Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for KidKraft KidKraft Pirate Sandboat

KidKraft KidKraft Pirate Sandboat

Watch your children build cute little sandcastles and mud pies with the KidKraft Pirate Sandboat. The Kids Wooden Sandbox Set offers a wonderful outdoor playtime for kids that triggers their imagination with the colorful pirate themed design and a steering wheel that further adds to the fun. The sandbox is large enough to accommodate multiple children at a time. It also has storage space for your childs sand toys, buckets, shovels and other playthings. The sandbox features a shady canopy that protects your children from heat and sunburns and keeps your children engaged for hours while you are busy or relaxing. The KidKraft Pirate Sandboat is made from durable wood designed to last in your backyard for years. At home assembly is made easy with the step-by-step instruction manual.
Average Customer Rating:
4.346 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation88%23 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 43 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat

Love this product!

05/05/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children ADORE their new sand box. it is just large enough for the two of them to be in the sand and have some space to play. it was pretty simple to put together and didnt take too long.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat

My boy loves it!!

06/23/2011
By ,
Erie, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son has played with this every day since it was built! It was very simple to put together and I found the instructions to be basic and easily understood. The quality of the wood and the paint are all very good. Now for the bad......The plastic that you put down to seperate the sand from the ground is very flimsy and uneffective and uses poor hardware to secure to the actuall unit....Also had to measure the distance to screw in rivits to secure the cover to the unit....the cover also ripped after being taken on and off twice (the rivits seperate from the cover to easily)
Overall the cons are far from bad considering the price! Just may want to plan on a secondary cover and liner.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Erie, PA
Beware
Posted 06/22/2012
My boy loved it and still likes it.....however the quality did not hold up! The paint did not hold up nor did the quality of the wood. I would give this a one star as it is basically worthless after one year of ownership.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat

KidKraft Pirate Sandboat

01/29/2011
By ,
Walker, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product! I purchased it for my 3 1/2 year old grandson who loves playing pirate. I have been looking for something that he could grow with and use his imagination with, and this is perfect. We are not using it as a sandbox at this time- he prefers to use the whole "ship" as his play space and we are able to move it where we want it to be- sometimes in the middle of the yard and sometimes under the patio roof. Since there is no bottom (you use plastic sheeting that is provided if you want to make it a sandbox) it does not hold water so it doesn't matter where we have it. The construction took a little time, but it is beautifully crafted and well worth the investment. I am so pleased to have found this!!!!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat
08/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sandbox is so cute and my grandson loves it! The instructions to put it together were very clear and easy to follow. Very well worth it!!!
I also recommend Crayola colored play sand to put in it.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat

Great fun!

02/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great poduct. It assembled easily and quickly and has been a lot of fun since.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat

WONDERFUL PRODUCT

07/11/2011
By ,
ARIZONA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WE PURCHASED THIS GREAT PIRATE SANDBOX FOR OUR 5 YEAR OLD GRANDSON.. IT WAS
EASY TO PUT TOGETHER, AND THIS ITEM IS " SO MUCH BETTER IN PERSON, THAN THE
PICTURE ON YOUR WEBSITE..... WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ITEM, IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR
2 TO 3 KIDS EASY AND THE STORAGE BENCH IS WONDERFUL FOR SANDTOYS......
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat
08/13/2011
By ,
Orlando, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this for our twin grandsons (26 months old). Today is the first time they came over and saw the sandboat. They LOVED it! We were thrilled as they had so much fun! It is adorable and so well made. If the colors fade down the road, we can simply touch up the paint. We did had a coat of clear varnish before filling with sand. It is perfect in every way!!! They pretended to be driving a boat. We bought two horns and added to the sandboat. Great size also! Love, love, love it!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat

So far so good!

04/21/2012
By ,
Hiddenite, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After six hours of assembly the pirate sand boat looks great! We surprised my four year old son with it tonight for his birthday. There were two - four year olds and three- one year olds playing in it. They all enjoyed it. Because of rain there hasn't been any sand yet and it hasn't made it outside yet, but the kids love it so far. Sand can only add to the excitement! Anxious to see how it holds up to the weather.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat
08/03/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is very beautiful. We purchased this pirate sandship for my grandsons second birthday. The directions are very easy to follow but takes time to put together. You must remember to apply outdoor finish to the wood to protect it outdoors. We applied 3 coats of finish to all the wood parts. It does come with a mesh snap on cover to protect it from animals while still letting the sand recieve moisture like it's suppose to. Three kids can have a blast in this pirate sandship. All parts were there and nothing was damaged. Looks even better in person when put together than in picture on here.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat

Great Item!!

08/18/2011
By ,
Pikeville, Tn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a female and I put this together by myself. My four year old grandson loves it. Sorry to say it has not made it outside. I didn't put the plastic down for the sand, being that it is inside. First thing he does when he wakes up is to get in his boat. Best money I have spent on a toy since he was born!!!!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat
03/27/2012
By ,
Albertson, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really cute and sturdy sandbox. Although there are many pieces to put together, the instructions were clear and it went together easily
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat

Lots of fun!

04/11/2010
By ,
Lebanon, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My little boy loves this sandbox. The product shipped without canopy, but as soon as we contacted WalMart.com, KidKraft shipped the item the same day! Awesome customer service and a WONDERFUL PRODUCT.
THANKS!!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat

Poor Quality

05/30/2013
By ,
GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my sons pirate themed birthday party and filled it with plastic balls instead of sand to entertain the kids. The kids loved it and it was perfect for the party; however, it is now falling apart and it has only been a few short months. The wheel is now faded, the paint in cracking, and the wood is splintering. Being that it is made to be outside, I thought it would hold up more. I also wish that it had a more secure bottom rather than a plastic tarp and a nicer cover to keep unwanted bugs out. Overall, I would not recommend this product especially since it costs $200.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat
02/29/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It takes 2 people to put this together. It was about as expected from the pictures seen. We decided to place it under a covered patio out of the rain so it would last longer. I was expecting it to be more of a plastic product but it is not. As far as the instructions, they were fairly well written, however, there is one step that is backwards. My son is happy with it and loves playing in it. So, I am happy with it for that reason.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat

DID NOT LAST 6 months

02/18/2013
By ,
Missouri
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is an outside toy....right? It was great and my kids love playing in it BUT it didn't even last 6 months outside. The wood is gray, the bolts and snaps are rusted, and the cloth is sun faded. I should of polyurethane it like a million times before we put it outside. Now not even a year later we are selling our house and have to throw it away! It looks terrible! I am going to send pictures to the manufacture. We are so disappointed because they really did love it. I should of just bought the cheap turtle sandbox. *sigh*
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat

Granddaughters play in it for hours!

05/19/2012
By ,
North Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my granddaughter's 2nd birthday. She, her 5-year-old sister, and 4-year-old cousin "play in it for hours," reported her mom. After ordering, the product was at the store the very next day. My son put it together in several hours by himself. It looks beautiful and is sturdy (the flag and top stayed on even during a Texas thunder and wind storm . . . so that's saying something!). The top provides needed shade. This is right up there with some of the best ever things Mimi and Pawpaw have bought!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ashton,WV
Posted 06/12/2012
Did this pirate ship come with a cover to put over the sand part of the ship? we ahve cats and I would not want it to become a big litter box. I absolutely love the way it looks so i hope it comes with a cover for the sand part!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat

Great Sandbox!

05/31/2012
By ,
Mansfield, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this for our two youngest children, ages 3 and 4, but our 11 and 13 year olds love playing with their younger siblings in it too! When we unpacked it, all the pieces made assembly seem antimidating, but it really went together easily and in about an hour. The instructions were easy to follow! The storage compartments for sand toys are a wonderful feature! And we love the fact that while the boat is a sandbox, the rear also has a bench and a wheel that turns. We LOVE this Pirate Sandboat!!!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat

Fabulous sandbox filled with adventure

07/14/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our Grandson and it is wonderful! Bright and colorful with plenty of room to play. I first found it on Target and was going to buy it there but they wanted $115.00 to deliver it. WalMart had the same product for $1 less and only $29.00 to deliver it so WalMart wins!!
What is great about this sandbox is that when our Grandson is too big to use it as a sandbox it can then just be a pirate ship and he can continue to play with it that way.
Sturdy enough to last a long time!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat

Beautiful sand box

03/19/2013
By ,
Hickory Creek, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pirate ship sand box is on my covered porch. It is nicer than I expected and well worth the cost. My son loves it and it is enjoyable to look at. I put 7 bags of play sand in it but 5 will do fine. Also comes with nice cover for the sand and you can store toys in bench. Love!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for KidKraft Pirate Sandboat
10/16/2012
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this for my grandson and was so disappointed in the quality . Very cheaply made and didn't last one summer . the snaps rusted and ripped . the mesh fell apart and the wood split and cracked . NOT WORTH THE MONEY .
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next