Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Evenflo Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Evenflo Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

The Evenflo Expansion Swing Wide Gate makes your home a safe place for babies. By using this wide opening baby gate, you can ensure that your child does not get out of an area. This gate can be used to restrict access to stairways or other risky places in and around your house. The wide opening baby gate is an expandable door that can be used for standard openings or for a wide opening as well. This wooden baby gate featuring plastic rails can be expanded from 24-inch to 60-inch with simple adjustments. The height goes from 29 inches to 32 inches depending on how wide you open the gate. This Evenflo safety gate has a swing style opening with a latch, which can be undone with just one hand. Convenient for parents and simple to set up, this Evenflo Expansion Swing Wide Gate is a dependable precautionary measure.
Average Customer Rating:
4.44 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(134 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
32
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation92%123 out of 133reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 136 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
32
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Pets Useage

05/06/2012
By ,
Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 evenflo expansion gates that I use in our home to keep the Yorkies from entering the other rooms & when we leave we lock them into the large utility room, knowing they will not hurt themselves or destroy anything....I am sure they would also work on children however we do not have any little ones just our Yorkies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Excellent for wide and small opennings

12/25/2013
By ,
Wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm using this for our baby daughter (a walking 10 month old) and we also have 3 beagles and I can say that it works great for both. Great for the value!!! Since it swing both ways on either side and it comes with 4 sets of eye screws we can make it cover two openings with same door. Super easy/quick to install!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Easy to set-up and use and Sturdy!

04/09/2013
By ,
Honolulu, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate for my porch so my dog (pit bull) won't escape, and it is performing very well. It was very easy to install, only needed to measure and drill 4 holes. It is quite sturdy and works well for a 53" opening. I like it because it can swing both ways or expand/retract and it is easy to open with one hand as advertised.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

easy to use

06/12/2014
By ,
Cleveland tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to i install works great
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Evenflo 36" gate

04/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Online order with pickup 2 days later! Installs very easily - 14 year old did it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Pet gate

12/30/2010
By ,
Hotchkiss, Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this as a pet gate for my 2 little dogs. It has been extremely helpful. I have it mounted so that it can block the entrance to the hall or swing around to stretch wide and block the living room. The only problem I've had is that after several months the "hook" that is used to secure the gate closed started to bend. I removed it and replaced it with a sturdier screw in hook (like you would use to hang cups in your cupboard). I have now had the gate in use every day for the past 1 1/2 years and it works great. I just installed another one for my family room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Great little gate

06/26/2014
By ,
Herriman, Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate did exactly what it said it would do. It's easy to install. I had a particular situation where I didn't want to install it to the wood hand rail post that comes to an end at the top of the stairway so I zip tied a 2X4 to the post and mounted the gate to the 2X4. Works great.
The gate was a little more flimsy than I thought it would be so if my grandson decides to show his strength with it we might have a problem. Otherwise, it's easy to hang, easy to open and close and expands the full 60" as it states.
I was a little disappointed with the shipping. The top rail of the gate is a sliding plastic rail to prevent finger pinching and it got creased on one corner, apparently from being dropped on that corner during shipping and handling. It wasn't bad enough to hinder its operation and once installed it's not real noticeable so I didn't pursue replacement.
All in all, a great purchase for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

A very helpful product...

08/17/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this to cover an opening too wide for the regular safety gates. It has been great! There are a couple of drawbacks: the gate is flimsy because it is such a wide distance and it is off the ground a bit and the screws will leave holes in your walls. These are things I can live with because the product is serving its purpose and it keeps our our one year old son where he's supposed to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Easy to install and so easy to use.

09/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will be purchasing at least one more gate. So easy to install and use, and accomplishes what I was hoping for - keeping 2 Labs and 2 Goldens out of my study when I need to get work done. Well made gate at a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Indiana
Wonderful product. Easy to install!
Posted 10/18/2014
Bought this gate years ago when my 11 yr. old granddaughter was little. I have now been using it again for the last year to keep my 2 yr. old granddaughter out of the kitchen and bathroom. I bought extra eye screws so I can fasten one side of the gate to one side of the bathroom door frame and the other eye screws to the other side of the bathroom door frame and the closet door frame across from the bathroom so I can either close off the bathroom or the kitchen and bathroom at the same time. My granddaughter can climb over regular baby gates and open doors but so far she cannot open this gate unless the eye screw is turned just right then she is able to yank it open so I have glued the eye screw in such a position that she cannot open the gate. This gate has held up all these years and survived a lot of abuse. The 11 yr. old chooses to climb over the gate instead of opening it so at times she is actually sitting on it to get over. The hooks have bent on one side because of the angle it sits at but this is easily bent back in shape. After all it is 11 years old!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Rick/ gate

09/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it was just like I ordered. fits perfect as it expanded on our stairway to the outside small deck porch. now I can keep my dog with me out there, as I relax.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Perfect solution!

06/26/2010
By ,
Port Orchard, Wash.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this Expansion Gate to keep my dog off of our deck while we have company or are dining out there. It does the trick and is attractive as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

wonderful

09/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works really great. Easy to install and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Suits our purpose

11/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using it as an outside gate to close off the deck so our 1 year old doesn't go tumbling. It does a nice job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Not exactly what I expected, but still works well

08/28/2014
By ,
Livingston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installation was super easy with the directions, just be super careful with your measurements. The gate is really light and very sturdy. Unlatching it is a little tricky, as is re-latching it because you have to lift the gate a little bit to disengage it from the hooks...would not recommend that one-handed. I don't swing the gate out, I just slide it in a little bit to get through and that works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Great Gate

04/18/2011
By ,
Salem, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased to keep our dogs in the kitchen. Works great. Inexpensive when compared to other wide gates. It was easy to install and easy to use. I have 2 kids, ages 2 and 4. They can operate the locking system independantly, so this may not work if you are looking to keep a child this age out of or in a specific area of your home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Sturdy gate great for wide spaces

08/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is perfect for for wide openings! Exactly what I was looking for!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Works fine, difficult to close with one hand

12/05/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this gate after many hours of research, trying desperately to find a swing open gate for a narrow doorway. It definitely does its job keeping my crawling twins out of the kitchen. However, while I've learned how to hook a finger into the gate and open it with one hand, I have not yet figured out how to close it, lining up both hooks, without using both hands.
For my staircase, I use the NorthStates Supergate Easy Swing and Lock and I like it much better. However, for smaller areas that leave you with less options, I would recommend the Evenflo Expansion.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Bought for my bunny

06/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had purchased a different gate which I had to return because bun bun could squeeze through the bars...not this one. It's perfect to block off the entrance to his room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

Excellent Product

02/13/2011
By ,
Middlesex, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this gate to keep our Boxer Puppy that weighs 55 lbs. out of the living room. The room is used exclusively for family get-togethers. Rather than installing it with the screws, we just opened it and have it lean on the walls. We also have a 15 lb. dog and it works well for him, too. The open spaces are narrow enough that he can't get his head caught in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Evenflo - Expansion Swing Wide Gate

easy to install and move

06/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the instructions say to place the bottom eye hooks 6'' off the floor. I put the eye hooks 7'' off the floor so that the gate didn't drag on the floor when it swings open. Works great. easy to use for the whole family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 120 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next