Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nikon Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nikon Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display

Capture your life's most beautiful moments with the Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera. This lightweight camera offers superior picture resolution to make the tiniest details sharp and clear, and the 3200 ISO range lets you shoot even in low-light environments. It features autofocus and a 5x digital zoom to get those once-in-a-lifetime shots, plus autofocus, and 19 scene modes for creative shooting and accurate color. Other cool features include a smile timer, continuous shooting capability, and Electronic VR Image Stabilization to reduce blurring. It's sleek, easy to use, and delivers brilliant images and videos in HD quality every time.
Average Customer Rating:
3.382 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(178 Reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
19
1 star
45
Customer Recommendation62%110 out of 178reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
19
1 star
45
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display

Awful Lag time...very dissapointed in this camera

12/13/2012
By ,
IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this thinking it would have a fast point an shoot speed as I have 2 young children to chase after...this has horrible lag time in between shots and takes forever to save to card.
I would not recommend this if you are looking for spped...picture quality is average
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 2 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display

Love this simple and easy to use camera.

01/10/2012
By ,
Okatie SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery charges. Simple to transfer photos to computer.
This series also has the best access door to the memory
card. Have had 4 family members purchase one since I purchased mine.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 3 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display
03/20/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a camera for a big family camping trip and the price was perfect. I wasn't sure what to expect but the camera did amazing. I have great shots in the dark and some really good motion shots as well. Its hard to get kids to slow down for pictures sometimes and with this one they didn't have too. The quality of the photos are amazing also. It didn't come with a case but the camera is slim enough that I bought a cheap cell phone case and it works out perfect. The battery died about 200 pics in but charged it for 2hr and I was back in business. I will not be going through dozens of AA batteries like the rest of my family. I highly recommend this camera. In the picture I uploaded the animal and the van were both in motion.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display
12/20/2011
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the good: the pictures come out great when printed.
the bad: the lag time between taking pictures is terrible! I have missed so many moments waiting for this camera to process my last shot! Also, when in auto mode, the flash hardly ever flashes...even when the lighting is terrible!!! There is no way to make it flash when you need it! I spent over $100 dollars on this camera and just hate it.
Video: the time to video tape is only 25 minutes long, no matter how large your SD card is. I have a 16gb card in right now, and it still will only do increments of 25 minutes each. I have to keep and eye on the video and make sure I click to record again when my 25 minutes are up. This is terrible when taping your child in a play or big performance! Ugh!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 5 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display
01/20/2012
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My old camera (Sony, had for 3 years and loved it) broke the day before I left for vacation. I bought this camera on the way to Florida for $114, and thought it was a good buy. I charged it, used it for less than 3 hours and the lens kept getting stuck- saying "Lens Error" I had to turn it off and on for it to work again. I took it back and exchanged it for the same camera, but one that I hoped would work. For the first week I had no more problems with the lens- but then I started to get "Lens Error" again. I have several problems with this camera. 1) Even when using the flash my pictures come out bluury, dark, or the colors are not true. 2) The camera takes a long time to focus, sometimes I have to press the button 3 times to for it to focus and take the picture 3)You cannot take picture after picture quickly, the camera takes 5 to 10 seconds to "record" image to memory card. I can honestly say there is nothing I like about this camera, im in the process of buying a new one (really reading reviews and researching the products i do not want to waste my money again) I am giving this camera to my 5 year old niece for it is too late to take it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 6 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display

Great Camera for the price!

01/03/2012
By ,
Muscle Shoals, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchase this camera for my mom for Christmas! She loves it! She wanted something that was thin & easy to take on the go that took great pics. She has 3 grandkids that are always involved in school activities! So far she loves this camera and has recommended it to several of her girlfriends! I'm so glad that I purchased this in a bundle!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 7 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display

Great camera

02/20/2012
By ,
Palm Bay, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read other reviews that were not that flattering, but after using this camera I found that it must be user error as I got great photos from it and it is very easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 8 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display

Awful Camera

12/29/2011
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to buy a camera to replace one that had broken. Somehow, I decided on this one. I was able to use it for a few weeks before I decided that it was really no good. It is very slow. Many of my pictures were blurry. The flash did not always work. It was annoying to use when I couldn't get it to work right. I have since returned it and am looking for a better camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 9 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display

Great deal!

01/10/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera is a great deal for the price it is sold for! Highly recommend purchasing one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 10 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display

Despite brand name I would not recommend this came

01/17/2012
By ,
Lakeland,Fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pics were not sharp and color not good. Flash washed out some and not enough in others.
Definitely not up to the Nikon 35mm 's quality that I have owned and the name is why I purchased it.
I have a 4 yr old Kodak SLR digital that takes much better pics under similar conditions and got
the Nikon for better ease of carry.
I have taken thousands of pics with Nikon,Pentax,Minolta,Canon 35mm and Kodak digital SLR and I would not buy this camera or recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 11 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display

Awesome Camera

02/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE my new camera! I had a Coolpix several years ago that went missing. I am SO happy with my new one! It takes great pictures and is so easy to use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display

great basic camera, perfect for nights out!

01/31/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this camera to replace my other old Nikon Coolpix. Works great, just what I need to document my last years of college.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 13 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display

Phone Cameras Take Better Pictures

01/06/2013
By ,
Massachsetts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The name Nikon use to signify a quality camera. I usually research products that cost over $50, but I trusted the name, and boy was I wrong. This camera is a piece of junk. The only halfway decent picture it takes is outside on a clear day with absolutely no motion whatsoever. My financial situation has been very poor the last couple of years, but I bought this camera because I needed it for a special project. Now, I cannot afford to go out and buy another. I finally gave up on it after trying every combination of settings with no positive results. I will never skip my research again. I found a great vacuum on walmart.com. I read through many pages of reviews before making my purchase, and it's the best vac I've ever purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 14 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display

Great camera! Attractive and Great Quality!

03/11/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this from Walmart.com and got it for a great price with the bundle package. So happy with it, camera is pretty and great quality. I have little kids and I want to capture every cute moment this camera is perfect for that because it is so sleek smaller and thinner than an iphone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 15 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display
01/03/2012
By ,
hickory nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ost of this camera is considered to be a great value....bought this camera for my wife for christmas.....she has hardly set it down taking pics of our grand-daughter....seems to work fine and the different modes to take a photo are very good....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display

Great camera

12/27/2011
By ,
Kearney, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this as a present for my daughter who will be going to Washington DC in the spring. She was absolutely thrilled and said the camera takes "awesome" pictures! Great camera for my daughter and a good deal for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 17 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display
01/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this camera as a gift and the pictures from christmas turned out really good. I am thinking of buying another one for me.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Review 18 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display

Camera Issues

08/06/2012
By ,
Madison, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Our agency bought these a little over a year ago and about 75% of the cameras have battery issues. The screen says "battery exhausted" and the camera will just stop taking a charge. At first, we didnt realize the severity of the issue, so we just started buying replacement batteries from Buy.com for about $7.00 a piece. The new batteries seem to work for about a month or two and then eventually they all do the exact same thing again. We bought about 40 cameras and it seems like everyday a new camera keeps going bad. We have replaced about 30 out of the 40 camera batteries, most more than once. I wish that we realized how bad the situation was with these cameras before the warrenty ran out. We were able to send 3 in before the warrenty ran out and Nikon sent us new cameras in return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display

Great Buy

12/25/2011
By ,
Deltona,Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wife loved her new Nikon S3100 for Christmas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 20 for Nikon COOLPIX S3100 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display

A Big No No!

12/06/2012
By ,
St Louis, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this camera for over a year now. For outdoor pictures is okay, but indoors is another story. Pictures always turn out blurry and plain awful. It's also very slow.
Last night was my last time using it. It was my daughter's preschool Christmas concert and could not take not even one good picture the whole night. I'm buying myself a new one (not a Nikon!).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next