Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

RCA RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

The RCA DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player lets you view your favorite movies and programs in beautiful detail and definition. The RCA DVD Home Theater System provides an optical input that connects to your digital TV, satellite or cable box for a full surround sound experience. Plus, the RCA home theater system has a digital AM/FM tuner and 250 watts of total power. Your RCA DVD Home Theater System has 250 watts of total power and features a digital AM/FM tuner, Dolby Digital 5.1 surround sound processor, line-in connection for iPod and other portable audio players, and AUX connection for connection of additional analog audio sources, such as an audio cassette deck or a VCR. This stylish RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player is designed to compliment any room decor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.471 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(1232 Reviews) 946
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
454
4 stars
286
3 stars
118
2 stars
134
1 star
240
Customer Recommendation66%808 out of 1,230reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
223 Questions | 826 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
454
4 stars
286
3 stars
118
2 stars
134
1 star
240
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

The one I received turned out to be a 'dud.'

05/06/2012
By ,
Joliet, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This home theater system came as part of a bundle package that included an RCA 55" LCD television. The DVD player was a nice feature, but higher volume levels left a lot to be desired. And less than a week after installation the remote wouldn't communicate with the home theater system. It wouldn't do anything. At first I changed the batteries, thinking that they were duds. That wasn't the case. And since the remote operates everything on the theater system, I was left with no choice to contact Walmart for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Great Entertainment System 4 The Price

04/12/2014
By ,
Kingman AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this product love the bass it has especially when you got neighbors who you want to quite lol.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Great Buy For The Price

02/15/2011
By ,
Adirondacks,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for a good thearter system for our townhouse and found it here! This system was very easy to hook up and sounds great. (I hooked it up by myself, while watching my 3yr & 10 month old kids!!) I used TWO HDMI cables and now our PS3, Xbox 360 and surround sound are all hooked up to our TV! We are very happy with this product and its price!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Startlingly impressive

08/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The speakers, subwoofer, and DVD player are very well made and look very nice. They come very well packed, with the instructions manual, RCA cable, and FM antenna. Read the manual before connecting to your TV. To get the best from the equipment, use digital cable connection, the picture quality is beautiful. Learn how to use the remote control, adjust picture quality and sound level of all speakers to your taste, load Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom, and you will feel around your room the true quality Dolby 5.1 surround sound. Thank you RCA for making such quality equipment and to Walmart for selling it for an excellent price. Get the popcorn and enjoy your home theater!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Returned

03/22/2014
By ,
GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this system as part of a bundle with a 50 in tv. I thought it was a pretty decent system until I set it to 5.1 output. If there is any delay in changing channels or if the sound is muted it made a very annoying buzzing sound. In addition, I had to buy a converter piece because the tv had digital out and the receiver only accepted optical input. If you're going to bundle a tv and receiver why have the consumer by additional parts to make it work. Sure I could have used standard rca cables but what's the purpose of buying this type of system only to use stereo output. I was able to overlook this issue since I had already purchased the bundle but the Dolby digital 5.1 issue was a deal breaker so I returned it and purchased a sound bar with subwoofer that uses hdmi. Before returning, This was used in my bedroom. I would not recommend as the sound source for your main tv. I would invest in something better for that purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

happy with the purchase

01/10/2011
By ,
Pasadena, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for Christmas. I was a little bit concerned that it wouldn't be that good considering the price was so low, but I decided to go ahead and buy it because Walmart has a pretty flexable return policy. I could always return it if it didn't sound good. It turned out that I didn't have to return it after all. The sound is great and my husband is very happy with this product.
A special note- we did have to buy additional, longer wires for the speakers so that we could stretch them behind our sofa. The wires that came with the system were not long enough to stretch the length of my livingroom. THis means they are extremely short because I live in an apartment and my livingroom is not big at all. So you may want to go ahead and buy additional longer wires at the same time you purchase this surround sound system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Great Deal!

10/04/2009
By ,
Syracuse, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a 24'' RCA boob tube flat screen that i purchased about five years ago. It would be nice if i could afford a flat screen, but i'm in college and my 24'' has a good picture for not being a LCD or Plasma. I wanted surround sound to go with this, so i purchased this model at another store for $99 bucks. It is great for surround sound. It rumbled the room when the movie reached its peak sounds. People need to remember that this is a home theater and not for Music. If you want something to pump out your tunes then this is not for you, but if you're looking for something to spice up your home movie experience then i would reccomend this to you. Make sure you read the booklet and adjust individual channel volumes. You might want the surround speakers up louder than the front ones, and the sub woofer should be on "powerful" to get the best contrast between treble of the 5 spearks and the 1 subwoofer. You might experience a tinny sound when you first put it together, but adjust the different channel volumes and place them right and you'll solve the problem. you can't beat this item for the price. Especially $99 that i paid on sale.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+254points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/06/2014
can I set this product up to allow sound from my tv into the sound system speakers
0points
Customer Avatar
franklin, ohio
surround sound
Posted 08/24/2012
I have been following the directions to a t and still cannot get any sound out of it...very disappointed
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Very good system for price

04/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For $80, this was a very good price for the surround sound, dvd and radio. Overall, an excellent purchase though have 2 minor issues:
1. Sound is quite loud even on volume 1. While not a problem during normal operating hours, when first waking up early morn I have to shut off the system and use TV speakers. Not a colossal issue.
2. The dvd player does not seem to allow the subwoofer on cds. This really changes how music sounds. On all my cds, the subwoofer simply did not activate. Works fine on dvds though, so not an issue with the system. All I did to circumvent this was connect the subwoofer wires into the center speaker area as well. Subwoofer is weaker, but perfectly acceptable.
Regardless, still an excellent purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Awesome Power!!!

03/26/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This theater system is quite powerful and the sound quality is remarkable!!! Very easy to assembly, close to child's play to put together. New and beautiful sleek look, it's appearance can fool the unlearned eye that has never spent a lot of money on a system...one may think just from the style of it and the sound that you must have spent lots of money on this system. Remember it is very powerful, be mindful of your neighbors>>hint, hint(^_^).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Extreme value for the dollar

12/02/2011
By ,
Missoula, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Note: You will need to purchase an audio cable for this or you can use an old a/v cable from an old TV (the kind that connected VCRs and DVD players on the pre-digital TVs). If you use the latter, you will only need to utilize the red and white cable endings (not the yellow). You will also need one HDMI cable to go from the player to the TV. If you elect not to use an audio cable, you will only be able to hear sound from the RCA speakers when you view DVDs through the player. The audio cables will enable you to hear surround sound via the RCA speakers coming from your new TV.
When you open up this package to assemble, you will need to wire the speakers into the back of the DVD player. Don't worry, the've made it bryan (me)-proof. The wires are color coded, and the process is simple to figure out. I have never done anything close to wiring in the past, and it took me less than 5 minutes to complete. It is really easy.
While I still haven't had much of an opportunity to get the sound just the way I like it, I can say that the quality of sound is much better than what I was expecting given the price that was paid. It isn't Bose quality, but I didn't pay Bose prices for it.
This unit is a good deal for what you get. We purchased it as part of a package deal with a Sceptre 42" TV. I sure hope this helps someone out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Works exactly as I expected.

08/30/2014
By ,
San Diego CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this unit to replace a far more expensive Samsung that died. If anything, the RCA unit has better sound and picture quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Excellent

08/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Superior quality

01/16/2011
By ,
Wilkesboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been wanting a home theater system for sometime but could not find an affordable one. I purchased this product based not only by price but also on the brand name reputation and experience I have with RCA and it paid off. This system provides theater-quality sound, was easy to setup and is very user friendly. I would recommend this system to anyone wanting better quality sound for their entertainment system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

The Basics

03/05/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item is for someone who wants a traditional five speaker stereo system. The DVD player is the real value. It plays wonderfully in both picture quality and sound. Wow. However, on a scale of quiet to very loud, this system stops short at loud. Definitely not enough volume for a house party, but enough to feel the effects of watching a movie. The surround sound speakers are wired only, so it would take too much reconstruction for me to hook them up. It would be much better if they offered wireless back speakers. Instructions and set-up were a breeze. Definitely for someone who just wants the basics.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+307points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Roseville, MI
It wasn't made for a house party.
Posted 03/14/2012
For the price you can't beat it, sound quality is great for movies & tv. If you want good sound at louder volumes or with a crowd buy a better system.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

not what I expected

05/26/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've been using this product for two weeks and it sounded good. I turned it on "tuner" this morning to listen to the radio while I worked. I started hearing a lot of static type noise and then suddenly there was no souond. My mom said that she heard static type noise yesterday when she had the TV on. I have not been able to get the system to function since. I have no idea what happened. I did not have the system playing loud nor did I have the subwoofer on. I just had it in a normal low tone. I think the sound bar was at 9 or 10. I will be contacting Walmart to see what I need to do next. i've alread tried everything that I know to do - checked all connections - everything is connected properly and tightly. I even tried unpluging the unit and waited 30 seconds and replugged it back in. That didn't work either. I don't know if I just got a "lemon" or what. I've had problems with Walmart products in the past. My prior TV purchased from Walmart quit working after 1 year and after 6 years needed to be replaced.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Surround Sound

08/21/2014
By ,
East Hampton, CT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really can't give this a fair rating...I got totally disgusted when I opened up the box and read the directions...not all of the necessary cables were included, which meant dropping everything and running out to buy them. The directions, I thought, were not clear. This may be a very nice sounding unit, but I will never know....I'm returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

You Get What You Pay For (That's Good)

02/20/2014
By ,
Cuero TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I didn't quite know what to expect when ordering this budget system. I got small satellite speakers with no Back (Rear/Behind) speaker, but the audio is clean. The control over the Sub is fantastic for those late nights when you don't want the kids to feel every explosion or orchestra score. Solid design, although the satellite speakers are deceptively tall, the actual driver is miniscule, but appropriate for my small living room. If you are looking for a premium home theater system, this isn't it. If you are looking for solid bang for you buck, then look no further. A great little system that does everything I need it to do for half the price of the fancy boys (Sony, Sennheiser, etc.)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

easy to set up

07/25/2014
By ,
Phenix City, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instructions made it easy for me to set up. Sound quality is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

disappointed in quality

07/21/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The sound is no louder than a standard high def tv. Am/fm radio is sub par at best. And you have to buy a audio cable and hdmi cable just to hook it up. Not a great product. Already returned mine
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

great for beginer

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yet to use it but i have the believe that it will work perfectly for me
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 947 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  48 Next