Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mossberg Mossberg 500 Slug Barrel

Mossberg Mossberg 500 Slug Barrel

Average Customer Rating:
3.222 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation67%6 out of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mossberg 500 Slug Barrel

MOSSBERG 500 BARREL #92056 PORTED RIFLED 12 GA. 2

01/11/2012
By ,
seattle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I PURCHESED THIS NEW BARREL ON MAY 2011. IT WAS NEW IN THE CARTON . IT SAT IN MY GUN CASE UNTELL 1/12/2012. I DIDN'T CHECK IT OUT CAUSE IT WAS NEW . MY GUNES WERE DO TO BE CLEANED AFTER SETTING AROUND FOR A YEAR OND A HALF. WELL CLEANING THEM I THAUGHT I WOOD OIL MY NEW BARREL TOO. I GOT LOTS OF BLACK OUT OF THE NEW BARREL AND THE CARDBOARD THAT WAS TOUCHING THE BARREL BLACK AND RUSTY,THE INSIDE OF THE BARREL WOOD NOT COM CLEAN AFTER MULTIPUL CLEANINGS! THERE IS STILL SOMETHING IN THE BARREL?? I'M GOING TO TRY AGAIN BUT A NEW UNUSED BARREL SHOULD'NT HAVE SO MUCH STUFF IN IT ! I THINK IT MUST HAVE BEEN A RETURN THAT WAS USED??
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Riverside, CA
Huh??
Posted 12/06/2013
Sydney..
You posted a review about cleaning the barrel the day before you actually cleaned the Mossberg barrel? I would suspect that after leaving the barrel in the package with paper touching it for seven months...in a wet and high humidity area like Seattle...was what caused the rust!
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/28/2013
Spellcheck works. It's just packing grease.
0points
Customer Avatar
MA
Uhhhhhhhhhh try again....
Posted 11/18/2012
Alot of new guns come packaged with a black goo-like coating to protect the firearm from during shipment. Any gun owner who actually takes pride in his/her firearms knows that the gun/barrel/new parts need to be thoroughly cleaned before using them. Try using hoppes number 9 solution, itll take whatever "rust" you found right off and you may want to reconsider where you are storing your guns - it may be overly humid or have just have moisture causing them to rust.
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 2 for Mossberg 500 Slug Barrel

Good deal but

04/21/2011
By ,
Lowcountry, South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It would have gotten 5 stars on Meets expectations had it had a built in sling mount like the original 28" and 18 1/2" barrels that came with the gun. Of course mine is like 20 years or so old so things most likely have changed. That said I would more need a sling when going hunting with this barrel than I do with the 18 1/2" installed for home defence. I own several firearms and a bow or two :) I purchased this barrel because I am at an age (or condition) where pulling a bow to pratice is starting to hurt joints. I feel I can withstand the recoil however I know I can no longer get out there and track game especially through the low swampy land on the back of my property. Most my shots are 50-75 yards and I figure a good hit with this and a deer will go down hard besides in the south we have had hogs move in and I wanted a little more firepower. Aside from that this was a lot cheaper than a new gun and makes the home defence firearm actually get some use rather than sit and collect dust.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mossberg 500 Slug Barrel

Excellent barrel!

01/15/2010
By ,
Riverside, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value and accurate barrel! I put the Bushnell Banner Dusk to Dawk 1.75-4X scope on mine and it works great! Being ported helps reduce recoil a lot but I went ahead and replaced the factory recoil pad this year with a Decelerator pad as my 500 is over 20 years old now.
Having the scope mounted on the barrel is the best way...that way it stays with the barrel when you switch them and never have to sight it back in again!!!
Highly recommend this barrel for slug shooters!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mossberg 500 Slug Barrel

Good barrel, but with a problem.

05/18/2009
By ,
Branson, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I picked my barrel up from Wal Mart after using the ship to store feature, fast, and saved on shipping cost! I took the barrel home, unpacked it, and installed on my shotgun, only to find that the cantilever scope mount was bent, and not parallel with the receiver. I contacted Mossberg, and they replaced the barrel, no problems, even payed for all the shipping. I should have unpackaged the barrel and taken a better look at it when I picked it up, but hey, it's all good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mossberg 500 Slug Barrel

Product returned

08/31/2010
By ,
Saltillo, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After I opened the package and removed the barrel from its' plastic-on-cardboard pak, I noticed right away it had plentiful scuff marks. These scuff marks just happened to correspond with the assembly points of my Maverick 88 shotgun. I immediatley looked into the bore and discovered rust. The barrel had been previously installed, used and shot mutiple times and then returned to Walmart and re-sold. The store associate couldn't believe that it happened until he looked at the bore. Since my sales receipt was only an hour old--no more questions. Open the package before you take it home.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mossberg 500 Slug Barrel

Slug Barrel

07/25/2010
By ,
Venice, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product.......Great Price.....Free shipping (site to store) Can't beat that !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mossberg 500 Slug Barrel

Excellent

02/04/2010
By ,
Manchester, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I did not purchase my barrel at Walmart, I have had a few Mossberg shotguns. These cantilever barrels are tack drivers. Mossberg is way under rated. You won't find a better shotgun for accuracy at any price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mossberg 500 Slug Barrel

Good barrel for the price

06/25/2013
By ,
Chicago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a slug barrel for my 500 and this fit the bill.Came quick and even has the rail system for mounting scopes on top.Nice touch!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mossberg 500 Slug Barrel
11/20/2012
By ,
Mogadore, Oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Simply the worst barrel I have ever seen. The barrel is barely rifled and has many imperfections in the steel you can see when you look through barrel after cleaning (almost looks like like polished scaling). I have tried many brands including remington core lokt, hornady sst, remington sluggers, and federal ammo in this barrel and no way near even a 4" group at 60 yds. That is pathetic! You may save money because mossberg is cheap but I got what I payed for in this barrel.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Riverside, CA
Not True!
Posted 12/06/2013
I consistently get 1.5-inch groups at 50 yards with this barrel. Mossberg quality is excellent and stand behind their products 100 percent.
Make sure the barrel is tightly secured to the magazine tube...if it's not, then tight groups will be impossible!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)