Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100

Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100

The Nostalgia Electrics JFD100 Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery allows you to cook delicious cake pops, donut holes and other pastries at home without even turning on an oven. Make different flavors of cake pops, jelly donuts, puff pancakes, mini cinnamon buns and more. Its great for snack time, party time or anytime! A handy injector is included to give your donuts a variety of fillings such as jelly, cream or caramel and to decorate your cake pops with colorful frosting. Use your imagination and have fun!
Average Customer Rating:
3.792 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation75%18 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100

Larger Cake Pops Than Starbucks

12/10/2011
By ,
Midland, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The thing I was wondering about most when I was researching which Cake Pop Maker to buy was whether I wanted the product that makes 12 smaller cake pops, or this Nostalgia Electrics product which makes 6 larger cake pops/donut holes. Well, it turns out that this product's cake pops are much larger than the ones in Starbucks (just as a point of reference). So, I kind of wish I had gotten one of the brands that make the smaller sized cake pops. The cake pops that this maker creates seem almost twice as large as the Starbucks ones. That makes them kind of heavy for the sticks to stay in place really well sometimes. Anyway, I picked it up today, so, of course, I had to try it out right away. I wanted to make cake pops that are similar to the ones available in Starbucks right now. I used brownie mix to make my cake pops, and coated them with the meltable vanilla "chocolate" from the WalMart baking aisle, and rolled them in crushed peppermint candy. I haven't tasted them, but I baked the brownie pops for 10 minutes each (filling while unplugged as instructed on a YouTube video), and they seemed to come out a tad over cooked on the edges, and possibly a tad undercooked in the middle (the sticks had trouble staying in on some of them even though I coated them with icing first as the YouTube video suggested). I think having smaller sized cake pops would eliminate this "cooking all the way through" problem. I hope this review helps people who are wondering about size reference before you choose a product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100

Nice product!

08/10/2011
By ,
northern NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've used the donut maker twice. Once for glazed donuts and once for cake balls. I found you do have to turn the balls over to get them to bake the same color on both sides. Wish it came with a tool to turn them and wish it had a timer but for the price a nice product.
Fun and tasty!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100

Way better than I expected

01/01/2012
By ,
South Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This little machine is so much better, and far more usable than I imagined. It goes beyond just a cake pop and donut maker. We've made things like brownies, cornbread, and cookies in it as well and they all turned out great! The cookies were the packaged refrigerated chocolate chip cookie dough type that aren't meant to rise so much, so they didn't turn out round, but we knew this would be the case. I'm going to attempt to make eggs in it by cracking an egg into each well. I'm fairly certain it'll work, and they'll turn out like a soft boiled egg. I can make 7 eggs at one time if it works! Other ideas are round corndogs, pancakes, muffins, biscuits... the possibilities are truly endless. The foods we've tried so far cooked quickly and perfectly. We did take the advice of other reviewers and flipped the unit over about halfway through the cooking process to get a uniform round shape. Easy clean up and fun for the kids too! We love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100

Great Product!

11/18/2010
By ,
SANTA ANA, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these from Sears/Kmart online and have been using it to bake just about everything from donut holes to bread balls (DELICIOUS, but I used gluten free recipes instead of the ones in the manual)to meatballs (NOT A RECOMMENDED CHOICE FOR THIS APPLIANCE).
The meatballs were also delicious, but the grease from cooking them in this machine was spread all over the counter afterward, and the machine took a long time to clean.
I would have liked it to have had a timer and an automatic off when done switch instead of having to pull the plug to turn it off.
Incidentally, the filling injector was found in the back of the styrofoam packaging packed inside a plastic bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100
02/04/2012
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased another brand that was defective (not Walmart) returned for a full refund then decided to browse walmart.com This was a xmas gift for my son's family. I am happy to say that they love it and think it is much better than the other one that was defective. They like the larger size and have made many batches. My granddaughter is very excited about making more for valentines day. I have also purchased many other products from Nostalgia electric and everyone without exception loves their gift. I would recommend their products to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100

Great product

02/19/2014
By ,
Nuevo Laredo, Mex
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Product, meets my expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100

Did NOT Work!!

11/09/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so disappointed when I got this. It was missing the little injector thingy and the first time I used it, it got so hot it burned them within seconds and then the lights shut off and it stopped working. Taking this back to the store. Very Unhappy!!! Nice concept but don't waste your money!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kansas
JUNK
Posted 07/22/2011
I was excited to use it. Got everything ready to make the donut holes for my Husbands birthday, pluged it in and it seemed to work. Less than half way through the first batch it quit working. Will be taking it back.
-3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100
01/08/2012
By ,
95136
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
On sale at x-mas time, great price! makes uniform cake balls. Filling cake batter to top of baking hole will make huge cake balls. only fill half way to fit better on a stick. I turned my over to get an even cook look, just used a chopstick. Came out great. only issue is the latch in the front of the machine that should lock down when cooking, most of the time, it just catches and its a real effort to fully close it. Great fun! Novelty item, i don't expect it to last with continual use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100

Fun for everyone.

01/03/2012
By ,
Seneca, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for both my daughters-in-law and they love it. I purchased one for myself at the same time. Lots of fun decorating cake pops and making chocolate covered brownies. Can't wait to make donut holes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100

Great to make your donut holes

01/20/2014
By ,
clearwater,florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was worth the money and my daughter loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100

Over heats and undercooks

04/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was gonna use for my daughter birthday but it ends getting over heated without cooking anything fully. The insides are always under cooked.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100

Too expensive for the quality

04/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Will be returning item because I found it cheaper at Best Buy
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100

Cake Pops are big...

04/02/2014
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cake pops are larger than I was expecting... they are about the size of a golf ball. I was actually looking for something slightly smaller. Overall, the product worked great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100

easy to use

03/13/2014
By ,
Long Beach
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cake pops are bigger than the one at starbucks and tend to fall down the stick, but if you freeze the cake pops before you put them on the stick they are more stable. I really enjoy this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100
12/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought it today! I loveee it! Defiantly recommend to anyone and everyone. Good idea for kids!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100
12/04/2011
By ,
marshall MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find it a little hard to open when hot. Easy to use, daughter wants one now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100
01/15/2012
By ,
Mitchellville, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased as a gift. Toddler learning tool working wonderfully.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100

Purchased for a donut lover

12/29/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gift for my dad. He is quite obsessed with donuts. He absolutely loves this & uses it all the time!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100

Plastic Odor Problems

02/21/2012
By ,
Wilmington, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This 'baker' is adorable & we were so looking forward to using it. Major problem tho! The unit still smells like plastic when it heats up. The first 2 times of use, the doughnut holes smelled & tasted like plastic. We had to throw them away. Now we tried it again using a chocolate cake mix. This batch was better - the cakes didn't taste like plastic, but the unit still has a horrible plastic smell. Because it is so easy to use & I think it a great idea, I am plugging it in & spraying baking oil on it; then I will wipe it down & replug over the next few days. Perhaps this will solve the plastic odor problem. If not, I'll have to return it to WalMart...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nostalgia Electrics Cake Pop & Donut Hole Bakery, JFD100

Not what I expected

01/26/2012
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this would be great because I didn't need to heat up the kitchen with my oven. I was wrong. It gets way too hot and burns a ring around the middle of the balls. They do not cook evenly and if you fill them so that it fills the ball space they come out looking more like eggs. I think the regular cake ball pan might be a better idea. I also planned on buying the donut maker too but now I'm not sure if I should.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next