Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Weider Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Weider Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Shipping Note: The Weider Home Gym is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the Weider Home Gym to its final location. Build and tone your entire body with the Weider Home Gym. With 6 muscle-sculpting workout stations including a high pulley, chest press, chest fly, leg developer, preacher curl and low pulley station you have everything you need to start your workout routine with this at home gym. The Weider Home Gym also includes an exercise chart so you can make the most of your workout time and effectively work out each muscle group. Other features include an ankle strap with handle sewn vinyl seats.
Average Customer Rating:
4.015 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(131 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
43
3 stars
14
2 stars
2
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation85%111 out of 130reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
68 Questions | 126 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
43
3 stars
14
2 stars
2
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Save your money for a gym membership

12/03/2012
By ,
Lake Forest, CA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Preface: I'm a 32 year old male with a fairly active lifestyle. Not particularly "fit", but I enjoy the benefits of working out. I bought the "Weider 2980" because I lost motivation to go to the gym and thought the connivence of a home gym would get me back to my ideal weight.
The gym assembles fairly easy. It's time consuming, just pay close attention to the instructions.
unfortunately its a cheaply constructed machine. Horrible if you use heavy weight. The leg press is unusable for me. The low pulley system makes working my biceps awkward and dangerous. Chest fly doesn't feel right either. Looks like I bought a $400, rickety, chest press.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

nice gym

02/12/2012
By ,
parkersburg wv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice gym i like it just started using it so done know to much yet but seems nice
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

whoop whoop

04/11/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great home gym to workout with, it was easy to assemble, its easy to work,
when i recieved my box at the store to pick up it Was ripped at the end and some poles were sticking out and when we got home to check if all the screws and parts were there we found out the preacher curl and the backrest was ripped, but a simple online chat with the weider customer service fixed that problem they shipped me out brand new parts, I have been using this gym for about a 2 weeks now 2-3 times a day and its everything i thought and more! And also for ppl who may be thinking that 214 may not be enough weight.. trust me it is! thats exactly what i thought,
overall this a great home gym, i would deffintley reccomend this to anyone whos looking to get in shape
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Exercise equipment for regular people

04/27/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for Christmas. It took him a couple of months to put it together, which took 4 or 5 hours and two days, he uses it everyday. Our 15 year old son uses it too. I copied the exercise sheets so we could tack the copies up on the wall on the patio, where the machine is, and not have to worry about having to get more copies.
It is good quality for the price and I would recommend it to both friends and family. I have uploaded the copies of the exercise pictures that came with the machine. I'll add 2 in this post and answer another post and put the other two pictures there.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Excellent

09/05/2011
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble; works well; quality product; excellent value
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Weider 2980 Home Gym

01/20/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product had several negative aspects.
1) The locking mechanism for the leg lift had holes that had to be re-drilled because they were too small for the locking bolt.
2) The exercise chart that came with the device was designed for another home gym and nearly half of the exercises described could not be performed on this machine.
3) The exercises that used the lower pulley when you are not on the bench can cause the entire device to tilt backwards and become unstable.
The pluses are that everything else works well and the assembly is not difficult. However, if you are spatially challenged and can't perceive things in three dimensions you may have some difficulty because some of the blow ups do not accurately describe the position of some of the pulleys.
The machine performs as advertised and I would recommend it to anyone who needs to add tone and definition but not to someone who wants to bulk up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Not useful for the general population.

10/04/2014
By ,
SFV, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just about every review about this piece of equipment was spot on. It six hours to assemble and I'm mechanically inclined with an entire garage of tools at my disposal. Several parts were mislabeled and looked similar in the instructions guide which created a need to disassemble pieces multiple times. If you lay everything out in the beginning, you should be fine however and it can be completed in about 3 - 4 hours with the right tools as a one person job. The actual workouts are horrible. The machine feels very unbalanced and does not give you a full range of motion, which fails to target the desired muscle groups. The amount of weight is not ideal for anything other than rehabbing an injury, or keeping muscles from becoming rigid if you're suffering from any type of ailment. I've been into fitness since the mid nineties and basically, this is not the machine that one would recommend for anyone that's "serious" about getting in shape or maintaining their shape.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

home gym

12/23/2009
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very eazy to install if you own a couple of socket sets ( the instuctions say chanel locks i believe) it took my wife and I 3 1/2 hour to assemble, however I work in a factory where I am a machine tech. so im used to taking machines apart and puting things back to getter. The instuctions where very good and nuts and bolts where laid out on cardboard then heat shrik was laid over them with the numbers of the nuts and bolts. Then instructions and these cards went together very well. We have had the device for about three weeks now, Im 37 my wife 36 we have already started noticing the results and certainly fell beter all ready. I would recomend this product to any one wanting to loose a litte weight and tone up there body but not for those whom are looking for serious body building results.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Good 4 $$ Spent

06/19/2010
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is very good. I like the colors, the whole structure is very reasonable. Not too heavy not too light either. Just be ready to spend a good 5 to 6 hours to assemble it if you are not a handyman person. The cables could be a little bit confusing. Just follow the diagram shown in the book and you will be safe. I think is a great product for the money spent. I wish It would have brought more weights. You have about 214 pounds on leg resistance force but for your arms and chest is just about 120 pounds. At least with this product I won't have to be paying monthly membership fees on a gym neither wasting gas on my trip to the gym. I recommend this product.
Leslie A-G
Tampa, FL
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Great weight machine

11/27/2010
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Weider weight machine 15 years ago that I got rid of when I moved. When looking to replace it I naturally went with another Weider since I had such good luck with the last one. I'm not disappointed! This thing is solid and is exactly what I was looking for. Took a full day and a half to assemble by myself but the instructions were easy to follow and all the nuts and bolts were packaged and labeled correctly. Also, everything fit! I'm thrilled with this product. My only complaint is that the pin that you use to change the weights is difficult to get in and out because there's a ridge on it that seems unnecessary. I may try to buy a plain pin as a replacement.
Overall -- two thumbs up! I highly recommend this weight machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym
09/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this home gym in December 2010 for $199.00 and put it together by myself with no problems. I am very mechanically inclined. I liked the equipment until things started to break and I had to get replacement parts. One plastic pulley is $60.00 which I have already replaced after 4 months and now I need to replace the cable and it is $102.00. These two replacement parts cost almost as much as what I paid for the entire gym set. I am well under weight for this equipment (female - 115 lbs). I am not replacing the cable. I can not recommend this equipment.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Weider 2980 Home Gym

03/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money this is an excellent value! I was quite impressed with the packaging and enclosed assembly instructions - over the years I have assembled many different products and this was by far the best - the assembly process is broken down into logical steps, the parts are separately packaged according to each step, the instructions and corresponding images are very easy to follow, and there is also a separate index in the back of the manual listing all the parts by name (and how many of each) if one has any doubts as to which parts are which...
The assembled gym is sturdy, and very easy to operate with regard to changing the weight setup to accommodate a variety of exercises - this particular home gym is more than enough for our needs of staying in shape, without an extreme financial expenditure!
Definitely a Good Buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Nice gym...Schedule a day to get it together

07/13/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This took a few hours to get together, but after that it is really great. Works well.
-Make time to get it together, it will take about 4-6 hours.
-Do not overtighten any parts with plastic, they will snap!
-Do not let your husband try to put it together without instructions, it won't work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

It could have been better.

06/27/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The height of the equipment is short that you cannot stretch your arm fully when working on the pull. I am 5'7" and I have to kneel on the ground just to use it the way it should. Also, the parts are not numbered. Only the nuts and bolts are numbered, that's why it's so difficult to assemble. I tried to look at the picture hoping that it could help me out, but all pictures are front views; there's no back views. Luckily there's a good ssamaritan in YouTube who uploaded a step by step method on how to assemble it. Other than that, the product is good and sturdy and made of (seems to be) good materials. I've only had it for 2 weeks though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

shipping issue

02/05/2010
By ,
Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When picked up box was ripped open and then taped up. Naturally we had great concern that parts would be missing. This proven to be the case. One critical part was missing . We ordered from the manufactor and received in a few days. The set up took us almost 5 hours. The most confusing part was telling which cable was which. The directions said "identify arm cable". The three cables were all in a package together with no hints to tell which was which. It does matter since they are different lengths. The directions should give more information like length or color code the cables. The screws and bolts on the other hand were are labeled and shrink wrappped which was great. The unit in self works very well and meets expections. We would recommend it for an at home medium workout.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Quality piece of equipment at a wonderful price

01/16/2012
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this for the home gym I am setting up and after weeks of research I decided to take the plunge and purchase this weight set. I have to say so far I am very happy with it. We did site to store pickup to avoid having to pay shipping. The box fit in our mid-size Suv just fine it was rather large and heavy as to be expected so make sure to have someone with you to help. The box was in great shape everything was individually wrapped and I loved that all the little screws, bolts, etc were all packaged neatly and shrink wrapped together. All of the pieces were there and the assembly was pretty pain free. It took about 3 1/2 hrs to assemble with 2 people working on it. It is pretty clear on how to do it and for the cables it has the length listed so just use common sense on that one. I love the gym set so far and it seems really durable and sturdy. I like that there are so many muscles you can work on it, it works even more than I expected. I would definitely recommend this to anyone and for the price you just can't get any better than this. I normally don't write reviews but I am just so happy with this purchase. The only thing that I was kinda meh about was the fact that the chrome on the back two poles that the weights slide down onto were pretty scuffed up and some parts were flaking off probably from them rattling around in shipment. It's not to big of a deal because I imagine over time they will take some abuse with the weights moving up and down all the time. Just thought I should mention it in case someone is picky about that. It could have just been a one time thing. I look forward to saving a ton of money by not having to pay for a gym membership :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
Gold's Gym Rolled Equipment Mat
4.4 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Good value for a home gym

01/31/2011
By ,
Athens Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this gym, so the wife, who takes karate could tone and build power in her arms and legs. It took the two of us about 3 1/2 hours to put it together. I recomend you lay everything out, before you begin and read thru each step as you go. Its a lot easier with a helper, even is he or she just holds things as you tighten them. For us, we both put the items together and she tightend the bolts as I got the next piece ready. This seemed to work well for us and things went fast and smooth.
I had no problems understanding the directions and was able to get all the pulleys and cables in the right place the first time.
Its a good buy for the money, used properly, you can tone and build fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

A well-made home gym for a beginner.

02/04/2012
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The item arrived less than a week after ordering it. The box was beat up pretty bad and held together with a lot of clear packing tape, but everything was there and in perfect condition when opened and inspected. Take a few minutes to read the instructions once or twice and to identify each part before assembly. It took me about 6 hours over 2 days to assemble the gym by myself, and that was without rushing. Have someone help if you can, though. And don't skimp on the grease, there's plenty provided to grease all the areas that require it. Fit and finish is good, all parts went together well and the gym looks great when fully assembled.
I use this gym every other day and I really like it, right now it has enough weight for me to get the results I'm looking for. I use it for about an hour, along with some free weights I use while doing my routine. My wife and son also use the gym and they like it a lot, so it gets used every single day. You have to be careful and remember to place your foot on the front of the gym when doing some leg exercises otherwise the whole machine can tip over, and the cable seems a bit too hard to pull when doing curls on the preacher attachment, but these are minor quibbles. I use free weights when doing curls on the preacher attachment now, that works better for me. Otherwise you'll notice results very quickly when using this gym.
After 5 months it still works and looks great. This home gym is great for beginners or for people who are interested in getting into good shape without massively bulking up, there are a lot of exercises you can do to develop all the major muscle groups. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Nice!

01/29/2011
By ,
Miami, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Box was smaller than expected. All items came in one box. It takes a few hours to finish assembly. Follow instructions very carefully (don't try going just by the pictures, read the instructions - really!). Have the right tools, good tools will really help and accelerate screwing bolts and nuts.
The product itself works fine for now (had it for 1 week). Very smooth, nice colors. The only con I would say is that the seating heights are not adjustable. I use big pillows to adjust height (I'm 5 11)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

CAREFUL

11/24/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product was fine and it works great. The problem was with the handling of my item. The box had broken open and there was one part missing. It is expensive to order a replacement part but now that i have it its fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Santa Maria, CA
Missing Part
Posted 03/08/2012
You say it is expensive to order a replacement part. Did YOU have to pay for it or did the shipping company pay for it, since they caused the damage that led to the missing part?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next