Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Tone your upper and lower body with this Gold's Gym Twist n Step. You'll sculpt strong muscle and burn extra calories with each twist and step. You'll engage your core, upper and lower body during this low-impact workout. By adding the resistance tubes, you'll increase endurance and get a total body, toning workout. The electronic display tracks your steps per minute and per workout, time and calories burned.
Average Customer Rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation86%73 out of 85reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 60 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

CABLE WAS BROKEN

12/18/2012
By ,
Philadelphia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this for about 3 months and the cable was broken its was good for light exercise but then the cable is easy to broken... I'm looking online to replace the cable but it cost $35 bucks to or order....
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

So far so good!

01/02/2014
By ,
las vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The issue with any home exercise equipment is if it can take any serious use, Gym equipment is built to withstand 8 or more hours a day of constant use hence the high price tags that come with it.
I used this stepper for 3 days straight at 45 min each workout and it has performed very well, No unusual amount of noise and the tension has stayed where I put it ( to those who can't see in the pics there is a pulley wheel and cable adjustment, NOT a cantilever like some steppers)
I didn't really gauge my workout with the nicely attached digital meter as it doesn't have any bearing on the exercise because ..
YOU MUST DO CARDIO FOR AT LEAST 45MIN - 1HR!! for more than 3 days a week to see any results!! any fitness trainer or website will confirm this so don't let the meter get in the way of the real facts,
I find this stepper to be worth the money spent as it gives a lot more motion to the core areas than the usual steppers that just go "up & down" it's well made and quiet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Ready right out of the box!

10/01/2014
By ,
Everett, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased the stair stepper for my wife and thought I might have to perform some assembly work but was surprised to find the product ready to use right out of the box. Even the batteries were already installed. The product looks and feels sturdy and appears to be well built. The cable motion is very quiet while my wife's using it, with the only sound coming from the pedal hitting the base as she steps down. There's a timer built into the stepper that shows the time, number of steps taken and calories burned. The on/off button for the timer goes off on it's own after a few minutes of non use so no worries wasting battery power. My wife's happy with the performance and durability and for just $5 more we purchased the extended warranty so feel overall this was a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Very disappointed. Needs different track for rope

11/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Faulty design in track can cause rope to come out of track, the instructions even notify user of this flaw. This did occur when doing initial set up.
Prior to trying out this item, I read the instructions completely and saw the instructions for this item include, informing the user to make sure the "rope" is in the track prior to use of item; however, I discovered the track is NOT deep enough to keep the "rope"-a metal rope with a rubber coating over it-in place.
I followed the instructions exactly as they were stated and set this down, on a level flat surface, to see how it worked. Double checked the rope again, stood exactly how the instructions show you, and pushed down with one foot only to have the rope come off the track and get stuck while I was pushing down.
I got off the Twist N' Step, looked it over to see the rope was wedged in between the roller it sits on and the top of it; as a result, the rubber casing split and this item was no longer usable.
I do NOT recommend this particular version of a stair stepper as the rope needs to be secured to reduce risk of injury.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step
12/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been using this stepper almost every day for about 2 months and have lost about 7 pounds. It seems sturdy enough. It is easy to use and has adjustable resistance on the underside. Mine doesn't make much noise at all. The small size makes it perfect if you don't have a lot of space. I store mine under the coffee table when not in use. It took a little time for me to get comfortable with not having handles and trusting that I wasn't going to fall off of it but so far so good.
The counter leaves a bit to be desired. It misses steps. From when I am paying attention I would estimate about 8 steps out of 100 don't get counted. Some times it is worse than others. It also doesn't seem to factor the resistance level into the "calories burned".
One thing that I think will cause issues in the future is changing the battery in the counter. I can get the compartment open but can not figure out how to remove the battery without causing damage. Sadly, the instructions are no help. They recommend changing the battery when the low battery indicator comes on but don't elaborate on how exactly to do this.
Overall, I would say it is a good option for the price. It doesn't blow my mind, but does give me a workout as intended.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

love it!

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Came already assembled, and does exactly what you need it to do, help you get fit. Check your tension as mine was at the highest tension level when I received mine, of course I didn't notice till after because I just figured I'm just that it of shape. I don't think it makes much noise but I like the twist it gives.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Gold's Gym Twist n Step Ted's Review

11/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The stated claim on the outside of the box and Walmart's Web Site is not correct. The tension is NOT adjustable as stated. The only adjustment is the height of the step. It is a giant leap to claim height step adjustment has anything to do with tension. The quality of the tension remains the same with what could be considered shock absorbers similar to a car's shock absorbers, and are definitely inadequate. The steps are not long enough for a big foot, if the person has a shoe size over 11 for men. The twist is minimal and NOT adequate to get the benefit of what a proper twist stepper should be. Overall it is just better than a toy at best.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Good for the money

08/20/2014
By ,
oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this to replace one that the shocks had gone out on :( this one is sturdy, seems well built and I like the slight twist to each step, feels better on the hips. I am having issues with the little counter/computer thing, half the time it doesn't work and the other half of the time the steps counter is wrong! Over all, I would recommend this, my kids use it as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

trying to get into shape

09/25/2014
By ,
Houston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. I've had some great workouts with this equipment. It's fun and easy to use. But I can't keep my daughter and hubby off of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Fun

11/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is not to heavy and can be moved everywhere. Fun using it for just that little cardio needed because of an injury I'm limited.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

great buy

11/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was a wonderful buy..thought it would help my knees but for me it made them hurt more...over all it is a wonderful machine and was very easy to set up
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Works but could be better.

11/24/2011
By ,
Vancouver, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this because I lack cardio and need to lose a few pounds. I am 5'5" and about 170 pounds and it seems to handle my weight pretty well. About 20 minutes of light exercise on this unit, I start to sweat. The unit looks and feels sturdy and noise level isn't annoying. This unit is also fairly small so it's easy to keep it anywhere.
The only problem for me is its lack of adjustment pressure level. So I am bit concerned in the future when I want more from exercising on this unit, the solution will be "more time". Also the elastic band handle it comes is yellow, which means the easiest. So you will need to get red or black seperately if you want more arm work out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Great for working out at home

11/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't believe that this was as inexpensive as it was. My husband takes to work so he can use it there, and also while watching TV. Small and light enough to take anywhere, but sturdy enough to stand up. Delivered fast and free.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Gold's Gym Twist n Step

11/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. I can exercise even with bad weather. Easy to use and store when not in use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Very effective, easy to use, great product !

08/13/2014
By ,
Miami,Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comes already assembled, it's light weight, easy to use, great size for small spaces, can notice the effects within a week. It has an useful digital timer measuring the amount of steps you take. Use it at your own pace whether you want a hard work out, or to go easy. Great calorie burner, less stress on your knees and ankles than jogging. Highly recommended. Can't tell yet how durable it is, it looks sturdy for its size. Only been using it for about 6 straight days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Does the trick

11/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was precisely what I was searching for at a good price. First 10 minutes seems like - so easy - then the aerobics kick in and you start to feel the calories burning. Easy to just DO, any time you find 15 or so minutes. Feels like 30 is a good initial goal.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

great product

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
something you must have at home
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Packs a punch

11/05/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this up and set it back down on several trips to walmart. Finally ran back in and got it one day and could not be more happy with it.
The first plus..I pulled it out of the box..snapped on the straps and was on it within a matter of minutes.
Was skeptical that such a little machine could really do anything ...about 10 minutes on it I was a ball of sweat. I walk 3 - 4 miles 5 days a week...work out with Jillian (the beast) Michaels 30 day shred etc..and THIS LITTLE machine works up more of a sweat than any of that. I also haven't really used the straps but use hand weights while I'm on the stepper.
I am THRILLED that I finally gave in and got it. The midwest winters really make for not wanting to go out and chance falling on ice trying to walk and driving to the gym..yeah probably not. I've got a total workout system right here for around $50.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Needs adjustable tension

11/07/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like it but I had to give it only 3 stars because this model doesn't have an adjustable tension. It's set at the tightest from the factory so you can't "build up" your stamina. Disappointing.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Something to do while watching tv

10/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My health is poor, but I try to go to the gym 4x a week. On some days, I am not in the mood to do anything. I got this for those days that I make myself do this for 20 minutes. My balance is poor, so I keep it near my dresser, for when I loose my balance, I can catch myself. . My vision is too poor to see the reading, so I don't know if it is working or not. No matter, I feel anything I do is better than nothing. I have a Pilates machine, but it takes up so much space, and is hard to move. This is easy to store, and has a very small footprint.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next