Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Razor Razor Dune Buggy

Razor Razor Dune Buggy

Inspired from the Dune Buggies of the 70s, the Razor Dune Buggy will be a practical gift for little ones who are 8 years or older. This electric dune buggy is great for rushing over sand dunes or racing through the backyard. The buggy is run by a powerful battery that functions without creating much noise. This battery has a 350-watt motor with a speed limit of up to ten miles per hour. This speed limit will be fast enough fun for your kids, but slow enough for safety reasons. While kids will enjoy cruising around on this dune buggy, parents will appreciate the safety features such as the side roll cage that acts as a barricade. The safety belt in the comfortable bucket seat secures children so they don't fall out while racing. This kids dune buggy has a variable speed thumb trigger for acceleration control. The hand operated rear disc brake and the 8-inch knobby air filled tires allows you to have maximum control over this battery powered go-kart.
Average Customer Rating:
4.732 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%38 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 85 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Razor Dune Buggy

Good Fun

05/07/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My children are enjoying these very much! We moved from the battery powered "power wheels" to these and they are an excellent choice for between the battery operated ride ons and the gas powered ones. My children are 4 and 6 and even though the age recommendation says 8+ they can both handle them very easily. I have a nephew that is a "big" eight though and he is to big for the go-cart. It will pull him but he doesnt have alot of room in the cart itself.
We first ordered one and it was so difficult to make the kids share because the enjoyed it so much. Now that we have two they race each other and have twice as much fun.
I only wish they came in different colors so that they could tell whose cart is whose.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Razor Dune Buggy

Awesome Dune Buggy

12/18/2010
By ,
Cleveland TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just opened and played with these today! We ordered 3 for all the kids (Twin 5 yr olds and a 3 yr old) They all LOVE them! Seem very durable and go just fast enough for them. The only con is that there is no reverse but once the kids get used to that, I am sure there will be no problem. Already assembled when you get it! Goes really good on hills and grass surprisingly!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Razor Dune Buggy

Great Product

07/21/2011
By ,
Londonderry, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 6 yo son. He LOVES it, as does my 9 yo son. They zip around the yard and have a ball. Only complaint I have is that the battery life is to short. 45 minutes for 12 hours of charging doesn't see fair. The product came assembled and did not dissapoint at all. I would highly recommend it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Razor Dune Buggy

2 Razor Dune Buggies FAILED

09/09/2009
By ,
Cape Cod, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This summer I purchased 2 Dune Buggies (one from WalMart, one from Amazon). Both failed to operate after 22 - 29 hours of use. Repairs was impossible to find in my area, Cape Cod Massachusetts.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Razor Dune Buggy

Razor Dune Buggy

10/15/2010
By ,
Celina, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Razor Dune Buggy was purchased for 2010 Christmas for our 6 year old granddaughter. She lives outside of town in NW Ohio and has more than 7 acres to enjoy most of which is woods and rolling areas. She has progressed up through a small ATV and then a John Deere Gator (all electric) and we wanted to step the speed up but not to a gasoline engine yet. We read many reviews and were particularly interested in the safety and longevity this product provided. There is a two year old grandson (brother) coming up and he also loves the ability to be a bit of a dare-devil! I am sure this product will last for his use too. Of particular note is the pneumatic -scored tires (making it good for stoned and grass areas of which there is an abundance at their home site), the very strong metal construction of the vehicle, and finally a safety item - once the driver lets loose of the accelarator or presses significantly on the brake and accelarator at the same time the electric engine stops and comes to a physical stop too.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Razor Dune Buggy

Awesome!

03/17/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this buggy for our 9 year old son's birthday. He is loving it! We like it so much that we are going to purchase another one for our other son.
Our only wish is that it didn't take so long to charge the battery. About 8-10 hours.
We were happy how long the battery does last when fully charged. It lasts about an hour or more of continuous riding.
Another treat was that the buggy comes fully assembled and ready to go. Just charge the battery and install the flag.
We charged the battery the night before his birthday so that it was ready to ride.
Overall, this is an awesome product and a reasonable price for the quality. :)
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Razor Dune Buggy

Great upgrade from power wheels type vehicles

09/17/2011
By ,
Elgin, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently sold my son's power wheels truck since he was getting too big for it and it was going really slow even though he's only 60 pounds. For his 7th birthday we looked at replacements for it. Our neighbor's kids got the other razor cart with the gliding feature, but we wanted something that worked just as well on grass as it does on pavement. We had gone that route on the power wheels truck and it worked out great. So we found this razor dune buggy and after some discussions about the $100 up charge, we decided this was the way to go.
We're getting great battery life. My son rode it for over an hour today on our local bike paths as my wife and I ran. At the end it was still moving good. He's had it for over a week and it's still working great. Other kids think it's pretty cool too as they all stop to look when he rides by the other houses.
It was a little pricey but think it'll be fun. Also there an active community doing upgrades and mods to these.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Razor Dune Buggy

3 & 5 year old love it!

08/30/2010
By ,
Asheville,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for my daughters 5th birthday. A neighbor's kid has one and after she road it once she begged for one for her birthday.
I was surprised that it came fully assembled. All I had to do was put air in the tires and charge it for 18 hours. During my research I noticed that a few other people have had problems with the battery not holding a charge. I think this is a result of not fully charging it for 18 hours as they have stickers all over the thing warning you of this.
The cart if fast, but is very low to the ground so it wont flip over on a sharp turn. Our 5 year old loves it. We live in a cul-de-sac and our neighbors all have young kids so it gets some use.
For safety we always make our kids wear a helmet, but overall I think this is a safe product. The only thing I changed was the small (3 ft) flag on the back. I put a larger 6 foot pole onto ours with a big orange flag to be sure any cars approaching could see the buggy as it low to the ground.
Also the knobby tires are great. Our kids drive all over the grass and the buggy does very well. Even our 3 year old is very good at driving. Excellent product!!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Razor Dune Buggy

My son loves it.

06/08/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son had wanted an electric car for years. He outgrew the little kid ones before we seriously considered it - he's a very tall for his age. At 10 now he's about 5' tall.
He recently saw a kid driving one of the other Razor cars (with the tiny wheels) and thought it was cool. That particular car didn't seem like it would work very well because the most obvious place for him to drive is our front and back yards - the tiny slicks on the other car would probably just spin in the grass.
I saw the dune buggy and that looked perfect. It was in good shape when I un-boxed it. the only assembly was attaching the flag, putting air in the tires and plugging it in to charge (for at least 18 hours before first use).
The tires are a bit tricky to inflate with a bicycle pump. You always lose a bit of air when you remove the pump nozzle from the valve on a bicycle tire. But these tires use so little air that you can actually lose a lot of pressure too. You need to fill them past the specified pressure to account for this. If you under inflate, you may damage the tires or the valve stems.
You can adjust the throttle by loosening it and twisting it on the grip. I adjusted it so that - at first - it would be difficult for him to apply full throttle.
It ran great - my son is really enjoying it. It needs some help if it get's stopped on too steep of an uphill but that's not a big deal. A very slow reverse would be nice - the alternative if you get stuck is to get off the car and swing the front end around. A nice to have but doesn't really interfere with my son's enjoyment.
My son is about 5' tall and it's a bit of a squeeze for him, but he can comfortably drive and it did a much better job then I expected controlling the car his first time out. Enough so that I pretty quickly reset the throttle so he could go full speed.
It has a damper on the steering (a hydraulic piston) to keep the front wheels from getting out of control. That's a nice touch that I'm certain contributed to my son's initial success driving the car.
It is a dune buggy *style* car and it does have a shock absorber in the rear. That said I don't think it's designed for anything especially rough - not enough ground clearance for one. I understood that when I ordered it so it wasn't a surprise to me.
I wouldn't recommend abusing it by jumping on it or something but it seems solidly enough built so far. The seat is a little odd. The bottom seems to be sloped forward so that your using your feet to keep yourself pressed back into the seat?
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Razor Dune Buggy

my kids love it !!!!!

07/27/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My little boy loves his buggy.The age on the box says 14+.That is way too old.My son is 5 and he drives it fine.You just have to watch him.Overall great product!!!!!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Razor Dune Buggy

Great fun for my 6 year old

07/14/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome fun, got this for my 6 year old boys birthday... He loves it!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Razor Dune Buggy

All I hoped for

09/21/2010
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful product. The price is great, it is simple to use, appears to be well constructed and most importantly, the kids have a blast. I have two grandchildren, ages 7 and 4. It was a "piece of cake" for the 7 year old to drive. I had to modify the seat for the 4 year old because she was too far away from the controls to be confortable. I simply made a 1/2" Plywood base, bolted it to the existing holes and then screwed the seat into the wood base. It is a riot to watch them drive around in these. I always insist they wear their helmets. I may install little bumpers on the front and back because they do run into each other now and then. A super gift for anyone too old for a Barbie Jeep but too young for a full size go kart.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Razor Dune Buggy

lots of fun

12/04/2010
By ,
long island, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for my 6 yr old and he loves it. I can ride it too because it has a good weight limit, battery last long also. Its one of the best well made gifts i have purchased.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Razor Dune Buggy

Razor Dune Buggy

06/07/2010
By ,
Lake Wales, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We think this is an amazing value compared to the "plastic" ride-ons out there. The 24 volt system makes this very "zippy" compared to the Jeep our son is graduating from. He is 4 1/2 years old and it took him about 10 minutes to completely figure this thing out. It goes great over our property (over 3 acres) and he just loves it. The only issues he has with it is no reverse, but he's getting use to it and the throttle control on the steering wheel is a little awkward for him due to his size but it shouldn't be a problem has he continues to grow. Even our 14 year old daughter was able to take a spin on this thing. We hope this will continue to be as durable as it seems to be with the all steel frame construction and give our son many years to use it. Thanks for the best deal we found on it and the shipping was great right to the house.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Razor Dune Buggy

BEST BUY!!!

04/10/2011
By ,
Albany, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a great deal of comparison shopping before deciding on this Razor for my little girl. This came to us pretty much assembled so no stress involved with delivery. She is a rough and tumble tough kid and she gives her dune buggy a good workout! She loves going in and out of ditches and it is so low to the ground it is super safe. I cannot speak highly enough about this product! It is a great value and is very well made, which is hard to find in this day and age.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Razor Dune Buggy
03/16/2010
By ,
Hindman, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My child is 7. She loves it. She can drive it be herself. It goes good on dirt, grass and blacktop.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Razor Dune Buggy

Cute Dune Buggy with enough power

09/05/2010
By ,
SW, Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very neat product that my 8 year old received for her birthday. It runs very well on black top, runs good in stones, and will even go on grass. It states that it will top out at 9 mph, and I estimate it is just a tad slower than this. The really cool part about this buggy is that it is almost all put together, all you have to do it put the flag in the hole, and tighten the screw by hand, and the install is over. Then plug in the charger for 18 hours, and the next day, my daughter was having fun! It would be nice if it had the break and throttle on the floor, but instead it is on the steering wheel, but that is the only small small complaint I have!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Razor Dune Buggy

Kid's loved it

12/01/2010
By ,
Monticello, Ark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 7 yr old loved this as soon as he saw it. He drives it until the batteries are dead daily. Have trouble keeping my 4 yr old off of it also. He can't really handle the full speed and will hit objects but he sneaks off of his own battery riding toys and tries to ride this all the time.
All of my 7 yr olds friends love riding it also. It rides low and will scrape the ground sometimes but has never come close to tipping over.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Razor Dune Buggy

Well worth the money

01/10/2011
By ,
Kansas City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got these for the kids (6 & 9 years old) for Christmas ...they were a huge hit and lived up to the expectation! 3 weeks post Christmas and kids still can't wait to ride them every day. They were already assembled (which is a huge plus), and the kids get 45 minutes of drive time....
Great buy and lots of fun...HIGHLY recommended!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Razor Dune Buggy

Great....for a couple days.

04/16/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst purchase ever. Battery worked great the first couple drives but after that, each ride became shorter and shorter. By the end of the week the buggy wouldn't move an inch. Company sent new charger and that did not correct the problem. We bought new battery (and those things aren't cheap) and the thing still won't run. Company won't do anything about it, terrible customer service. We have electrical toys manufactured by other companies that still function 100%, 10 years later. I'll never buy an electrical product from Razor again.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next