Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

First Alert First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

The First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe offers a complete security solution for the three major hazards: theft, flood and fire. The safe's anti-theft features include patented concealed hinges designed to resist prying, a programmable (use your own personal 3 to 8 digit pass-code), digital lock and 6 solid steel locking bolts. The composite construction with water tight seal prevents water damage to the contents caused by flooding or by water used in fighting a fire. This waterproof safe will float making it easy to find during a flood, and it will remain dry inside even if fully submerged. The safe has been awarded a UL classified 1 hour fire rating verifying that it will withstand an external temperature of 1700 degrees F. while maintaining an internal temperature of less than 350 degrees. The 2096DF model is 2.14 cubic feet. All First Alert fire safes are covered by a 5 year manufacturer's warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.319 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
31
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation89%103 out of 116reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 72 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
31
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

It's made out of PLASTIC.

09/18/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I ordered this safe, I naively assumed that it was made out of steel like any good safe should be; I was very wrong. It is basically a 150 lb tupperware box with a keypad and a cheap plastic handle on it. Yes, it offers very good fire and water protection, but I really can't see it stopping a burglar that was determined to break it open. And it doesn't look nearly as sleek as the picture does when you see it in real life. I will never again buy a safe that isn't solid steel, and I wouldn't advise anyone else to do so either.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Aurora, IL
First Alert Safe
Posted 02/08/2012
Hello:
Our safe product is made out of a durable resin material, made to withstand 1700 degrees fahrenheit for 1 hour. We greatly value your feedback as you are an important customer to First Alert. We see you have raised concerns and we are committed to assisting you with your product experience. Because these products can take time to understand we would like to provide accurate responses to your concerns. To do so, we would much appreciate it if you could please contact our Consumer Affairs Representatives at 1-800-323-9005 for us to provide you the best possible service.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

Was Returned to Walmart

07/02/2014
By ,
Sayreville,NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was Badly Damage during shipment,the side of the safe was busted and some kind of powdery kind of cement or sand is leaking.Never trsted the safe,its looks nice but looks like made of plastic,can't stand the punishment of shipping.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

Very impressed with this safe and the price!

03/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around and researched reviews on different safes before purchasing this safe which is the larger 2096D model with the hanging file holder and 2 shelves. I had seen the same model at Lowes for a much larger price so the Walmart price (and the 97 cents shipping to my house) seemed almost too good to be true. But it is! The safe arrived quickly and in perfect condition thanks to the beefed up packing. The removable "dolly handle" (which the manufacturer recommends removing after the safe is positioned) made it easy to maneuver despite its 140 lb weight. There are no bolts provided to secure the safe to the floor but since I only intend to store documents in the safe to protect from fire that is not a problem. The manual was concise and easy to read and I had no problem activating my new password. Plus I really like the over-ride keys provided in case the digital keypad fails or the batteries go dead (or you forget your password!). Good looking, roomy safe and GREAT value for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
I purchased this item for lesser amount
Posted 03/19/2014
It was less at Lowes than anywhere else. This was a very recent purchase.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

Very nice product

09/03/2010
By ,
Johnstown, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would have given this product a 5 star except for two items. One it pinches my fingers when I try to open the safe like using a normal safe handle. The way this one is shaped and positioned you can't wrap your fingers around it or they are getting pinched. The other reason is that it flashes a green light when you have entered the code correctly and it is ready to open but does not beep. I really think it needs a long beep to let you know it is ready to open.
Other than that it is great. I'm currently looking for an extra shelf to put in it as I have more to put in it than I thought. I am using this for work to protect checks, banking information and back up tapes.
It is heavy which is good and yes it is made of plastic but I needed something fire and waterproof. This safe fits the bill. I did tons of research till I was ready to pull my hair out. I had a hard time finding a safe this big that was waterproof.
I've only had it about a week but I'm very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

Excellent Fire/Flood Safe

12/01/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent fire/flood safe and good value for the money. Couple things worth mentioning so you know what you are getting:
1) The safe is plastic and I suspect the locking mechanism would not stand up to significant punishment. Though shipping weight is listed as 140 lbs, there is no way this safe weighs anything close to that (or I am Hercules). My way of saying this is probably not the safe for you if you want to protect valuables from thieves and are without a home security system. Works well for keeping kids out however.
2) It really does only cost 97 cents to ship to your house and the delivery person was willing to wheel it into our bedroom for us. Probably not necessary for most people since it takes some room to remove the safe from all the packaging, the safe doesn't weigh that much and it actually comes with wheels and a handle installed...handy!
3) I read several reviews on Amazon.com and other websites indicating these safes often arrived damaged. I think the manufacturer has addressed this as the safe was double boxed with lots of foam. Mine arrived without a scratch.
Overall a better quality safe for the price if you compare to Sentry brand one hour fire rated safes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

Excellent safe

07/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent safe for the purposes I need it to server. The setup was easy using the included instructions. I do have 2 small negatives that prevent it from being perfect.
1 - The shelves & hanging folder hardware which are all plastic. Would have been better to have a sturdier material for this, but it's a small issue.
2 - The wheels don't really remove (somehow I an interpreted it otherwise). Rather, the handle does, and easily. Again not a big issue but it would have been better if the wheels/handle could have been on the front as that way it is makes it easier getting the safe into place. But even my wife has managed with that so it's nothing to be very worried about.
The one thing I haven't tried yet is using the emergency key. I can only assume it works as expected.
The shipping from Walmart is off the scale. It arrived at the front end of the period estimated and you can't beat $0.97 shipping costs instead of free to the store was not a difficult choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

The handle and wheels...

03/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The handle and wheels are great to get the safe easily into your home and placed where you would like it to stay BUT I immediately removed the handle and now I am concerned whether or not I can remove the wheels. I don't see why I wouldn't be able to- yet I am concerned how it would sit on my floor after I do this. It is too convenient for robbers to wheel it on out of your home. I will be bolting it into my floor asap. (These accessories were included.) As far as the construction, it seems just fine BUT I am unable to change the Factory passcode. I will be calling the company about this soon. Every time you mess up, you must wait 15 minutes to try to change the code. If you mess up again, you must wait 15 more minutes. My husband spent 3 hours on this task. Unsuccessfully. I am going to give it a try before I call the company, for any assistance. (I have a feeling I will be more successful than the hubby..lol). But bolting this item to the floor is your best bet.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

Might as well leave the safe on your driveway

03/10/2013
By ,
Visalia, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this, thinking that it would give me piece of mind knowing that my valuables would be safe from burglars... Never have I been so wrong.
Pros: The whole safe is lubed up with something so it is relatively hard to carry.
Cons:
1. It is incredibly easy to slide on carpet. They can literally just push it out the door.
2. Not made of any metal watch so ever, just plastic... All of it is plastic.
3. Someone can easily just drill into it, or bash their way in with a sledgehammer.
4. No option to bolt to the floor.
5. Feels like it is made from the cheapest plastic China has. It literally feels like a giant toy safe for kids.
6. Leaves EVERYTHING inside smelling like some kind of oil/lubricant mixed with plastic.
7. Did I mention this safe is plastic?
8. Shelves are made of flimsy plastic that bends in when objects are on it. (I have a external hard drive and camera on the shelf, probable about 1 pound total, but it still bends.)
9. Relatively difficult to close.
YOUR BETTER OFF BUYING A DIFFERENT SAFE THAT ACTUALLY WILL PROTECT YOUR BELONGINGS.
Dont let the price fool yah! About $50-$75 more and you can get a much better safe.
HEED MY WARNING MORTALS... Buying this will ensure your own demise.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
For a safe of this size..
Posted 03/19/2014
It certainly should be bolted to the floor no matter what room you have it in. Bolts are included with a very nice detailed floor plan/diagram, for placement of the holes and bolts, etc. Unless your safe is over 500 lbs., it should be bolted down.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

Strange shelving system

08/24/2014
By ,
Lawrenceville,Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The safe works great and love the key pad entry but the only reason I didn't give it a five star rating is the shelves can not hold much weight. The shelves will pancake and come crashing down on whatever is on the bottom so, be warned. I had to go to HomeDepot and purchase eight "L" shaped brackets and two packs of extreme Velcro for support for the brackets and the shelves and now the shelves are holding more than just a pound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

Nice for the Price

10/15/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price of this safe it is an excellent value. But if you're looking for a solid-steel interior then this is not for you. Although on the outside it is build sturdy enough with metal, the door's handle is only hard plastic and the inside material lining the safe is also plastic, but it is heavy enough. You have to decide if this really matters or not. If someone were to attempt to break in, the handle be it metal or not would not make much of a difference anyway. Also the interior is not what matters when it comes down to it. It fits comfortably in my safe and holds items that in any case would be hard to reach. For a few hundred bucks more you can have some more do-dads obviously, but if you're looking for a reasonalby price safe to keep your important papers or valuable safe from a fire and water this is a good choice. Again fort knox it isn't.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

Just One Design Flaw...

04/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great safe for the money. The door closes and opens with a very sound weigh and crispness. I especially admire the flush (concealed) hinges. Very sleek and modern.
But there is one design flaw that impedes ease of use which I noticed from the very first time I opened it. Truth be told, I very much anticipated this hindrance just from looking at the photos of the unit online.
The design of the handle does not allow for the user to grasp it with a closed fist (as one would be inclined to do when opening a safe door of this size) without striking and scraping one's knuckles sharply on the concave silver bevel immediately behind the handle. In fact, even for a fella with relatively spindly digits such as myself, it is literally impossible to complete the full 1/5th turn neccessary to unlatch the door with a full-fisted grip. In fact, the handle can only be opened (or closed) with a much less manly 'finger grip'.
Interestingly enough, this shortcoming could have been completely avoided by First Alert had they left the 'high point' off the right side of the silver bevel behind the handle. I'm pretty sure there would be enough clearance for a full fisted grip if there were no bevel at all behind (or at least to the right of) the handle.
Other than that - this is a great safe!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

Great safe for family use.

06/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not be more pleased. Exactly what I was expecting. There is everything I would need for my use. Plenty of storage, convenient lock using digital or a key. Well built and should last me the rest of my life.
The convenience of having it delivered to my home and not having to depend on someone else.
I am so very pleased with the service. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

Convienient Safety

10/13/2009
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This save is a great product at an affordable price. It is not steel but tough as steel & has the benefits of not having problems associated w/ a steel safe (rust/deformation).
It has storage options for drawer, hanging file, & 3 ring binder storage. The handle makes it convienient to move, but detaches so it's not a convience for others. At about 150# it not easy to pack off & could easily be framed in or strapped w/ steel if one felt the need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

Safe to be safe

01/26/2012
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To set up the directions were incorrect and I had to call the company for correct directions.
When I turn the handle I have to be careful that my fingers do not get pinched under it.
So far all works well after several months.
Roller handle hard to lift off, wheels stay on so seems easier for burglars!!
Nice room inside.
The plastic support for files will not fit back in, I did not need it but if you do expect a problem. It does sit on bottom nicely to put loose items.
Shelves hard to move, but they do adjust for height.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

Disapointing

06/19/2008
By ,
Clifonia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had more than one reason to return this safe.
1. It arrived damaged. Apparently it was dropped on the way.
2. Shelves wouldn't stay in slots (could be a result of the damage)
3. I got an impression that it is not a thief-proof safe. It is pretty much a plastic shell with some kind of sand in it. When I pushed on the walls they actually popped all the way inside the safe. I checked walls with a magnet and there was no signs of steel.
It may be a good fireproof/waterproof safe but not thief-proof.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

Great Safe !

05/14/2011
By ,
Carmel Mtn Ranch
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one cool little safe. For the price of keeping your valuables and keepsakes safe from thieves, fires, and floods, this is WELL worth the price. A heavy-beast, this thing isn't going anywhere quickly. It comes with 2 transport wheels and a removable handlebar to get it to its final location. You then remove the bar and store/hide it somewhere far away. I'm a 6', 180lb man, no wimp, and had a long, hard, tough time scooting this thing across the carpet in the delivery box. I didn't know that it came with wheels and a handlebar. 2 men would not be able to lift this thing and walk away with it. VERY spacious inside. Comes with 2 override keys if batteries die or forget combo. VERY happy with purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

Nice but can't bolt it down

09/10/2008
By ,
Los Angeles
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nice safe but there is no provision for bolting this bad boy down. I don't consider a safe that can't be bolted to the floor very secure. If you are only concerned about fire then I guess this is a good unit. I learned the hard way, my last safe was carried out the door by a burgular so my next safe will be firmly secured to the foundation!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe
02/22/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good product for the home. It can easily be disguised like a piece of furniture for further security. The only problem I see with the safe is the handle is kind of hard to use for people with larger hands or weaker older folks, with poor hand dexterity. Over all it is a well made product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe
05/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Am I impressed!! I ordered my safe on May 23 and it was at my door on May 25!! Great Walmart service! Also, great product. My new safe meets all of my expectations. I am not techno-smart so I needed my son-in-law to program it for me but, once programed, it's simple to use. It's capacity is large enough to hold 69 years worth of documents and precious memories.
BUT, although the built in wheels and handle make it easy to move the safe, the wheels made deep marks in my hardwood floors. This was my error and not a flaw in the product. If I move the safe again, I will use fruniture gliders underneath it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert 2096DF 2.1 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Digital Safe

Great Deal for the Money!

07/28/2010
By ,
Canton, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a good solid safe that works well in the average home. We have an alarm system for the house and store the safe upstairs. It's heavy enough and would be a choir to carry it up or down stairs. Be aware that the safe is not meant for firearms or medication. With it being waterproof, the moisture is kept contained in the safe and could promote rust on metal objects. They recommend you air out the safe every two weeks. I am glad I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next