Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canon Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization

Canon Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization

The fact that the PowerShot SX260 HS digital camera is an ultra-slim camera with a powerful 20x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilization and 25mm wide-angle lens is only the beginning of its attractions. You'll see detail you never thought possible through the huge zoom and wide-angle lens, while the camera's 12.1MP High-Sensitivity CMOS Sensor and DIGIC 5 Image Processor deliver the rich, clear low-light performance that is the hallmark of Canon's HS system. 1080p Full HD video in stereo is more beautiful than ever, with new high-resolution, high-speed processing. Sophisticated advancements include improved Smart AUTO that optimizes settings for 58 predefined shooting situations, Face ID that prioritizes pre-registered faces and GPS for tracking and recording your shooting locations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.122 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
32
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation82%88 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 48 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
32
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization

Poor Camera from Day 1

08/24/2012
By ,
Latrobe, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was an aweful camera from day 1. It printed spots on all of my pictures, then the camera froze and reuined my SD card losing ALL my pictures from my vacation! I sent the camera back!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization

Great Canon photo quality and excellant value.

01/20/2013
By ,
Ionia, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a compact ultra zoom camera this Canon product is a winner. The Auto and Easy modes hand over setting up the photo to the camera making it simple for me to take great pictures. Other modes give me more creative control. The GPS function works good and will prove to be useful to me, I think.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization

Just a novice

01/05/2013
By ,
Fla
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this camera to replace an old Canon PowerShot, which takes great pics but is very slow between pictures. I often missed a shot waiting for it to capture the image. I haven't used the new camera much yet but did test out the zoom, which is amazing. The shutter speed doesn't seem a whole lot faster... BUT I have not tried the speed shutter yet. The directions are on a disk rather than a manual. I will have to download them from a PC with a CD drive to read them. So far that's the one of two complaints I have. Here's other: The flash pops up on the top left of the camera... which is where my finger is when I hold the device. This keeps the flash from coming up, and you have to re-power the camera to reset it. This new one is not as easy to hold as my older Powershot.. which had the thicker side as a handle... very stable. I expect to be happy with the technical side of things though since I read many reviews by people who know what they're doing. No one mentioned the comfort/handling/flash issue, so it must just be me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization

Great Little Camera

06/18/2012
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have high expectations for my cameras and tried (and returned or sold on ebay) a few before settling on this one. I bought this Canon to carry with me in my purse as I always like to be ready to take a photo. My Iphone camera just doesn't cut it. I also have a Canon DLSR. This camera takes great photos. I tried it in low light and with the flash and all the photos came out extremely well. The shutter speed is very fast. While I'm not a professional photographer, this has met all my expectations for what I need in a camera. I've come to the conclusion that Canon makes the best digital cameras.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization
01/28/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera meets all my expectations, and I'm happy with it. Just yesterday I shot over a hundred images with it: indoor with flash, indoor with no flash, outdoor in cloudy weather, outdoor in sunny weather, images of the ocean, images of the sunset, and videos of a party. The 20X zoom is great, photos without flash are very good, as are photos with flash. Distance shots are good, as are very close shots. Focusing is excellent. The videos are beautiful, and the image stabilization is great. The camera is compact, and it fits in a pocket (probably not in tight jeans, however!). Opening and closing are easy, and access to adjustments is intuitive. I hardly paid any attention to the manual, but I'd certainly recommend that a new user do so.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization

Excellent camera for general picture taking.

01/05/2013
By ,
Viroqua, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera is a great all around camera. Excellent pictures on what I have used it on so far.
Very fast when turns on and ready to take a picture. Image Stabilization is fantastic and really helps
eliminate blurry pictures. The only thing so far that I don't like is the location of the flash. It pops up
right where you want to hold the camera with your left fingers. Have to learn to hold it differently I guess. I like the size of the camera as it will fit in my pocket and still has alot of the features I wanted. Really like the LCD size and quality picture it shows. Overall, real happy with the SX260.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization

SO far so good!!! :)

01/23/2013
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched like crazy for a good new camera!!! I really love this camera so far!!! I have a very active daughter that is 2 and goes and goes, and I captured a great pic of her in motion and from across the room and the auto option caught it perfect! :) I have played with the zoom from across the room and it's fantastic! I am looking foward to digging in and really playing with all of the great options, but I love the AUTO feature so much!Oh and I even tried moving around while taking a pic of my object and it straightened it and didn't even blur!!! :) Kudo's!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization
07/26/2012
By ,
Longwood, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great "point & shoot" camera for those of us who don't want something more complicated & expensive.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization
02/10/2013
By ,
Rockville Center, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great camera. The video is excellent 1080p. I use it on vacations when you don't want to carry big bulky professional grade cameras. Great zoom.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization

Amazing Camera

07/26/2013
By ,
Eau Claire, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera specifically because I wanted a camera with higher zoom. At the same time, I didn't want one of those bulky DSLR cameras. I've been watching for sales on this camera for a long time. I've seen it regularly priced for $300 which is a bit more than I wanted to spend. Wal-Mart had this on sale with an 8 GB memory card and carrying case for $239. Great value!
I first used this last week at a music festival and was able to zoom and take pictures way down on the stage even though I was in the reserved seating way in the back. I was amazed at the clarity of the pictures and how far it could zoom. The camera is a little heavier than your normal point and shoot but it is still small enough to fit in my pocket.
I love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization

Great Camera for the money.

01/23/2013
By ,
Conover, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have Several Cameras and needed a good point and shoot. The Cannon SX260HS is very compact. takes great pictures indoors and out. It is easy to use and great for taking on trips where the larger DSL's are not as covenient. It does take a little getting used to holding to avoid the flash when it comes up. With a little practice it gets easier to use. For the money it is a great camera and fun to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization
05/17/2013
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This really is a great little camera. However, for those of you considering the bundled package, be aware that the SD card offered is only a Class 4 card while Canon recommends a minimum Class 6 rated card for this particular camera. That said, the bundle deal (plus buying additional better SD card) is oftentimes cheaper than buying the camera separately. For those people complaining that the camera is too slow, I'm guessing they are using a slower class 4 card. If you plan on using the camera for a lot of HD videos, I definitely would make sure to buy a faster class 6 or higher card.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization
10/24/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This had more options than I even expected from it. One option I haven't found and don't think it has is an "outdoor scenery" option like all my other cams have had. That's disappointing and so I give it 4 stars for that but that's the only thing I can think that is missing and that even may be there, perhaps I haven't found it. There are no instructions with this camera as all other users have mentioned. Boo to that as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization

High tech but easy to use

07/07/2013
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this camera for my wife. She did the research and decided it was the best for her needs. She LOVES it. She sets it to AUTO so all she has to do is point and shoot. A really great feature is the zoom. 20x optical zoom brings things in extremely close and the pictures are amazingly clear. The camera a little bigger than some pocket cameras but it is worth it if you want the best pictures. We just came back from a 10 day cruise to Alaska and the pictures she took are beautiful. The zoom let her take pictures from the ship, she got up close pictures of whales, otters, eagles, and sea gulls. They were all clean and clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization
01/03/2013
By ,
Bentonville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this camera for my daughter because of the manual options it has. So far she loves it. She has alot of the control that she would with a DSLR but in a compact camera. WalMart's shipping was a little slow, but I was expecting that. Would recommend camera and WalMart on-line.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization

Great travel zoom camera!

02/21/2013
By ,
St. Simons Island, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a replacement for my Canon point&shoot that had zoom capabilities, and this is the perfect choice. I have only had it a couple of weeks and haven't tried all the features, but so far it is performing perfectly. It has lots of features that are available on entry level DSLRs, and is only slightly larger than a point&shoot. And I LOVE the 20X zoom. It is truly amazing. I looked at other models, but ultimately went for this camera because of the longer zoom, and the fact that I've had excellent performance from Canon cameras in the past. If you want a small travel zoom camera with lots of features, this is the one for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization

Good camera if used during the day (not night)

01/12/2013
By ,
Fontana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The video camera option is good if we use it during the day, but it is not good for low light; it is hard to focus. Sony DHC WX150 is better and give sharper image and video for the same class. The superiority of Canon PowerShot SX260 HS is it has manual option. If we use automatic option, Sony DHC WX150 gives better image and video ; unfortunately, Sony DHC WX150 has no manual option.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization

Picture is not sharp

06/07/2013
By ,
Peoria Il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pictures were not sharp. I wanted a camera with a good lens to take clear photos. This camera produced grainy, soft, pictures - like an impressionist painter. I returned the camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization

Great for families.

06/19/2013
By ,
cali
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this camera for its many options, versitility, and power. It has the ability to take different kinds of stills and moving pictures at different magnifications making it the go-to machine for families with many different needs. We have had an older model Canon Power Shot for the last 6 yrs. and are impressed with its value and longevity enough to invest in another. This camera does record the photographer's GPS local making me pause before posting pictures of my children on the internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Canon PowerShot SX260 HS Black 12.1MP 20x Ultra Zoom Digital Camera, 3.0" LCD Display, Optical Image Stabilization
06/25/2013
By ,
Norwalk, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first digital camera and is very easy to use. Instruction book that comes with the camera should include more basic info, had to go online and download the 285 page instruction book for some simple answers. The pictures in the camera look great, and reviewing and deleting them is simple. In reviews I read, it did say that the flash and power button are too close, they are but I figure over time I can adjust. I would recommend this camera to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next