Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Evenflo Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Evenflo Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

The Evenflo Expansion Swing Wide Gate makes your home a safe place for babies. By using this wide opening baby gate, you can ensure that your child does not get out of an area. This gate can be used to restrict access to stairways or other risky places in and around your house. The wide opening baby gate is an expandable door that can be used for standard openings or for a wide opening as well. This wooden baby gate featuring plastic rails can be expanded from 24-inch to 60-inch with simple adjustments. The height goes from 29 inches to 32 inches depending on how wide you open the gate. This Evenflo safety gate has a swing style opening with a latch, which can be undone with just one hand. Convenient for parents and simple to set up, this Evenflo Expansion Swing Wide Gate is a dependable precautionary measure.
Average Customer Rating:
4.431 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
31
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation92%119 out of 129reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 117 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
31
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Pets Useage

05/06/2012
By ,
Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 evenflo expansion gates that I use in our home to keep the Yorkies from entering the other rooms & when we leave we lock them into the large utility room, knowing they will not hurt themselves or destroy anything....I am sure they would also work on children however we do not have any little ones just our Yorkies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Excellent for wide and small opennings

12/25/2013
By ,
Wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm using this for our baby daughter (a walking 10 month old) and we also have 3 beagles and I can say that it works great for both. Great for the value!!! Since it swing both ways on either side and it comes with 4 sets of eye screws we can make it cover two openings with same door. Super easy/quick to install!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

easy to use

06/12/2014
By ,
Cleveland tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to i install works great
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Easy to set-up and use and Sturdy!

04/09/2013
By ,
Honolulu, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate for my porch so my dog (pit bull) won't escape, and it is performing very well. It was very easy to install, only needed to measure and drill 4 holes. It is quite sturdy and works well for a 53" opening. I like it because it can swing both ways or expand/retract and it is easy to open with one hand as advertised.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Evenflo 36" gate

04/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Online order with pickup 2 days later! Installs very easily - 14 year old did it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Great little gate

06/26/2014
By ,
Herriman, Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate did exactly what it said it would do. It's easy to install. I had a particular situation where I didn't want to install it to the wood hand rail post that comes to an end at the top of the stairway so I zip tied a 2X4 to the post and mounted the gate to the 2X4. Works great.
The gate was a little more flimsy than I thought it would be so if my grandson decides to show his strength with it we might have a problem. Otherwise, it's easy to hang, easy to open and close and expands the full 60" as it states.
I was a little disappointed with the shipping. The top rail of the gate is a sliding plastic rail to prevent finger pinching and it got creased on one corner, apparently from being dropped on that corner during shipping and handling. It wasn't bad enough to hinder its operation and once installed it's not real noticeable so I didn't pursue replacement.
All in all, a great purchase for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Pet gate

12/30/2010
By ,
Hotchkiss, Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this as a pet gate for my 2 little dogs. It has been extremely helpful. I have it mounted so that it can block the entrance to the hall or swing around to stretch wide and block the living room. The only problem I've had is that after several months the "hook" that is used to secure the gate closed started to bend. I removed it and replaced it with a sturdier screw in hook (like you would use to hang cups in your cupboard). I have now had the gate in use every day for the past 1 1/2 years and it works great. I just installed another one for my family room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Sturdy gate great for wide spaces

08/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is perfect for for wide openings! Exactly what I was looking for!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

A very helpful product...

08/17/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this to cover an opening too wide for the regular safety gates. It has been great! There are a couple of drawbacks: the gate is flimsy because it is such a wide distance and it is off the ground a bit and the screws will leave holes in your walls. These are things I can live with because the product is serving its purpose and it keeps our our one year old son where he's supposed to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Perfect solution!

06/26/2010
By ,
Port Orchard, Wash.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this Expansion Gate to keep my dog off of our deck while we have company or are dining out there. It does the trick and is attractive as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Quality product

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made, easy to mount, simple operation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Bought for my bunny

06/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had purchased a different gate which I had to return because bun bun could squeeze through the bars...not this one. It's perfect to block off the entrance to his room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Good product

07/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to install and use. Great product -
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Suits our purpose

11/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using it as an outside gate to close off the deck so our 1 year old doesn't go tumbling. It does a nice job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Works fine, difficult to close with one hand

12/05/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this gate after many hours of research, trying desperately to find a swing open gate for a narrow doorway. It definitely does its job keeping my crawling twins out of the kitchen. However, while I've learned how to hook a finger into the gate and open it with one hand, I have not yet figured out how to close it, lining up both hooks, without using both hands.
For my staircase, I use the NorthStates Supergate Easy Swing and Lock and I like it much better. However, for smaller areas that leave you with less options, I would recommend the Evenflo Expansion.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Great Gate

04/18/2011
By ,
Salem, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased to keep our dogs in the kitchen. Works great. Inexpensive when compared to other wide gates. It was easy to install and easy to use. I have 2 kids, ages 2 and 4. They can operate the locking system independantly, so this may not work if you are looking to keep a child this age out of or in a specific area of your home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Great for dogs

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got the gate to keep my yorkie on the deck and other dogs out. The gate is easy to install and easy to remove. Since the gate is not weather proof, I take it in at night and out in the morning. Great buy and well worth the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Exactly as expected

06/15/2014
By ,
SW Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered two Evenflow Expansion Swing gates and they actually arrived 3 days sooner than originally stated. The gates are exactly what I expected and work fine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Perfect for us!!!!

06/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is great quality, works good for our large opening to our downstairs living room. Works fantastic. Hinges are made much better than the model I purchased 5 years ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Works well for large stairs.

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works very well for large stair cases. Easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next