Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

The Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV features a brilliant 1080p Full HD picture for your viewing pleasure. Use the included USB adapter to connect wirelessly to the Internet. The wide screed of the 1080p LCD HDTV provides for wide viewing angles. The two 6 x 12 cm speakers with 10 w/ch give a very good quality sound output. With the help of the Internet Connected HDTV you could view more than 191 channels. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sanyo 46" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation70%45 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

Would definately not recommend

03/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this TV two years ago and it is now history, picture started going dark on one side and eventually covered the whole screen. Took it to a repairman and he said it can't be fixed. I apparently I got one with a bad screen and there is nothing to do but trash it. The sound was never good on it. I think a TV this size and price should last longer than two years!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+48points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Redford ,MI
Posted 11/26/2012
I also purchased a 46" Sanyo Television but paid almost $800.00 for it lasted a little over two years I worked 12 hours a day so it didn't get much use the right side of the television is all thin lines then and the picture is upside down for 20 minutes after you turn it on, I just have to deal with it because I cant afford to buy a new one, Sanyo is GARBAGE, I called the store where I got they said there is nothing they can do about it,
+1point
Customer Avatar
Winter Garden, FL
@Louisianamommaof2
Posted 05/11/2012
Did they have smart TV's 2 years ago? I think you might be commenting on the wrong tv.
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

Great price for a good TV

05/04/2013
By ,
Naples FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my first Sanyo, a 47" LCD 1080i, in 2007 and at first we thought it was going bad but found out it was actually the cable itslef pixelating. This was our living room TV up until recently because we upgraded to the new Sanyo 55" LCD 1080i HD model. Both my kids have the 32" 720p in their rooms, one being 2yrs old the other a week so they are a little different, one a little more upgraded but both are great. The one thing I can't stand is the remotes look like they light up or glow but the don't! My 55" is actually has all black and grey buttons while two others have the big bulky square remote and the newest 32" has a nice little one. Other then that I have had no issues with any of these units and refuse to pay more for a bigger name brand just because it may have a few extra features. These sets always go on sale at Walmart and that's when I get them. If your looking for something nice, simple and reliable this brands for you.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

Did not work at all

12/22/2011
By ,
Bolingbrook, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this 46' Sanyo TV from walmart.com as it was only $549, and I thought it was a great price. The unit arrived on time. I took it out of the box and started setting it up. The first thing I noticed that the setup screens did not work. The cursor had a mind of its own and would not obey the commands issued through the remote control. The cursor kept scrolling across the screens and it was impossible trying to get it to Auto program. I called Sanyo tech support. The guy on the phone was clueless. He was reading out from the manual which I already had. He then escalated the issue and said that I would get a call back in 24 hours. I never did. After a day I called back. The agent (a different one) tried to do some troubleshooting, which never worked, as the cursor did not obey any commands from the remote. He told me that he would escalate it further. I told him to forget it. I re-packed the TV and returned it to my local Walmart store for a refund. I then purchased a Sony 46' TV, and it worked right out of the box.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+74points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Great Tv
Posted 10/31/2012
I purchased this television it has worked flawlessly. Great TV
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

I won't do it again!

07/19/2012
By ,
Columbia, MO.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This television worked well out of the box. I followed the directions and was happy with our purchase even though the picture left a bit to be desired. 7 days later the television stopped connecting to the internet. That's the good part!
I contacted Sanyo help/service. In fact I've contact 3 times in the last 5 days. I'm told I need to be contacted by their "level 3 tech", and that I "would be contacted the next day, within the next 24-48 hours". That of course makes no sense. Still no contact, no reason for no contact except "they are analyzing my problem", how I'm not sure, since no one has contacted me to troubleshoot the problem.
The product is sub-standard and the technical service is the absolute worst. I'll never buy another Sanyo product. Anyone can produce a lemon. Also, anyone can tell the truth and offer truthful answers to customer's questions.
Off to my nearest Wal-mart store to return tomorrow and try another product line!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 5 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

Good TV for the price,Great TV if all optons work!

01/10/2012
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had to do an in store comparison on the 42” model because the 46" was not in stock in the store and I ordered on line. The picture is good, sound is great but there is a slight delay in remote response & the usb ports are a bit tight to plug into. I received the TV a week ago and was excited about the wireless internet feature and viewing videos through the usb with the intentions of streaming Netflix and watching movies stored directly on a flash drive. (the main reason I choose this model) Unfortunately the TV will pick up my wireless signal but won’t connect, and I can view pics but videos or movies will show in the folder but will not play. I called customer service a day later & he was no help and said he would pass it on to upper management, who called 2 days later @ 9am while I’m @ work no where near the TV & told me they would call in the evening, still waiting. Bottom line, good TV bad customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 6 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

Excellent tv!!

01/05/2013
By ,
Arlington, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was almost afraid to order this because of the bad reviews. But the price was so good and I have waited so long for the prices to come down on the big tvs that I had to try it. I don't know if the other people had a different tv or what. But this tv is perfect. My other one is a Samsung 1080p 120mhz. I can see no difference in the quality of the picture and that one cost me 1500 dollars several years back. You would never know this had been refurbished, whatever that means. It comes like new out of the box. It is easy to set up and if not you can call Sanyo customer service and they will help you. I had a few questions and they were very nice. Make sure you point the remote at the lower left hand corner of the tv where the green light is. You can't do wrong with this tv, similar models are from 700 to 1000. I think Wal mart has a great price and a great sale in this tv and I am very glad I got it for myself for Christmas. Bring on the super bowl! Yes it is great for watching football on!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

WARNING: DO NOT BUY

07/01/2012
By ,
Centeral, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is junk! I purchased it from Wal-Mart is Feburary 2011 it was just over $700. Just over a year later the sound started increasing and decreasing unvoluntarily! Then, it started turning on and off on its own. These problems were inconvient but they soon subsided. We couldn't take it back because the warrenty was up and it was past Wal-Marts 30 day policy! Just resently, the screen started skipping; like you were channel surfing. The only difference is that it was staying on the same channel! After about 15 minutes that picture finally came in normal. The real problem is that the only button on the TV/remote that works is the on/off! Now, when you turnt the TV on, it just a black screen!!! It is not even two years old yet!! Save your money and buy a different brand!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 8 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

Excellent TV

12/23/2012
By ,
Wichita Falls, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture quality...The picture on our 46" Sanyo is top notch. The eyes of my wife and I couldn't detect any noticeable difference between the under $500 Sanyo and the much more expensive Sony's, LG's and Samsung's, and we looked hard at all of them. Weight...For a 46" it's very light weight. I was expecting a wrestling match bringing the 46" inside our home. But, my wife and I had no trouble at all manhandling it from the bed of our pick-up to the bedroom. The stand...The 1 piece stand is solid plastic but works like a champ. Set the stand on the floor and slowly drop the TV on. Then, connect the 4 supplied screws and it becomes as solid as a rock. If you think setting the TV on the stand is hard, you're wrong. Piece of cake. Sound...I seen a few reviews saying the sound wasn't good. Well, I guess those reviewers have a different Sanyo 46" TV then what we purchased. The sound on ours is every bit as good as our $2,050 Samsung in our living room. I have no reservations at all giving this TV a 5 star.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 9 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

Just bought this t.v last night

10/05/2012
By ,
South Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was reading reviews and most of them were positive and troubles only seemed to be with the remote. Unfortunately I was disappointed as soon as we set it up. The picture is blurry and we even played with all the settings and it still didn't meet our expectations. The sound is just not very good. It sounds like someone talking through a small tunnel. The only positive thing is we only paid 478.00 but overall I would rather spend that extra $100.00 on a t.v that meets my expectations. So if you are looking into buying this t.v I would really weigh the pros and cons. Do you want to wait to buy a new one or can you get over the low quality of the sound and picture? I am about to return it right now after less than 12hours of buying it. A waste of time really.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Review 10 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861
12/29/2011
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After searching for the right price for a flat screen with all the bells and whistles that I wanted, I found this TV. It is great! It comes with the stand, a wireless USB connector and I after a 15 minute easy set up, the TV found all all Digital and Anolog TV stations. A few minutes later I had activated my netflix account with the TV to watch Netflix online! Overall, I am very pleased with this TV. You can not beat it for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 11 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

didn't last

07/20/2012
By ,
El Cajon, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was thrilled with this tv for months, but now I get black strilps that extend from the right of the screen sometimes. Other times I have a strip about 6 inches wide that has a 'snow' effect overlaying the photo on that side. These 2 problems started in the last month. At first, when the tv had been on for a half hour or more, then the picture returned to normal. Now the right side is messed up all the time. I did not get the tv on sale, and got it when it first came out so I paid $1000 (Ouch) and now I have to replace it..would NOT recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 12 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

It is JUNK!!! Buyer Beware!

09/16/2012
By ,
Jackson TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this TV Feb 2011 right after the 1 yr was up. It started turning off by it's self while watching netflix or a dvd. Called Sanyo and was told to do lots of things!! Nothing has helped Tv is still turning off, I did a internet search & found this web site. www.consumeraffairs.com
found 345 complaints about these Sanyo Tv bought from Walmart & Sanyo isnt helping at all to fix them and parts for them running months!! on waiting for them & 100's of dollars to fix!!
LOVED it at 1st now it is just a waste of money!! I dont have the money for a new one. Wish I would of seen the reveiws from internet sooner :( should of lasted more than 14 months extended wartenty dosnt help when you have to wait MONTHS for it to be fixed
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 13 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

DO NOT BUY

08/25/2012
By ,
Stephenville, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product in December 2010. In June of 2011 it started randomly turning off. Prior to this point it had worked flawlessly and I was extremely pleased with my purchase. But, the issue persisted. In particular it increased in frequency when using Xbox 360. Now, if you are playing Xbox, it will turn off within two minutes.
Researching issues I found out that it is a design flaw in Sanyo televisions with the control board. I contacted Sanyo and the first question they asked was if I purchased the extended warranty. Of course I didn't. I expected the television to last longer than 19 months. To my dismay I was told the television would need to be repaired, that I would be responsible for the repair, and the nearest Sanyo repair location was 110 miles from my residence. Are you kidding me!? I called the repair shop and got the scoop. It was just as the other complaints had detailed the part was a design flaw and necessitated replacement at a cost of $637! That's almost what I paid for the television!
Now I'm stuck with a TV that less than two years old that can't be watched and costs more to fix than what a new one would cost. I will NEVER purchase another Sanyo product!! I would advise you to do the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

best tv i have ever owned

07/18/2012
By ,
greeneville, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture quality is incredible, HD is sparkling clear...awesome. Called support at Sanyo to help with setup, knew it would be easier than bumbling through myself...answered promptly from service center in America (CA), was extremely helpful and patient, and walked me through everything. NICE to have internet capable and ready with included dongle, not having to have another piece of equipment simply to stream video is great, and added to the value! Has been a joy to watch. I have another HD tv, but this picture is incomparable. Before, I could see a difference and begrudgingly paid for HD service, but with this TV, I would never give HD up unless I absolutely had to. Can't wait to watch the upcoming Olympics on this tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

Don't buy Sanyo products!!

02/23/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a 47' Sanyo and it was doing good up until it hit its 2 year mark. The screen started having black and white lines on one side, now half of the screen flickers black. I emailed Sanyo Costumer Service and it was the worst Comstumer Service ever. Never apologized for their product failing me after only 2 years. Their emails back were literally only 5 words. After complaining again with bad Costumer Service they sent another email with a repair guys number, I called the guy and the guy told me to fix it would cost more than the tv itself, that it was best to buy another. I was so furious I contacted Sanyo again. This time my email was sent to the main headquarters and they DENIED me any extended warrenty for the tv. A manager called me and basically told me there was nothing they could do. So there goes money down the drain!! If you don't feel like replacing tvs every 2 years, I suggest not buy Sanyo!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

I would not buy Sanyo again.

02/26/2013
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I rarely leave reviews unless I rave positively about something, but this is an exception. We bought two Sanyo televisions one smaller for a backroom and a larger 46 inch for the living room. Quickly after the warranty was out it began to go dark on one side and lines would appear across the top. It would go away after the set was on for a while so I thought well we can live with that, but it rapidly declined into being an unwatchable set. Living in a more rural area I don't have access to a lot of television repair options and from reading on the web many of these televisions did this (Sanyo should have recalled them and still should) and it would cost around the same price as just buying a new one. This is totally unacceptable. I don't expect for something like this to be as disposable as they've made it to be. Very disappointed in this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 17 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

Great buy for the price.

08/21/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read some reviews on this site before buying this TV, and a few mentioned that the TV basically stopped working (picture cut out, etc.) within a year. So I wanted to wait at least a year to leave a review. It has been a year and a half, and we're still very happy with this TV. The best part was the price, of course, but it has a lot of funtionality (Netflix has become our primary means of TV entertainment). The picture is pretty good, not outstanding (there is some pixelation in dark / nighttime scenes, especially with a cable input) but as I say in the summary, great for the price. The picture is best for digital inputs, like Netflix, DVD players, or game consoles. I'm not a surround sound expert, but I haven't had any complaints with the sound. It has a good number of various inputs (AV, HD, HDMI, etc) and I've never run out of inputs for the number of external components I want to use. It has a VUDU application as well, which could be convenient, but we've never used it. If you're on a budget and looking for a good internet-capable TV I would recommend this Sanyo.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

Great TV

01/03/2012
By ,
West Frankfort, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bout this tv just before Christmas. Easy to set up straight out of the box. Within minutes had the channel search done, netflix set up, and was watching some college football. This makes a great TV, and the prices makes it even better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 19 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

For the money its a great buy

12/30/2011
By ,
28529
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this tv a few weeks before christmas, and i will have to say the picture is even better than i expected, i am very satisfied and im thinking about buying the 42" for my music room
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 20 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz Internet Connected HDTV, DP46861

Highly Recommended

10/24/2012
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first +42" flat screen and I am very pleased. I have waited 90 days since I purchased it to write a review, just to make sure that all was good. To date, it is excellent.
Setup after hooking up the cables was seamless. In fact, the default settings are pretty good. You can tweak them if you like, but you don't have to. The picture was not good when hooked up to the cable, but I ran composite from the cable box and it perked right up. It was probably my cable.
Where this really shines (and why I got it) is for HDMI from the Blu-Ray. The picture is astounding. Anyone that complains about the sound just does not understand that you will not get booming base or great highs from small speakers that point straight down. It doesn't work that way. That is what your surround sound is for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1 2 3 Next