Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

This trashcan's durable, shatterproof material withstands severe weather conditions. The heavy-duty large wheels make trash day less strenuous. It has an exceptionally strong, molded-in handle. It is an industrial-strength trashcan with a snap-fit lid.
Average Customer Rating:
3.675 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
16
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation66%78 out of 119reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 70 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
16
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Not a good design

12/07/2012
By ,
Ridgeland, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I still have the one that I purchased about 4 years ago. But it does not have the wheels nor the top. I'm looking for a replacement because I discarded the main can which was used in it's place, most of the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Great strong trash can

09/05/2011
By ,
Springfield Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this same trash can for over 7 years and they took a beating. The units which were 7 years old where destroyed when then were blown into the street by bad storm and were damaged badly. Can you believe that it took for someone to drive over the cans to destroy them from being used. Great cans looking to getting 10 years out this pair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black
06/15/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beware: the lid is NOT attached to the cart and if your trash guys are anything like mine, they'll do their best to yank off the lid, hurl it to one side, etc. To prevent that, we attached the lid to the can with heavy-duty zip ties.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Lasted 2-3 years before cracking.

05/28/2011
By ,
Northern Vermont
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have really liked this trash container. It lasted 2-3 years before cracking one cold winter morning. I still use mine every week and hope to for another 2-3 years, at least. I would recommend this item because it can't be beat for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black
08/05/2011
By ,
shamokin pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is my second the first on lasted 4 year than the lid cracked and flyes got it it turn to maggets but the container is still useable now i see you can buy the lid off rubbermaid
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Best Bin- BUY !

04/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this exact bin a decade ago. It survived 3 household moves in perfect condition, until this past NE USA winter's brutal sub-zero temps, 20 ft. high snow drifts, high winds pushed everyone's garbage cans into the narrow streets, where they were bumped by cars / plows... Most neighbors' garbage bins cracked.
I "shopped" on-line for a full 2 hours; And shopped in-person @ Walmart, K-mart, Home Depot, Sears, & Lowes for the "Best Garbage Bin". Sure, there are commercial / industrial options @ $200 +, which are thicker / heavier duty- But there's NOTHING that even comes close to the smart design & durability of this Rubbermaid Roughneck bin. I was relieved to find that this same model (from a decade ago) is still available. My bin cracked months ago- I had to wait 'till April / 2015 for this bin to be re-stocked (by the 100's!) @ my local Walmart. Other options under $50 were few, flimsy, thin / bendy plastic, ill-fitting lids, small or already broken wheels, sharp plastic edges, poorly designed. In comparison to the "competition", there is none.
Rubbermaid has designed this Roughneck Bin perfectly, it's a steal at this price-point. I guess there are a lot of good reasons that this same exact model has been in production over a decade +. (I compared it to my old bin when I got home- EXACT same model, lids are even interchangeable). I had to tape a paper sign on the old one for haulers to take it- "CRACKED: PLEASE DISCARD" - Although it was badly cracked/ practically split in half, but still, was able to be used weekly!
Bin Detailz- LARGE 50 Gallon capacity- We never fill it- never come close (family of 2). Lid is completely removable (which is a personal MUST for me), but also (snap) locks on/off securely and very easily, when desired. Wheels are well-sized and roll smoothly (enough). I have, in the past, loaded bin w/ heavy trash, it never failed to roll 100% easily to the curb. E-Z to hose this bin clean every summer. Both the bin and the lid have cut-outs (as E-Z grasp / pull- handles) that align to form a single unit , for ease of transport.
Best Bin Bang for the Buck! BUY !
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Nicely made!

10/26/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went to the store to pick this trash can up. While I was waiting, the young man came out with a trash can. I did not realize it was Mine. It was bigger than I thought and has a pretty good heavyness to it. The only thing I did not know; the lid is not hinged. That was my fault because I didn't read the entire description. It has to "hand locks" on either side so the top stays on tightly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

The shape makes it a winner.

03/12/2014
By ,
Kingsport, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our new trash cans. The shape make them hold 1/3 more than traditional round can. They are well manufactured with attention to details where they count. The cans roll easily, the lids have a secure fit, and with just adding a few cable ties the lids will not be thrown by the trash man just any old place.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Lasted about seven years

01/20/2012
By ,
The Lap Of Luxury
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm buying my second Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trash Can today because the last one finally died today. The lid died half a year ago. Rubbermaid will replace one lid at no charge it seems, but they're quick to tell you that the next one isn't free. Regardless, it came down to this and the Toter 64 gallon at more than twice the price. I doubt the Toter will last 15+ years, so I'm going with the Rubbermaid again. It's hard to complain too much when a large, wheeled $33 trash can lasts seven years. I suppose I'm OK paying about a penny a day for such a garbage can. I thing 'd appreciate similar value in other aspects of my material life, but then again, what do I know? I'm just a robot.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Rough and tough, lasts for years

10/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This square shaped cylinder trash can handles almost anything you can throw in it and the price is very reasonable. Our recent purchase was a replacement unit for the eight year old can which finally broke after repeated dropping and banging by the waste collectors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Durable and all weather

12/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had mine for 6 years now, and I'm just now needing a replacement. It has lasted though all kind of extreme weather from snow and freezing cold to extreme hot weather. Lid and wheels are still in tact and working. I didn't think it would last the first year because of how the garbage collectors through it each week when they empty it...but it's still here and still doing it's job. Now the bottom has cracks in it, and I'm going to get a replacement. At the price....it's a bargain!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Well worth the cost for as long as it lasted.

07/19/2012
By ,
Littleton, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The trash can I have now, I have used for 8 years. The lid and backside near the handle has finally split from being sun baked and frozen. I am replacing this one with another, just the same as the first. Like them best when the wind blows hard and it falls over...won't roll away like my round one does. Clean it with high pressure washer and Lysol spray. Use Amorall on the lid and it lasts longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Great for every household at a great price.

10/08/2012
By ,
Sunny Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had this trash can since 2005 and it has been great. Even with the roughness of the garage men (you gotta love em when you're climbing down in that ditch to retrieve your lid# the lid only recently started cracking. Because the can is in such great shape, I started researching getting a replacement lid. It was going to cost me $11 from the company but because it was my first time calling, they are shipping me a lid at no cost #this time only). I love the trash can but now I am very fond of Rubbermaid all the way around. I love a company that has integrity. Seems harder and harder to find now-a-days...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Great trashcan, great price, a smart buy

07/31/2012
By ,
Cicero ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had to replace our 8 year old trashcan and were thrilled the same one was still available. The trash collectors are not dainty with these cans, and neither are racoons, but the quality of this product gives long life and your money's worth.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Great at first and then...

11/24/2012
By ,
Newport Richey FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got mine when it was just under $30 and I though it was a great deal. The handle being made into the can body the way it is would be hard for the trash men to yank it out. Had to lightly sand the can to even get paint to stick when I painted my address on it. Had it about 9-10 months when the can cracked right above the wheel on the left side as stand behind it. Another month or so the handle on the lid split right down the middle. I will try and cut it off. I don't want to buy a new can every 18 to 24 months. I will have to spend a little more but if I can get twice the life out of it I still break even. The next can I get will be a better can and it probably won't be Rubbermaid. They are relying to much on their name and not their quality anymore. On their site the ratings on this can aren't very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Rubermaid

01/30/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to manipulate. Nice size. Only negative is that the plastic is quite thin and flimsy....so be heavier for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Good can-horrible lids

01/18/2012
By ,
NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have owned multiples of these cans. Like all other reviews, the cans last great and hold up strong, the lids don't. If you live somewhere sunny forget about even getting more then a year out of them. BUT-you can get replacements from Rubbermaid. And while I think it stinks we have to buy replacements instead of them just making it right in the first place. An $11 lid which includes shipping is better then buying a whole new can. The cans will last for many years- easily 5, the lids - 1-2 at best, just know you will need to buy new lids and you've got a good way to deal with garbage.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

not as advertised

01/18/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall dimensions are not those posted on product page. Placed order twice and got two different cans, none matched the item specs. Do not purchase on line for site to store pickup.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Well built, decent price.

06/09/2014
By ,
Oswego, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a garbage can the neighbor's cat can't get into.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trashcan, Black

Great for the Money

05/17/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This can is sturdy and the top is secure to assist in containing odor and repelling invaders (roaches, rats, bears, tigers, etc.) It is exactly what we needed. Our family produces 2-3 kitchen-sized bags of garbage a week and this can easily hold them. The wheels make it an easy trip down to the curb, no matter how heavy the contents. We'll see how it holds up long term, but so far no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next