Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

Safety 1st Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

Listen in on your little one from any room in the house with the 49 MHz Safety 1st Audio Monitor. The four channels on the Secure Lights Baby Audio Monitor minimize interference to help you get the best signal. Sound lights let you know if your baby is getting restless, letting your eyes "hear" over the sound of a noisy dishwasher or radio.
Average Customer Rating:
2.962 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation57%29 out of 51reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

Absolutly awful

12/12/2012
By ,
Vine Grove, Ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked for the first couple of days and then was nothing but static. In the instructions it claims to have four channels but all four are nothing but static. It didnt matter how far away from the main monitor i was it was still static. Do not buy this. I thought for the money I paid it wasnt going to be crystal clear but I did hope to at least hear if my child was crying. I couldnt hear her at all. Again, please dont waste your money on this one. We had a Graco from our first child that lasted about 2 years before it stoped working completely. We are going to go buy that one again. At least it works!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

Poorly made. Not dependable.

08/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The volume is low and not clear. There are static sometimes and it can get really bad. The radio can easily turned off if you move the cord that you plug into the radio. I once left the radio on my bed and accidentally touched it with me feet lightly and the radio turned off. My son was crying in the other room and I did not hear him and when I did I looked at the radio and it was turned off. I touched it and it turned back on. The part that is connected to the radio is loose and it doesn't matter what I do I can not get it to stay secured even though it may look like it is. Very poor quality and next time, I will definitely try another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

Works perfectly for us!

10/13/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a special needs son who is 12 now and I've always used monitors in his bedroom,so we've gone through our fair share of monitors. I decided to try out this monitor mostly due to price. It works great! I've always had monitors that were very loud and staticky and I didn't want waste more money on the expensive ones...some were very loud to the point I could hardly sleep even over my fan. I am very pleased with out quite this monitor is. I hear my son very clear when he's awake or in distress. The monitors feel a little cheap,lightweight etc but overall,well worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

Great Monitor For The Price

06/28/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading the reviews, I almost did not buy this monitor. It would have been a mistake. This monitor is perfectly fine. My child is two rooms away and I hear her just fine. We are on a tight budget and this product meets all our needs. I think it's pretty simple to use, but did need to figure out the buttons. If they aren't aligned correctly, you will hear static.
I would recommend this to friends needing something simple and useful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

Love it!!

06/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can hear my baby well!! This was the best $15 ever spent!!! Worth more than the cost. While I am doing chores around the house I can hear if my baby wakes up and attend to his needs without delay. Absolutely love it!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

So much static

04/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This monitor was so loud with static and background noise. We tried all the different channels and some were better than others but none of them were good at all!! Terrible product, it's worth it to spend a little bit more and get a better quality monitor.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

no static if the only thing in the outlet

09/12/2012
By ,
Flowery Branch, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
when i first plugged this in, there was a lot of static and i couldn't stand it. my hubby then suggested unplugging the white noise machine we use to help our baby sleep from the same outlet and plugging it into another outlet. it was like night and day. you can't have anything else (noise machine, phone charger, lamp, etc) plugged into the same outlet as the monitor. once we had that figured out, there wasn't any static. it was a good monitor for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

Nice product

05/14/2012
By ,
Braintree, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did have some static initially because I did not have the channels in the right position. The front power button is also for channels up or down along witht the side button. you need to have the baby monitor on same channel as the parent monitor. After I fixed that I had no problems. Very affordable and the range is very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

DON'T BUY THIS CHEAP PRODUCT!

03/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this monitor for my newborn son. I used it probably 4-5 times and then it pooped. I didn't leave the product constantly on I always shut it off when not in use. I'm very disappointed in this product. Save yourself some time and disappointment and fork out some more $$ for a better one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

Monitor does as expected

05/27/2014
By ,
Appleton, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This monitor is okay, definitely not one of the best out there, but it does what I need it to do. I bought this as a second monitor since we live in a quad-level house and we have a baby on the way and moved our son down to one of our lower level bedrooms. I needed something to use for his room basically only for the nighttime since our room is upstairs and he still calls out for me at night sometimes (I'm able to hear him fine during the day for his naps). I didn't need anything fancy and I figured this would do the trick in alerting me if/when he needs me during the night. It works as expected I guess, even though I find it odd there doesn't seem to be a power button to turn it off on either device (it stays in our room plugged in as I don't have a need to carry it around the house and so it's basically always on). Not a big deal really as I usually just turn the volume down on the receiver in the morning. I also noticed that there is static however it doesn't bother me because my son uses a sound machine and so that drowns out the static. The only time I notice the static is when there's silence, which I do think would be very annoying to me if we didn't use the sound machine in his room. It definitely is one of those products in that you get what you pay for, so if you're looking for something simple, than this will probably work for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

Save yourself a trip back to the store!

05/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this thinking I just needed a simple monitor to hear my twin toddlers upstairs, so I didn't spend alot of money on this one. Well, save yourself a trip and invest in a better monitor. This one was terrible. Very cheaply made, terrible reception and so much static on both channels that I had to turn it off at night to go to sleep. I took it back and ordered the VTech model from Walmart.com, and we love it! For $30, VTech is a great monitor! It even allows you to talk into the monitor and your kids can hear your voice! No more, going up and down the stairs.
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

Great product

11/12/2013
By ,
Chesterfield, MI.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great! Used this for my elderly father who slept downstairs, while we slept upstairs.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

No static!

01/02/2014
By ,
North Cackalacky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has different channels, actually has NO static! Can run off batteries or can be plugged in. Definitely worth the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

Totally useless, even for the money

07/06/2013
By ,
Lancaster, pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this as a cheap secondary monitor to use at the grandparents, so we could hear over a loud a.c. Unit. I didn't need anything fancy, so I went w the cheapo, and it will be more hassle than its worth by far. The reception is terrible, even just into the next room. It crackles so you can't hear anything, even when you are on the correct channel.musing batteries instead of plugging this unit in is also a joke, it sucks the batt power in 2 days , and wouldn't turn off until I pulled the batts out. It really is the worst thing I've ever gotten from Walmart. Now I have to take it back and stand in the long returns line. Save the little bit of money and the whole lot of hassle, and skip this purchase.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

Worked out of box

11/15/2013
By ,
Miami, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product works right out of box...either by AC or battery. No distorted sounds or interference in my area. Using product as a night time security measure to listen to outside activity in front of my home when windows are closed. Product NOT waterproof. Outside monitor placed on covered porch area away from direct wind or rains.
Gave product overall 4 because even though speaker sound clear and "crisp", I'd like to be able to raise volume higher than the unit allows me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

Extremely noisy

03/09/2014
By ,
Nj
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Has so much of static noise. Whenever my neighbor opens/closes their door this thing starts its orchestra. Sometimes I feel this might wake my baby up.
In normal course also it has a steady ummmmmm type of a noise which is pretty loud.
You get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

Save yourself the time and buy a sony baby call

11/20/2012
By ,
Oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my son's room. I got it for the cheap price and I learned my lesson, I got a cheap product. The monitor doesn't have voice activation and had to be on all the time. It is has lots of static and the channels are poorly designed. I have a sony baby call monitor for my daughter and it works great and has voice activation. So I returned this monitor and got another sony baby call for my son. Make sure that you look for sound activation it is a wonderful feature!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

Great buy

08/02/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought these over 8 months ago to use with my son. I use them all the time and they work great. I am on a tight budget and saw these in the store so I thought I would give them a try. Here it is a little over 8 months and they still work great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

Spend a little more to get a real monitor

03/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Piece of Junk. It only picked up the sound if it was within 1 foot of the monitor. Also, very noisy and lots of static on the line. Taking it back after 1 day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Safety 1st - Secure Lights 49 MHz Audio Monitor

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!

02/13/2014
By ,
Binghamton, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just needed a simple and inexpensive monitor for my daughter. Well, this sure was inexpensive, but it's complete garbage. From the day I bought it, it had static noise. On occasion it makes loud crackling and popping noises so loud that it would wake us up. One time my daughter was actually crying and I could hear her through the walls but not through the monitor at all. It's going back to the store today.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next