Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Conair Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Conair Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Give your hair beautiful, soft and bouncy curls when you use the Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter. These rollers heat up quickly so you can prepare your hair, style it and go. The jumbo hair rollers come 12 to a package with four super-sized, 1 3/4-" rollers. They feature end rings that stay cool and a ready dot indicator that lets you know when the heating is finished.
Average Customer Rating:
3.995 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(203 Reviews) 184
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
47
3 stars
23
2 stars
13
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation78%159 out of 203reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 123 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
47
3 stars
23
2 stars
13
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Did not work for me ;(

12/20/2012
By ,
north carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this set and was overly excited; until i tried it and it was a complete fail. The metal clips did not hold the hot roller in my hair, the roller kept sliding off. I am now looking for a new set with the plastic comb like clips that might have more hold in my hair.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers
04/22/2010
By ,
Pembroke, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got these yesterday and I love the way my hair turned out when I used them this morning....very voluminous with just enough curl. The reviews from the two cosmetologists were very helpful. I printed and followed babykakes1016's tips. Don't think I could have done such a great job without them. The only complaint is the same as others I've read...the clips are hard to use (rollers fell out a few times) but they didn't leave dents....will continue to practice with them but will also buy the butterfly clips as my own hairdresser suggested. I have very long hair (down to my hips) cut in layers and the one set is enough. I don't use these hot rollers on the front section of my hair that was once my bangs. They are much shorter than the shortest layered part of my hair so I use regular non-heated magnetic rollers for volume only. Since my hair turned out better than expected on my first try, I can't wait to see my "Victoria Secret" model hair after I've practiced a few times.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Denver,CO
Great set of curlers!
Posted 06/29/2014
Easy to use and gives u the right amount of curls.I got it right the very first time of using it.I had a curling iron before, but i started losing hair because of the heat. But these curlers seem to work great for me!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Great Product here!

03/13/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best set of rollers I've tried in a long while. I tried using the Remington Heated Clip set and returned them for these. The Conair Jumbo set is WAY better. Impressed by how quickly they heat up! True to the package when it claims only 85 seconds. Ironically, I own the older Conair pink set of rollers and they are NO good. Conair stepped up its game with this new Jumbo set. Takes me about 5 minutes to put them in dry hair and I leave them for 15 minutes.
I've only had the set for about 2 weeks, but I've used them almost everyday. My only advice is work with them for a few days until you figure out how much set time works best for you. THANKS Conair for a great product and great price!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

HELPFUL HINTS!

06/07/2009
By ,
Henderson. NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ladies, I am a licensed Cosmetologist and I'll give you a few hints for correct use and to get the best out of this product. First of all forget the silly wire clips included, go to a beauty supply and buy plastic "jaw" clips, that's what we use in the salon. You should really have two sets of these, 12 rollers don't really accommodate the entire head. Always use a blowdry styling product and fixative like hair spray to spray each section before rolling. Most importantly, make sure to let these cool off completely before removing. You should have fantastic long lasting curl. For best results on long hair, get you hair layered next time you get it cut!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+539points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
CA
Thank you!
Posted 12/07/2013
Thank you for the excellent free advice. That was a kindness truly. Again thank you.
0points
Customer Avatar
Thank you
Posted 08/30/2012
Thank you very much for the helpful hints.
0points
Customer Avatar
Millbrook, Alabama
SO TRUE, SUZIN
Posted 08/01/2012
SuzinLV, I totally agree. I used hot rollers back in the 80's, & I always used hairspray on each section before I rolled it. It worked best with hairspray rather than without. I always used 2 sets also (I have long thick hair). The curl held all day. Hot rollers are now making a comeback & I will be using them again, the same way as I did before, with using hairspray & 2 sets of rollers. Happy Rolling ladies!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Not Completely Accurate
Posted 12/12/2011
A quality set of hot rollers does not require the use of hair spray, mousse, or other styling products to produce good, long-lasting curls.
Most modern-day "hot rollers" aren't really that hot at all and are far too lightweight to hold the heat long enough to make lasting curls.
If you can get great curls without weighing your hair down and without adding gunk to it, why wouldn't you?
-9points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 5 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

not too bad heat curlers

12/25/2013
By ,
seattle, wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first time buying one of these heat curlers. Thought i'd give my curling iron a break and look into more looser waves. This item did it for me. I took some out too early to test out but for the rest that I left on for about 10 or more min or until hair curlers were cool to touch. They weren't tight curls but more whispy curls, maybe I needed to use smaller strands for tighter curls? Overall it'll do the job for a quick getting ready before work. Took me about 15-20 min all together. I have straight, long hair, semi thick. The only hard part is if your hair has layers which mine does and it took me a couple rerolls to get the layers to roll together on a roller. The metal clips do hold but you gotta put in right, I try to put it in diagonally across most of the hairs before letting go. I do like the sizes, wish there were more :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Great price... Great results!

08/12/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these rollers because I already had the CONAIR TS7NR JUMBO ROLLER TRAVEL HAIRSETTER set and I loved them, but they only come with 5 rollers. I use 7 and I needed the jumbo size or bigger. These come with 12 rollers, 8 jumbo and 4 super jumbo and they were only $17.99, which is quite a savings from the original price of $34. They curl my hair perfectly. They give a great holding curl yet soft thanks to the velour lined curler. I would definitely buy them again for myself if needed and I would definitely recommend them to someone who uses rollers. They are better yet cheaper than your average curler. They were here within the time specified, which is ok, but honestly, I think they could have come a little sooner. That being said, for the price I paid, it was worth it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Great product at a reasonable cost.

03/13/2014
By ,
Topeka, Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have always been happy with Conair instant hair setter products! This one also gets high ratings with me. These curlers would work for medium short hair to achieve body in your style or for long hair to get a soft curl. The rods are too large for really short hair. There are a couple of things you need to know. There is no off/on switch or temperature setting, but really I don't think you need those. But remember, you must unplug the hair setter when you are finished using it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Great rollers! ALMOST perfect!

01/01/2010
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love these rollers. I was given the Remington Jumbo rollers initially, but their terrible clips weren't even tight enough to hold a roller in tight or "on base" and left bad dents in my hair. I returned them and bought these. I have used the Conair brand before and was very happy, but wanted only large/jumbo rollers this time. These are nearly perfect!! I have fine hair, just past my shoulders and these rollers work great for me.
*Most sets come with only a few jumbo or large rollers and too many small ones. This set has only large and jumbo which is perfect for loose waves and/or volume.
*My hair is voluminous and smooth with gentle waves with these rollers.
*It heats up quickly and doesn't take up too much space.
*The rollers "grab" the hair just right. The velvety texture keeps hair smooth while also keeping the hair from sliding off.
*The wire pins hold rollers in tight and hair is dent-free. Once you figure out how to position them they are a cinch. They DON'T the leave "dents" in hair like the claw clips do and you can get the roller "on base" for maximum volume easier with pins than clips. Clips also weigh the roller down, so these pins are the best, IMO.
******Only thing I would change is the fact that the set does not come with an area to keep the pins. I don't know why Conair would make a hairsetter that doesn't have a place to put the pins. ??? It's sort of a pain to keep them separate from the rollers, but I guess I'll make do.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Wonderful!

01/19/2008
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this product for several years now and considering purchasing a 2nd set. I have mid length layered, nautral curly hair and this product is WONDERFUL! It will relax the natural curl, but keep the curl in the layers! Each time I have used these rollers, I'm always asked who fixed my hair and I just love saying "ME"!! Well with the purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Perfect large curls just what I wanted.

11/22/2013
By ,
Spring, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for something for shoulder length hair. I saw this product had great reviews andI was not disappointed. It is exactly what I was looking for.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

works great!!

01/07/2010
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being a hairdresser, I have used many products on my hair and tested them for friends and myself and this one is great! I don't think that many people now that curlers are NOT supposed to give you a great curl...but body with a slight wave. Basically, if you want to have the quintessential "Victoria Secret" model hair, this is something you need. A tip: Start with the top of your head and make a mock mohawk from the front of your head to the crown (were you would normally place a ponytail) and pin up with a clip-then pull the rest of your hair into a low ponytail so it doesn't get into the rest of your hair. then let the mohawk part down and separate into sections. starting at the front of your head and moving back make medium sections you should only have to use 3 or 4 curlers for this section. start in the middle of the hair shaft, that way you don't look like your front the 80's and curl the bottom of your hair UP into the curler. then roll the rest of your hair up to your head and secure with the clips (included). Continue until done with the mohawk part and then start on the sides of your head, with medium sections as well. After finishing you head, you should have what people call "The George Washington" look! If you have thick or very long hair, you may need more than the 12 curlers included so try it with this one and you might have to buy one with more curlers (Conair Instant Heat Multi-Sized Hot Rollers with Heated Clips-have 20 and they work just as great!) Once you finish your entire head, then you MUST LET THEM COOL!! So do your makeup, get dressed or sit and watch the news for about 10 to 20 minutes, until you ENTIRE head is cool to the touch, it may take longer. I would suggest to do a trail run on a night were you don't have anything going on, that way if it doesn't come out to your liking you are not running around or pulling it up into a ponytail for work or a date. Once cool start at the TOP of your head, just the way you started and continue down your head, whatever way you put them in, you should take them out. Turn your head over, and spray some hair spray, use a flexible hold though, so your hair is not stiff, and turn over. Fluff a little with your fingers and your done. REMEMBER, this will only give body and a slight curl, so don't be disappointed if you didn't get a great curl, truthfully, if you would like a great curl, use a curling iron.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+208points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

could be better i think

09/17/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the only hot rollers I've tried so I'm just going to say my experience. Heats up in about 30 seconds, stays hot for about 15 min., doesn't fry my hair like I thought they would.
I've had a couple issues thought. It could be user error though.
1. The entire set barely covers my head.
2. Even when left on until the rollers are cold they don't curl the whole piece of hair.
3. I wish there was a place to put the clips
4. I wish the clips for the larger rollers were a different color so they stood out.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Long time curler passes on this one!

04/27/2014
By ,
Seattle, Wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was one of those children who's mother made them curl there hair every day one I hit Junior High, 35 years ago. I have always had good curling hair with medium thickness and length past my shoulders. Even then, I was taught that steam was best to prevent harming the look of my hair. I thought these might allow for a looser curl so I tried it. I can't believe how much product I had to use to make this work. They are terrible. I choose to stay with my steam curlers that leave me with body for several days, if needed. I went back and added more jumbo curlers to my supply and I am happy, happy, happy with them. Steam only, no extra product needed. Plus, with my other set the curlers are surrounded by sponges so I can spin the sections of my hair before wrapping and get that messy spiral look.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

The only ones that work for me

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have coarse, wiry hair - a LOT of it. This set will smooth and straighten my mop quite nicely. I've used this particular brand/set for at least 10 years. This is my fourth purchase, but only because I had one stolen out of my car (see, thieves like them too!)
It's lightweight, efficient, and the velvet-like cover is gentle to hair. Mine comes out looking like someone else's hair. Amazing. I see some complaining about the pins and suggesting you buy plastic clips - those don't work for me because of the weight of my hair. The pins are fine once you figure out how to secure them.
Until they come out with a set of ALL jumbo, I'll stick with these.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Heats up really fast!

11/11/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like that its just a few amt of curlers that can handle a large amt of hair-doesn't dry out hair like others and heats up really fast too. For the money a great value.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Great set of rollers!

06/14/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't used rollers in years and was a little skeptical at how well these would do and if they would take the place of my curling iron. I have slightly layered hair a few inches past my shoulders. I have to apply some form of heat to it for it to look decent, be it blow dryer, flat iron, or curling iron or rollers. I let my hair air dry at night, and in the morning I put the rollers in first thing so I can do other things like put on my makeup or make breakfast while they're cooling down in my hair. These have made my mornings so much more enjoyable. They're very easy to use and my hair looks just as good or better than when I was using my curling iron. The curl stays a lot longer than my curling iron. It will give you big flippy voluminous curls, not spiral. Some posts suggested spraying the curls after you take the rollers out before you finger through them, but I find the spray weighs my hair down, so I just go without any products. I also bought the roller clips at Sally's for around 5 or $6, but actually the pins that come with the rollers seem to hold the roller tighter. I stick the pins in from the bottom of the roller. Sometimes I'll use both. My hair is very healthy and doesn't get frizzy with these rollers. I'm really pleased with them. They exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!!

11/28/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best hot roller set on the market!! I have used hot curlers since I was a teenager in the 70s. I have long thick hair and 2 roller sets. Sometimes I only use one set, but use more when I want really BIG hair. The velvet coating grips the hair very nicely and doesn't get tangled in my hair like Other brands with comb tyoe grips. The wires hold fine, you just have to learn how to use them. The little dents the wires make in no way alters the product's excellant performace. My hair has a lot of body but I still need a little hair spray to hold the curl all day. I plan to use this brand and style of hot rollers as long as they continue to make such a fantastic product! THANK YOU CONAIR!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Disappointed

07/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Honestly I was disappointed in the product the rollers wouldn't stay in your hair because it was just foam without something to stick to it and the pins are awful. The pins should be longer and redesigned. We shouldn't have to seek alternatives on our own. They should be right in the first place. Rollers fall out, hot to touch and deal with, and don't stay in place. I wasn't new to this since I used heated rollers since the 1970s.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

this is the second one I have owned

09/05/2014
By ,
UP of MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first one I purchased many years ago, has a plastic around the rollers so the heating element is not completely exposed... I miss that, such a clutz I am, am waiting to burn my fingers... wish they had one with only 8 rollers in the super Jumbo size.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Great product!!!!

09/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product! The rollers heat very quickly and it's so easy to use
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next