Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Hoover Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Don't let a simple job like vacuuming wear you out. The U6485900 Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum does the hard work of cleaning while you simply steer. It features innovative WindTunnel technology for spotless cleaning that removes embedded dirt and blowback on carpet. This bagged upright vacuum cleaner is self-propelled and maneuvers both in forward and reverse directions for effortless clean-up. The Bag Check indicator tells you when to replace the dirt bag for maximum performance. The vacuum bag is made up of microscopic HEPA filters that lets you breathe easy knowing that maximum dirt, dust and pollen are trapped in it. This versatile Hoover WindTunnel bagged upright vacuum has a headlight at the base that lights up dark areas under furniture and corners for easy cleaning. The dirt finder indicator at the base glows green when no more dirt is found on the surface.
Average Customer Rating:
4.17 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(606 Reviews) 552
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
350
4 stars
147
3 stars
30
2 stars
20
1 star
59
Customer Recommendation84%500 out of 596reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
57 Questions | 277 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
350
4 stars
147
3 stars
30
2 stars
20
1 star
59
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

A Good Buy...

05/05/2012
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum cleaner for its self-propelled feature, and it works well. Cleaning our cut-pile carpet is much easier than with the canister vacuum. I would recommend this product without hesitation.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Clean Sweep

04/21/2011
By ,
Fresno, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own two of these now because I live in two different places... The only thing I would change about the design is that I'd rather the accessories were held in a separate container instead of riding on the vacuum itself... It makes a good furniture and wall scratchier, not good! But other than that you couldn't ask for a better vacuum... Don't buy a bag-less vacuum cleaner you'll be sorry, get one with a through away bag.
That's it.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Great Value

09/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched high and low for a good vacuum at a decent price. I even did extensive research on consumer reports (which rated it one of the top 10 bagged vacuums).
The main cons people mentioned were 1) noise and 2) heavy. It's a vacuum people... vacuums are noisy! Unless you need to do all your vacuuming during someone's nap the noise is fine.
I will admit the vacuum is a bit heavy. I was concerned it would be too hard to vacuum the stairs but it was a breeze. I just pull it up every couple steps while I'm getting the stairs and before you know it it's at the top. I never work out and I can easily get it where it needs to go. Plus, the self-propel function makes it so you barely have to push it back and forth.
Pro's:
-Attractive
-Great attachments
-Strong suction from the hose
-Love the 'dirt finder' feature
-Brush roll stops spinning when the vacuum is upright to keep from burning the carpet
-Bag makes for easy clean up (bagless vac's are over-rated!)
-Self-propel can be turned off
-Can adjust to carpet height or hard floors
-Great value!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+200points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Greenacres, WA
My second Hoover WindTunnel
Posted 11/05/2011
This is a top scoring and recommended vacuum on Consumer Reports. Can't really get a better recommendation than that! I've had my first WindTunnel for a long time. They are heavy, but great vacuums!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

When it works, it's OK.

05/29/2012
By ,
South Jersey, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is one of a series of Hoover vacuums that have the same poorly designed power switch and belt mechanisms. Both mechanisms are so badly planned and executed that they fail repeatedly, requiring unscrewing cover plates and resetting the parts so that they will function. The power switch is just a long stem reaching from the handle to the body of the vacuum, where a toggle switch is installed. The idea for this piece isn't terrible, but the way it's built allows for too much sloppy movement, resulting in misalignment and the need to reset frequently.
The drive belt works much the same way, riding on a convex hub, from which it often slips off, rendering the drive and the brush immobile. Then you have to flip it over, remove four screws and reset the belt.
It's like old British sports cars...if you are into constant tinkering, then this is the vacuum for you. If you want one that works consistently, look elsewhere.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Very impressed w/ mine since April 2007 & counting

11/24/2013
By ,
Cypress, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my WindTunnel Self-Propelled April 2007. I still am impressed with it. A belt broke once and I bought two replacement belts and have not had to use the second one. Last year the on/off switch started working / not working, so I just plug / unplug to start/stop. I really like the red light / green light feature - I can tell it is working correctly and know when I have the carpet as clean as possible from the vacuum. I will buy another WindTunnel when this one is worn out.
Looking at some of the complaints......with a three year warranty, take it back if it does not function properly. For the most part, it seems most of them do not have problems. As for the black rubber marking the baseboard, my old one has gray rubber and leaves no mark. If it did, I would put duct tape on it to protect the baseboards, because this is the best vacuum I have ever had. If enough people complain, I imagine Hoover will correct this flaw.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Hoover WindTunnel

11/10/2010
By ,
DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The power of this vacuum is extraordinary! For cleaning power, it gets 5 stars. The rotary brush attachment for cleaning carpeted stairs works beautifully. I love that the rotary sweeper can be turned off to clean floors and bathroom rugs. The self propel feature and headlight are awesome. Since it has a Hepa filter and Hepa bag, no dust or smells get recast into the air--as they did with my older Hoover.
Three things keep this vacuum from getting 5 stars all the way across: 1) It's extremely loud. Earplugs are a must! 2) The hose for the attachments is too short and you have to buy a longer one in order to clean an entire flight of stairs without dragging the vacuum up 3 or 4 stairs at a time. The 20' extension hose, while too long to stay on the vacuum for regular vacuuming, should be included with the unit so that it can be switched out as needed. 3) The electrical cord covering is quite thin and can be damaged easily, especially if you happen to go over it with the vacuum.
Overall, I'm very happy with the Windtunnel's performance and value!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Great upright vacuum!

03/04/2012
By ,
Pine Valley, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Foremost, this vacuum got my carpet really clean! The suction was strong enough to "lift" the carpet in places but gentle enough when switched to hard floors to vacuum throw rugs without sucking them into the machine (step on the corners as the instructions recommend). The self-propel feature is a definite plus making it easier to push and pull the vacuum across the floor thereby relieving some of the stress on my post-surgery wrists. It does a great job of picking up cat hair and dirt and the replacement bags are readily available at my local Walmart store. The attached hose returns to its original shape and is by no means flimsy but it's puzzling that it doesn't come with an on-board wide brush attachment for reaching behind toilets and under toe-kicks because the machine itself is too large to fit into those areas. However, I can use the brush that came off my old canister so overall I'm very satisfied with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Design changes have devalued this product

04/02/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I first purchased one of these bagged Hoover uprights several years ago, and was favorably impressed. It replaced an older upright that had finally broken down after many years of service. The Wind Tunnel upright had a couple of advantages: It was wider, allowing me, for instance, to vacuum my hallways in four strokes instead of five. Also, it had a longer cord, and I could vacuum any room in my house without having to switch the plug to another outlet.
One slight disadvantage of the Wind Tunnel vacuum was that it was heavy. Carrying it up and down stairs became riskier as I grew older. So I decided to get a separate vacuum for my downstairs rooms. First I tried a bagless model, which was cheaper and lighter. But I was ultimately disappointed for a number of reasons, including the fact that the bagless model did not have power drive and was actually harder to push than my Hoover, despite being lighter. Also, the bagless model was not nearly as easy to clean and maintain as I had imagined.
So I finally decided to donate my bagless vacuum to charity and buy another Hoover Wind Tunnel upright. To my disappointment, I discovered a number of design changes that made me unhappy. The most annoying was the way in which the powered hand tool was stored. On my original Hoover, the tool was held in place by a clear plastic door over the tool's storage compartment. On the redesigned vacuum there is no door, and the tool is supposed to snap into place and be held there by a plastic tab at the top of the storage slot. The fit was so tight that I had to use substantial force to pull the tool out to use it, though I was faithfully following the directions in the user manual. The third time that I removed the tool from its storage slot, the plastic retaining tab broke off, and the tool would no longer stay in place during operation. Rather than return the vacuum, I began using a small piece of cardboard as a wedge to hold the tool in its storage slot. (I don't use the tool much on the lower floor anyway, and the vacuum works well otherwise.) I noticed, too, that the dust brush and upholstery tool (a.k.a. the "furniture nozzle") have also been redesigned. The former now has fewer and shorter bristles, and the latter now has no bristles at all. I am not fond of either change.
Overall, my new Hoover Wind Tunnel vacuum still has many of the features I liked on my original. However, I think that some of the design changes they have made to this model in the last few years have made it a less valuable product. Therefore I have given it three stars. (I would have given my original version five stars.)
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

TWISTED CARPET is not good for this vacuum!

03/23/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Honestly, I didn't even get a chance to use this vacuum - my husband did. He didn't even use it but for a few minutes before we realized it was taking the twist right out of our carpet! Had we not had twisted carpet, this probably would be a great vacuum. It has so much suction power that as I watched my husband vacuum the floor, I could see the carpet pull up from the floor to the vacuum! However I am not sure if that is a good thing or not, as afterwards our floor sounded crinkly for a few minutes, as if it did something to the carpet pad underneath the carpet. Our carpet isn't even two years old.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Great for the price!

05/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Read the instructions on this vacuum and you will love it. But, you need to learn about the self-propell mech. before using or your going to hurt yourself going from different floor types with out turning the self-propell off. I've bought 2 and have loved them both. The beater bar gets into the corners and picks up everything. The attachments work very well but the the vacuum will tip while in the upright position while using the attachments.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

SMELLED LIKE IT WAS BURNING

03/30/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THIS VACUMN DID A GOOD JOB AS FOR PICKING UP PILE ON MY THICK CARPET....BUT AFTER ABOUT 5 MINS IT STARTED TO MAKE A SCREAMING-LIKE NOISE AND STARTED TO SMELL LIKE SOMETHING WAS BURNING. IN FACT IT SMELLED LIKE BACON. THE FEATURES WERE CHEAP AND THE LITTLE PLASTIC THING YOU USED TO PUT IT ON AND OFF SLID FREELY BACK AND FORTH WHEN NOT IN USE. AND WORST PART - IT WAS CUMBERSOME AND HEAVY. ALL THESE NEGATIVES ITS GOING BACK AS DEFECTIVE. WHO NEEDS BACON COOKING DURING CLEANING.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Hoover Windtunnel upright

05/28/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love how powerful this vacuum is. Really cleans and stands up the carpet pile. The downside is that it is a bit loud, the cord isn't as long as I wish it were and (even with self propelled off) it still tries to guide itself a bit. It tries to pull away from you. I plan to keep it anyway since the suction is so good and it was relatively inexpensive.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Will never buy another Hoover vacuum again

05/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: Strong suction
Cons: Poor construction. Hose is too short. Tools fall out of place while vacuuming. Owned this vacuum for about 2 months now and the brush stopped spinning.
I bough this vacuum to replace the canister vacuum I had for over 10 years. It's a good thing I didn't get rid of the canister vacuum.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Good vacuum

02/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this vacuum because we had an old Hoover Wind Tunnel which I had bought used for $100 and after 13 years still had more suction than the new dirt devil my husband had purchased before I moved in. It even seems to have more suction than my daughter in laws new Dyson. I looked at reviews on line as well and since the new one was rated high and the price was great I decided to get it.
It works great - the suction seems just as good as the original one. The self proprel feature really keeps it moving well and it's lighter than my old one. The only negative I have is to get the hand held tool out it's so difficult it feels like the plastic will break if you pull too hard but there's no other way to get it out. It seems more cheaply made than the original we had - like the plastic will easily crack. Other than that it seems like a great replacement to my old Wind Tunnel.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Great Vaccum

05/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some models don't make it to the top. I always look at reviews first to see how everyone likes them. I don't want to take it back like some of the same brand didn't have enough suction. Have several models in the self-propelled bagged upright vaccum. This is a good model and good suction. It works as good as my 15 year old that was still working but I couldn't get a new roller for it and had to buy a new one. Sad should of been able to of bought new roller. Thanks Walmarts for reviews and this vaccum. Saved money also on your site, another big plus. I bought Model U6485900
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Just Received it and WOW !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

05/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This does seem to be a really very good product, I just replaced a Hoover self propelled vacuum that we have owned about 18 years and it finally quit. This new one is really a dandy and yes I have recommended this to a couple friends. Since I just got it I am aware that it uses a "Hepa" bag but is there an exact number or whatever so that I get the correct one? If you get one I am sure you will be very pleased with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

LOVE MY NEW HOOVER!!!

05/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum is GREAT! It's easy to push. It has great suction. And- there are several attachments - which come in handy. Very happy with our purchase. I highly recommend this vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Good Value

05/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had Hoovers for over 20 years. This one is light weight, but doe a beautiful job. The carpets have never looked better.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Great machine for the price

05/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was quite impressed by this machines' suctioning power. It is fairly light and easy to handle. A great machine for young people starting out in a new apartment or home and want to keep their carpets clean. Additionally if you cannot find replacement bags at Wal-Mart, Home Depot carries the generic version.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Great

05/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 413 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next