Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for JVC JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

JVC JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD

Capture stunning images and video with JVC Everio HD Camcorder w/ 40x Optical Zoom. It's capable of 1920 x 1080 recording, comes loaded with a KONICA MINOLTA HD lens and features a back-illuminated CMOS image sensor. The JVC Everio Flash Memory Camcorder in Black also has an SDXC card slot and 2.7" touch panel LCD. Advanced Image Stabilizer delivers exceptional functionality and helps keep distracting blur out of your videos and photos. Note: Memory card not included with the JVC Everio HD Memory Camcorder. Purchase of a memory card is highly recommended.
Average Customer Rating:
3.739 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation70%16 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD

Great For Live Bands!

12/23/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera DOES NOT have Wi/Fi or still picture capabilities, as advertised. The image stabilization is very forgiving and works tremendously! It works well in very low light (like dim and irratically lit bar band stages) on the automatic setting (I.A. Intelligent Auto). I turn face recognition setting OFF. The videos frequently appear a little better lit than watching live in person! The audio is also very good, recording bands in full ranges of sound, even near very loud speakers (many other cameras record loud distorted rumbles in these situations). With a good sounding band, it produces virtually professional sounding recordings! Zoom usually works well in these situations (zooming in on the drummer's face), though care needs to be taken when using zoom in dim, irratic light: it sometimes freaks out- not knowing what to focus on. Moving especially evenly when zooming, and not zooming too excessively in darker areas seems to work in these situations. Comes with plug in charger, no charging through USB port. Produces High Definiton quality video! Battery lasts about 1 hour on the High Definition Setting, a bit less than some other similar cameras, though the camera feels very light. Seems a trade off of some features for good quality in more important functions, for a low price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 2 for JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD

Great camera overall!

10/30/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! What a great camera. Beautiful picture quality, great zoom, really good in low- light, and the image stabilization does what it's meant for. And I gotta say, it's pretty light weight! Only thing I was somewhat disappointed in was that it does not take still photos, but that isn't a problem for me. The zoom microphone works great. Has a manual lens cover. It also has a time lapse recording feature, which I really like. Setting the video resolution in the menu is a bit weird since it goes by stuff like "SSW" and "XP" and not "full HD", or "VGA" like that. It comes defaultly set to XP, which I found out was the 1080p setting when I put it on my computer, so I would just leave it there. But, all in all I love this thing. The price might just be the best part, though. If you're looking for a great camcorder for a ridiculous price (ridiculously good that is), BUY IT!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+67points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Chula Vista Ca
saw your video test on youtbe
Posted 11/24/2012
saw your youtube, I got one today, same price. It shoots good enough for me. I have a DSLR for the more important stuff.
Cant beat this price.
0points
Customer Avatar
Georgia
Battery Life
Posted 11/04/2012
Hey people, looks like I left out one crucial part of my review, the battery life. The battery life is ok, the included battery lasts about an hour and a half on the EP recording setting. on a lower resolution it says it will last like five hours, but I don't know about that. The battery is 700 milliamps.
+5points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD

NOT AS DESCRIBED

11/23/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Item was listed in black friday ad and website as having wifi functionality. it does NOT have wifi built in. the model that does have that option is http://www.walmart.com/ip/JVC-GZ-EX210BUS/20627919 . I didn't find any info listed in online searches except the model number and price for black friday ad. I did finally get the user guide from jvc website and it did not list anything about how to setup the wifi...because it doesn't have it. Oh well I guess it is good I didn't open it yet so I can get the full refund. Didn't test it otherwise so can't say if it is better or worse that average. It just doesn't have WIFI...you have been warned.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Review 4 for JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD

Website said has wifi & touchscreen,it has neither

12/15/2012
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Walmart website stated in item description it has wifi and a touchscreen. So I returned a different camera I got on Black Friday for a great price and ordered this one. After I got item and looked it ove I discovered it has neither function and shortly after I got an email stating item description was wrong and mistakes happen and Walmart isn't liable for mistakes made on website. Other than that the camera is ok but deffinantly not a super great product for the price. Spend a little more on different camera and get a whole lot more for your money. I returned mine back to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+5points
Review 5 for JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD

Not what I was looking for!

11/27/2012
By ,
Georgia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This camera records great video, and the zoom is awesome. That's it. There is no Wi-Fi, no still images, no real special effects you can add to the videos. The zoom knob is pretty stiff, and rather slow. I've had mine almost a month now, and the lens cover has already started showing signs of wear (not closing all the way, etc). I was very pleased with the video quality, but very disappointed that it did not have all the features listed here. If I had been smart and not gone with the cheapest thing on here, I would (and should) have gotten the Samsung HMX- F80. Only buy if you have another small camera to take around.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 6 for JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD
12/26/2012
By ,
avondale,az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little video camera. The only bad issue about it is the battery life. You really need two batteries with it in order to use it for any amount of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 7 for JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD
01/01/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really happy with this video camera. I had a little more expensive JVC video camera that was stolen from me so I downgraded and bought this camera. I actually like this one better as it's easier to use and I think the indoor picture quality is a littler better on this one.. so wishing I never lost my other one but at least this one is easier to use and definitely just as good of quality.. ...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 8 for JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD

For my son

12/29/2012
By ,
Ft Worth Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this to for my son hes 16 , to get some Vids of his BMX Riding ..Its a great Vid camera but battery doesnt last that long he says ...
so not sure what we will do /
a mom
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 9 for JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD

Ergonomic Disaster

01/09/2013
By ,
Wake Forest, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Given the heritage of JVC products, my expectations were relatively high. Though I'm sure the unit is mechanically and electronically sound, I found the ergonomics to be disastrous. From other reviews I understood that the unit was small and not for those with larger hands. I felt I was safe because my hands are small.
However, this unit was small even for my hands - perhaps a good candidate for children. Here are the ergonomic weaknesses I found:
1. No matter how I positioned the strap, I could not seem to get a comfortable and useful grip on the device.
2. With the battery projecting from the back of the unit, it was nearly impossible for my thumb to reach the record button. I imagine it would even be worse with the extended-life (and depth) of the larger batteries. I suppose one could use the index finger of the right hand.
3. The Play, Up/Left, Down/Right, OK/Info, and Menu buttons run down the inside rear of the camcorder and are impossible to press with one's thumb. I found I have to use my index finger (or fingernail) from my other hand to press these tiny buttons. Though it would probably be too much to expect for the cost of this unit, it could have benefited from a pushbutton wheel with center OK as is popular with many digital cameras. Backlighting would also be helpful to identify the buttons, so don't expect to press any controls at Becky's recital without a flashlight.
4. The index finger is supposed to rest on the Wide/Tele lever. But just behind the lever is a rarely used button toggling between Auto and Manual modes. I don't know why this option couldn't have been selectable from a menu. I found I needed to use my middle finger to adjust the W/T lever so as not to accidentally switch to manual mode.
5. Speaking of menus, some functions are several levels deep. For example, one has to press buttons no less than five times to get to the focus function in manual mode (from auto mode.) And then the rough focus, (pressing and holding the tiny up/down buttons, and not using the lever as one would expect,) swept too large a range, and the fine focus performed by single presses of the buttons took an eternity to reach total manual focus. It helped to zoom in to the subject area for manual focus, and then zoom back for composition.
There was also a nuisance I should have taken heed from another user. This would have been a deal breaker if I knew what I know now. The resultant files this camcorder produces is not in a typical video format such as AVI, WMV, MOV, FLV, MPG, MPEG, or MP4. Instead, it formats video as MTS files (mpeg transport stream, supporting HD video reproduction.) This is fine if you want to watch videos directly from the camcorder or while connected to a TV or other video device. Trouble is, if you want to download the files and watch them on your computer, you have to locate and download an MTS viewer to watch them. Worse, if you want to convert the files to another format for editing and other purposes, you have to locate and download a converter. The converters I’ve found take about ten minutes to convert a four minute file. It doesn’t take a math genius to calculate the conversion time for a half hour video.
About the only redeeming quality I found on this camcorder is its amazing 40x optical zoom. All said, if one can get around the ergonomic nightmares, this could be a good value as an entry level camcorder for the kids, grandkids, or adults with VERY small hands.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Alpharetta
Thank you for the warning
Posted 03/11/2013
I was about to purchase this camera, the section about MTS was very helpful and seal the deal on not buying the camera. MTS is mpeg TS file type, and is often used for Satelite recievers or TV broadcast. Can be hard to convert to other formats at time and requires High Compter spec. to convert with any real quality or with out loss of quality.
Thank for the heads up.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD

Great camcorder for a beginner

12/18/2012
By ,
tampa fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its a very good camcorder but its a little small if you have big hands
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD

Problem with Walmart.com not JVC

12/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought based on Walmart.com product description, when I go the camcorder there was no touchpanel or WiFi on it. I give Walmart.com a 0-star, and the JVC camcorder 1-star
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 12 for JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD
01/02/2013
By ,
Leesburg, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use and shoots great movies! Hooks up to tv easily and views great.
We will be enjoying this camcorder for a long time to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 13 for JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD

Good camera for the price

12/28/2012
By ,
Tooele Ut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like how light weight and compact it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 14 for JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD
12/16/2012
By ,
N.C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
camera was o.k. but walmart stated online when ordering options this camcorder did not have. Walmart should review the options before putting them online. Had to return to local store for refund.This cost me time and money.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 15 for JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD

Memory maker

03/17/2013
By ,
Lakeland, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was in the market for a smaller camcorder version that I could carry around with me and film daily events on the spur of the moment. I looked at quite a few "mini" camcorders and finally settled on the JVC Everio GZ-HM35USD model.
And I am so glad that I did. It's compact, easy to handle and simple to operate. That 40x optical zoom is a bonus! Talk about closeups! It ROCKS big time!
I also purchased a mini tripod that has come in handy when I want to shoot a scene and use the stability of a hard surface.
I would highly recommend this camcorder to anone in the market for a camcorder that has big capabilities but is on a smaller budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for JVC HD Everio GZ-HM35BUSD Black Flash Memory Camcorder with 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5