Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

Tetra Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

Get started on a hobby that will both enhance your life and beautify your living space. The Tetra Glowing Fish Aquarium Kit is optimized for keeping the unique Glowfish. Calm and tranquil, this beautiful, clear acrylic GloFish Aquarium Kit with a quiet, 3-stage filtration system and low voltage, 9-LED gallons blacklight provide a perfect showcase for this incredible sea species. This Tetra Aquarium, 1.5 Gallons is constructed from impact-resistant acrylic and provides integrated drawers for aquarium supplies storage. Get this Tetra Glowing Fish Aquarium Kit and enjoy all the wonders of these beautiful fish.
Average Customer Rating:
3.692 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation81%21 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

Wonderful little tank

01/17/2010
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this tank very much. This tank was, at my request, a Christmas gift. I'm a college student, and had been wanting a fish to take back my dorm with me. I specifically asked for the fluorescent tank, because I wanted fluorescent decor, NOT fluorescent fish.
When researching this product, I was delighted to find that it came with a filter that aerates as well as cleans the water. In it, I have one male betta, Clifford: The Big Red Fish.
The filter is extremely quiet; much like the name implies: it is whisper quiet. For those who are complaining of noise issues, by simply placing the filter on a wash cloth, the vibrations from the air pump are drastically cut down. If it is still bothering you, I suggest a check-valve for the air line: this is what turned the low hum of the filter to virtually nonexistent for me.
Thus far, I am completely in love with the filter included with this tank. My water has remained crystal clear and the water parameters for my specific breed fish are perfectly maintained. I do however, in keeping with the "be kind to your fishy friends" motto, suggest doing weekly to bi-weekly partial water changes, just to keep the water fresh.
The water current churned out by this filter is not bad at all. It is very light, and my betta enjoys swimming against the gentle current from time to time. At first, your filter may churn out a lot of bubbles (You can see this in the second picture). But after a day, the bubbles stopped and have not returned.
In addition to the filter, I purchased a small submersible heater (made by Tetra) for my betta fish. Even with the filter and heater, my betta's swim room was not compromised all that much.
Do not be deceived by the product packaging, though! The box makes you believe that there is plenty of room for upwards of four plants, in addition to a large rock. Once the filter (and heater if you have a tropical fish) are in, the tank fills up quickly when adding decor. My betta ended up with a rock (similar to the one depicted on the tank box) and one medium sized plant.
I like the under-the-tank-storage feature. It keeps my desk area clean and tidy. Some have mentioned being disappointed with the LED lights; I am not. As you can see from my pictures, this tank gets rather bright in the dark, and is still fairly illuminated with lights on in the room.
Overall, this is a wonderful product. If properly set up and maintained, this is a perfect starter tank for beginners, college-pet tank, or hospital tank. My betta is happy and so am I. Follow the directions, and you will be too! :)
I would NOT recommend this tank for anything other than a single betta, or equally small fish. Shoaling fish are probably not a good idea either, unless kept to a conservative number of three. Goldfish are also a "no," seeing as they produce A LOT of waste, which may overwhelm the small filter. In addition, it is a rule of thumb that one inch of fish needs one gallon of water--and goldfish can easy outgrow this 1.5 gallon tank.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

Nice and unique tank!

02/19/2010
By ,
atlanta, ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have had this tank for a month. have really enjoyed it so far. the filter is very quiet and keeps the water in the tank very CLEAN! (at first could hear the vibrations of the air pump alot but just simply put a check valve and that should stop the humming).I have 3 mixed fruit tetras (wich are white fish that have a neon blue or neon pink strip on the top) and a small algae eater for the tank, the tetras actually glow wen they pass thru the black light seam!! I guess since they are small fish it hasnt caused any problem with the space and water capacity. Overall the fish look happy swimming around.
Only side affects: i agree with the other reviwers, the led lights dont really light up the whole tank enough to actually make eryting glow, as you can see in the pics only the plant right below the light is the only one that glows.But besides that this tank actually lights up any room very brightly!! .And like another reviewer said, the tank pic on the box makes is seem like theres alot of space to put plant and ornaments but there is not. As you can c in my pic i only put three medium glow plants and was not able to put the rock cuz it would not leve enough space for the fish to swim in. Besides the three plants i also bought a heater for the tetras since they are tropical fish so u got to take that into account for space if you're guna have tropical fish.
BUt overall, for a beginner tank, its a nice looking tank ;) .
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

i reallly do like this product but

01/09/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i dont know how to really use the pump!!!
sad i know but i really like this aquarium for my betta
bt the light is to low and the pump problem!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons
09/27/2009
By ,
north little rock ar
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
its a cute aquarium. however i was highly dissapointed with the light that it comes with. I spent $6 a fish to get the glo fish thinking it would look awesome but the light doesnt light up the tank enough to really show off the fish.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons
05/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I adore this product. This is the first fish tank I've ever owned. I use it for my betta, Ernie. Even though betta don't require anything but a bowl, I thought this would be great,because I don't like the small bowls most betta are kept in and it seemed easy enough to use. Assembly was easy and not confusing. Not only do I love the tank,Ernie absolutely loves it. It's low maintenance,but of course you should still change water at least once a week. It's easy to use and it's looks great. Before purchasing a fish,I would recommend doing your research though. I learned so much from just browsing the web. The tank is somewhat small,so I would recommend 3-4 small fish at most. I highly recommended this tank for a first time fish owner or someone who just wants a tank to keep a few fish in.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

ok product

11/12/2009
By ,
georgiana AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tank is OK it needs more lights on it and the top of the filter keeps on falling into the water!!!!!!! it does not have any accesories with it besides the basics pump, air pump, apporating manuals, and air hose, over all very nice enjoy it very much. :}
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

Great for a Betta!

10/07/2009
By ,
Maryville,TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy this tank for your Betta,it really shows there color under the LED's.And they appeciate more room and a little current from the air filter.Water stays fresher also.Yeah,the LED's are a little small.It really needs about 18 lights not 9.But overall,great display for the one male Betta fish in your house.You could add a snail!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

Good tank

06/06/2010
By ,
Forth Worth, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tank comes with everything you need. I have been using mine for a year or so and have had great success.
If you get the GloFish, the blue lights really make them glow. You can also keep neons and zebra fish (I read that GloFish are genetically modified zebra fish).
I have been advised not to keep more than 3 or 4 fish in a tank this size and that seems to have worked for me. My fish are thriving and the tank is nice to look at.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

Nice Little Tank

02/27/2012
By ,
Lynchburg, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this tank to set up a separate tank for a Pea Puffer. Although the light was not that great I did have some success with live plants although it might be that my room gets a lot of sunlight. The filter that came with it did not do a very good job at cleaning the water so I bought a Tom internal Filter and I also do not use the led lights anymore because I needed more light so I just have a desktop lamp over it. Other than the filter and light I really enjoy this tank and my fish seem to also.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

Great little tank

03/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product about four months ago now. I read most of the reviews on it at the time and for the most part it had got great reviews. As the owner now of one I would say its a great little tank, especialy for the price. The biggest complant that I have is that the light could be better. I did not use this tank for the glow fish I bought it for a betta. He seems quite happy in the tank. I think its perfect for a betta the light may not show off glow fish very well though.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

Tank is ok, but filter was defective.

06/03/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The tank is all right, but the lid fell right off the filter within a week. The filter isn't usable without the lid because the water foams all over and overflows the tank.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Springfield,Mo
Posted 12/29/2013
That's how mine is. The filter does not clean my 1.5 gallon tank AT ALL!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

light doesnt work

01/12/2013
By ,
Warner Robins, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
does anyone know where to get those underwater lights?
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

Terriable

04/12/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Our filter does not work, lite makes nothing glow. I would not recommend this to any one. Better off just buying a led light for a bigger tank.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

Dont buy waste of money!

02/13/2012
By ,
kansas city,mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my 7 year old son. Very disappointed the filter stop working after a week of having it! and the glow fish died one by one. I had to keep taking them back. We have always had fish and never had any problems like this. would never recommend this tank.
Product Attributes:
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

Decent tank for bigger fish

06/04/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this is a good tank, and I think it would work well for a betta. If you have the right color of Glofish (yellow and orange) they show up great. The main problem we have had is with the filter. The filter fell off twice in the first two days so we bought a different (and larger) filter, removed the over the tank hook, and put the hook on the original filter. With that problem solved, another arose...within the first week we have lost four fish due to their being sucked into the filter.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons
12/05/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The tank make any betta look good. The light gets in the way when trying to clean the tank.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons
03/23/2010
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My son got this tank for christmas and we have has to replace the Whisper, air powered, three-stage filtration pump three times already. What a pain. Does not work at all. I always have to take the fish out and clean it by hand every day to keep fish alive.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

It Leaks after a couple of months

04/16/2012
By ,
Long Beach, Ca.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had mine for 3 months then it started to leak.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

Great little tank

01/31/2010
By ,
aberdeen N.C
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this little tank for my glofish the tank itself is perfect. The only neg. thing i could say is the filter that comes with it is very loud. I got rid of the filter it came with. Bought an internal one that you dont need to use an air pump with and Now it is perfect love it!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tetra GloFish Aquarium Kit, 1.5 Gallons

nice product.

11/19/2011
By ,
South GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this aquarium for about 6 months now. Everything works just great. No problem with leaks, pump or light. I've enjoyed it so much Im thinking about getting a bigger aquarium where I can have more fish..
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next