Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Weider Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Weider Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Shipping Note: The Weider Home Gym is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the Weider Home Gym to its final location. Build and tone your entire body with the Weider Home Gym. With 6 muscle-sculpting workout stations including a high pulley, chest press, chest fly, leg developer, preacher curl and low pulley station you have everything you need to start your workout routine with this at home gym. The Weider Home Gym also includes an exercise chart so you can make the most of your workout time and effectively work out each muscle group. Other features include an ankle strap with handle sewn vinyl seats.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(124 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
40
3 stars
13
2 stars
2
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation85%105 out of 123reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 109 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
40
3 stars
13
2 stars
2
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Save your money for a gym membership

12/03/2012
By ,
Lake Forest, CA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Preface: I'm a 32 year old male with a fairly active lifestyle. Not particularly "fit", but I enjoy the benefits of working out. I bought the "Weider 2980" because I lost motivation to go to the gym and thought the connivence of a home gym would get me back to my ideal weight.
The gym assembles fairly easy. It's time consuming, just pay close attention to the instructions.
unfortunately its a cheaply constructed machine. Horrible if you use heavy weight. The leg press is unusable for me. The low pulley system makes working my biceps awkward and dangerous. Chest fly doesn't feel right either. Looks like I bought a $400, rickety, chest press.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

nice gym

02/12/2012
By ,
parkersburg wv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice gym i like it just started using it so done know to much yet but seems nice
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Exercise equipment for regular people

04/27/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for Christmas. It took him a couple of months to put it together, which took 4 or 5 hours and two days, he uses it everyday. Our 15 year old son uses it too. I copied the exercise sheets so we could tack the copies up on the wall on the patio, where the machine is, and not have to worry about having to get more copies.
It is good quality for the price and I would recommend it to both friends and family. I have uploaded the copies of the exercise pictures that came with the machine. I'll add 2 in this post and answer another post and put the other two pictures there.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

whoop whoop

04/11/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great home gym to workout with, it was easy to assemble, its easy to work,
when i recieved my box at the store to pick up it Was ripped at the end and some poles were sticking out and when we got home to check if all the screws and parts were there we found out the preacher curl and the backrest was ripped, but a simple online chat with the weider customer service fixed that problem they shipped me out brand new parts, I have been using this gym for about a 2 weeks now 2-3 times a day and its everything i thought and more! And also for ppl who may be thinking that 214 may not be enough weight.. trust me it is! thats exactly what i thought,
overall this a great home gym, i would deffintley reccomend this to anyone whos looking to get in shape
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Excellent

09/05/2011
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble; works well; quality product; excellent value
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Weider 2980 Home Gym

01/20/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product had several negative aspects.
1) The locking mechanism for the leg lift had holes that had to be re-drilled because they were too small for the locking bolt.
2) The exercise chart that came with the device was designed for another home gym and nearly half of the exercises described could not be performed on this machine.
3) The exercises that used the lower pulley when you are not on the bench can cause the entire device to tilt backwards and become unstable.
The pluses are that everything else works well and the assembly is not difficult. However, if you are spatially challenged and can't perceive things in three dimensions you may have some difficulty because some of the blow ups do not accurately describe the position of some of the pulleys.
The machine performs as advertised and I would recommend it to anyone who needs to add tone and definition but not to someone who wants to bulk up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

It could have been better.

06/27/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The height of the equipment is short that you cannot stretch your arm fully when working on the pull. I am 5'7" and I have to kneel on the ground just to use it the way it should. Also, the parts are not numbered. Only the nuts and bolts are numbered, that's why it's so difficult to assemble. I tried to look at the picture hoping that it could help me out, but all pictures are front views; there's no back views. Luckily there's a good ssamaritan in YouTube who uploaded a step by step method on how to assemble it. Other than that, the product is good and sturdy and made of (seems to be) good materials. I've only had it for 2 weeks though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

home gym

12/23/2009
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very eazy to install if you own a couple of socket sets ( the instuctions say chanel locks i believe) it took my wife and I 3 1/2 hour to assemble, however I work in a factory where I am a machine tech. so im used to taking machines apart and puting things back to getter. The instuctions where very good and nuts and bolts where laid out on cardboard then heat shrik was laid over them with the numbers of the nuts and bolts. Then instructions and these cards went together very well. We have had the device for about three weeks now, Im 37 my wife 36 we have already started noticing the results and certainly fell beter all ready. I would recomend this product to any one wanting to loose a litte weight and tone up there body but not for those whom are looking for serious body building results.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

first site to store experience

06/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love walmart.com , use it all the time for everyday items, delivered to my home ( work). I lost 40 pounds with the treadmill I bought at my walmart store, weslo, had it now for 5 months and it works great. So I now need to build muscle, and as always, before I can spend any money, extensive research must be done, and it was. You cannot beat this Weider gym deal. We just built it, took about 4 hours, with patience, not as bad as I expected. It works great, feels sturdy, and again surpassed expectations. No buyers remorse, it looks hot and I cant wait to bulk up. The site to store experience was my first but won't be my last. Very easy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Great weight machine

11/27/2010
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Weider weight machine 15 years ago that I got rid of when I moved. When looking to replace it I naturally went with another Weider since I had such good luck with the last one. I'm not disappointed! This thing is solid and is exactly what I was looking for. Took a full day and a half to assemble by myself but the instructions were easy to follow and all the nuts and bolts were packaged and labeled correctly. Also, everything fit! I'm thrilled with this product. My only complaint is that the pin that you use to change the weights is difficult to get in and out because there's a ridge on it that seems unnecessary. I may try to buy a plain pin as a replacement.
Overall -- two thumbs up! I highly recommend this weight machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Good 4 $$ Spent

06/19/2010
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is very good. I like the colors, the whole structure is very reasonable. Not too heavy not too light either. Just be ready to spend a good 5 to 6 hours to assemble it if you are not a handyman person. The cables could be a little bit confusing. Just follow the diagram shown in the book and you will be safe. I think is a great product for the money spent. I wish It would have brought more weights. You have about 214 pounds on leg resistance force but for your arms and chest is just about 120 pounds. At least with this product I won't have to be paying monthly membership fees on a gym neither wasting gas on my trip to the gym. I recommend this product.
Leslie A-G
Tampa, FL
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Broken, Shipped Back

07/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I haven't gotten to use this yet, because it shipped broken and pieces were falling out so I had to send it back and I'm currently waiting for another. The Walmart employee that got it for me because I had it shipped to the store said that it happens often with this weight machine. Hopefully it doesn't happen again. But goodluck.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Good Value

07/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good system for a relatively low price. Requires considerable time and patience to assemble - literally hundreds of parts. Main drawback: the User's Manual does not explain what exercises can be done on this system, or how to do them. Weider throws a one-size-fits-all exercise poster in the box, and it indicates "you may not be able to perform all exercises." Go figure!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Weider 2980 Home Gym

03/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money this is an excellent value! I was quite impressed with the packaging and enclosed assembly instructions - over the years I have assembled many different products and this was by far the best - the assembly process is broken down into logical steps, the parts are separately packaged according to each step, the instructions and corresponding images are very easy to follow, and there is also a separate index in the back of the manual listing all the parts by name (and how many of each) if one has any doubts as to which parts are which...
The assembled gym is sturdy, and very easy to operate with regard to changing the weight setup to accommodate a variety of exercises - this particular home gym is more than enough for our needs of staying in shape, without an extreme financial expenditure!
Definitely a Good Buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Weights

07/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lift and excersise everyday
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym
09/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this home gym in December 2010 for $199.00 and put it together by myself with no problems. I am very mechanically inclined. I liked the equipment until things started to break and I had to get replacement parts. One plastic pulley is $60.00 which I have already replaced after 4 months and now I need to replace the cable and it is $102.00. These two replacement parts cost almost as much as what I paid for the entire gym set. I am well under weight for this equipment (female - 115 lbs). I am not replacing the cable. I can not recommend this equipment.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Nice gym...Schedule a day to get it together

07/13/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This took a few hours to get together, but after that it is really great. Works well.
-Make time to get it together, it will take about 4-6 hours.
-Do not overtighten any parts with plastic, they will snap!
-Do not let your husband try to put it together without instructions, it won't work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Happy with my purchase

06/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pain to put together. Good machine and great number of work outs can be done. Semi - slow shipping and box pretty banged up.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Good Price, Good starter gym

06/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The unit itself went together in about 2 1/2 hours. It works better than expected although I can't review its longevity just yet. The only negative is the workout chart. It has nothing to do with this model. It's basically useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Great!

06/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very sturdy. Easy to follow instructions. Delivered a week ahead of schedule. Some pieces were missing. Customer service was very helpful and I had those in about a week. I'm only disappointed it didn't come with a leg press feature. I thought it did. Overall great value and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 112 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next