Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GE GE Electric Skillet

GE GE Electric Skillet

A necessity for any busy kitchen, the GE Electric Skillet comes in handy in multiple ways. First, it creates additional cooking space when entertaining. Second, its portable design makes it simple to tote along on trips. Finally, it offers an energy-efficient way to quickly cook, reheat, or warm foods. This portable electric skillets non-stick interior and exterior ensure easy food release and hassle-free cleanup, while its cool-touch handles allow for safe transport. This non-stick frying pan is dishwasher safe with temperature control removed. It also comes with a tempered glass lid that not only traps in the heat and moisture, but also lets you check on the food while it is cooking
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation58%32 out of 55reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 27 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE Electric Skillet

Do not buy!

12/13/2012
By ,
Davenport Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The non stick surface bubbled up and peeled as soon as I started using it. I was very disappointed in this product. I have had many over the years, but this was the worst I have ever had, and cost me the most.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GE Electric Skillet

quality not good

04/10/2011
By ,
massachusetts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a mom living in small apartment with husband and 2 teenagers. I use this skillet a few times a week and have had it for a year. within 6 months the nonstick started to scratch and peel, and no metal utensils were ever used in it. I had the previous GE model for a few years and it didn't peel. We ended up replacing the old model with this one because the temperature control ended up breaking. I was able to use that one a lot more frequently because it was much better quality than this one. the temperature control on this one is much more difficult to regulate to just the right temperature. because it is digital and you must use the preset temp. buttons instead of a dial to get the exact one you need for example, a simmer instead of a rolling boil. A year later this is still the same model GE skillet that walmart offers, so I will not be purchasing a new one. I liked the brand name in the past but obviously will be searching for other options. many other brands have removable pans now.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GE Electric Skillet

I LIKE IT!

03/01/2010
By ,
Sedalia, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LIKES: I've owned several electric skillets. This one is by far the largest in terms of capacity. I've owned this unit for nearly 2 months, and use it about four times a week. I often make goulash - and 5 pounds of hamburger fits with room left over, and cooks quickly, then is ready for freezing in smaller plastic containers. It's perfect for eggs and bacon/sausage, and I've yet to burn anything - so I believe the temperature is evenly applied. The legs and "feet" are truly non-slip, non-skid and what a blessing that is!
DISLIKES: The temperature control needs "numbers" indicating approximate temperatures - not just a series of lights.
This unit has come in VERY handy when cooking for medium size groups - such as band members on weekends - it's quick to setup, comes to temperature rapidly, and is a breeze to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GE Electric Skillet

Worst Skillet Ever!!

04/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We use this skillet a few times a week and have had it for 6 months. Within 4 months the nonstick started to scratch and peel, and no metal utensils were ever used in it, an it was always hand washed. We had the previous GE model for a few years and it didn't peel.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GE Electric Skillet

DON'T BUY!!! TERRIBLE PRODUCT

12/11/2012
By ,
Winter Haven FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ok, I never write reviews but had to on this one. Please don't waste your money. I bought the product about a year ago and when I opened it from the box it had a very "new" plastic like smell. I assumed it was from the teflon being new. Since then I have cooked on it several times and every dish I cook on it has to be thrown away because the food absorbs the "new plastic" like smell. I have wasted so much money in food and meals I have had to throw away. Please dont waste your money like I did. I called the Wal-mart GE customer service # 877-207-0923 and they said since my unit did not have a date code imprinted on the bottom of the skillet they could not help me and I am out of luck. I explained to them that the date code not being on the bottom isn't my fault and they said it did't matter that it wasnt their fault either. They were not willing to help. So between a terrible product and terrible customer service from Jimmy. I would NOT recommend you to buy this product at all . Stay away from GE Skillets.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GE Electric Skillet

Nice appearance and easy to clean.

11/21/2009
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this recently as a gift and, never having owned an electric skillet previously, was anxious to try it out. It is so deep which is a nice safety feature when little kids are around. I love the clear lid and the steam vent. It would take talent to burn food in this also. Super easy to clean since has teflon coating. Only thing I would change is to put digital temp setting on the dial. Low-Med-High is good, but sometimes you have to be more specific than that with 375 / 400 etc which is where a dial would be nice like on the griddles. Definitely would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fantastic!
Posted 08/19/2012
This is the second GE product I have. Wonderful and fantastic are the words I wolud describe. The temp is ACCURATE and delivers with no flaws. My compliments to GE!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for GE Electric Skillet

A piece of junk from day one.

12/04/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased my first one on sale several months ago because I needed it that night since my 10 year old one finally gave up. After cooking one meal the nonstick coating came off. I returned it and got a new one with no problem. The new one has been sitting in my kitchen cabnet since I got it and tonight I decided to use it for the first time, everything worked fine till I went to do dishes I found that the nonstick coating on this one is bubbled up in several large areas. This one I can not return since I have had it sitting around too long before I used it. I treat my cooking utensels with great care and this is not acceptable in a new unit. I could go to my local thrift store and buy a used ten year old one for 3 or 4 dollars and end up with better quality than this piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GE Electric Skillet

The Worst

12/03/2009
By ,
Beckley,WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The worst small appliance I have ever bought!
I have had this skillet for a year now and will never buy a GE small appliance again if this is representative of their products .
Just wiping the thermostat after use, and the letters/numbers disappeared in just a couple of months.
The heat is not uniform at all frying pork chops or bacon or most anything and you are constantly turning it. Otherwise part would be raw and part burnt!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Millry, AL
Dissatisfied
Posted 09/20/2012
I have had my skillet for just a little over a year, and have not used it much at all. The power cord has already messed up. The med hi setting stopped working. I loved the size of the skillet and the multiple temp controls. But for the money, I feel it should have lasted longer.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for GE Electric Skillet

Would not buy!

04/23/2011
By ,
Delaware
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this product for less than 1 year and would not recommend at all. All the numbers have come off of the control. Also, everything is beginning to stick. I can not even cook bacon without it sticking. The whole inside where the heating unit is you can see that the coating is coming off.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GE Electric Skillet

Junk

02/18/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After having this product for less than 10 months the nonstick is coming off and we NEVER use metal in it. It was very disappointing and I would not recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GE Electric Skillet

GE product 169216

10/07/2009
By ,
Tucker, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This electic fryer has a woefully inadequate and miscalibrated electical control. It has no specific visual digital numerical readout on the temp control plug or anywhere else.
To be specific: first, it has absolutely no digital electrical temperature visable numerical readout. Second the med hi setting most likely cannot reach 375 degrees F. At least it did not ever get the temp of veg cooking oil above 350 degrees F which is the logical and accepted temp required for frying flour- coated room temp chicken, not even when set above the med hi setting to the hi setting, either before or after the chicken was placed in the hot oil.
Third, the quick temp boost heating setting, which should have gotten to temp up to the max 415 degrees F before dropping the temp down to the major temp setting of med hi per booklet info, never worked even after 16 minutes had lapsed. It should have succeeded after 8 minutes.
The only sane method of properly and safely frying cut up chicken parts---3 boneless breasts and 11 drummettes--- with my particular GE model 169216 was to turn this particular newly purchased (today 7Oct09) to hi and fry 1/3 of the batch for 5 minutes on one side, change the temp setting on the plug to med hi, and fry the other sides for an additional 5-6 minutes. The entire operation of frying 3 boneless chicken breasts and 11 drummettes required doing three batches of about equal amounts of input chicken parts counted piece wise.
This promising GE fryer did not solve the hassle of putting veg oil into a big frying pan and manipulating a top stove electic eye's dial control while watching a thoroughly proven dial thermometer's dial to ensure the required temp was reached before putting in the chicken parts and afterwards to insure that the temp didn't rise or fall based on comon sense of a medium intelligent chicken cook radically or effectually or marginally.
I have no tolerance for poorly engineered equipment, nor should I.
I have used this once. Only once. The options given for how often I used or use this product did not and does not include "have used this only once in my lifetime". Forms tee me off. This is an example.
James M Hicks, Tucker, GA aged 67 and former and retired chemist and medical technologist.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Carter Lake Iowa
Electric skillet
Posted 07/13/2012
I have no problem at all with this skillet, the fact of no numbers, is not a problem, I know how I want my food to turn out and the fact of numbers or no numbers is a minor, I have always used my on temp setting, I prefer a med heat rather in electric skillet or stove top, as a nice medium heat gives the chicken a beautiful golden brown, and the glass lid lets me see the color and the color of the jucie not only on chicken but all meats, a very good skillet for the price.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for GE Electric Skillet

Cheap pan

03/06/2011
By ,
Seneca, IL.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I knew that this had a non-adjustable temperature control I would not have purchased it. The pan is the correct size but the inability to adjust the cooking temperature between 300 and 375 degrees is unacceptable. Why can't these companies make a good that has and accurate temp control and keep it adjustable. I would even pay a few dollars more if the product had a digital thermometer telling me what temperature it was at. I have used this once and will try to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GE Electric Skillet

Does not hold up!!

05/03/2011
By ,
Jasper, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I bought this skillet, it was awesome. Looked great, cooked great, and I loved it. Now that Ive had for about 3 months, the nonstick surface on the inside of the skillet is peeling off. I have been VERY careful about what I use to cook and clean it with and am VERY upset that it didn't hold up longer. Spend the money and get a better one...or else you will be replacing this one anyways :(
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
818
I COULDN"T AGREE MORE
Posted 07/11/2011
I was going to write my own review, then I saw yours and you said it just the way I would have. Owned less than 6 months. Love it, used often, careful, peeling and now sticking. Need new one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for GE Electric Skillet

Don't buy it

01/04/2011
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Could not get the digit control to work. Instructions said push control to selected degree of heat and WAIT 5 minutes. Waited 10 minutes and nothing happened. Used the quick start and it heated up fast but only stayed on a few minutes....Took it back!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GE Electric Skillet

Do Not Buy

09/19/2010
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst electric skillet I have ever had or used. Food sticks on the heating element and overcooks. The only way to cook is constantly stir and even then it will stick to the sides. Do not buy this product.
Very disappointing product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GE Electric Skillet

Love it but....

02/09/2011
By ,
Las Vegas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LOVE this product....but the non-stick is NOT holding up. I never, ever use metal utensils and do not put it in the dishwasher. The entire lining of non-stick is bubbling off.
Very sad.....this is my favorite thing to cook in.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GE Electric Skillet

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

12/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this skillet for 2 years now, and I absolutely love it! It cooks the food evenly, and the cooking surface has not warped, unlike a previous electric skillet I owned. It it easy to clean up and the non-stick surface is also very durable. Yes, it does only have 5 heat settings, which at first I thought would be a problem, but it hasn't been an issue at all. I find I cook most things on the middle setting and it does a great job. The first setting is great for keeping foods warm after you are done cooking. I have not owned a skillet that I like better than this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GE Electric Skillet

Meets Expectations

11/03/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There have been many negative reviews about this skillet so perhaps I lucked out. I've owned this skillet for about 2 years and while the teflon is wearing near the center, I've learned that it MUST be cleaned while still hot. The heating coil runs around the perimeter so the center does not heat up like it does on it's edges, but I find that to be an advantage. I mainly cook eggs and sausage in it most every day. This pan has held up real well. For the price I believe you get what you pay for. Again, I think the key is to wipe out while still hot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GE Electric Skillet

Not very durable.

08/17/2011
By ,
Tenn
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my camper. One of the legs broke (they are plastic), the 2nd time I used it. And because the legs and handle are made together, it wasn't repairable. The next one I purchase will have metal legs, at least.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GE Electric Skillet

Nice skillet!

12/30/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have owned this skillet for about 8 months now and love it! Unfortunately, yesterday the thermostat controller started acting up. It would randomly switch which temp or mode it was cooking in. Then it just quit working. Today it worked for about 10 minutes before it messed up again. Trying to find a replacement power source for it, but no luck. On the plus side...we have not had any problems with the non-stick finish peeling or chipping. It's a very durable skillet. Just unfortunate that our controller stopped working. I an calling GE tomorrow to check for replacement. If not avail, I will just purchase another identical skillet at Wal-mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1 2 3 Next