Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

This trashcan's durable, shatterproof material withstands severe weather conditions. The heavy-duty large wheels make trash day less strenuous. It has an exceptionally strong, molded-in handle. It is an industrial-strength trashcan with a snap-fit lid.
Average Customer Rating:
3.673 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
14
3 stars
14
2 stars
12
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation66%72 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 61 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
14
3 stars
14
2 stars
12
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Not a good design

12/07/2012
By ,
Ridgeland, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I still have the one that I purchased about 4 years ago. But it does not have the wheels nor the top. I'm looking for a replacement because I discarded the main can which was used in it's place, most of the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Great strong trash can

09/05/2011
By ,
Springfield Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this same trash can for over 7 years and they took a beating. The units which were 7 years old where destroyed when then were blown into the street by bad storm and were damaged badly. Can you believe that it took for someone to drive over the cans to destroy them from being used. Great cans looking to getting 10 years out this pair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black
06/15/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beware: the lid is NOT attached to the cart and if your trash guys are anything like mine, they'll do their best to yank off the lid, hurl it to one side, etc. To prevent that, we attached the lid to the can with heavy-duty zip ties.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Lasted 2-3 years before cracking.

05/28/2011
By ,
Northern Vermont
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have really liked this trash container. It lasted 2-3 years before cracking one cold winter morning. I still use mine every week and hope to for another 2-3 years, at least. I would recommend this item because it can't be beat for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black
08/05/2011
By ,
shamokin pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is my second the first on lasted 4 year than the lid cracked and flyes got it it turn to maggets but the container is still useable now i see you can buy the lid off rubbermaid
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

LIDS!!!!!

11/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trash can is great. Holds up well, Lid does NOT. Walmart needs to be able to sell lids by themselves. They will NOT sell you a lid, this is crazy for the largest company in the world. I was very disappointed. I was able to order one from Rubbermaid for $12.95 but it's silly to sell something and not have replacement items for it. Overall a good product for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

The shape makes it a winner.

03/12/2014
By ,
Kingsport, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our new trash cans. The shape make them hold 1/3 more than traditional round can. They are well manufactured with attention to details where they count. The cans roll easily, the lids have a secure fit, and with just adding a few cable ties the lids will not be thrown by the trash man just any old place.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Nicely made!

10/26/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went to the store to pick this trash can up. While I was waiting, the young man came out with a trash can. I did not realize it was Mine. It was bigger than I thought and has a pretty good heavyness to it. The only thing I did not know; the lid is not hinged. That was my fault because I didn't read the entire description. It has to "hand locks" on either side so the top stays on tightly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Durable

11/04/2014
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I appreciate that this trash bin is durable and large. It meets our needs and I appreciated that. We like it better than our other trash bin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Finally, a strong handle on a garbage can!

11/01/2014
By ,
St Cloud, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the new can. The handle will not break off like it has done on all my past cans. I just might buy another one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Lasted about seven years

01/20/2012
By ,
The Lap Of Luxury
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm buying my second Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trash Can today because the last one finally died today. The lid died half a year ago. Rubbermaid will replace one lid at no charge it seems, but they're quick to tell you that the next one isn't free. Regardless, it came down to this and the Toter 64 gallon at more than twice the price. I doubt the Toter will last 15+ years, so I'm going with the Rubbermaid again. It's hard to complain too much when a large, wheeled $33 trash can lasts seven years. I suppose I'm OK paying about a penny a day for such a garbage can. I thing 'd appreciate similar value in other aspects of my material life, but then again, what do I know? I'm just a robot.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Rough and tough, lasts for years

10/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This square shaped cylinder trash can handles almost anything you can throw in it and the price is very reasonable. Our recent purchase was a replacement unit for the eight year old can which finally broke after repeated dropping and banging by the waste collectors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

GREAT

10/14/2014
By ,
new york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Item came quickly and was better than expected. Sturdy construction.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Well built, decent price.

06/09/2014
By ,
Oswego, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a garbage can the neighbor's cat can't get into.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Not bad at all much less than Amazon-needs sealed

08/17/2013
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall this is a great choice, a very good value, and something I would suggest to a friend... BUT, the seal is just horrible - like every other trash can in the history of EVER. I don't get it, I'm not asking for a company to make a trash can out of gold that cooks my breakfast for me and washes my car... just something that seals tight enough to keep flies out and odor in. I don't know why, especially a company like Rubbermaid that has been doing this for a CENTURY, can't do that. The lid on this can snaps in two little places, and many times it stays unlatched.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Great for every household at a great price.

10/08/2012
By ,
Sunny Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had this trash can since 2005 and it has been great. Even with the roughness of the garage men (you gotta love em when you're climbing down in that ditch to retrieve your lid# the lid only recently started cracking. Because the can is in such great shape, I started researching getting a replacement lid. It was going to cost me $11 from the company but because it was my first time calling, they are shipping me a lid at no cost #this time only). I love the trash can but now I am very fond of Rubbermaid all the way around. I love a company that has integrity. Seems harder and harder to find now-a-days...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Great at first and then...

11/24/2012
By ,
Newport Richey FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got mine when it was just under $30 and I though it was a great deal. The handle being made into the can body the way it is would be hard for the trash men to yank it out. Had to lightly sand the can to even get paint to stick when I painted my address on it. Had it about 9-10 months when the can cracked right above the wheel on the left side as stand behind it. Another month or so the handle on the lid split right down the middle. I will try and cut it off. I don't want to buy a new can every 18 to 24 months. I will have to spend a little more but if I can get twice the life out of it I still break even. The next can I get will be a better can and it probably won't be Rubbermaid. They are relying to much on their name and not their quality anymore. On their site the ratings on this can aren't very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Good can-horrible lids

01/18/2012
By ,
NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have owned multiples of these cans. Like all other reviews, the cans last great and hold up strong, the lids don't. If you live somewhere sunny forget about even getting more then a year out of them. BUT-you can get replacements from Rubbermaid. And while I think it stinks we have to buy replacements instead of them just making it right in the first place. An $11 lid which includes shipping is better then buying a whole new can. The cans will last for many years- easily 5, the lids - 1-2 at best, just know you will need to buy new lids and you've got a good way to deal with garbage.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Still made in the USA!!

07/22/2013
By ,
Monroe, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved that this product is still made in the USA and when I had an issue with the top of can cracking they stood behind their product and replaced it. I will always buy Rubbermaid!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Perfect Trash Bin!

12/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent!! I was nervous about purchasing this trash bin from walmart but my husband and I had to get something since we just moved in a new house. We have no problems with it so far and it's so easy to use without dragging or struggling or anything with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next