Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Coleman Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

The Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Tent with LED Light, 16' x 7' has the exclusive WeatherTec system that keeps you dry and has a comfort system that allows control of airflow with Variflo adjustable ventilation. The Coleman Montana tent includes shock-corded poles for easy setup and storage. The LED light runs of this 8-person tent runs up to 22 hours on low on eight "D" batteries, and comes with a remote control. The Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Tent with LED Light is easy to set up and includes a convenient carry bag.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation87%26 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 39 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Take Extra Towels

09/11/2012
By ,
Parkersburg, WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The tent is beautiful - goes up so easily. It has lots of room. The light is pretty cool too. Then the rain came. I love to sleep in a tent and listen to the rain. I am not, however, a fan of it hitting my face. It started raining around 5 a.m. By 7 a.m. everything in our tent was soaked. That was pretty dissapointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Love this tent!

08/13/2012
By ,
Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this tent after buying the Elite Weathermaster Screen tent 3 years ago because we wanted more room inside. We weatherproofed this tent before our 10-day camping trip and it rained at least 5 of those days. There was never a drop inside! The light worked perfectly, it was wonderful for when the girls wanted to play in there in the evenings. Just make sure you read the directions and only turn it 1/4 turn when installing it. We had 2 queen size mattresses inside and there was still plenty of room for bags and 3-4 girls playing. We are spoiled by the hinged door and self rolling windows, I wouldn't want to go back to the old way! We love this tent and would recommend it to anyone!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Awesome tent for the price!!

06/06/2012
By ,
Bassett, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tent for a 3 night camping trip. It RAINED the first two nights!! NO LEAKS!! The tent was Awesome! We stayed dry the entire weekend! The LED light inside the tent was really bright! We had two queen size mattresses and room for a folding table (Lots of Room)! I would absoultley recommend this tent!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Tent

11/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Door opening to small.
Rain fly horrible to attach.
Leaked partial water thru top.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

The tent stayed dry

10/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went camping the weekend of Oct 3 & 4. There was heavy rain Saturday Afternoon. With the wind blowing, there was some spray into the tent. Overall it was dry in the tent.
I do like the idea of the overhead light with a switch by the door.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Awesome tent

06/02/2012
By ,
Washington state
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because my old tent was way to small and hardly fit my queen size matress. This thing is so roomy in side, The light works very well and is pretty bright, the light also has 3 different settings. Was a little bit of a pain setting it up by my self but it was the very first time setting it up but is very straight forward and easy to set up. The rain top has strings on it to stake down which in my opinion are pointless, once it is on there it is on there pretty tight.
It the rain top did leak a bit but i figure it was because the rain was not running down but was staying put in some places. The selfrolling windows and hinged door are very nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Great Tent

08/03/2011
By ,
Central Valley, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lots of room, quick and easy setup, and the hinged door is AWESOME! Did not try the light (didn't bring the batteries). But, so far even without the light is was a great investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Great product

06/10/2014
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this tent online, it came in quickly which was a plus. I went on a 4 day camping trip and this tent was great. It rained 2 out of the 4 days and the tent stayed completely dry and the windows were even open the whole time. We did spray the tent with seam sealer before we left on the trip. The hinge door was a plus, no zipping and unzipping the tent while we were at the campsite all day. The light inside was great also with 3 different settings. The only thing I wish the tent would have had was more/larger windows. There was one small one on each side and one on the door. Other than that I love this tent and am glad I found one that can actually withstand the weather!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Fast delivery. I'm excited about Coleman Elite....

05/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm looking forward to going on many camping trips with my new Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Tent with all of its wonderful features.
I'm 62 going on 63 in June of this year. I'm disabled. But that will not stop me from camping out more, especially in my new spacious Coleman Elite Montana.
I don't know about the set-up or take-down of it yet. I'd like to take the advise of some other
reviewers who waterproofed both their tent and bottom seams for extra protection against heavy-duty bad weather(non-stop downpours, thunderous windstorms,...), before taking it out and using it.
You've come a long way Coleman. Thanks.
Walmart, thanks for the speed and efficiency with handling my order. It's been a pleasure shopping with you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Awesome tent!

07/16/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We received our Coleman Elite Montana tent last week. We used it right away that weekend. We were very satisfied with our purchase. The fly was more time consuming to put up than the tent itself but I am sure over time it will become less time consuming as we get used to setting it up.
It down poured on Saturday morning and EVERYTHING stayed dried!!! I would recommend this tent for beginners or the advanced camper. I grew up trailer camping and this was my first time in a tent. I was VERY pleased!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Love it!

06/03/2012
By ,
Lakes Region, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is fabulous! Would be great for a family of four. You could easily put in two double high queen sizes air mattresses.mWe sprayed it down with two cans of waterproofing spray and stayed nice and dry. very spacious!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Pretty Darn Good for Light Camper enthusiasts

08/07/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I used to camp all of the time before our family reached a size of 7. This was the first time our entire family had been camping. With three older kids, a toddler and infant, we were mostly shopping for space.
It was a bit of a squeeze, but we managed two queen air mattresses, a pack n' play, two kids on the floor and all of our clothing luggage. It was packed, but if we had only used one air mattress, there would have been more space. Definitely no walking around at night b-c there was no place to step without stepping on someone.
My only complaint is the air flow. During the first three days/nights of camping, temps were above 100 degrees and not below 94 at night. Obviously, it's gonna be hot no matter how you look at it, but there was a good breeze the second two nights. There aren't any windows that reach close to the floor; all of the openings are up high, so there was no feeling the breeze while laying down. All we could feel was the tent being slightly moved around, torchered with the thought of how good that breeze would feel. And the tent took until 3 in the morning to cool down to the same temp as outside, despite our placement in full shade to prevent it from heating up during the day.
We did have a five minute downpour two times and a steady sprinkle for about two hours and no leaks.
We were camping for 6 days and its served it purpose, to hold the seven of us and our stuff.
P.S. Although, I thought it for yuppies, the LED light was a nice bonus. The kids could go inside and use the nightlight setting to get their pjs on and not wake up the toddler or the baby. This also reduced the risk of waking up the two youngest from fumbling around with a flashlight and dropping it...which would have ruined our evening.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Excellent & Reliable

05/20/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is a great buy. It took my husband & I about 45 to an hour to put together. There aren't many directions but once you do it once, you'll find that it's simple to put together. This is a great tent for a family. The reason we got it was so we could fit a pack n play. It's big enough to hold three queen sized air mattresses.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

you get what you pay for

07/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This tent is ok for what I paid for it. the thing i like is the self rolling windows. The cooler access has no zipper,Im a tall guy the only head room is right in the middle of the tent. the stakes are very little. and it needs more stake straps on the back side of the tent. i will end up using this tent for my kids and buying a different one for my wife and i.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Many nice features, light and door

07/22/2012
By ,
Rutland, Vt
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked the led light, but the clip that helps hold it to the ceiling came broken but we could still use it without the clip. Coleman will be sending a replacement. I liked the door, but you do have to place it shut. The fly came factory taped so we did not seal the seams. Big mistake because we had a big thunderstorm and it leaked quite a bit. Our older coleman tent did not leak at all and it has never been sealed. When I called coleman I was told I should have sealed the seams, but one of the features described for this tent is guaranteed to keep you dry. I do think we will keep the tent as the size is good for my husband and I and will seal the seams with the sealer that coleman is sending us.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Not as described

04/02/2013
By ,
Louisiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tent does not have remote lighting, it has light switch by door. Tent does not have zippable ventilation system as photographs showed. It has no way of opening ventilation system. It does have a fly to secure to ground over ventilation system. From research, the tent described is an earlier version of the tent that is no longer available.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Loved the Tent

09/04/2013
By ,
Wading River
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone at my campsite wants one like the one I purchased. Large enough to fit 2 King size air mattress even though it said 2 Queen size. Height was excellent. It thunder/lighting and hard rain, it held up. Didn't need to carry a light into the tent as the tent light covered the entire area. It had the velco for quick in/out of tent and zipper on door, which made us feel secured in the tent. My first time camping and everyone enjoyed the tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light
09/03/2013
By ,
Washougal, Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tent to replace our old Montana tent and I was highly impressed with it. On our second night camping we had a huge storm come through and the inside of the tent stayed completely dry! It only took the two of us maybe 15 minutes to put this tent up. I can honestly say I would completely recommend this tent to anyone looking for a large tent to hold all your family and stuff and to keep you dry!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Pretty good value

10/02/2012
By ,
Kansas City, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My seven year old and I have spent two nights in it so far, and it has held up great. It took us about 30 minutes to set it up the first time, but just 20 this last time. I figure as we get better, it will take 10-15 minutes.
The quality is great. The only drawback is the weight - it is pretty heavy. I would not want to hike with it on my back for a long distance.
The light is silly, but cool. My son loves it. And it works great. Who ever heard of a tent with a light? I guess us, now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Elite Montana 8-Person Dome Tent with LED Light

Great Tent

09/21/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great tent. Helps to have two people set it up. Really liked the automatic windows, made it easy to open and close. More of a "summer" tent, we camped out in the mountains and I believe it went into the 40's and since there are "vents" at the top that you cannot close it became very cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next