Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Conair Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Conair Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Get beautiful, soft and bouncy curls with these jumbo rollers. Heats up quickly so you can set your hair, style it and go!
Average Customer Rating:
4.027 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(184 Reviews) 165
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
95
4 stars
41
3 stars
21
2 stars
12
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation79%146 out of 184reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 103 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
95
4 stars
41
3 stars
21
2 stars
12
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Did not work for me ;(

12/20/2012
By ,
north carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this set and was overly excited; until i tried it and it was a complete fail. The metal clips did not hold the hot roller in my hair, the roller kept sliding off. I am now looking for a new set with the plastic comb like clips that might have more hold in my hair.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Great Product here!

03/13/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best set of rollers I've tried in a long while. I tried using the Remington Heated Clip set and returned them for these. The Conair Jumbo set is WAY better. Impressed by how quickly they heat up! True to the package when it claims only 85 seconds. Ironically, I own the older Conair pink set of rollers and they are NO good. Conair stepped up its game with this new Jumbo set. Takes me about 5 minutes to put them in dry hair and I leave them for 15 minutes.
I've only had the set for about 2 weeks, but I've used them almost everyday. My only advice is work with them for a few days until you figure out how much set time works best for you. THANKS Conair for a great product and great price!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Great product at a reasonable cost.

03/13/2014
By ,
Topeka, Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have always been happy with Conair instant hair setter products! This one also gets high ratings with me. These curlers would work for medium short hair to achieve body in your style or for long hair to get a soft curl. The rods are too large for really short hair. There are a couple of things you need to know. There is no off/on switch or temperature setting, but really I don't think you need those. But remember, you must unplug the hair setter when you are finished using it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers
04/22/2010
By ,
Pembroke, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got these yesterday and I love the way my hair turned out when I used them this morning....very voluminous with just enough curl. The reviews from the two cosmetologists were very helpful. I printed and followed babykakes1016's tips. Don't think I could have done such a great job without them. The only complaint is the same as others I've read...the clips are hard to use (rollers fell out a few times) but they didn't leave dents....will continue to practice with them but will also buy the butterfly clips as my own hairdresser suggested. I have very long hair (down to my hips) cut in layers and the one set is enough. I don't use these hot rollers on the front section of my hair that was once my bangs. They are much shorter than the shortest layered part of my hair so I use regular non-heated magnetic rollers for volume only. Since my hair turned out better than expected on my first try, I can't wait to see my "Victoria Secret" model hair after I've practiced a few times.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

not too bad heat curlers

12/25/2013
By ,
seattle, wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first time buying one of these heat curlers. Thought i'd give my curling iron a break and look into more looser waves. This item did it for me. I took some out too early to test out but for the rest that I left on for about 10 or more min or until hair curlers were cool to touch. They weren't tight curls but more whispy curls, maybe I needed to use smaller strands for tighter curls? Overall it'll do the job for a quick getting ready before work. Took me about 15-20 min all together. I have straight, long hair, semi thick. The only hard part is if your hair has layers which mine does and it took me a couple rerolls to get the layers to roll together on a roller. The metal clips do hold but you gotta put in right, I try to put it in diagonally across most of the hairs before letting go. I do like the sizes, wish there were more :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Perfect large curls just what I wanted.

11/22/2013
By ,
Spring, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for something for shoulder length hair. I saw this product had great reviews andI was not disappointed. It is exactly what I was looking for.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

HELPFUL HINTS!

06/07/2009
By ,
Henderson. NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ladies, I am a licensed Cosmetologist and I'll give you a few hints for correct use and to get the best out of this product. First of all forget the silly wire clips included, go to a beauty supply and buy plastic "jaw" clips, that's what we use in the salon. You should really have two sets of these, 12 rollers don't really accommodate the entire head. Always use a blowdry styling product and fixative like hair spray to spray each section before rolling. Most importantly, make sure to let these cool off completely before removing. You should have fantastic long lasting curl. For best results on long hair, get you hair layered next time you get it cut!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+496points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
CA
Thank you!
Posted 12/07/2013
Thank you for the excellent free advice. That was a kindness truly. Again thank you.
0points
Customer Avatar
Thank you
Posted 08/30/2012
Thank you very much for the helpful hints.
0points
Customer Avatar
Millbrook, Alabama
SO TRUE, SUZIN
Posted 08/01/2012
SuzinLV, I totally agree. I used hot rollers back in the 80's, & I always used hairspray on each section before I rolled it. It worked best with hairspray rather than without. I always used 2 sets also (I have long thick hair). The curl held all day. Hot rollers are now making a comeback & I will be using them again, the same way as I did before, with using hairspray & 2 sets of rollers. Happy Rolling ladies!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Not Completely Accurate
Posted 12/12/2011
A quality set of hot rollers does not require the use of hair spray, mousse, or other styling products to produce good, long-lasting curls.
Most modern-day "hot rollers" aren't really that hot at all and are far too lightweight to hold the heat long enough to make lasting curls.
If you can get great curls without weighing your hair down and without adding gunk to it, why wouldn't you?
-9points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 8 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Heats up really fast!

11/11/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like that its just a few amt of curlers that can handle a large amt of hair-doesn't dry out hair like others and heats up really fast too. For the money a great value.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

If you need hot rollers these are The Ones!

04/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just love these, they are good to the hair (mine is middle of my back length) and put a nice soft curl in. And.. They don't pull my hair when I remove them. I'd of given then 4 stars, but those little metal clips are worthless, the don't hold the curlers in. I just went and purchased some of those beautician clips as recommended by another customer. Thanks!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Great rollers! ALMOST perfect!

01/01/2010
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love these rollers. I was given the Remington Jumbo rollers initially, but their terrible clips weren't even tight enough to hold a roller in tight or "on base" and left bad dents in my hair. I returned them and bought these. I have used the Conair brand before and was very happy, but wanted only large/jumbo rollers this time. These are nearly perfect!! I have fine hair, just past my shoulders and these rollers work great for me.
*Most sets come with only a few jumbo or large rollers and too many small ones. This set has only large and jumbo which is perfect for loose waves and/or volume.
*My hair is voluminous and smooth with gentle waves with these rollers.
*It heats up quickly and doesn't take up too much space.
*The rollers "grab" the hair just right. The velvety texture keeps hair smooth while also keeping the hair from sliding off.
*The wire pins hold rollers in tight and hair is dent-free. Once you figure out how to position them they are a cinch. They DON'T the leave "dents" in hair like the claw clips do and you can get the roller "on base" for maximum volume easier with pins than clips. Clips also weigh the roller down, so these pins are the best, IMO.
******Only thing I would change is the fact that the set does not come with an area to keep the pins. I don't know why Conair would make a hairsetter that doesn't have a place to put the pins. ??? It's sort of a pain to keep them separate from the rollers, but I guess I'll make do.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Eh

04/12/2014
By ,
Long Island, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
These rollers do heat up very quickly as advertised, however, the clips are not really adequate to hold them in your hair without them starting to unroll by themselves. I've even tried putting less hair on the roller but still no good. Probably will just stick with my old faithful curling iron....
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Not for thick asian hair

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product! But it does not work with thick asian hair. Curls stay for about 2 hours. I did not return this product, because even though the curls do not hold, the volume is still there for the whole day
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Love these!

02/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This are the best hot rollers I've ever owned. I bought a set for my daughter since she loved mine so much!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Great Curlers, heat fast, BUT .....

03/30/2014
By ,
Portland, CT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
..... you have to plug them in and pull the plug out of the outlet; there is no longer is an on/off switch on the curlers!!!! And there is NO storage compartment for the needed pins for the curlers on the unit. Where do you put the pins???? It was quite a let down to see where they saved on these curlers! I had 3 Conair curlers before they were great. Had an on/off switch on the unit and a compartment to store the curlers. I would not buy these again.
Who wants to plug it in and pull the plug out each time you use the appliance! NO, THANK YOU!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Wonderful!

01/19/2008
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this product for several years now and considering purchasing a 2nd set. I have mid length layered, nautral curly hair and this product is WONDERFUL! It will relax the natural curl, but keep the curl in the layers! Each time I have used these rollers, I'm always asked who fixed my hair and I just love saying "ME"!! Well with the purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

works great!!

01/07/2010
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being a hairdresser, I have used many products on my hair and tested them for friends and myself and this one is great! I don't think that many people now that curlers are NOT supposed to give you a great curl...but body with a slight wave. Basically, if you want to have the quintessential "Victoria Secret" model hair, this is something you need. A tip: Start with the top of your head and make a mock mohawk from the front of your head to the crown (were you would normally place a ponytail) and pin up with a clip-then pull the rest of your hair into a low ponytail so it doesn't get into the rest of your hair. then let the mohawk part down and separate into sections. starting at the front of your head and moving back make medium sections you should only have to use 3 or 4 curlers for this section. start in the middle of the hair shaft, that way you don't look like your front the 80's and curl the bottom of your hair UP into the curler. then roll the rest of your hair up to your head and secure with the clips (included). Continue until done with the mohawk part and then start on the sides of your head, with medium sections as well. After finishing you head, you should have what people call "The George Washington" look! If you have thick or very long hair, you may need more than the 12 curlers included so try it with this one and you might have to buy one with more curlers (Conair Instant Heat Multi-Sized Hot Rollers with Heated Clips-have 20 and they work just as great!) Once you finish your entire head, then you MUST LET THEM COOL!! So do your makeup, get dressed or sit and watch the news for about 10 to 20 minutes, until you ENTIRE head is cool to the touch, it may take longer. I would suggest to do a trail run on a night were you don't have anything going on, that way if it doesn't come out to your liking you are not running around or pulling it up into a ponytail for work or a date. Once cool start at the TOP of your head, just the way you started and continue down your head, whatever way you put them in, you should take them out. Turn your head over, and spray some hair spray, use a flexible hold though, so your hair is not stiff, and turn over. Fluff a little with your fingers and your done. REMEMBER, this will only give body and a slight curl, so don't be disappointed if you didn't get a great curl, truthfully, if you would like a great curl, use a curling iron.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+200points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Just right.

03/30/2014
By ,
Richmond, Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I was looking for. Wave with shine.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Excellent Results

03/25/2014
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been shopping for a new set of hot rollers for months and this set was perfect. Heat quickly and give my hair the bounce and height I need. When I use hair spray to set each roller, my curls last all day.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Great for curls with less heat damage

03/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is perfect for curling your hair and adding volume without all the heat damage from a curling iron. Loving this!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Conair Jumbo Ion Shine Instant Heat Soft Hair Setter, 12 Rollers

Great product

01/10/2014
By ,
Flanders , NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heats up in seconds and can be very hot when rolling hair. Curls instantly and even maintains heat for a while in hair. Does not always hold w clips though. They could be a bit tighter.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 166 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next