Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Twist n Step

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Tone your upper and lower body with this Gold's Gym Twist n Step. You'll sculpt strong muscle and burn extra calories with each twist and step. You'll engage your core, upper and lower body during this low-impact workout. By adding the resistance tubes, you'll increase endurance and get a total body, toning workout. The electronic display tracks your steps per minute and per workout, time and calories burned.
Average Customer Rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation86%73 out of 85reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

CABLE WAS BROKEN

12/18/2012
By ,
Philadelphia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this for about 3 months and the cable was broken its was good for light exercise but then the cable is easy to broken... I'm looking online to replace the cable but it cost $35 bucks to or order....
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

So far so good!

01/02/2014
By ,
las vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The issue with any home exercise equipment is if it can take any serious use, Gym equipment is built to withstand 8 or more hours a day of constant use hence the high price tags that come with it.
I used this stepper for 3 days straight at 45 min each workout and it has performed very well, No unusual amount of noise and the tension has stayed where I put it ( to those who can't see in the pics there is a pulley wheel and cable adjustment, NOT a cantilever like some steppers)
I didn't really gauge my workout with the nicely attached digital meter as it doesn't have any bearing on the exercise because ..
YOU MUST DO CARDIO FOR AT LEAST 45MIN - 1HR!! for more than 3 days a week to see any results!! any fitness trainer or website will confirm this so don't let the meter get in the way of the real facts,
I find this stepper to be worth the money spent as it gives a lot more motion to the core areas than the usual steppers that just go "up & down" it's well made and quiet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step
12/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been using this stepper almost every day for about 2 months and have lost about 7 pounds. It seems sturdy enough. It is easy to use and has adjustable resistance on the underside. Mine doesn't make much noise at all. The small size makes it perfect if you don't have a lot of space. I store mine under the coffee table when not in use. It took a little time for me to get comfortable with not having handles and trusting that I wasn't going to fall off of it but so far so good.
The counter leaves a bit to be desired. It misses steps. From when I am paying attention I would estimate about 8 steps out of 100 don't get counted. Some times it is worse than others. It also doesn't seem to factor the resistance level into the "calories burned".
One thing that I think will cause issues in the future is changing the battery in the counter. I can get the compartment open but can not figure out how to remove the battery without causing damage. Sadly, the instructions are no help. They recommend changing the battery when the low battery indicator comes on but don't elaborate on how exactly to do this.
Overall, I would say it is a good option for the price. It doesn't blow my mind, but does give me a workout as intended.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+47points
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Ready right out of the box!

10/01/2014
By ,
Everett, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased the stair stepper for my wife and thought I might have to perform some assembly work but was surprised to find the product ready to use right out of the box. Even the batteries were already installed. The product looks and feels sturdy and appears to be well built. The cable motion is very quiet while my wife's using it, with the only sound coming from the pedal hitting the base as she steps down. There's a timer built into the stepper that shows the time, number of steps taken and calories burned. The on/off button for the timer goes off on it's own after a few minutes of non use so no worries wasting battery power. My wife's happy with the performance and durability and for just $5 more we purchased the extended warranty so feel overall this was a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Works but could be better.

11/24/2011
By ,
Vancouver, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this because I lack cardio and need to lose a few pounds. I am 5'5" and about 170 pounds and it seems to handle my weight pretty well. About 20 minutes of light exercise on this unit, I start to sweat. The unit looks and feels sturdy and noise level isn't annoying. This unit is also fairly small so it's easy to keep it anywhere.
The only problem for me is its lack of adjustment pressure level. So I am bit concerned in the future when I want more from exercising on this unit, the solution will be "more time". Also the elastic band handle it comes is yellow, which means the easiest. So you will need to get red or black seperately if you want more arm work out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+44points
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Packs a punch

11/05/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this up and set it back down on several trips to walmart. Finally ran back in and got it one day and could not be more happy with it.
The first plus..I pulled it out of the box..snapped on the straps and was on it within a matter of minutes.
Was skeptical that such a little machine could really do anything ...about 10 minutes on it I was a ball of sweat. I walk 3 - 4 miles 5 days a week...work out with Jillian (the beast) Michaels 30 day shred etc..and THIS LITTLE machine works up more of a sweat than any of that. I also haven't really used the straps but use hand weights while I'm on the stepper.
I am THRILLED that I finally gave in and got it. The midwest winters really make for not wanting to go out and chance falling on ice trying to walk and driving to the gym..yeah probably not. I've got a total workout system right here for around $50.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

compact, efficient, and beneficial

01/23/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
forget the gym. I love this stepper. My favorite thing is thinking of all the things I can do while working out on this stepper. So far I've implemented the step routine whenever I'm watching tv. I used this stepper for 60 minutes while playing Uncharted 3 on my ps3. I burned over 300 calories while having fun at the same time. My Fiancee spent 20 minutes on this thing yesterday while listening to the new Drake album. She burned over 100 calories while still enjoying her music. I dont really care for the resistance bands. I dont use them. I love how compact the twist stepper is. Whenever we're not using it, we can just place it in the corner of our living room. It's always there when we need it. We live in an apartment complex and we really do not have room for a treadmill plus we want to be considerate of the neighbors around us, so this is perfect for our needs. It's relatively quiet. It also tracks how many calories you burn. I love this because it actually makes me feel like I'm burning calories. I do not think the machine calculates the resistance though so I'm probably even burning more calories than what display says. It's so exciting to know that you can still enjoy the things you love while incorporating cardio into your day to day activities to help stay healthy and fit. If you have $50 and want a good cardio workout I would definitely recommend this product it might change your life.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Palm Coast, Fl
Gold's gym twist n step
Posted 02/17/2012
I just purchased this stepper and have to say that it is worth the price. I am 65 years old and walk 2 miles a day. On days that it is raining and I can't walk I will use this stepper. However I seem to be sweating after 10 minutes. I might be able to reduce the resistence and that may make me be able to go for longer periods. Great little machine!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Very good product

05/17/2012
By ,
Houma, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good product. I have used the step n twist for about 2 weeks for no more than 7 mintues a day and I can see the difference in my thighs. It is light and small enough to move around if needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

A GREAT Deal!!!

05/29/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I probably would not have bought this, but I found it (or it found me) on the Clearance aisle. Woot! Woot! - got it for $10!!! My husband and I are both using it. We like the ease of motion and the burn we feel in our legs after a fairly short workout.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Good for the money

08/20/2014
By ,
oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this to replace one that the shocks had gone out on :( this one is sturdy, seems well built and I like the slight twist to each step, feels better on the hips. I am having issues with the little counter/computer thing, half the time it doesn't work and the other half of the time the steps counter is wrong! Over all, I would recommend this, my kids use it as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+5points
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Very disappointed. Needs different track for rope

11/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Faulty design in track can cause rope to come out of track, the instructions even notify user of this flaw. This did occur when doing initial set up.
Prior to trying out this item, I read the instructions completely and saw the instructions for this item include, informing the user to make sure the "rope" is in the track prior to use of item; however, I discovered the track is NOT deep enough to keep the "rope"-a metal rope with a rubber coating over it-in place.
I followed the instructions exactly as they were stated and set this down, on a level flat surface, to see how it worked. Double checked the rope again, stood exactly how the instructions show you, and pushed down with one foot only to have the rope come off the track and get stuck while I was pushing down.
I got off the Twist N' Step, looked it over to see the rope was wedged in between the roller it sits on and the top of it; as a result, the rubber casing split and this item was no longer usable.
I do NOT recommend this particular version of a stair stepper as the rope needs to be secured to reduce risk of injury.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

love it!

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Came already assembled, and does exactly what you need it to do, help you get fit. Check your tension as mine was at the highest tension level when I received mine, of course I didn't notice till after because I just figured I'm just that it of shape. I don't think it makes much noise but I like the twist it gives.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Perfect for a condo dweller!

12/21/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Small but perfect for me. I needed a decent piece of equipment for home use and this works great. Do not hesitate to purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Why not sooner?

03/16/2012
By ,
Middle TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have saw this many times in the store and wanted it, but never got it. Finally decided to break down and get it for me. Got it home and WOW!!! It is easy to use and fun. Why did I not get it sooner? As I was buying it I was thinking I would try it and take it back, well I am keeping it for sure! You can go slow and it is a light work out, go fast and it gets a little intense. I love mine and I will be talking my friends into getting one!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 15 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Wish Better From This Product With Golds Gym Name

03/03/2013
By ,
Montgomery,Al
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I first bought this thing I paid 49 bucks plus tax in the store here in montgomery,al and at first the product was working great,I had no complaints
So I tossed away the box,and the receipt,well after having this product for about
2 weeks and using it everyday,it just quit working,I stepped on it,and both pedals
Just went straight down to the floor and did not raise back up agin,at first when I first
Bought it,both pedals would drop but raise back up,but not anymore,and this thing did not come with instructions or a instructional cd or anything...thoughtit was cool
Because it came already assembled and was working fine just didn't come with the bands that u see in the picture...I wish I knew how to make the pedals start back dropping and raising back up agin,but it appears like that's...and for the price I paid
All I got was two weeks worth of workout....wow
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MA
First one broke
Posted 03/05/2013
Your pedals won't go back up because it broke. If you look underneath, you'll probably see that the part holding the wheel is broken. Same thing happened to me.. I was working out, and all of a sudden both pedals went flat and wouldn't alternate like before. When I looked underneath, I noticed the breakage. I returned it and got another one because quite frankly, I've lost almost 30 lbs in 3 months using it for an hour 5-6 days a week. I started off just doing a half hour, lost about 13 lbs, and upped it to an hour. Currently purchasing an Ab Carver to add to my routine.
If it wasn't for the fact that the product broke after just 2 months of regular use, I'd give it a 5 star rating. It works if you use it.. unfortunately it breaks easily. My 2nd one hasn't broken yet, but I've only had it for like a month.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Very effective, easy to use, great product !

08/13/2014
By ,
Miami,Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comes already assembled, it's light weight, easy to use, great size for small spaces, can notice the effects within a week. It has an useful digital timer measuring the amount of steps you take. Use it at your own pace whether you want a hard work out, or to go easy. Great calorie burner, less stress on your knees and ankles than jogging. Highly recommended. Can't tell yet how durable it is, it looks sturdy for its size. Only been using it for about 6 straight days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Review 17 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Good so far...

06/20/2012
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have to say I was skeptical about this machine. But, after using it now for 3 weeks 1 or 2 days of cardio on this machine; I have seen results. You definitely sweat on this machine after 15 mins or less; overall I do 60 mins on the machine. I mainly bought this machine to lose some extra pounds and to get more cardio in my routine. I do yoga as well 3 times a week.
The machine is holding up fine. I am 5'2 and about 125 pd. I am not sure how it would hold up on a person who is taller or heavier. But, I definitely think it is worth the purchase. It's definitely made well and not cheap looking in any manner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 18 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

love my stepper

11/12/2013
By ,
columbia s.c.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great stepper really gives a good work out, but I have to start off slow
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

Love this stepper!

03/08/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical at first, but I decided to buy it. I am so glad I did! It really does work! I am petite so the tube are a little long for me, so I just do not use them. This really does give you a work out! I use my heartrate monitor when I use it, and it really increases your heartrate and calories burned. So easy to use when you are watching TV and for the days you just do not feel like going to the gym. I use it every other day and I am very happy with it! For the price you really can't beat it! I highly recommend it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 20 for Gold's Gym Twist n Step

trying to get into shape

09/25/2014
By ,
Houston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. I've had some great workouts with this equipment. It's fun and easy to use. But I can't keep my daughter and hubby off of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next