Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lil Sew & Sew Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame

Lil Sew & Sew Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame

Simplify your craft works and everyday sewing with the Michley Lil' Sewing Machine. This 8-stitch desktop sewing machine is a portable, multi-purpose sewing machine that comes with eight built-in stitching patterns. This portable stitch & sew metal sewing machine has forward and reverse settings to help you create varied intrinsic patterns. You can sew sleeves and adjust stitch width with this 8-stitch desktop sewing machine. The Michley Lil' Sewing Machine also has an automatic thread rewind system. This Michley Lil' Sew and Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine features a built-in LED sewing light to illuminate your work space for better visibility, and includes a bag for storage.
Average Customer Rating:
3.447 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation70%26 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 28 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame

WONDERFUL VERY PLEASED!

12/09/2012
By ,
Somerset, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my Greatgrand daughter. She loves crafts. I sewed on this for about an hour. sewed wonderful. easy to operate and to thread. I AM VERY HAPPY.and she will be too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame

Excellent Learning Machine!

10/28/2012
By ,
Hiram, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my very first sewing machine, and I love it!
I did extensive research on bargain-end machines that could still get the job done. I was wary for this machine at first due to the many negative reviews on another similar Michley sewing machine, but something told me to try.
After lots of troubleshooting and learning the finer points of threading, I am happy that I made the decision to get this machine. My only complaint is that the thread doesn't want to stay in the needle at times and slips out...but that could just be a user issue and I wouldn't even know.
So far, I have sewn together my first quilt top, transformed a pair of flares to skinny-style jeans and hemmed some curtains with no problems. I recommend this machine simply for the learning experience. I am considering upgrading to a Brother, but for now I am satisfied. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame

Good for child

07/27/2012
By ,
El Paso, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my 6 year old granddaughter's birthday. Don't even look at the kid chain stitch machines they are a joke. Reverse stitching and a bobbin are necessary if you want the stitches to hold. I used it for over an hour and the thread never broke, the needle never broke, it fed a medium weight cotton quilted material consistently and everything worked perfect. For $3 you can add a one year replacement warranty from Walmart. I bought it because of the Low Speed/High Speed button, but it is not for the foot pedal. When you select one of these it sews automatically without pressing anything which was nice because I was making some cotton quilted couch covers and was doing long lines of straight sewing. This function is probably not good for anything else since when you come to the end you have to use your hand to switch it off and just releasing the foot pedal is much easier. I am still happy with the purchase as my granddaughter has no problem operating the foot pedal at a steady speed. Small and lightweight. I also purchased the sewing kit with lots of thread and threaded bobbins for $10, but it didn't come with machine needles. Hopefully, needles won't be a problem to find. I would recommend trying this for a child - with Walmart's great return policy and free shipping to store what have you got to lose.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+111points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame

Good size, nice design, but cheaply made

11/16/2012
By ,
SLC, UT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great size & easy storage. Really liked the power function of not having to use a pedal & it goes! Also like the magnetic bobbin feature.
Not happy with the feed. I am just a beginner & using a basic cotton broadcloth & it does not move well, have to really guide it through to keep it moving (not much power).
Gets un-threaded easily & having to slip it through a little hole near the needle at a weird angle. It is a pain.
Don't like that you cannot use a basic spool of thread & have to wind it on the small spool that it comes with (like a bobbin).
Overall fabric gets caught easily & because of the lack of power with the feed, I find the fabric getting stuck quite often.
I am returning this & would not recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame

SEW & SEW METAL FRAME SEWING MACHINE

05/02/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The machine comes in a box that can be used as a carrying case. ;) The set up is a little tricky. The manual is not very user friendly.:( It has the feature to not need to use the foot pedal, which looks like a kids toy.:) However you need to be very careful to stop it in time. I do not think it will work well on denim or quilting layers. It jammed on a hem which had four layers.:( It is very noisy, so I used it with some placemats to quiet the sound a bit.
Not a heavy duty machine, but for now I am happy with it for simple projects. Very lightweight. I like that!!
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame

Better than expected

11/22/2013
By ,
Kempner, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews on this little sewing machine and figured I would give it a shot. It seemed it was a love it or hate it with the reviews. My plan was to use the sewing machine on batteries when at our off-grid cabin. The main use will be sewing quilt blocks. I was really surprised what nice stitches it makes. It is not real powerful when running on batteries but it is more than powerful enough for simple quilt blocks and other simple stitching. It is so small and light weight that it is hard to take it serious as a sewing machine when you see it but it is a real sewing machine and oh-sew portable.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame

Hated it at first, now pleasantly surprised.

10/08/2013
By ,
Gainesville,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have never sewn before but after messing with this machine for awhile I finally got the hang of it. I had to watch some YT tutorials on how to properly thread and install the bobbin and little nit picking things like that. Some of the mistakes that were made by this machine was due to my own errors (i.e. not threading the needle in the right direction). But once I got that down I have completed several sewing projects. Some material it simply will not sew (too thick) but on most things this machine has performed well. I still have yet to attempt to sew patches on my cub scout's uniform.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame

Best 'lil machine, ever!

07/24/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is high quality for such a low price. It's light as a feather, stores in a small space. I am an experienced seamstress but no longer had a need for a big machine. This meets all my needs for mending and making alterations. You could easily make curtains or something larger. Not sure if I'd want to sew a whole outfit but I'm sure it could be done!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame
03/31/2012
By ,
Ft. Worth Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is my first sewing machine...it's easy to use and understand...will sew thick material such as jean's...I am impressed with the performance...haven't had n-e problem's at all doing what I wanted to do...would highly recommend this machine...will perchase another one for a gift for Christmas...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+166points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame
11/10/2012
By ,
Glendale, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not perform to my expectations although I have been sewing for over 60 yrs & bought it to teach my granddaughter to learn to sew. The web site to watch a "How to" video was not operational & the directions that came with it were not accurate: Example: Inserting the needle, the directions said to have the flat side facing forward-wrong. The upper thread had to be threaded through the hole of the thread guide that is located directly above the needle. After setting it up, I decided it would be too frustrating for a beginner if I, as an experienced sewer, was indeed, frustrated. I returned it to the store & received a prompt refund, which I used to buy a full size machine with an outlay of only $20 more dollars.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame
05/15/2012
By ,
cortland manor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great sewing mach for easy and light sewing
not a heavy duty
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame
06/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just got this sewing machine for and early birthday gift and it is just fabulous i just love it havent wanted to stop sewing it is just a wonderful product and i would recommend it to anyone. thank you honey i love you great birthday gift
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame

TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

07/19/2012
By ,
Logansport, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter for her 12th birthday. I thought it would be a good first sewing machine. She has only had it for a month and a half and it is broken already. The jack to plug in the foot petal fell out in the first week. The swich sewing goes to fast,and today the hand wheel came off. I thought it would be a good value, but it isnt. Maybe I should have bought her a more expensive one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame
11/25/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought two of these for my granddaughters first sewing machines. Was very pleased with the quality for the money. Recommended it to my sister for her granddaughter. They are a little noisy but not too bad considering the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame

saddened sew-stress

12/04/2012
By ,
Frederick,
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I used to sew years ago and I've always wanted my own sewing machine. I was low on cash and I wanted to make my Christmas gifts. The thread always got caught in the bobbin, the machine always jammed, just now the needle broke. Needless to say I'm not happy. I guess this an ok machine if you only plan on fixing an occasional hem. Overall, you get what you pay for..... :-(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame

Never worked

05/27/2013
By ,
Titusville florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this for my 9 year old daughter for Christmas. Could not get it to work. Tried using customer service, but they were very hard to get ahold of. When I did get an answer, it didn't help. Now I cant reach anyone at all. Very frustrating for both my daughter & I.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame

I dont recommend this to no one.

04/07/2013
By ,
wildomar ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recently orderes this product online and once I got it with the 10 minutes I was using it it stopped working. Not worth it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame
12/27/2012
By ,
Canton, Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this machine runs very rough. it does well on the stitches but seems to malfunction in the reverse stitch. every time my daughter uses the reverse it jams. The manual is not good at all. very little information for what you need. If I have not found the problem in reverse stitching I will return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame

great for a beginner.

06/06/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
also small enough to able to take with me on trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine with Metal Frame
05/23/2012
By ,
New Jersey
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice sewing machine. I would recommend it to any one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next