Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

RCA RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

The RCA ANT800 Flat Digital Outdoor Antenna can receive both local HD and other digital broadcasts for free. It is widely compatible with all digital and analog TV frequencies for better signal reception. There is no need of any manual adjustments to receive quality signal reception. Designed for flexibility, it can be easily mounted on a wall. This compact outdoor antenna also includes mounting hardware and a power adapter.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation81%17 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 54 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

Great way to avoid high satellite or cable costs

11/22/2012
By ,
Fort Myers, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took it out of the box and stuck it on the fence and I get about 18 channels in HD as clear as a bell.
I get all the major networks (not CNN which is no loss for me) and some really interesting ones like Me TV. I then bought the indoor version hoping to get similar results but so far no joy. I was truly amazed at the quality of the reception. It doesn't get any better and happy that the purchase price is about a month's cost for a subscription service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

Outdoor Antenna?

12/31/2013
By ,
Deerfield Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this antenna based on size and price. I have an indoor RCA antenna which works reasonably well (weather dependent). This outdoor antenna seems to be similarly constructed except it comes with mounting hardware. Easy to mount and set up. You may have to reposition it and scan a couple of times to maximize your channels. It is pole mounted to my roofline, about 11ft from the ground. The reception is slightly better than the indoor.
It is well thought out and the design seems to be sound. My only concern is how long will it last? Since I live in Florida, I anticipate a short lifespan due to sun, wind and rain. I think it would be more reasonable to say that this antenna is made to be mounted inside of an attic or protected space. If you live up North, you would need to mount it taking into consideration the collection of snow or ice on the broad surface.
Overall, reasonably priced, good reception, so-so construction.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

RCA ANT800L antenna receives 25 local channels

11/13/2013
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 1080i HD picture quality on my Toshiba HDTV is fabulous, much better quality than the cable company service we were using. It took about an hour to install in my attic, plus another hour to run 100' cable through the attic. According to http://transition.fcc.gov/mb/engineering/dtvmaps/ there are 12 channels in our area, but this ANT800L picked up 25 channels. Before purchasing this unit I called RCA and asked for their recommendation, because of the tall trees and homes nearby in direct line with local stations. ABC, CBS, and NBC local affiliates are about 12 miles from our home and all 3 come across perfect. I'm cancelling our cable tv service, saving us $77/mo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

Good product, but not suitable for long range

12/07/2013
By ,
94547
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is easy to install and don't have to point to a specific orientation. But did not receive signals to stations 20 miles away. Replaced with ClearStream 2V Long-Range HDTV Antenna - from Walmart. The ClearStream works much better in my area
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

Satisfied

01/15/2014
By ,
Redding, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am satisfied with this product. The material isn't the best but performance meets and exceeds my expectations. I wouldn't recommend mounting it outside the house because the elements will destroy in a short amount of time because it has a plastic casing. I mounted it in my attic, spliced and ran coaxial cable to both living rooms and receive 24 digital channels that are very clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

could not receive NBC station signal 10 mi. away

12/28/2013
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I live in the 74133 zip code (Tulsa, OK) and the ANT800 would not pick up the NBC affiliate station signal from only 10 miles away. I tried mounting it in the attic above the garage and then outside on the roof using a PVC mast (cannot be mounted to metal surface). Both locations yielded identical results relative to the NBC station signal. Outside was marginally superior for the ABC station signal. My interest in selecting this antenna was to acheive a very clean install (i.e. nothing hanging on the wall) by using the pre-existing coax already running throughout the home. According to the TV's scan, it was picking up 32 channels but audio & picture would continually be corrupted due to weak signal on NBC. So, this is going back to Walmart and I'll just have to go with a couple of Mohu Leafs--they get sterling reviews...can't go without Leno.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

Works, and is unobtrusive

10/02/2013
By ,
Hudson, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The antenna was easy to install and orientate, and unobtrusive in appearance. For such a simple looking device, I was surprised to see it pull in over 22 high definition stations. We live fairly close to the Cities, so almost all of the stations come in clear and sharp, a couple do pixelate from time to time (this is really not a high-gain antenna) but in fact, the other stations do seem sharper than when CABLE was connected!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

Good value, compact size, easy to install

04/09/2014
By ,
Cheyenne Wy.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This antenna is far less noticeable than my old style was. Reception really is almost omnidirectional and with only a little adjustment, I got all local stations and no longer have to rotate the antenna for specific stations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception
12/19/2012
By ,
MM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great antenna. Even works in doors in a stucco house. So happy to be free of cable and see everything in HD for free.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

outdoor antenna

03/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if it doesnt work out for an outdoor antenna you can allways mount it on the wall as an end table
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

Picked up fewer stations than RCA indoor antenna

11/13/2012
By ,
Tucson AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I tried multiple locations on the exterior of my home and the antenna picked up about 25% fewer stations than an indoor RCA antenna, so returned it.
Recommends this product? No
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

a good choice

09/28/2012
By ,
Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rated as a top preformer so I gave it a try. Hookup was easy. I get the stations I expected except for the Fox network . Since that network is in the same vicinity as the others, I don't understand why I don't get it. Stations come in strong except when the windy. I don't get that either since the antenna is mounted very sturdy. In all a good choice for getting in local station's without a large standard ugly and large metal type antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

Worked GREAT right out of the box!

09/26/2011
By ,
Newport, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was able to receive 15 different channels and was perfect pictures on all of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

Easy installation

11/09/2013
By ,
Lansing, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only problem I found was that I cannot get the antenna to lay flat, parallel to the ground. The adjustments are too large and the antenna points up a little or down a little. I don't know if this affects the signal strength that it receives. I also don't know if up a little or down a little would get better reception. Because the signal is free and the number of channels we get , it is worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

An excellent product for local reception.

01/04/2013
By ,
South Bend, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I installed this to support a new HD television that I purchased for my mother. Her home is located 15 miles from four area stations and seven from another. I mounted it twelve feet up on the side of her house and she get great reception. We didn't even connect the signal amplifier that came with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

getting 16 channels

11/02/2013
By ,
bay area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great 16 channels
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

Didn't work

08/20/2013
By ,
Tolland MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately this did not work at all for us. WalMArt took it as a return with no problem except we were out the $ shipping charge. Sure wish it did work! My brother in NH got one and it worked really well for him.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

Antenna good but no reception in my area

11/03/2013
By ,
Tujunga, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The antenna was good and easy to install but my area tv antenna reception is poor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception
12/29/2012
By ,
Longview, Tx.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good antenna very easy to assemble and hook up
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA Outdoor Antenna for Digital Reception

Picking Up Channels 60 Miles Away

08/28/2013
By ,
Galien, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced old style antenna with this RCA. Decision was based on high reviews of the RCA800.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next