Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Hoover Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Don't let a simple job like vacuuming wear you out. The U6485900 Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum does the hard work of cleaning while you simply steer. It features innovative WindTunnel technology for spotless cleaning that removes embedded dirt and blowback on carpet. This bagged upright vacuum cleaner is self-propelled and maneuvers both in forward and reverse directions for effortless clean-up. The Bag Check indicator tells you when to replace the dirt bag for maximum performance. The vacuum bag is made up of microscopic HEPA filters that lets you breathe easy knowing that maximum dirt, dust and pollen are trapped in it. This versatile Hoover WindTunnel bagged upright vacuum has a headlight at the base that lights up dark areas under furniture and corners for easy cleaning. The dirt finder indicator at the base glows green when no more dirt is found on the surface.
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(563 Reviews) 509
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
329
4 stars
137
3 stars
26
2 stars
16
1 star
55
Customer Recommendation85%471 out of 555reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
55 Questions | 272 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
329
4 stars
137
3 stars
26
2 stars
16
1 star
55
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

A Good Buy...

05/05/2012
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum cleaner for its self-propelled feature, and it works well. Cleaning our cut-pile carpet is much easier than with the canister vacuum. I would recommend this product without hesitation.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Clean Sweep

04/21/2011
By ,
Fresno, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own two of these now because I live in two different places... The only thing I would change about the design is that I'd rather the accessories were held in a separate container instead of riding on the vacuum itself... It makes a good furniture and wall scratchier, not good! But other than that you couldn't ask for a better vacuum... Don't buy a bag-less vacuum cleaner you'll be sorry, get one with a through away bag.
That's it.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Great Value

09/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched high and low for a good vacuum at a decent price. I even did extensive research on consumer reports (which rated it one of the top 10 bagged vacuums).
The main cons people mentioned were 1) noise and 2) heavy. It's a vacuum people... vacuums are noisy! Unless you need to do all your vacuuming during someone's nap the noise is fine.
I will admit the vacuum is a bit heavy. I was concerned it would be too hard to vacuum the stairs but it was a breeze. I just pull it up every couple steps while I'm getting the stairs and before you know it it's at the top. I never work out and I can easily get it where it needs to go. Plus, the self-propel function makes it so you barely have to push it back and forth.
Pro's:
-Attractive
-Great attachments
-Strong suction from the hose
-Love the 'dirt finder' feature
-Brush roll stops spinning when the vacuum is upright to keep from burning the carpet
-Bag makes for easy clean up (bagless vac's are over-rated!)
-Self-propel can be turned off
-Can adjust to carpet height or hard floors
-Great value!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+187points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Greenacres, WA
My second Hoover WindTunnel
Posted 11/05/2011
This is a top scoring and recommended vacuum on Consumer Reports. Can't really get a better recommendation than that! I've had my first WindTunnel for a long time. They are heavy, but great vacuums!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Design changes have devalued this product

04/02/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I first purchased one of these bagged Hoover uprights several years ago, and was favorably impressed. It replaced an older upright that had finally broken down after many years of service. The Wind Tunnel upright had a couple of advantages: It was wider, allowing me, for instance, to vacuum my hallways in four strokes instead of five. Also, it had a longer cord, and I could vacuum any room in my house without having to switch the plug to another outlet.
One slight disadvantage of the Wind Tunnel vacuum was that it was heavy. Carrying it up and down stairs became riskier as I grew older. So I decided to get a separate vacuum for my downstairs rooms. First I tried a bagless model, which was cheaper and lighter. But I was ultimately disappointed for a number of reasons, including the fact that the bagless model did not have power drive and was actually harder to push than my Hoover, despite being lighter. Also, the bagless model was not nearly as easy to clean and maintain as I had imagined.
So I finally decided to donate my bagless vacuum to charity and buy another Hoover Wind Tunnel upright. To my disappointment, I discovered a number of design changes that made me unhappy. The most annoying was the way in which the powered hand tool was stored. On my original Hoover, the tool was held in place by a clear plastic door over the tool's storage compartment. On the redesigned vacuum there is no door, and the tool is supposed to snap into place and be held there by a plastic tab at the top of the storage slot. The fit was so tight that I had to use substantial force to pull the tool out to use it, though I was faithfully following the directions in the user manual. The third time that I removed the tool from its storage slot, the plastic retaining tab broke off, and the tool would no longer stay in place during operation. Rather than return the vacuum, I began using a small piece of cardboard as a wedge to hold the tool in its storage slot. (I don't use the tool much on the lower floor anyway, and the vacuum works well otherwise.) I noticed, too, that the dust brush and upholstery tool (a.k.a. the "furniture nozzle") have also been redesigned. The former now has fewer and shorter bristles, and the latter now has no bristles at all. I am not fond of either change.
Overall, my new Hoover Wind Tunnel vacuum still has many of the features I liked on my original. However, I think that some of the design changes they have made to this model in the last few years have made it a less valuable product. Therefore I have given it three stars. (I would have given my original version five stars.)
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

SMELLED LIKE IT WAS BURNING

03/30/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THIS VACUMN DID A GOOD JOB AS FOR PICKING UP PILE ON MY THICK CARPET....BUT AFTER ABOUT 5 MINS IT STARTED TO MAKE A SCREAMING-LIKE NOISE AND STARTED TO SMELL LIKE SOMETHING WAS BURNING. IN FACT IT SMELLED LIKE BACON. THE FEATURES WERE CHEAP AND THE LITTLE PLASTIC THING YOU USED TO PUT IT ON AND OFF SLID FREELY BACK AND FORTH WHEN NOT IN USE. AND WORST PART - IT WAS CUMBERSOME AND HEAVY. ALL THESE NEGATIVES ITS GOING BACK AS DEFECTIVE. WHO NEEDS BACON COOKING DURING CLEANING.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

TWISTED CARPET is not good for this vacuum!

03/23/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Honestly, I didn't even get a chance to use this vacuum - my husband did. He didn't even use it but for a few minutes before we realized it was taking the twist right out of our carpet! Had we not had twisted carpet, this probably would be a great vacuum. It has so much suction power that as I watched my husband vacuum the floor, I could see the carpet pull up from the floor to the vacuum! However I am not sure if that is a good thing or not, as afterwards our floor sounded crinkly for a few minutes, as if it did something to the carpet pad underneath the carpet. Our carpet isn't even two years old.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

When it works, it's OK.

05/29/2012
By ,
South Jersey, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is one of a series of Hoover vacuums that have the same poorly designed power switch and belt mechanisms. Both mechanisms are so badly planned and executed that they fail repeatedly, requiring unscrewing cover plates and resetting the parts so that they will function. The power switch is just a long stem reaching from the handle to the body of the vacuum, where a toggle switch is installed. The idea for this piece isn't terrible, but the way it's built allows for too much sloppy movement, resulting in misalignment and the need to reset frequently.
The drive belt works much the same way, riding on a convex hub, from which it often slips off, rendering the drive and the brush immobile. Then you have to flip it over, remove four screws and reset the belt.
It's like old British sports cars...if you are into constant tinkering, then this is the vacuum for you. If you want one that works consistently, look elsewhere.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Very impressed w/ mine since April 2007 & counting

11/24/2013
By ,
Cypress, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my WindTunnel Self-Propelled April 2007. I still am impressed with it. A belt broke once and I bought two replacement belts and have not had to use the second one. Last year the on/off switch started working / not working, so I just plug / unplug to start/stop. I really like the red light / green light feature - I can tell it is working correctly and know when I have the carpet as clean as possible from the vacuum. I will buy another WindTunnel when this one is worn out.
Looking at some of the complaints......with a three year warranty, take it back if it does not function properly. For the most part, it seems most of them do not have problems. As for the black rubber marking the baseboard, my old one has gray rubber and leaves no mark. If it did, I would put duct tape on it to protect the baseboards, because this is the best vacuum I have ever had. If enough people complain, I imagine Hoover will correct this flaw.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Hoover WindTunnel

11/10/2010
By ,
DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The power of this vacuum is extraordinary! For cleaning power, it gets 5 stars. The rotary brush attachment for cleaning carpeted stairs works beautifully. I love that the rotary sweeper can be turned off to clean floors and bathroom rugs. The self propel feature and headlight are awesome. Since it has a Hepa filter and Hepa bag, no dust or smells get recast into the air--as they did with my older Hoover.
Three things keep this vacuum from getting 5 stars all the way across: 1) It's extremely loud. Earplugs are a must! 2) The hose for the attachments is too short and you have to buy a longer one in order to clean an entire flight of stairs without dragging the vacuum up 3 or 4 stairs at a time. The 20' extension hose, while too long to stay on the vacuum for regular vacuuming, should be included with the unit so that it can be switched out as needed. 3) The electrical cord covering is quite thin and can be damaged easily, especially if you happen to go over it with the vacuum.
Overall, I'm very happy with the Windtunnel's performance and value!
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Good vacuum

02/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this vacuum because we had an old Hoover Wind Tunnel which I had bought used for $100 and after 13 years still had more suction than the new dirt devil my husband had purchased before I moved in. It even seems to have more suction than my daughter in laws new Dyson. I looked at reviews on line as well and since the new one was rated high and the price was great I decided to get it.
It works great - the suction seems just as good as the original one. The self proprel feature really keeps it moving well and it's lighter than my old one. The only negative I have is to get the hand held tool out it's so difficult it feels like the plastic will break if you pull too hard but there's no other way to get it out. It seems more cheaply made than the original we had - like the plastic will easily crack. Other than that it seems like a great replacement to my old Wind Tunnel.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Great upright vacuum!

03/04/2012
By ,
Pine Valley, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Foremost, this vacuum got my carpet really clean! The suction was strong enough to "lift" the carpet in places but gentle enough when switched to hard floors to vacuum throw rugs without sucking them into the machine (step on the corners as the instructions recommend). The self-propel feature is a definite plus making it easier to push and pull the vacuum across the floor thereby relieving some of the stress on my post-surgery wrists. It does a great job of picking up cat hair and dirt and the replacement bags are readily available at my local Walmart store. The attached hose returns to its original shape and is by no means flimsy but it's puzzling that it doesn't come with an on-board wide brush attachment for reaching behind toilets and under toe-kicks because the machine itself is too large to fit into those areas. However, I can use the brush that came off my old canister so overall I'm very satisfied with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

A great product

02/16/2009
By ,
Dallas, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered on-line and it came well packaged and just nothing to putting it together. It does everything they say it will do and is so easy to use with the self propelled feature. All the controls are easy to use and the cleaning on heavy carpet and hard floors both is excellent. If I really wanted to nit-pic, I might wish for a retractable cord, but I am so pleased I can't even complain about that. The bag is simple and easy to change. I had a bagless before and hated it.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+118points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Very Good Performance

12/23/2008
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace my old Hoover Wind Tunnel that I had for 8 years because it was losing suction power. I really liked the old one and was contemplating buying a dyson or another windtunnel. The price is what kept me from buying the dyson (maybe I'll get it in another 8 years!). The vacum was so easy to put together. All you have to do is screw in the handle and you are ready to go. The attachments work great and are easily accessed. It also works great on hardwood and tile floors. I use the vacum daily and it gets everything up including little strings and cat hair.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Great vac!

04/05/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a great deal of research before I purchased this vac. I even returned one or two before choosing this one. This is consumer reports top rated vac right now. It really pick up everything and the carpet looks clean and new again. I was hesitant to purchase this because of some of the other reviews stating that the parts were cheap and that it fell apart. I've only had it a short time and it does not appear low quality or fragile. I return a Dyson before I purchased this one and this Hoover seems to be a higher quality. I really like the self driving feature, the carpet practically vacuums it's self. Also there is a light that indicates if the carpet is dirty so you can continue cleaning that particular area, I enjoy that feature as well. I like watching it turn from red to green, it makes me feel like I've gotten the carpet clean.
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Best Buy by Consumer Report

05/26/2011
By ,
Sulphur Springs, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had this windtunnel for 2 weeks - but the suction power is great! It does a wonderful job cleaning my furniture and floors. It does have an internal paper bag that requires replacement, but I think it is better because it doesn't clog up the filters as much as the bagless ones. So far I am very happy. I purchased this unit based on the ratings from Consumer Report. They have never steared me wrong.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Can't beat it

11/13/2010
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ive used the Self-Propelled WindTunnel for a few weeks now and really like it. My old tramped down carpet looks great. The WindTunnel gives you alot of cleaning power for your buck. I like that the attachments are right there at your fingertips and it only takes a second to switch from carpets to couches or stairs, no more planning my vacuuming around how many times I have to attach and unattach a hose. The hose on the WindTunnel is a little hard to handle at first. As soon as you turn the vacuum on it just wants to pull right back tight to the machine, but I've found that if I back it up against the stairs or piece of furniture I'm vacuuming grab the hose close to the machine with one hand, place my other hand near the end and pull it out while using the brush it works pretty good, otherwise the machine has a tendency to tip over. There is an extension hose available which I think is a must have for any higher up use and I will be buying one. My other self-propelled had all the weight in the bottom. This one has alot of it in the handle so you have to use your arms a bit more to hold the handle up, but that isn't all bad, I'm killing two birds with one stone, vacuuming and getting a little arm work out. It's not a hardship at all. I've read other reviews stating that it's heavy and jerky. Heavy? yes, but the carrying hand hold in the back makes it quite easy to carry. Jerky? not once you get used to the self-propelled function, you don't need to push or pull, just ease it along. All in all it's a good vacuum, easy to use, does a great job and is reasonably priced. I'm very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Awesome vacuum!

04/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our second Hoover Wind Tunnel Self- Propelled Vacuum that we purchased. The suction and the self -propelled feature is so wonderful that we did not want to purchase anything else. Wal Mart had the best rollback price that I found and purchased it online since I could not find it locally. Even with the shipping cost of $25 to Hawaii, I still saved over $90 off the regular price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Disapointed

03/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The self propelled handle did not work from the time i opened the box .I am going to return it to Walmart'. I am a 90 year disabled veteran ,I have to wait for someone to help me return it.
Recommends this product? No
From HooverUSA03/06/2015
Hi James,

We are sorry to hear that and want to save you a trip. Please email John.Hitch@ttifloorcare.com so we can provide further assistance. Thanks and thank you for your service! -- John, Hoover Customer Care Hoover
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Its all made of cheap plastic now

02/12/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I replaced a older windtunnel with this one and the self propelled part has to be on highest adjustment , my old one was on lowest one, i have berber carpet so no pile is involved. It is also made so cheaply with very very cheap plastic. I think hoover has made a really inferior product. I have a very old self propelled that is made of metal and worked great, its just to old to get parts for it. I would not buy a hoover product again unless they tried to improve the products. It seems to do pick up alright but self propel,ed part just doesn't work well.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900
05/14/2009
By ,
Owings Mills, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Highly rated in a consumer magazine, it is excellent cleaning carpets, but less so on hard floors. Self-propelled, it is easy to use and all attachments are handy.
Product Attributes:
How do you rate its value?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How well does it meet your expectations?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 397 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next