Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Coleman Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

The Coleman Instant 6 Cabin Tent makes the task of putting up the camping tent a breeze. This 6-person tent requires no assembly because the poles are pre-attached to the tent. The Coleman instant tent is made of fabric two times thicker than standard tent fabric. With a fully tapped tent seam, this Coleman instant tent sets up in less than 60 seconds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.359 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%72 out of 78reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 100 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

This Tent leaks horribly

09/17/2012
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall the Tent is good , but leaks horribly . The instant up feaure is really nice , you will love that part . Coleman normally builds good stuff . But this one leaks like a sive. I used two cans of Waterproofing and did all the seams . The area it leaks is at the bottom where the Polyester tent fabric meets the urathane boddom , it had standing Water all along the edges after an all night rain.
I was a Scout Master for years and know a little bit about Camping , you always must test your equipment in your backyard before going out on a trip or expect Negative surprises . The Tent is well made and worth the money, but only after I repair the leaks .
A simple amount of Silicon rubber along that bottom seam should do the trick . The Tent is cheap to buy and well worth the money , Just remember to spend extra money on sealing it or wake up in the morning with water around the edges . Every Coleman instant Tent has the same design so remember to spend extra time and money to fix their problems .
A truly great tent will cost you many hundred more , most people do not want to spend that kind of money. Also if it does not rain , your fine , but you take a chance because no one knows when a shower occurs .
Also put a light Tarp over the entire Canopy to slow down the rain. The design is good overall , but Coleman failed to make the Tent rain Tight .
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dickinson , ND
I got the 8 man tent -
Posted 03/03/2014
First time up was easy - two queen beds- table and two chairs still plenty of room.. Loved it . Harder to take down. I sprayed it down for leaking. Second time up , one pole wouldn't open up. We used it for papers and good things that could get wet going thru grandma's things. It rained off and on two days. Only thing wet was by the doors. Hot - needed a fan....but in all loved it. Check it out to see if the pole would open last summer- did- take it down all the way and put it up again if the pole doesn't click at joint. Was going on trip with little car and was thinking about getting 6 man.. Two of us- husband has dementia and I think I 'm going with big one as we have more room. Thanks for information. It helps a lot.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Many great features

09/25/2013
By ,
Montana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good tent. The only problem was water collecting on the top apex during a substantial rain. Once it built up it would come in the top air vents. Other than that it is a great tent and meets all of colemans bragging points. A rain fly is now available for this model and we plan on adding this to our rent. The best feature is the quick set up and tear down. No bundle of pole sections or tension cords to mess with.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Good but small and leaks

07/08/2014
By ,
Pinetop, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is smaller than I anticipated. For a 6 person tent they must all be tiny persons. Two queen mattresses pretty much take up the whole floor. Buy the optional rain fly direct from Coleman and use a tarp over the top until Coleman finally ships yours. The roof vents are a nice touch in warm weather but leak when it rains. But it goes up and down really quickly and stores in the provided bag. To compress out all the air for storage, leave the roof vents open and the zipper across the bottom of the door unzipped. The vertical zipper has a problem making it around the upper corner of the door if the tent is securely anchored. Try to use the door with just opening the bottom zipper and using the vertical to just below the upper corner.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Great Tent

10/15/2012
By ,
Pevely, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is a dream. I put this tent up by myself in 1 minute without even watching the video. The zipper on the door was a little tricky at first but after a couple of days using it the tension stretched out on in and it opens and closes easily. I do wish there was an electric port but I was able to just run an extension cord through the bottom corner of the door and it worked just fine. Taking the tent down was just as easy as set up. The only think I would change is the fact that the "optional" rain fly is sold separately (not through Wal-Mart) and they are on back order every where that sells them. I have ordered one from Amazon but it did not come in time for my camping trip last week. This was not really a problem because the night it called for rain I just put a tarp over the top of the tent and tied it down with rope and had no leaking issues. I am pretty sure I have finally found the "Perfect" tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Great tent!!!!!

10/30/2012
By ,
Berea, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I do a lot of camping. I have put up and taken down many different tents in all shapes and sizes. The Coleman Instant Tent is the last tent I will ever use. Goes up in a few seconds and comes down in about the same time. I used my tent 2 weeks ago and did not have any problems with it whatsoever. It was a cold night (around 38) and we slept fine and stayed surprisingly warm. I would recommend this tent to anyone who is tired of all you have to go through to put up and take down a tent. This one is amazing. The only negative I can think of is that like most tents the amount of people it will sleep is based on being on the ground in a sleeping bag so if this is the case it will sleep 6 very close together. If you are like us and use an air mattress. It will hold a queen air mattress and a twin air mattress with enough room to get in and out of the tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent
10/11/2013
By ,
Clermont, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kudos on the ease of set up and take down but that is as far as my praise is going to go. I am very very disappointed as I really wanted this to be a great tent. I have never had a wet tent before and this one is the first. There was "NO RAIN" and my tent was wet and everything in it was wet. As soon as condensation settled on the walls is soaked right through. My pillow was even wet. I rolled from the spot I was on and had to roll back as the surface of everything was wet not damp but straight up wet. Thank goodness there was no rain because we probably would have drowned. I have made several attempts to contact Coleman to no avail. I guess when you are that big you don't need to have good customer service. The Oasis is much cheaper and the fabric is 1/2 the thickness but it stayed dry even in rain. Plan is to return this one and buy the Oasis instant set :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Pretty sweet!

03/25/2011
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this tent for a few weeks. I haven't had a chance to actually camp with it yet. I did however set it up in my family room, and the 60 second set up time is no exageration- even on the first try. The nearly vertical side walls make this tent feel really spacious. The peak of the tent to the floor is about 6'5". I am 6' tall and I never felt the need to duck my head, even away from the center. The six person rating is a little on the optimistic side. You could fit six people, but there wouldn't be much room to move. The materials seem sturdy and there are plenty of windows. There is no rainfly, which is nice for set up, but it doesn't give you the option for the open air feel on nice nights. Take down is relatively simple, though not as easy as set up. I have a feeling it will get easier with practice. Although the tent bag is decently sized, it's still a bit of a pain to get the tent back in there. Overall, this tent is awesome! I am very pleased with my purchase and excited to use it when the rain stops. I definitely recommend this tent- especially if you camp more than once a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

LOVE IT!!!!

05/19/2011
By ,
Ft Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this tent after reading many reviews. I already own a six person tent, but needed a tent that did not require two adults to setup, as I often camp with my young daughter. I cannot find enough good things to say about this tent!! Setup was ridiculously easy!! I don't know if I would try to fit six people inside, although I think it would be great for four. It definitely retains heat. But then again, I was camping in the Florida Keys in the middle of May. The poles are already set up, so that's one less thing to worry about. This tent is SOOOO worth the money. Now, I didn't experience any inclement weather during my camping trip, so I don't know how it handles in those cases. But so far, so good.
I'm actually looking into buying the 8 person tent, as it has two rooms!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Easy and convenient

09/17/2012
By ,
York PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just bought this before a three-night trip last month. Was quite easy to put up, as seen in the demo video. Also as seen: works a lot easier with two people helping. Took 2 or 3 minutes to fully collapse and squeeze out enough air to get it back into the carry-bag. Main flaw in design is that the center hub (spring-loaded thing at the top where the legs all meet) takes a lot of pressure and is only made of plastic. The hub helps hold the legs outward when putting up the tent. When putting away the tent after airing it out after the trip, I noticed the hub was broken. There are two long bolts that a spring-loaded plate slides on as a guide, and one of the bolts (and the threaded plastic it had been attached to) was broken away from the core of the hub. I believe the tent would still work even if the other bolt would snap off too. I called Coleman and a replacement hub was delivered FREE in three days: no questions asked. I loved the tent and I applaude Coleman's service. I will, however, be purchasing a spare hub as cheap insurance for about $16. I'll have no trouble changing the hub, but it might be tricky for some folks, as there are about a dozen screws on the spring-loaded contraption.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

GREAT tent

07/09/2012
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lightweight and easy to carry (I have a bad back and it was no problem). It is a typical "6" person size (tents are sized by how many sleeping bags would fit pushed next to each other, not by how 6 people would particularly choose to sleep). I think it's a great size for 2 (or 3) people and a dog... We had no problem with rain getting in during a torrential downpour and thunderstorm that lasted for over an hour, we, and our stuff were perfectly dry. I am very pleased with the purchase; couldn't be more satisfied. We probably took 5 minutes on both the set-up and take-down, very easy and I'm sure we'll get faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Great family tent

04/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are a family of five (mom, dad, and three kids) and bought this tent last year. We have camped twice and so far it has worked great. We are not experienced campers and it really is an easy setup/takedown and has lots of windows for ventilation. I love that it is tall so that we aren't all hunched over when trying to move around in there. I also like that you can zip down the tops of all the windows for ventilation but still sit down and have a good amount of privacy when changing. We have not yet been in rainy weather in this tent, only very dewy mornings but so far so good in terms of wetness protection. We recommend you set this up on top of a tarp for added protection.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Big Tent, Small Price

09/19/2013
By ,
L.A., CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Often it costs more to stay in a hotel one night than it does to buy this tent, which we intend to use for years to come (but not at a hotel!) The 6-person is very large inside, with plenty of headroom for my 6'2" husband, plus extra for that handy overhead tent light I forgot to buy (the one held on by magnets - though there is a hook in the center of the tent to hang some other type of light or fan). This is one of the only car-camping tents we found that had inside zip-up window covers, so you could have privacy without using a rainfly. We also bought the rainfly and extra stakes for safety. The plastic flooring is rather crispy sounding as you roll it up. Hopefully it lasts. An extra set of compression straps would help push the air out of the tent after you rolled it up (very airtight, so leave some windows unzipped). There are "compression" straps attached to the outside of the carrying bag, so not helpful to reduce the size of the tent to get it into the bag. Once stuffed back into the bag, the tent was a little too long to fit sideways in the back of our Ford Escape or the standard sized roof top cargo carrier, but it does fit at an angle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

One minute wet

05/07/2012
By ,
Gainesville Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tent will set up in about a minute as it states... It takes down about as quick. The problem that i have found is, it leaks at all the zipper locations, ie; all windows, doors and top. It does however withstand high winds as long as you use the upgraded plastic stakes also available at Walmart. Even though it's rated for 6 people, i would probably think 2 people would be more comfortable. I could have been one of the lucky people who had purchased a tent that was defective. I strongly recommend that you set the tent up and water test it before taking it out to camp. Walmart was real helpful by taking the tent back. I will however be looking for another tent for my next trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
grand forks, ND
Ripped in HIGH WINDS
Posted 06/12/2013
I had set my tent up in the back yard and left it up several weeks. Should be durable .RIGHT? I dont know how but it got a tiny hole in the top near a pole and i patched it well. The winds came up that evining and ripped the tent fro one end to the other through the top area where the poles bend. I had no choice but to throw it away. Also, if you do not zip all windows in the winds, it will tear easily. Is durable IF the windows are all zipped but not if they are open.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Size of tent

05/27/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We love this tent. Was easy to set up and yes in 1 minute or less but when they say it is a 6 person tent, they must be talking about little people. When you get a blow up mattress in there, no way 6 people could sleep in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Great for moving camp

06/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the tent for a weeklong wagon train trek in the North Dakota prairie. The tent passed with flying colors. Set up, take down was wonderful. We had a driving rain storm and the only water was that driven in through the top vent that faced the storm. I believe several of my fellow campers will be purchasing this tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

good tent

06/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the ventilation, color ,and floor layout.
Will test it in the rain and wind.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Great tent for a midium priced tent

05/31/2012
By ,
Broken Arrow, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used this tent for 3 very windy days. Seems to have held up very well. My only complaint is the zipper on the door does not take the curve in the top right corner very well, tends to bind up, but will proceed with a little firm persistance.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Love this tent

07/06/2012
By ,
Medford, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first time we took this tent out for a camping trip it rained like cats and dogs and we did not get wet. We did not have anything over the tent to protect it and it kept us very dry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Great Price and Easy Setup

03/06/2014
By ,
Ft Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great priced tent here at Walmart. Cheaper then anywhere else and free shipping. It was so simple to put up. I did it alone. It is very roomy which we were lookimg for. We wanted to have space in it to put ALL our stuf. You can spread out in it and and be comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Amazing!

07/15/2012
By ,
Rensselaer, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an easier way to camp. I had a huge cottage tent that was a pain to set up. so I bought this after watching the set up video. My first time using it only took about 90 seconds to set up. second time took under a minute. and just as fast to take down. it is the best tent I have ever bought. and it actually fits in the bag it comes in. this was money well spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next