Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

This Rubbermaid 18-Gallon Roughneck Storage Box Set in Blue is perfect for creating neatly stacked storage in your closet, garage, attic and more. Each storage box has an easy snap-on lid to provide securely closed storage, and tough, built-in handles allow for secure transport. The durable, heavy-duty polyethylene keeps your possessions protected from dirt, dust and debris. Plus, the storage box's spacious 18-gallon capacity lets you store a variety of objects, including camping or college gear, off-season clothing, crafts and office supplies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.68 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(234 Reviews) 221
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
191
4 stars
23
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation95%220 out of 232reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
191
4 stars
23
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

ROUGH AND TUFF

12/26/2011
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this product for over 10 years and i find the product to be very tough. I stack these containers overloaded 3 or 4 high with no problems to the bottom ones. With other containers the cheap plastic cracks under heavy loads but not this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

Long lasting storage containers

11/08/2011
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are a public school district and have been using Rubbermaid Roughneck storage bins for transporting our elementary hands-on science curriculum for about 20 years. The bins travel between 7 elementary schools on our district trucks. Each year we purchase more bins for new curriculum, but over 95 percent of our original Rubbermaid containers are still in use and in good condition. We are in Minnesota and experience extreme weather conditions, from way below 0 degrees to over 100 degrees. These Rubbermaid containers get used and abused and continue look good and perform well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

Great Deal

05/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been using the 18-Gallon Roughnecks for many years. They are great. I like that fact they can be stackable and much more durable than other brands I have tried. Their quality is not the same as they were years ago however. The plastic itself seems not as strong. I noticed in the 2 sets of 12 I had delivered, the plastic seemed thinner at two small points on the containers and two points on the lids, where it seems it is where the plastic is injected into a mold. This was true on several of them. Even with this, I would still recommend these containers. They are the "work-horse" for storage containers. Plus at the price for the 12 can not be beat. One thing to be mindful of. Shipping is through FedEx which I can not stand. I have never received anything through FedEx that wasn't broken. The containers themselves arrived intact, but both boxes were ripped apart and were taped together at least twice while en route. Plus, they arrived days after the original expected delivery date.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

Storage Blues

12/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By far the best storage bin on the market. Don't bother with inferior products.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

durable storage containers

11/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good quality, good price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

Rubbermaid is still great

09/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cardboard boxes can't hold a candle to Rubbermaid containers. We needed something durable and Rubbermaid is it. I do think that the plastic is a big thinner than the old containers-- I do have some of those-- but trying to find these is like an Easter egg hunt. I ordered them online and picked them up two days early. The box that they came in was taped together and while the young man who got them for me offered to let me inspect them, I did not. The containers were fine and the employee was quite right for offering to open them up right there. That's good service even if the box was atrocious.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12
01/18/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellant value for the product. Much more expensive if bought individually. Great deal!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

Waterproof storage

08/03/2012
By ,
Arizona
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These containers are replacing cardboard boxes which do not stand up to Arizona conditions. Time will determine if these "roughneck" containers will stand up. It is disappointing that they were not easy to stack without laying a sheet of paneling in between the layers; without this the boxes would bulge. So my initial impression is that they are not as sturdy as I hoped they would be.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

Good deal!

04/24/2012
By ,
Northeast OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very useful! Ideal to pack summer/winter clothes in but the boxes smell of the material they're made of and although I sanitized them and aired them out for a week (including lids), they still had an odor so I put the clothes in a plastic bag, tied it, then set a dryer sheet on top before putting on the lid. In time I think the smell will go away.
I also use them for various items including photo albums, important papers, shoes, our grandchildren's toys, tools, books, blankets, Christmas decorations, etc. I mark each box with the contents so they're easy to find. The boxes are well made and the lids fit securely.
I would have liked them to be a different color then the blue, like tan or light gray because those are neutral and would blend in better where I keep a couple of them.
I would definitely buy them again. Depending on what you use them for, the minor things I mentioned may not be of any significance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

Great buy!!

11/07/2013
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buying these in bulk (12 to a pack) was a great idea and saved money in the long run! Bins are a great size and good for storing all sorts of things but we use them mostly for holiday decorations (Halloween, Christmas). We lined them up and labeled them in our basement - I feel so organized now! Definitely would recommend if you are looking to organize your storage space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

Good quality for Price

08/29/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tops fit well and stacking is easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

Great storage containers!

08/18/2014
By ,
Lilburn GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought these to store extra items in our garage and they are very useful. We ordered the set of 12 and may order more. We used ship to store and picked up without any problems. I love the ship to store option!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

Don't assume it's always less expensive online!

06/16/2013
By ,
Omaha
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been comparing prices online, but didn't want to wait for the shipping when I have stores in my area. I went to my local WalMart last night and bought five of these 18-gallon storage bins, and while this online sale for 12 works out to $8.92 each, I found them at my local store for $5.97 each! I bought five of them. You can count on the Rubbermaid name for quality and durability. They stack well, and you can always depend on them. Highly recommend the item, just not the price online.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

More Colors Please

12/29/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These bins are amazing. I found some red ones a couple years ago for my Christmas items. Orange ones would be awesome for Halloween and fall decorations!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

Large enough, stacks well and durable.

07/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fast delivery, large enough, stacks well and durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12
07/01/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is not the same Rubbermaid product I used to be able to purchase. The lid doesn't fit as snug as all my older tubs of the same size - very disappointing. I ordered the set of 12 and the box arrived broken and taped and even the tape ripped at both ends. Some lids were scratched as well. Too bad it's so hard to find the great Rubbermaid product of not that long ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

Great Storage Product

05/06/2014
By ,
Lake Placid, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Rubbermaid Roughneck storage boxes are the best. They are durable, look nice, don't smell bad & last for years with all kinds of abuse. I got the set of 12 with free shipping and they were less than $10 a piece. This size holds a lot of stuff and the lids fit great. The handles make it easy to carry. They are a nice shade of blue. I have used them in the garage & house for all kinds of storage. They are easily stacked also. I have some others that I've used for 20+ years & I'm still using them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

needs better pack job

06/22/2013
By ,
CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These are as expected, however, not shipped very well. There was no padding, just the containers stacked in a big box. The shipper tore the box (and did not seem to care), fortunately none of the containers were damaged. What would have been our recourse?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

Strong and hold its shape during long term storage

12/31/2013
By ,
Eastern Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Rubbermaid Roughneck containers for years and they have always stood up well for long term storage purposes. I have stacked them four high with moderate loading and they have performed great for keeping dust, bugs and moisture out. When moving, they are great for fast loading and racking onto trucks and usually end up holding their contents for years between moves. Other containers fold or collapse, Rubbermaid never has. Load them in accordance with Rubbermaid's guidelines and they will provide years of good service!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rubbermaid 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Roughneck Storage Box, Blue, Set of 12

Great value for large storage containers!

05/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rubbermaid Roughneck 18 gallon containers fit lots, stack great and hold up for the long run. What more can you ask of a storage container!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next