Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Celestron Celestron AstroMaster 114EQ Reflector Telescope

Celestron Celestron AstroMaster 114EQ Reflector Telescope

Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation78%7 out of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Celestron AstroMaster 114EQ Reflector Telescope

Great

12/08/2012
By ,
Brighton, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great telescope! Was a gift for my Wife , and she loves it. Purchased at around $180 less than anywhere else, so, I was very happy too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Celestron AstroMaster 114EQ Reflector Telescope

Controls take getting used to, but great telescope

06/19/2012
By ,
Clovis, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This telescope was my first, and I hoped it would provide great views, and it has. It was easy to set up, and after a few minutes of use, I could easily keep a star in the field of view. Packaging was adequate, and the instructions were clear. For a beginner like myself this is an amazing telescope, however more advanced users may want to opt for a motorized telescope, and perhaps more lenses to include some Barlow Lenses. Overall a great investment in my eyes though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Celestron AstroMaster 114EQ Reflector Telescope

Great first scope.

12/22/2012
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having never used a telescope before, the learning curve was very easy and short to begin viewing objects in space. The telescope arrived in good condition and did not need collimation. The first time I scoped the moon I was amazed. Other than the moon the only other thing I have had time to look at is Jupiter. You can see it, and it's moons pretty well, looking close you can see the orange banding as well. Shipping was amazing with this purchase as it came two days prior to the earliest estimated delivery.
The only cons I can speak of would be the finder scope is less than perfect and needs to be adjusted more often than I would like. The equatorial mount works good, but is a little bit wobbly but does not inhibit viewing of faint stars.
Having an equatorial mount I would recommend getting the drive motor as well for easier and less shaky constant viewing. Bottom line, you can't go wrong with this telescope for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Celestron AstroMaster 114EQ Reflector Telescope

great price, shipping should be more careful

09/22/2012
By ,
tonyv53
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
got the item, the only problem is the shipping, the telescope has 2 mirrors & if one is not aligned, then it has to be readjusted !! soooo during shipping, the primary mirror had been shaken loose, sooooooooooo, i had to readjust the mirrors ( what a hassle !) so anyone who orders these telescopes, get ready to make adjustments !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Celestron AstroMaster 114EQ Reflector Telescope

Great 'scope - poor instructions

12/30/2013
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the mounting bracket in the box is turned differently than what is needed to center the telescope over the stand. Finally figured this out after reading and re-reading the directions, for the easy and full descriptions on how to assemble the units.
Telescope meets expectations, but instructions are not very clear as written - possible translation problems for the maker to convert their language to readily understoon instructions in english.
No complaints about the product for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Celestron AstroMaster 114EQ Reflector Telescope

very nice

11/20/2012
By ,
YAKIMA, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice telescope. My only worry was that I bought it through walmart.com from plumstruck.com. But no problems as this telescope arrived at my home in good condition. I'm no expert on astrology but I kind of know what im looking for in observing the planets and this telescope works just fine. Spend a little extra for the motorized version though, as it is well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Celestron AstroMaster 114EQ Reflector Telescope

does not work

12/13/2013
By ,
Hanover, Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was very excited for my son to have this for his birthday but I cannot get it to work. All I see is white. We had 3 people look at it and all say it's a manufacturer defect. Waste of money. I think it would cost too much to ship it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Celestron AstroMaster 114EQ Reflector Telescope

pure junk ! no focus!

08/21/2013
By ,
san diego,ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We put this together and it will not focus at all. the instructions are not good at all. i bought i worthless piece of junk! i will never buy from you guys again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Celestron AstroMaster 114EQ Reflector Telescope
Based on 1 ratings-only review
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5