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

Good quality, perfect operation

01/17/2011
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a well made product. It works perfectly for my son's portable cooler. I have read reviews on other DC to AC converters and have found that they tend to have internal electrical failures due to poor quality. I do not worry about this type of failure with this product. Very satisfied customer!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

perfect

05/03/2010
By ,
Vancouver, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this for my cooler that plugs into a cigarette lighter. While traveling in our RV I plug it into the lighter and when I arrive I can use household current. Perfect as an extra refrigerator.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

Name of product is wrong.

02/13/2014
By ,
Effingham, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's an AC to DC converter, not DC to AC.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

It works

08/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works like a charm
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

I didn't now they made these.

02/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I knew they made these years ago. I use it with an ac/dc portable tv. I lost the ac power cord and this converter allows me to use it plugged into an outlet. I've had it hooked up to a surveillance camera for 10 days straight and have had no issues. I plan on getting another one for a dc powered cooler to use when I travel so I can use the cooler inside when I'm at the hotel.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

great handy tool

07/22/2011
By ,
Melbourne, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This converter is a handy tool. I use it for repairing anything that takes 12 volts. Its 6 amps so it can handle just about anything. I use it a lot for charging or using my TomTom and Garmin gps in the house.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

Great price for the AMPs it puts out.

12/06/2013
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this converter to run an automotive wiper motor for one of my Halloween props. It worked great all night long and had plenty of power. I am so happy with the product and the price I paid for it, I bought a second one to run another wiper motor prop for next year.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

Schmacher Converter

02/14/2011
By ,
North Central Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The female plug in where you plug the 12v DC male plug allows too much play. AKA, the unit where you need 12V to, tends to unplug easily. The connection should 'click' into place, but it tends to lose connection.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

Good based on a few hours of using

06/23/2014
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good. I chose this one due to the price being fair compared to others with less amperage.
It gets really warm like most electrical devices so keep it ventilated or clear from objects that may smother it. Powers the portable (12-V plug) 40 quart Igloo refrigerator just fine.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

Does what it is suppossed to.

06/24/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good purchase and everything good so far.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

Great converter for the price

06/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great converter for the price. Very happy with the service, had in four days.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

Just what I was looking for

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well built, works fine, very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

Right item

06/26/2011
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased a small cooler/warmer for food. The item I purchased is for those who camp out and the power source is through the car. Well I don't need this for the car, I need this for the home.
I recently had a procedure performed (surgically) and was not able to move about. I purchased this perfect product after weeks of searching! I am so glad because this came in handy for me to keep small snacks and liquids cool while in the comfort of my bedroom.
I knew there had to be an adaptor for this product and this is it. I am so glad that I found this and it works perfectly.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

GR8 Converter for the $

05/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works perfect for powering my radio that I use at work.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

Title is wrong, It is an AC to DC converter....

09/28/2013
By ,
Tyler, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These work great however the title is no correct. It converts AC to DC and not the other way around.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

Handy to have for a 12 volt cooler.

08/21/2010
By ,
Aberdeen, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't used this product long enough to really make a fair judgement. It does get quite hot while in use, but I don't know if this will affect it in the long run. I use it only when traveling long distances. I will know more this fall when traveling 1500+ miles to AZ. I like it because I can plug my cooler into my 110 volt outlet in the car and also use it in the motel room at the end of a day of traveling.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

should say ac to dc converter

05/02/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
6 amp would power most 12 volt radios
but don't try plugging in a search light to it
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schumacher DC to AC Converter, 6-Amp

Perfect for my Schumacher 12volt cooler and warmer

04/24/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this converter so i could use my new cooler in an electric outlet. It works well and does not cause the cooler to be noisy. We can bring the cooler in our hotel rooms and it does not disturb our sleep.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next