Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ortho Ortho Home Defense MAX Kill & Contain Mouse Trap

Ortho Ortho Home Defense MAX Kill & Contain Mouse Trap

The Ortho Home Defense MAX Kill & Contain Mouse Trap is a simple, safe and clean way to rid your home of pesky mice. Once caught, the mice can be disposed of with no messes.
Average Customer Rating:
2.39 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation36%14 out of 39reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ortho Home Defense MAX Kill & Contain Mouse Trap

Has worked everytime I used it!

11/09/2012
By ,
Pendleton, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this product more times than I can count and it has worked everytime. I literally live in the middle of a field in northern Indiana. I am surrounded by fields and so naturally we have a lot of field mice, especially this time of year then they begin to harvest and plow the fields. I always by 2 packs of these and get 4 mice within a week. I just saw a mouse in our living room this morning and am getting ready to bye more today and I guarantee if I get on here in a week, I will have 4 more mice, or at least the one I saw. This product is very effective.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ortho Home Defense MAX Kill & Contain Mouse Trap

IM a REAL PERSON!! DON"T BUY

04/08/2014
By ,
Denver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was in complete shock when I looked inside the product hoping for a mouse. What did I find instead? Droppings. I couldn't believe my eyes. I felt like I just wasted money away. I just ended up throwing it away. They found it more a home than the end. They ate the peanut butter and dog food. Found mouse droppings inside of the mouse trap. I ended up just using sticky traps and eletronic mouse repellant devices.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ortho Home Defense MAX Kill & Contain Mouse Trap

Can be reused

10/03/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes this an excellent value. I caught 7 mice the first day I used these. I have a small dog who is sure she has to "investigate" my Victors snap trap, even when I set them in small paper bags, so they have to be set in out of way places and wait for the mouse to find them. The trails are along the kitchen wall, under the stove or fridge blah blah blah.
I can set these in the open right along the trail, she can't trip them or get to the mouse, the opening is large enough for larger mice. I then take a plastic shopping bag, reset the trap, shake the mouse into the bag for disposal, check the bait at the rear of the trap, place back on the trail and wait a couple of hours for the next little varmints. I only bought 2, they seem to be pretty sturdy, have caught 4 in one trap, 3 in the other. Plan on buying 2 more and continue using the Victors.
One warning; I do have very small baby mice running around, caught a couple still alive in the trap. Check first. The first one almost got out of the bag because I had it laying flat on the counter. Turned 'em loose in the back lot. Hawks, owls and cats need to eat too. ;-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ortho Home Defense MAX Kill & Contain Mouse Trap

IT WORKS! IF you do it right. Here's how...

11/20/2013
By ,
midwest USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read many online reviews and found a very useful tip, which worked fantastic:
" I took a little piece of a peanut or walnut and shoved it into the bait box with a teeny dab of peanut butter on top. This way, the mice had to work at getting the jammed nut free from the bait box and they would trip the spring every time."
I did a little modification. Put a dab of peanut butter in the bait box, then I jammed a piece of peanut in the middle (I don't usually buy peanuts but was able to extract one piece of peanut from a Snickers candy bar). I set one trap up at 1 am this morning and when I woke up at 7am it already got a mouse. I took the whole thing outside and put in another trap, and within an hour got another mouse. There's not that much mouse dropping so I don't know if I caught them all. Will buy more to be on the safe side. Fantastic product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ortho Home Defense MAX Kill & Contain Mouse Trap

Clean way to trap mice

10/31/2013
By ,
barnegat,nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This worked great within the first hour of setting it we caught a mouse,and so much easier to set this those one you might snap your fingers off with and you never have to touch or see the mouse.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ortho Home Defense MAX Kill & Contain Mouse Trap

Don't waste your money

08/23/2013
By ,
Gulfport, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have a field behind my house and started having mice show up. The pest control guy left sticky boards that caught a couple right away, but they were still getting in. I bought these and the mice are apparently walking around them, on them...needless to say they are NOT working. I just had another mouse run in front of me OVER the trap and get away...do not waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ortho Home Defense MAX Kill & Contain Mouse Trap

Don't waste your money

10/18/2012
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This trap rarely works. I liked the fact it was "no see, no mess" but the trap itself is not sensitive enough. The mice are able to walk right in, take the bait, and walk right out. It does not work as advertised. Please save your money and buy something else. Best of luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
illinois
Awesome trap!
Posted 11/08/2012
I'm thinking the comment that says not sensitive enough may of had bad traps. I bought some for the first time yesterday set two in my garage just in case and at 530 am when i left for work both traps had caught a mouse! I didn't even know i had any mice. I was just puttingthem there in case.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Ortho Home Defense MAX Kill & Contain Mouse Trap
04/14/2013
By ,
pa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to keep refilling trap.Mouse got bait without setting off trap. Tried more than one.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Ortho Home Defense MAX Kill & Contain Mouse Trap
Based on the average of (33) ratings-only reviews
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5