Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brinkmann Brinkmann Gourmet Charcoal Smoker and Grill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Brinkmann Brinkmann Gourmet Charcoal Smoker and Grill

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%12 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brinkmann Gourmet Charcoal Smoker and Grill

It is the best of smokers

11/17/2012
By ,
Olive Branch, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had one of these smokers for over fifty years and they are the best. I am now going to purchase my fifth one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+18points
Review 2 for Brinkmann Gourmet Charcoal Smoker and Grill

Arrived Early, In Good Condition and Easy Assembly

06/23/2013
By ,
Davenport, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having owned and loved my original Gourmet for about 18 years, it was time for a new one. The workmanship and materials are pretty much the same as they were 18 years ago, which is nice since most mfgs tend to cheapen things to keep the price down. Assembly went well with no tricky issues. Although I doubt Brinkmann will ever see this, I wish they'd stop using slotted bolts and go with something like a Phillips head. Slotted makes it easy for the screwdriver to slip out and scratch the smoker's finish. Also, I would have no problems spending $3 more if they were to use stainless hardware. This ensures no rusting for those who like to leave their smoker outdoors all the time. Next up is seasoning, then its first smoke. Since it looks like my original one, I am not expecting any problems. Also, if you get one, check the Web for easy mods that will improve its performance. For example, doing the charcoal grate mod will result in using less than half the amount of charcoal! Very pleased so far with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 3 for Brinkmann Gourmet Charcoal Smoker and Grill

Great product

03/22/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this product. I had one before years ago and was afraid I wouldn't be able to find it again. I am thinking about buying a second one just so I will always have one if they decide to stop making it. I take the top part off and start the charcoal in the bottom part and so far I haven't had to adjust the charcoal, but just knowing that all I will have to do is lift the top part off to add or adjust the charcoal is worth every penny I paid for this product. We had another charcoaler that cost more and only my husband could operate without burning the food we cooked on it. I've already used this one three times this week. We threw a big piece of Mesquite wood on top of the charcoal and since it was away from the food, I didn't burn anything. I also love the Hunter Green color I chose for it. You can't go wrong here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 4 for Brinkmann Gourmet Charcoal Smoker and Grill

Great smoker.

01/15/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The smoker arrived slightly damaged. Dent on the dome cover. Smoke chamber, dome cover and the charcoal pan arrived slightly out of round probably due to rough delivery. Easy to assemble. I prepared the smoker as per instructions. I made no modifications other than to add a temperature gage to the dome. I smoked a 9 lbs boston butt for 11 hours. It was great. Minimal fussing with the charcoal and water pan.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+9points
Review 5 for Brinkmann Gourmet Charcoal Smoker and Grill

A great beginners smoker

06/25/2013
By ,
Gettysburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this smoker as a recommendation from a friend who has one. This smoker is great for a beginner or for someone who does not smoke food that often. Granted the temperature gauge on the smoker could be nicer but for the money this does the job. Was easy to put together and I have smoked Ribs and Brisket since buying the smoker and both were excellent. I would advise to have a digital meat thermometer to test the foods internal temperature when finished cooking but definitely a great smoker!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Review 6 for Brinkmann Gourmet Charcoal Smoker and Grill

Great for the beginner or occasional smoker

01/09/2014
By ,
South carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had a regular brinkmann smoker and decided to upgrade to the gourmet as it offered a few more things. Spent a few hours making some modifications to it and think it will perform well. Have not used the product yet but am excited to soon. For the price and cost of modifications it's a great smoker for the beginner or someone who doesn't want to shell out hundreds for the higher end models, like myself (smoking only a few times a year). The product will work with no mods but is definitely not as efficient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 7 for Brinkmann Gourmet Charcoal Smoker and Grill

packing/shipping problems

06/09/2013
By ,
jacksonville FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the reviews before I ordered and decided on the gourmet smoker for the convenience of maintaining the fire. This was the first smoker I had in the early '80s. I couldn't find it in the store anywhere so ordered online.
I also, had a damaged part, the water pan was dented bad enough to crack the ceramic coating. After calling customer service they sent a new one within a week.
I am happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 8 for Brinkmann Gourmet Charcoal Smoker and Grill

Very good charcoal smoker for the money

12/30/2013
By ,
Tylertown, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought one for my Son-in-Law. Had mine since the 70's and still using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 9 for Brinkmann Gourmet Charcoal Smoker and Grill

Time to start smoking!

01/13/2011
By ,
Yooper, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First smoker. Went with a charcoal smoker given there ruputation of making a quality product.
Came as described. Easy to assemble. Looking forward to smoking some fresh venison in it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-10points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Brinkmann Gourmet Charcoal Smoker and Grill
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5