Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Evenflo Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Evenflo Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

The Evenflo Expansion Swing Gate makes your home a safe place for babies. By using this wide opening baby gate, you can ensure that your child does not get out of an area. This gate can be used to restrict access to stairways or other risky places in and around your house. It is an expandable door that can be used for standard openings or for a wide opening as well. This wood baby gate featuring plastic rails can be expanded from 24-inch to 60-inch with simple adjustments. The height goes from 29 inches to 32 inches depending on how wide you open the gate. This Evenflo safety gate has a swing style opening with a latch, which can be undone with just one hand. Convenient for parents and simple to set up, this baby safety gate is a dependable precautionary measure.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
28
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation92%107 out of 116reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 114 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
28
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Pets Useage

05/06/2012
By ,
Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 evenflo expansion gates that I use in our home to keep the Yorkies from entering the other rooms & when we leave we lock them into the large utility room, knowing they will not hurt themselves or destroy anything....I am sure they would also work on children however we do not have any little ones just our Yorkies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Excellent for wide and small opennings

12/25/2013
By ,
Wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm using this for our baby daughter (a walking 10 month old) and we also have 3 beagles and I can say that it works great for both. Great for the value!!! Since it swing both ways on either side and it comes with 4 sets of eye screws we can make it cover two openings with same door. Super easy/quick to install!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Easy to set-up and use and Sturdy!

04/09/2013
By ,
Honolulu, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate for my porch so my dog (pit bull) won't escape, and it is performing very well. It was very easy to install, only needed to measure and drill 4 holes. It is quite sturdy and works well for a 53" opening. I like it because it can swing both ways or expand/retract and it is easy to open with one hand as advertised.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Evenflo 36" gate

04/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Online order with pickup 2 days later! Installs very easily - 14 year old did it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Pet gate

12/30/2010
By ,
Hotchkiss, Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this as a pet gate for my 2 little dogs. It has been extremely helpful. I have it mounted so that it can block the entrance to the hall or swing around to stretch wide and block the living room. The only problem I've had is that after several months the "hook" that is used to secure the gate closed started to bend. I removed it and replaced it with a sturdier screw in hook (like you would use to hang cups in your cupboard). I have now had the gate in use every day for the past 1 1/2 years and it works great. I just installed another one for my family room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Works fine, difficult to close with one hand

12/05/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this gate after many hours of research, trying desperately to find a swing open gate for a narrow doorway. It definitely does its job keeping my crawling twins out of the kitchen. However, while I've learned how to hook a finger into the gate and open it with one hand, I have not yet figured out how to close it, lining up both hooks, without using both hands.
For my staircase, I use the NorthStates Supergate Easy Swing and Lock and I like it much better. However, for smaller areas that leave you with less options, I would recommend the Evenflo Expansion.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Wonderful gates for keeping small dogs contained

04/04/2014
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The gates arrived right on time, and we love them. Having two small dogs, the gates block them from rooms we don't want them in.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

A very helpful product...

08/17/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this to cover an opening too wide for the regular safety gates. It has been great! There are a couple of drawbacks: the gate is flimsy because it is such a wide distance and it is off the ground a bit and the screws will leave holes in your walls. These are things I can live with because the product is serving its purpose and it keeps our our one year old son where he's supposed to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

eventful gate

03/22/2014
By ,
62040
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Came with no hardware or directions I can't use it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Perfect solution!

06/26/2010
By ,
Port Orchard, Wash.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this Expansion Gate to keep my dog off of our deck while we have company or are dining out there. It does the trick and is attractive as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

perfect replacement for a wide opening

03/06/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had an older version of this gate (maybe 15 yrs old) and assumed it was no longer made. Lo and behold, found it at Walmart online! Arrived exactly when promised at our local store. Installed and using in 15 minutes. Is an even better version that our old one. We have a very wide opening from one part of our house into an add on room, so the "doorway" opening is much wider than most expansion gates handle.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Suits our purpose

11/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using it as an outside gate to close off the deck so our 1 year old doesn't go tumbling. It does a nice job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

great gate

02/13/2014
By ,
Newburgh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this gate after I bought a different one for a wider opening . First because of the price and have to say its better then the other one I bought and works great . It is sturdy and well made and I like the latch to open it a lot better then my other gate . I like this gate so much . I would buy another one if they made it to fit a wider opening . Also the top of the gate as plastic which is a nice feature . And the gate slides together to open it for walking through . I might sound stupid putting in all these small features but they make a difference after you have something doesn't do these things lol
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Exactly what I needed

02/26/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is Sturdy and easy to install. I was tired of the tension gates falling over and needed a more permanent solution. I use it for dogs and it is high enough that they can't jump it. It also really does expand very large without compromising how sturdy it is. Worth the money for sure!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

GREAT PRODUCT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

03/01/2014
By ,
springfield, mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS GATE. AND I HAVE THE BIGGER ONE AS WELL. THEY ARE GREAT ITEMS AND THEY ARE USED EVERYDAY WITH OUR GRANDSON.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Best gate ever

02/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used all sorts of baby gates in the past for my dogs, but this is the best. It was the only one I could find that would easily expand to meet a very wide door frame. It's easy to take down for those times we have guests over and don't want to block off our dining room and living room. I actually just purchased my third one for a different area because we love this gate so much. HIGHLY recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Great Gate

04/18/2011
By ,
Salem, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased to keep our dogs in the kitchen. Works great. Inexpensive when compared to other wide gates. It was easy to install and easy to use. I have 2 kids, ages 2 and 4. They can operate the locking system independantly, so this may not work if you are looking to keep a child this age out of or in a specific area of your home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Great gate for pets

02/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We put this at the bottom of the steps to keep the old dog from trying to do the steps. It is sturdy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Love this Gate !!!

02/19/2014
By ,
Vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate to keep my 2 small dogs and 2 cats out of the bedroom. It took very little time to set up and works beautifully ! It's made well, and is just perfect for my needs !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

This is what I needed all along 7 yrs ago

02/16/2014
By ,
AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect gate. expands as needed and moves to cover three different areas
INCREDIBLE price and value!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 103 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next