Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mossberg Mossberg 500 All Purpose Field Shotgun .410 Bore

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mossberg Mossberg 500 All Purpose Field Shotgun .410 Bore

This gun from Mosberg will always shoot straight and aim true.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation80%4 out of 5reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mossberg 500 All Purpose Field Shotgun .410 Bore

excellent overall value

01/10/2012
By ,
Dewitt, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gun a few days ago and shot it for the first time today. very impressed. smooth tight slide action (does not rattle),very accurate,light weight,well balanced,shoulders sweet. love the dual bead sights. finish is nice, and a cool gold (colored) trigger too. nice looking gun. wish more people would go .410 bore as to drive the price of ammo down a bit. Fun to shoot and an excellent value for the money. I highly recommend it for youngsters,women, and full grown men alike. can't wait to take it hunting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+310points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Richmond VA
12, 20 & New 410
Posted 01/29/2012
I bought this shotgun to complete my set of Mossberg 500's. This was by far the best purchase lately. I purchased it from Walmart for about $50 less than my regular gun shop. I found out it was not a good idea to shoot slugs with a fixed full choke. Called Mossberg and ordered a "I-C barrel at a super price. The 1st time I took my wife deer hunting, she wanted to use it. She loved it, light to carry, very accurate, and she shot everything from slugs to bird shot. (Didn't see any deer that day.) What a "GREAT SHOTGUN"! Now I have to buy another one, since she said I fit her like a glove! You can not get a better pump shotgun, even at twice the price. KR
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mossberg 500 All Purpose Field Shotgun .410 Bore

This is a great gun but...

04/23/2013
By ,
Haines City Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finding 8 or 9 shot is impossible. I can find the #6 everywhere but I cannot shoot #6 at my club. The price for the shells is double that of all my other guns. I love the action, and everything about the gun, but the shells are sending me to the poor house. It is almost like all the manufactures switched over to .410 hand gun ammo and forgot about the weekend skeet shooters.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Review 3 for Mossberg 500 All Purpose Field Shotgun .410 Bore

Mossberg 500 .410 pump is a lot of fun.

10/13/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two Mossberg 500's. One is a 12 gauge and the other is a .410. I wanted to buy a .410 youth for my grandson. Wal-Mart did not have a youth on hand but a full size .410. I just swung it up to my shoulder just to look at it. It felt so great I bought it. I love the little .410. The only draw-back is the .410 shells are very expensive and over twice the price of 12 gauge shells. I plan on getting a MEC shot shell reloader for the .410. I have saved 550 empty shell casings to reload.
I saw on YouTube where a man was reloading .444 Marlin cases with shot to shoot in his .410, putting a wad on the end and sealing it with Elmer's glue. He said it was cheaper to reload .444 Marlins because they lasted longer. However, the length of the .444 Marlin cases is only 2.225 inches instead of 2 1/2 inches.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 4 for Mossberg 500 All Purpose Field Shotgun .410 Bore

Solid

09/20/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this gun......have only popped three times......seems to be a radical gun!
Very loud! Neighbors will certainly hear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 5 for Mossberg 500 All Purpose Field Shotgun .410 Bore
12/20/2012
By ,
Enterprise,Al.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I took this gun to my nearest range. They would only let me shoot .410 slugs in the range. I became totally aggravated with this gun because everytime i tried to eject a shell and rechamber another round it would get hung up and I had to always dig the shells out manually. i would hate to have to depend on this gun while someone is breaking into my house. If anyone has any suggestions for this problem I would be glad to hear them,otherwise i guess i will just use my old single shot breech action or my 40 caliber semi-automatic.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per year
-35points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
West Columbia,SC
Posted 07/08/2013
You told us nothing about the shells you were using. If they are handloads you should first check the length of the shell. I would save them for someone with a single shot or double barrel weapon. Next if they are old shells or have been stored in the trunk of your car during the summer months they can melt or sag.This is very unusual because these guns are tested and shot with proof shells before they are packed. I own one of these and I bought it at WalMart too. If you have broken it down for cleaning I would take it to a gunsmith to make sure you put it back together correctly. I have never heard of anything like this from my friends that have bought these for their wives and children.
+8points
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/10/2013
You need to call Mossberg and get a couple replacement parts. The. 410 has an issue where a couple of rails didn' get polished right. Check youtube. It is about a 5 minute fix once you get the parts.
+8points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)